We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but should be better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kipriotis Hippocrates
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Psalidi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 May 2013

I stayed at the Hippocrates at the end of April and like some other reviewers I have mixed feelings.

At the time of booking it was sold as being part of a complex consisting several hotels with use of the facilities at the other buildings, specifically use of the 5 differently themed restaurants in the Kipriotis Village. As it was the first week of the season, none of the hotels were open and so we were confined to the Hippocrates.

That aside, once we accepted we had only the Hippocrates to use it is really a pretty decent hotel.

The rooms are not luxury but adequate, clean and maid service excellent.

The bar is ok, the staff do their best but it does get busy particularly late on. There is only one bar though and it was getting annoying when it was full of kids late in the evening as they had nothing else to do. Hopefully that won’t be an issue when the sister hotels are open. There is a disco/club on site that is open until 3am too. Its nothing special and the drinks are expensive but for those who want to stay up late without going into Kos town it does the job.

The food is ok, not great but you won’t starve. There is a big enough selection that you’ll always find something to eat. Breakfast in particular is worth getting up for.

Entertainment, well the animation staff are great and make you feel right at home. Valantino in particular is a great host and never stops working dawn til night making all the guest feel welcome. Unfortunately despite the best efforts of Valantino and his team to get people involved, they had very little facilities or staff to work with. I assume the hotel normally relies on the facilities in the sister hotels but as above they were not available when we went.

On the whole, I cannot complain for what we paid, it is a decent well run hotel with a nice pool and bar. Once the other hotels are open (if use of their facilities is honoured) you would struggle to complain.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller12345678914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,062)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

557 - 563 of 1,062 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2013

Booked the 5* Panorama but got the 4* Hippocrates because the season hadn't quite started. Very clean and tidy, nice reception area and friendly staff. Rooms ok with good maid service. Restaurant good size with reasonable choice of fare. The Bar was probably the biggest let down - it could get quite busy owing to the fact that the rest of the complex was still closed, getting served could take as long as 15/20 mins at times, with other guests just breezing up and getting served first!! It was probably just a temporary situation until the rest of the complex opened, but it was enough to take the shine off our evenings enjoyment. Psalidi itself doesn't have much to offer in terms of alternative entertainment and some evenings it took a taxi ride to nearby Kos town to find it. We used the sun beds on the beach for a day or 2 only to find out they were only free to guests staying at the panorama and Maris,but NOT the Hippocrates even though its part of the same complex! They tried to charge us 6 euro for the day.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jaygemm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We had some apprehension after reading the reviews for this hotel, it was our first visit to Kos, though not to Greece and after staying there for a week at the end of April 2013 it seems that some people just like to moan - about everything!

Guests were complaining that there was no entertainment, I disagree, just watching the other guests was more entertaining than anything the hotel staff could have put on...

It was the start of the season so across the island everything was very quiet which is just the way we like it, we hired bikes and cycled, caught the local buses a few times and walked into Kos town returning to relax on the hotel beach or around the pool.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Hippocrates, the hotel was kept immaculately clean, our room was fine, staff were wonderful and the variety of food available at every mealtime excellent, you'll never go hungry at Hippocrates !

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank firstbrize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

We are a family of 6 and stayed here Mid April 2013. We have mixed feelings for the Kipriotis Hippocrates. Basically the Kipriotis hotels here are a group of hotels all bunched together - The Panorama, Maris suites, Aqualand, Village and the Hippocrates. There is an overbooking policy so the hotels will keep being booked and you will find yourself put wherever it is convenient. Unfortunately in the start of the season all the hotels aside from the Hippocrates and most of the amenties including beach bar were closed.
Now The Hippocrates is a lovely hotel. The Ai food is good with plenty of choice, rooms are basic but comfortable. Ai Drink's are standard local quality (unless you pay for premium),however as a family with young children we booked the Maris Suites where there is a children's club and apparently live evening entertainment. Now being put in the Hippocrates meant there was Zero children's entertainment other than a 25-30 min recording at 8.30pm for smaller children to dance to with a member of the animation team, occasionally the odd movie played at 9.30pm on a laptop on a projection tv (this was stopped due to a seminar taking place), and there was a good children's play area called funland (however this is not a kids club). We found as a result of the lack of entertainment it quite stressful and hard work with our children with no respite just to have an hour here or there to relax - clearly not what we had booked for as a family.To be fair to there was a lot of complaints from people without children who were just completely bored with nothing to do Essentially the animation team had a game of table tennis, darts or bowls to keep people entertained but really who wants to do that on holiday? There really was no live stuff in the evenings.. Staff wise Despina in the restaurant would make time to teach the children the odd word of Greek and was always pleasant and smiling. She is a real asset to to the hotel and i really hope management appreciate how good an employee she really is. We have mixed feelings of our stay here.. as i said. On one hand the price was great, i can't fault the hotel, the food, the drink or the majority of staff but the week really was let down by poor entertainment and occasionally excessively long quests of 10-15 mins for a drink at night. It is worth noting also that on our last full day the Kipriotis village opening up and we were allowed to use the pool and slide there, however our children were not allowed to use the Ai drinks bar at the kipriotis village which i thought did not make sense when it's a good 5-10 mins walk to get back to the Hippocrates. I thought the wifi access was frankly very very expensive at about 50+ euros a week and i know we are not watch TV but really? Only one English speaking channel and a fuzzy analogue signal on most others? This is the digital age and your in Europe in an apparent 4 star hotel. Overall i would say this place is more suited to mature couples who want a bit of quite. The others hotels here such as the Kiprioties village are definately more suited to families.

Room Tip: If you do end up staying here with children, the first floor (rooms 135 etc) have balconies that ope...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Conciousness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Just returned after a first visit to Kos as a holiday area it was a bit run down .The hotel was clean and fairly tidy but the food on general was never hot breakfast was barely luke warm the hottest item of food was the soup,there was no entertainment what so ever ok it was the start of the season and we got it at a reasonable price but you still expect sum form of entertainment .Go back I wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank james j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

We booked 5 star at the Kipriotis Maris Complex in Kos for the 16th April for 7 nights and were put in the Hippocrates (4 star) as apparently the other hotels on the complex weren't open that early in the season, so we were disappointed and obviously felt misled. The hotel was very clean, the staff were friendly, the rooms basic but enough, but the hotel was absolutely freezing cold and didn't offer any heating. The food was basic with very little choice and we never had a hot meal during the week. The best we got was luke warm. There was supposed to be entertainment and we'd hoped to book some sightseeing trips but all the hotel could offer was a ferry across to Bodrum!!
This is more a 3 star hotel and we wouldn't recommend staying here at this time of the year.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barnacle336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

Recently returned from a week's holiday. Basically the hotel was great and good value for money. the staff were efficient and friendly, the service was excellent, food & drink was superb. The only thing I can say is that the management (who were in suits) looked miserable. They can take a leaf and learn from their staff with smiling more.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hache1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Psalidi
0.2 mi away
Kipriotis Village Resort
0.2 mi away
Mitsis Ramira Beach Hotel
2.0 mi away
Michelangelo Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel
0.7 mi away
Platanista Hotel
Platanista Hotel
#4 of 19 in Psalidi
929 reviews
15.0 mi away
Eurovillage Achilleas Hotel
Eurovillage Achilleas Hotel
#6 of 16 in Mastichari
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kipriotis Hippocrates? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kipriotis Hippocrates

Address: Psalidi 85300, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Psalidi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Psalidi
#9 Romantic Hotel in Psalidi
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Psalidi
#11 Family Hotel in Psalidi
#11 Luxury Hotel in Psalidi
Price Range: £66 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kipriotis Hippocrates 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
KIPRIOTIS HIPPOCRATES is a fantastic hotel combining the charm and elegance of modern comfort together with the flair of a 4* summer resort. Set in quiet surroundings, with excellent sea views and extensive gardens, Kipriotis Hippocrates is the ideal destination for an amazing & relaxing holiday. It is conveniently located in Psalidi area, on the North - East coast of the island of Kos, just 3km away from Kos town, 25km from Kos International Airport and a breath away from the beach. Directly in front of the hotel there is a public bus stop with a regular daily bus schedule and a cycling path leading all the way to the town centre. The hotel is ideal for relaxation and the best choice for sightseeing lovers. The hotel also features 172 standard rooms. All rooms are spacious with modern - easy living furnishing. They all have large verandas with view either to the gardens or the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kipriotis Hippocrates reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Kos Town
Iberostar Hotel Kos Town
Kipriotis Hippocrates Kos/Psalidi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing