We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kipriotis Hippocrates
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,070)
Filter reviews
1,070 results
Traveller rating
434
371
157
71
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
434
371
157
71
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbar staffanimation teamair conkos townother hotelsgreat holidaysister hotelthe busmix and matchour thomas cook repmusic quizall inclusive drinkssky barevening entertainmentturkeyaqua gymsmile on their faces
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
514 - 519 of 1,070 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2013

My family and I have just returned from this hotel after booking through First Choice
We have four children aged 7, 11, 14, and 17.

We have all enjoyed a really good time staying at this Hotel and although there were some minor problems we managed to get them sorted out with the help from the Hotel manager and staff.

There was a good mix of nationalities staying at the hotel and the atmosphere was good and friendly

I had read some of the other reviews before going and i was worried about some things that were said.


The Hotel is clean and well run and you also have the use of facilities at the sister hotels (Maris, Panorama, and Kipriotis village).

The hotel TV's are poor and signal is not good but we didnt stay in our rooms for long periods.

The entertainment was provided by the hard working Animation team (Ali, Mario, Ewa, & Martina) These guys done really well and as well as providing some really good evening entertainment made daily circuits of the two pools to see if people would join in for Stretching, Table Tennis, Aqua Gym, Water polo, Darts, & Beach volley ball. they made the holiday great for our children and We all had a good time at the comedy shows put on by them.

The food quality we found to be very good. There was always 3 types of pasta,there was also pre prepared meat dishes . (chicken,turkey, beef, lamb, pork meat balls, rabbit) which was altered all the time and there was always meat being cooked on the grill (Pork, Lamb, Chicken, Turkey and some times liver). there was always rice and potatoes or chips a selection of vegetables. Cold meats, soups, breads and cheese are available and The salads were excellent!! The deserts were also very good with a lot of different choices, lots of fruit choice and always ice cream To be honest i do not know what else the hotel could have done as an alternative?
They also BBQ food on Wednesday lunch time which was fantastic!!

The bar is busy and well run and ice cream is available for children and coffee and cake is available between 4.30 and 5.30

The bus service runs in to town every 40 mins from just outside the hotel and the area around the harbor is really nice.

Bicycle hire is available from or outside the hotel

There are some maintenance issues that need carrying out within the hotel with some decoration and minor repairs. but on speaking with the Manager these problems were being addressed.

I would certainly stay here again and recommend the hotel to others.
We had a great Holiday!

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise. If you have any problems speak to the staff.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MH173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Me and my girlfriend stayed at this hotel in August, overall we were unimpressed with our stay. We were never able to get on the sun beds at our own hotel, we had to visit the hotel opposite in order to get a sun bed. This wasn't a massive problem but it would have been more ideal to have been able to get a sun bed at our own hotel. The hotel was clean and modern but the appareance could be improved (paint on the walls were patchy, old fashioned tv with remote control that didn't work, gaps in walls needed re-filling). The beds in our room were surprisingly comfortable even though they were hard. However, would have preferred a double bed than 2 singles pushed together. The worst thing about this hotel was the food, it had poor selection (very repetitive) and the quality was awful. Apparently the meatballs were cooked in different sauces each day but they tasted exactly the same, the potatoes were soaked in oil and tasted very salty, the bolognase sauce/mince looked disgusting, etc. The ice-cream was nice but would have been good to see some sauce and sprinkles. Fruit was the same everyday, either grapes/oranges/watermelon. Would have been good to see it change every other day. Overall the food was a let down, not the worst but most certainly not the best.

This hotel was okay, (better than some) but I wasn't wowed by it. Won't be staying here again in a hurry.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank X-xxx-kirsty-xxx-X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I have just returned from here and we enjoyed it, rooms nice but tv is a bit naf, food is good but did get fed up of after 3 days, bar is good but one bar man was a bit hostile and rude but overall it's good

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Me and my husband went to this hotel on 21st July 2013. We had asked for sea view and high floor, but got low floor and drainage pipes and wall instead. Rooms clean but basic, beds rock hard, old fashion TV(didn't work). Food was quite nice but very repetitive. Juice watered down at breakfast. No entertainment at all which was bad for the summer season. Cleaning staff very polite. Bar staff and reception staff quite rude. Music played by the pool during the day had foul language when there were children around. Needs painting in places especially the corridors outside rooms.
WORST HOLIDAY EVER.
Sorry if your reading this before your holiday.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jenny797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

After a delayed flight from Manchester airport my extended family and I arrived at the hip kip in the small hours of Monday morning.

The hotel initially impresses with an ornate marble entrance. Sadly this transforms into a long 'brown' reception counter. This un spectacular theme then extends into the rooms and the brown looks very seventies like an old travel lodge.

First impressions of the night porter were frankly disappointing. The couple checking in before us were informed that there were no rooms left and that they had been moved/upgraded to the maris opposite. The porter proudly claimed that the maris was much nicer than this hotel demonstrating the staff's own opinion it was run down, so I couldn't help feeling deflated when our rooms was available in the hip kip.

Undetterred, we checked in for a two week stay. The rooms are comfy but definitely showing their age, the bathrooms clean but worn and the TV, a CRT, something from two decades ago. This didn't bother me but noteworthy as the hotel claims 4 star status. However the maids serviced the room everyday and made the room up despite two young children destroying it each night. Likewise the air con was amazing and stayed on even when the room was unoccupied, a first in my experience.

Surprisingly there is only one bar in a hotel this big! It is the focal point of the hotel and has very limited outdoor seating. Inside are comfy couches but there is no air con making it too hot to sit in. Naturally the outside chairs are in high demand so grab one early is my advice if you want to stay cool.
The drinks are really strong especially the cocktails but beer is served in small glasses which means you can spend more time queuing at the undermanned bar. This is my biggest criticism of the hotel that it looks like a ruse to reduce expenditure at the bar.
Most the bar staff are pleasant enough but a couple previously mentioned were strange. The old boy wouldnt make eye contact when people were queing then serve the first person who walked to the bar. As a Brit we were born to que but I had to bite my lip all week as eastern europeans seemed to get preferrential service.

The entertainment team were great and didn't enforce fun on those who wanted to chill. My daughter loved getting involved in aqua aerobics on the days we spent by the pool. The big thing the hotel is neglecting is the lack of external entertainment. Whilst the ents team played along and had fun with guests, the place lacks any external entertainment. Every surrounding hotel has this from a greek artist or singer. This really lets the place down as the ents team struggle to deliver karaoke on a laptop and projected words onto a sheet hung from two chairs (4 stars remember). This is no slur on the ents team who work hard but the hotel for ill equipping them and for no ents itinerary. Likewise the bar music is blasted through a mono speaker perched on the bar top and treble less music drones out a plethora of unrecognisable tracks from eastern europe. Not surprising as the staff all originate from that way! Be prepared to return home with the catchy 'opa opa, opa opa' song scarred in your mind.

The catering facilities were my favourite thing about the hotel and there is something for everyone. Chips with everything, local dishes or really healthy salads, food was a high standard and in large quantity. The icing on the cake for me was the ability to dine at the sister hotels. If you wanted you could dine in a different restaurant every night enjoying a choice of italian, greek or oriental meals. At breakfast simply put your room number down on one of many booking sheets found on the right in the dining hall. We never failed to get a space in two weeks and enjoyed dining out. This gave us a break to that samey feel all inclusive can get over a two week stay.

The pool is also a good size and the beds easy to secure without needing to sleep on one! (Although some brits did?)The pool is well used but I never saw it cleaned once during my stay, sure it must of been but bizarrely you couldnt see the bottom and there is green scuzz around the water line. Likewise the glass panel surrounds that seperate the pool and bar are supposed to be clear glass but are stained to the point they look smoked. Disappointingly the toilets that service the dining room, bar and pool had two urinals and two cubicles for the entire complex. This wasn't a problem but there were missing toilet seats that any prestigious hotel would rectify the same day. Again the hand towels were empty by dinner time encouraging poor hygiene in the dining room by guests sharing serving utensils.

Remarkably wifi is not free! I stayed at a 3 star hotel last year that had free wifi and beats this hotel hands down in every way. I think it was roughly 5€ for two hours 256kb which i never paid for once. I would encourage guests to buy a drink at the mix n match bar next door and get the free access code that will just work within the grounds of the hip kip. Alternatively every downtown bar and taverna has free wifi so wait until your out and about.

Cats, the hotel placates the guests with a phoney policy regarding these cuddly rats! Operating a cat cafe and warns guests NOT to feed them. The cat cafe is a place where stray cats are controlled by a neutering program and fed so the population is controlled and the dining rooms free of vermin. The reality however is most guests fed the cats at the table and no manager had the moral courage to say please stop! Also I witnessed the receptionist stroking a cat on the counter twice in reception hardly discouraging the animals.

Maintenance- I would like a response from the hip kip management as to why the fire extinguishers are not routinely checked? Whilst waiting for the elevator or in the dining room it so easy to see fire extinguishers indicating red and not green. Toilet seats are missing from most the communal loos and the male communal showers dont work. Paper towels in the toilets ran out daily near the dining room discouraging personal hygiene. All these gripes add to my personal belief the hotel is a rudderless ship devoid of a manager responsible to oversee the staff.

Guests- on numerous occasions guests behaviour was truly rude and disgusting whilst the staff looked on and did nothing. Two examples spring to mind, the first a boy was kicking a football against the internal wall of the bar which was annoying especially as the ball flew into guests. I couldnt believe the bar staff did nothing! The other incident was a man fell drunk from his bar stool at 3pm yesterday and the staff continued to serve him. I don't speak any of the languages of europe but everyone was disgusted particularly when his drunk children fell about so violently one ripped his shorts exposing himself to all. He fell asleep on a sunlounger only to nearly drown when his drunk brother dragged his sleeping carcass into the pool on his sun bed. (Thankfully my last day in 4 star luxury)

Reception actually angered my family with its blazee inconsistant attitude to guests. On requesting an extension of our room to meet our late flight we were fed mis information constantly with no one knowing if a room would be available except the manger. Right up until we checked out we were left hanging on to see if a room was available. Likewise asking for a lift when no taxi was availble we were told the governement has to authorise. The beauracracy when requesting a taxi was laughable and we jumped through hoops with every question we asked.

In summary, the hotel tarnished my parties holiday. Had it beem are first visit to Kos I would not go back. However Inhave previously stayed at Greek family run apartments that are better suited to the service industry. For which i will return. Great hol terrible attitude hotel that favours eastern europe, less the dining room and maid service.

Pros
Good air con
Excellent maid service
Wide choice of food
Ability to dine in other restaurants

Cons
No evening entertainment
One bar - small glasses
Expensive wifi
Dirty pool area
Cats
Reception staff so obstructive

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Winglad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kipriotis, Guest Relations Manager at Kipriotis Hippocrates, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your impressions. We are very sorry to read that we didn’t meet your expectations. Kipriotis Hippocrates hotel has been fully renovated in 2010. All communal areas, rooms and bathrooms have been renovated and have been equipped with modern furniture and fittings. Our whole team is extremely committed to deliver the perfect vacation experience for each one of our guests and certainly it is not the hotel’s practice to treat some of its guests more preferentially than others. We apologize should you felt that. We welcome your suggestions for improvement and we assure you that we will discuss your comments below with management to ensure corrective action is taken where needed. With regards to your mention to cats, as the hotel is in open grounds indeed the presence of cats is possible. The hotel has a clear policy which we communicate to all our guests not to feed the cats within hotel grounds. We operate a cats cafe and have a designated area where we feed the cats in order to keep them away of the hotel property. Unfortunately this is not always respected and we have cases which are outside our control. We would also like to clarify that as this is an adults friendly hotel it offers only soft animation. In addition there is a traditional Greek night event scheduled in the hotel once a week.
We appreciate the time you took to write your comments and welcome any further suggestions you have to make in order to ensure we continue to offer a well balanced value for money service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews