We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,225)
Filter reviews
1,227 results
Traveller rating
497
410
185
88
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
497
410
185
88
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bar staff animation team air con kos town other hotels great holiday sister hotel the bus great laugh mix and match sky bar our thomas cook rep all inclusive drinks evening entertainment turkey fussy eater aqua gym
Filter
Updating list...
482 - 487 of 1,227 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2015

Hotel is very nice, maid visits daily, food is good, on-point service with a great selection compared to previous experiences, plenty to do outside of the hotel especially if you like boats!

The one bad point was no hot water in the evenings for the duration of our 1 week stay. I mentioned this to the staff after 3 days and had been told it will be sorted within an hour! We had no hot water again the next day even after trying to shower at an earlier time in the evening. They told us it would be OK for the next day and logged the issue, and gave us compensation for this, but even the next day the hotel water wasn't great. Need more solar panels/leave boiler on for longer?
Although it didn't bother us too much the mountain view was in reality the view of the outside dining area as we had a ground floor room, which in the end was probably not a bad thing, just in case anyone is wondering as we were before we booked, we had a double room but 2 single made beds put together

Big shoutout to all the animation team and bar staff especially Husein and the evening team

Overall a great holiday
From James & Sarah

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kipriotis, Manager at Kipriotis Hippocrates, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2015

Dear guest,

Thank you for your invaluable feedback following your recent stay at Kipriotis Hippocrates Hotel.

It is always good to know that our guests leave our hotel satisfied. We are glad to hear that you were pleased with the hotel's services and facilities. We do pride ourselves on our high level of service and we are very dedicated in making each and every guest stay as special as possible and it gives us immense satisfaction to learn that we met your expectations.. We have passed your kind comments to all team members.

We are looking forward to welcome you back once again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Kipriotis Hotels Quality Assurance Team
Customer.Service@kipriotis.gr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2015

The hotel was spotless, when we arrived painting was taking place in the lobby to keep the fresh look. There is free wifi in the hotel lobby too, with large comfi sofas.The receptionist checked us in promptly and always greeted us everytime she saw us with a smile & hello. The rooms are spacious with a double and single bed. We personally didn't have a problem with the beds and pillows. 2nd week a kettle appeared with tea & coffee facilities, rooms also had hairdryers. TV not up to much but we didn't come on holiday to watch it. The pool was kept clean and tidy & hotel provided beach towels which could be changed 3 times per week. Bar staff friendly, helpful in particular Husein, Natalie, Lola and Irene. The Animation Team which consisted of Rollo, Roxanna & Anna communicated with the guests trying to involve guests with the daytime activities which included water aerobics, stretching, pilates, darts, bocha (bowls). The night-time entertainment consisted of light entertainment: movie quiz, music quiz, disco night, MIss Hippocrates all of which involved audience participation and got guests talking to each other, not much for children but then the Kip Village is ideal for families. Food was good, with a wide variety of choice with something for everybody but a bit repetitive as with all all inclusive hotels but you had the opportunity to book the day before for the Italian or Greek restaurants over the road at the sister hotel Kipriotis Village. Drinks are included with the meals, if you wanted a drink from the bar you have to pay. Again the staff at the Hippocrates restaurant were friendly and kept the place clean and tidy. The hotel also had a night club next door (Club Zona) but you can't hear any noise. Lastly, take no notice of the media and the immigrants, we only saw a handful outside the police station in Kos Town and they didn't bother anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Andrea G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kipriotis, Manager at Kipriotis Hippocrates, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2015

Dear guests,

First, we would like to thank you for having selected Kipriotis Hippocrates Hotel during your recent visit to Kos and for taking the time to share your positive experience on TripAdvisor.

We were very pleased to read that you appreciated the services and facilities of the hotel and that we met or even exceeded your expectations during tour stay with us. It gives us immense satisfaction to learn that we are meeting our guests' expectations as it is what we strive for every day. We have passed your kind comments to all team members.

We would like to invite you to embark on a magnificent journey with us once again.

Kind regards,
Kipriotis Hotels Quality Assurance Team
Customer.Service@kipriotis.gr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2015

We have just returned from a week away at the Hippocrates and to be fair the hotel was OK, and catered for our basic needs, the hotel is situated in Psalidi on the outer of outskirts of Kos Town, according to the holiday brochure you can take a leisurely walk into town, if 45mins is a leisurely stroll then the brochure is accurate!(NoooTTT!) We hired bikes from the rental shop outside the hotel to ease the burden a little, this made life a lot easier.
The hotel itself is very clean and well kept, the reception is bright and airy, the restaurant is a little bit 'school canteen' but is again spotless. The variety of food is a little limited and is not very well presented but is edible all the same. You have the option of booking a table for an evening meal at the Kipriotis Village just up the road which is highly recommended, we went there twice to sample the Italian themed evening, we did book a table for the Greek evening but changed our minds as our hotel was holding a Chinese evening. The Hippocrates restaurant did hold international themed nights but the choice of food was smaller.
The bedrooms were very spacious, comfortable, clean and had all the ususal refineries, however we were intrigued to discover tea making facilities mysteriously appear in our room on the day we were leaving,(late upgrade?)
The staff were very friendly accross the hotel and there was no issues getting served at the bar and we were always greeted with a smile and a 'Yamas!'
The pool area is quite spacious, clean and there was not an issue finding sun beds while we were there.
The beach is situated accros the road around 300 metres from the hotel, the beach was a little disappointing and was very stoney. The beach did however offer a welcome relief to the heat as it was quite breezy.
Kos Town is quite pretty if a little dilapidated and has various places of interest, e.g Roman ruins etc. and is worth a visit as Psalidi is very quiet.
To sum up we enjoyed our stay at the Hippocrates but probably would not return due to the hotels location.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M0ssch0ps_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kipriotis, Manager at Kipriotis Hippocrates, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2015

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for the preference you showed in choosing the Kipriotis Hippocrates for your recent stay in Kos and for taking the time to share your positive feedback.

We are delighted to read that you had a positive experience during your stay with us and that you enjoyed the hotel services and amenities. Our aim at Kipriotis Hotels is to ensure that all of our guests are made welcome and feel at ‘home’ during their stay with us and it gives us immense satisfaction to learn that we are met or even exceeded your expectations on this occasion. It is indeed very rewarding to receive guests like yourself, who take the time to convey their thanks to us. Such comments certainly help us in motivating our staff and, more importantly, assist us to provide a more personal and efficient service.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon and create more magnificent moments for you.

Kind regards,
Kipriotis Hotels Quality Assurance Team
Customer.Service@kipriotis.gr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2015

We went here for 2 weeks in May 2015 to get married. The hotel is 4 star as stated. The rooms are cleaned every day and the food does have a wide variety but does become a little boring after 2 weeks. Lunch was the better choice of food.
We had arranged our wedding via email direct with the wedding planner Irini Samara from Kipriotis Group after visiting in May 2014 and meeting with the wedding planners. Irini has been outstanding with her attention to details and at our service 100%. She met with us and went through everything that we had sent via email to confirm that our day went to plan. There was a huge error from the British consulate in Athens when they issued our CNI. If it was not for Irini's work we would not have got out legal marriage licence, this was due to the work that she put in to find another way around the legal side.
We got married on the beach at the Village resort and then had our reception at The Mix & Match bar. The weather was fantastic and the sun was still beaming down at high temperatures so Irini suggested pushing the wedding back an hour which worked out perfectly. Likewise with the Mix & Match bar. This is open air venue and the sun was still shining. The food was gorgeous and every guest made comment on how beautiful it was and how much was provided. Our wedding cake was nothing like we had tasted before, delicious.
All that was provided was down to Irini listening and getting it right for us to make our day just perfect. Irini also read our vows on the beach and got emotional which just showed how genuine she is.
All in all we had the perfect wedding in the perfect location making a perfect day for us and our guests. The wedding planner Irini went above and beyond what we could have ever expected to ensure we had a perfect day. She even called 2 weeks after we returned home to make sure we were ok and enjoyed our special day.

Room Tip: Do No accept end of corridor rooms as a very long way to get to stairs and lifts
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dettyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kipriotis, Manager at Kipriotis Hippocrates, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2015

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for having selected Kipriotis Hippocrates for your recent stay in Kos island and for presenting us with your most valuable feedback.

We very much appreciate your valuable comments and we are delighted to know that your enjoyed the hotel services and amenities. Our aim at Kipriotis Hotels is to ensure that all of our guests are made welcome and feel at ‘home’ during their stay with us and it gives us immense satisfaction to learn that we are met or even exceeded your expectations on this occasion. From the whole team of the hotel we would like to wish you a happy life together.

We are looking forward to seeing you very soon so as to be able to enjoy our hospitality once more.

Kind regards,
Kipriotis Hotels Quality Assurance Team
Customer.Service@kipriotis.gr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2015

You are wondering what can I say, that I already haven't after our 7th visit? A lot I say!

We arrived a little later than usual due to our usual Ryan Air flight being removed other than in July, to find the warmest welcome back you could ever imagine. A handshake and a hug later we were being presented with our room key and sent up to our spotlessly clean room! Complete with some lovely gifts to mark our return.

We'd also brought two friends who stayed for a week during our ten day stay and they were also impressed.

The following morning Vasilis, the Hotel Manager took the time out of his day to meet us and welcome us back! Then, as soon as we entered the dining room the Maitre'd spotted us and came over to talk.

The Hippocrates, has undergone some changes since our last visit since being badged as a Thomas Cook Smartline hotel. The lobby is newly redecorated and has free wifi for all guests which is a welcome addition for keeping in touch with home. None of the changes however have affected the warm, loving and attentive service we received from staff in any area of the hotel. I must add though that I did prefer the previous uniform, its much smarter and re-inforces the Kipriotis Hotels brand!

As ever, the restaurant is gleamingly clean but the new chef has made some changes to the menu and the week now features a Greek night, an Italian night and a Chinese night with themed food. At each meal time a great selection of international cuisine is served and on the theme night there is still plenty to eat for those who are fussy eaters (myself included!).

I can truly say that after ten nights we were awfully sad to leave, it's like a home from home for us amongst friends!!

So if you are reading this, I urge you to choose the Hippocrates for your stay and let Vasilis and his amazing team show you their famous Greek hospitality on the beautiful island of Kos.

We'll certainly be keeping our promise to return too :)

See you later in the year!!

------

Before I sign off though, I must make one more comment. And that is my utter dismay at the way the Daily Mail have presented recent articles regarding the influx of migrants to Kos. I can categorically say that they are wrong, and should be ashamed of their actions.

It's clear to see in Kos Town that migrants are present, and you'll clearly see this around the Police Station and Port. What isn't true is that they are sleeping rough, causing trouble and upsetting holiday makers. They are simply waiting patiently for their papers before moving on to the mainland to try and rebuild their lives.

I hope that anyone considering Kos, takes no notice of the Daily Mail. You'll find more accurate representations made by the Guardian and Observer and if you search the BBC website you'll find a clip from the one show too.

------

Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
7  Thank alexh365uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kipriotis, Manager at Kipriotis Hippocrates, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2015

Dear guest,

Thank you for staying at Kipriotis Hippocrates and for your recent review on TripAdvisor.

We do pride ourselves on our high level of service and we are very dedicated in making each and every guest stay as special as possible. We very much appreciate your valuable comments and we are delighted to know we met your expectations during your stay with us. We have passed your kind comments to all team members.

We do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future visit.

Kind regards,
Kipriotis Hotels Quality Assurance Team
Customer.Service@kipriotis.gr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews