We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not really the place for little kids”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kipriotis Panorama Hotel & Suites
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Psalidi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 September 2008

First off, the place is really nice. It's part of a major Iberostar complex with hotels of varying quality (although they all claim to be 5*!)
We booked a suite which was a great size, although the balcony saw no sun whatsoever and 2 adults and 2 kids (3 and 1) were easily accomodated and once asleep, the kids were well and truly in their own room.

The All Inclusive package we were on meant that the brand name drinks kept coming and for the food and drink I have no complaints, although they have a peculiar policy to Ice Cream! You can only get it under AI for an hour in the afternoon, but can drink branded drinks from about 10am to midnight for free! Not a great selling point for a 1 year old.

The beach at the bottom of the steep hill is rubbish, a far cry from some of the lovely beaches elsewhere on the island. Also, all 3 pools were freezing cold despite the air temperature being over 30 degrees every day. Quite why this was I don't know, but it was too cold for little kids to swim in.

And therein is the problem. The place is not designed for young families as despite there being a quite dangerous kids club (which reminded us of Peter Kays Pink Paradise - made up of scaffolding and bubblewrap) on site which was managed by a lovely lady who kept the frappes going, there is little else.

Satellite TV equated to Sky News, CNN and a variety of Russian / Italian / Greek / German entertainment channels. English was the only language which was not catered for! No movie facility and when you've got to be back in your room at a reasonable hour each night, you would expect there to be something in English language for you to watch.

The bar staff were great; the restaurant staff were exceptional; but the reception staff were rude and did not respond to the compaints over the internet service which is not high speed! When I argued over the 8 euro an hour charge for what equated to a 56k dial up being sold as "High Speed Satelitte", I was told that the satelitte must be out of position!!!!

The evening entertainment was like a porn soundtrack with the same chap rolled out night after night playing the same tunes in the same order. No wonder the drinks are free!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank WatfordPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,259)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

675 - 681 of 1,259 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2008

I have stayed in several 4 and 5 star hotels which offer good service, helpful staff and great entertainment. The panorama offers none of these, Having read the reviews before booking I instructed my travel agent to make sure I was booked into the Panorama and not the Maris, on arrival at the hotel I showed the receptionist my booking form clearly stating that I was booked into the panorama she looked at it and said we are full you are booked into the Maris i asked to see the Manager at which there answer was you will have to come back in 5 hours or go to the Maris, hot and tired we went to the Maris, The only way to describe this hotel is a dump it looks like it was built in the seventies and never updated the accomodation is very basic and the sea view room we had booked looked out onto a road with cows grazing outside, later that night we got to see the manager and she agreed to move us the next day, The entertainment at the panorama is so bad that everyone was going to bed at 10 same useless guy every night, maybe this was ploy of the hotel to save on drinks.the swimming pools were ok with plenty of sunbeds, there were also plenty of flies around the pool and in the restaurant. The hotel was clean and the food plentiful but bland. The bar staff and cleaners were fine, the reception staff are unhelpfull and rude. On the day of leaving you have to vacate your room by 12 they turned the power to the room at 10 very funny when you want to shower and pack. If one person is put off going to this hotel by this review it will have been worthwhile!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rileyNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2008

I have just came back from the most relaxing break ever !

Booked the holiday through First Choice and can honestly say we never had a single problem during our stay. Beautiful hotel, fantastic service and everything was superb. The people on the hotel and everyone we met on Kos was really nice and i will definately go again. The restaurant service was much better than anything i expected and the range of food was excellent and made going out to eat seem pointless. Yes, its a ten out of ten for this place and no faults anywhere worth mentioning. The local shops were pretty decent and bike/car/scooter hire was cheap and easy as were the local busses. If you visit Zia check the bus times and consider making your own way there or going on the excursion coach because it seems they only run a few busses every day so you could get stuck there for a while. Taxis seemed very expensive so check the price before you go anywhere.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nevets111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2008

Being 7 months pregnant my husband and I decided as a final treat we would book a 5 star hotel.

I read the reviews on trip advisor and now wonder if the hotel actually write their own.

On arrival we were offered a so called SUITE, it was a room not situated in the main hotel, down an alleyway, it was awful, more like a self catering refurbishment.

I refused to accept the room so we were offered a room in the main hotel, we had booked a seaview as we were looking forward to sitting on the balcony relaxing and reading and to my horror it was directly overlooking a 50 foot green roof and situated directly next to the Air Conditioning outlet. (pictures attached) I was extremely annoyed. The staff were very unhelpful and the rep not much better. After 3 days of complaining we were offered another room on the 6th floor. Once we had moved we then realised that the AC sounded like it was going to take off and the toilet kept refilling as it ws leaking. In all fairness by the next day they had repaired these problems.

Eventually by day 5 (out of 8) we were able to relax and enjoy our holiday.

To summarise here is a quick review

Hotel - looks nice and is kept very clean
Rooms - nice room, kept clean - the water was cold after 7.00 at night
Food - average not 5 star - although good selection - try italian and asian night in separate restaurant to main -
Beach - Awful, pebbles and directly on the busy main road (but we knew this before we booked so not a complaint)
Staff - the most unfriendly hotel i've ever stayed in (we go on 4-5 holidays a year), they are unhelpful and rude. Especially the reception and bar staff who find it difficult to even smile. Some of the staff in the restaurant are very nice and the nicest are the very smiley cleaners who do a great job.
Location - if you want a quiet holiday it's perfect, you would need to hire a car to get out and about
Swimming pools - very nice and no problems finding a bed

We did eventually have a nice time, however in general we are very disappointed with the whole Greek experience and defo would not return.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Weddingworries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2008

We booked this hotel as a last minute get away. Its rated as a 5 star but would say its not quite there yet in that catagory.
However we had an enjoyable holiday here on a half board basis.
The rooms are cleaned every day with fresh towels and also pool towels provided. Very spacious rooms with fridges in. Very impressive
The staff are friendly and nothing is too much trouble if you need help.
There was a good deal of choice at the meal times and this was replenished immeadiately if items ran out.(buffet etc)
Entertainment was minimal although you could go to the other complexes and the mini bus ferried you around them. There was disco's/comedy night/theatre etc at these others.
Its notable for the more elderly or infirm that the panorama is at the top of the hill but if you wait at the bottom the mini bus will come around and ferry you up the hill
The greek night was worth staying for as the staff joined in the dancing. However I would recommend going into Kos town for the evening as the bus went from the bottom. You can buy tickets at reception. It was about 1 euro 40 one way etc. It also only takes about 5 minutes to get there!
Plenty of sunbeds and the hotel told people not to reserve sunbeds. Not sure whether they checked on this. Usual culprits reserving.!
Pools were good 1 x deep,1 paddling and 1 stand up pool. All were very clean.
As Kos is flat hire the bicycles they will bring them up the hill to the hotel. See reception etc 5 euros a day which was a bargain and everyone was hiring them of all ages. Great fun.
Watch out for the killer doors on the lifts. make sure you get in quick and press the door open button if others are getting in.
All in all a good holiday and hotel, if you are staying for 2 weeks you probably need to hire a car/bicycle at some point as Psilidi is quite boring.
Go and have a laugh at Lambi its like a grotesque 18-30 resort and be thankful you are staying where you are.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jellybean024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2008

we have just returned from a week`s stay at this lovely hotel. The room for two people was great with sleeping accommodation enough for seven if you include the two sofa beds. Food was very good considering that half board buffet meals are usually very repetitive. All the staff were very pleasant and because we were two ladies on our own they were very attentive and flattering. However the downside is the evening entertainment, same every evening with Steve the dj on the keyboard and hardly knowing any of the words to the songs. Prrobably more suitable for couples rather than singles. Psalidi is a very quiet town with very little to offer. Most of the tavernas were empty in the evenings. Our check out time was at lunch time on the Saturday with a pick up at 1am Sunday morning, very disappointed that the room was not available to keep even with a charge. We complained to the first choice rep because we had had a FIFTEEN HOUR DELAY from Manchester and had lost a days holiday. They were completely disinterested saying that we should take this up with our insurers or travel agent. Our advise is tio make first choice your last choice.

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mabab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2008

We booked this hotel as a four star and had checked the reviews on here first. Arrived in the early hours of the morning (5am - never again!) after a long transfer time (1 hour 45 min total) - worth booking a taxi if you discover you are the last drop off and the coach is full as it is only 25km from the airport. We were not disappointed - the rooms were very clean and spacious - would recommend the partial sea-view if you want a quieter holiday. Terrific views over to Turkey (Bodrum) and Kos town. Food was a good enough choice and variety for a one week stay. We were half board and did find you pay 5* prices for drinks (obviously not a problem if you are all inclusive!) and items from the shop.
Staff were friendly and helpful. Pool areas were lovely (with 'fresh, sweet water according to the hotel's guide!) it was nice not to have salt water pools and as we tend not to want to sit out until after 4pm we didn't have a problem with obtaining beds as people were starting to go in at that time (never sure why - very pleasant between 4-7pm) although people did 'reserve' them in the mornings, not as early as I have seen in some places.
I do get quite annoyed at this though! The first day we sat by the pool 3 beds beside us had towels on them and no-one to be seen - after an hour and half or so some people came to them for 10 mins. then went in, grr!
Kos has a lovely climate - although it was 34+ most days the wind/breeze made it very comfortable and the air conditioning in the room was very effiecient. All in all we had a lovely, relaxing time and will definately return to Kos and the Panoroma (probably requesting the same room!). Just sorry I'm not there now!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Birgu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Psalidi
0.3 mi away
Kipriotis Village Resort
2 mi away
Michelangelo Resort and Spa
1.1 mi away
Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa
2.1 mi away
Dimitra Beach Resort Hotel
Dimitra Beach Resort Hotel
#1 of 1 in Agios Fokas
1,566 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mitsis Ramira Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kipriotis Panorama Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kipriotis Panorama Hotel & Suites

Address: Psalidi 85300, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Psalidi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Psalidi
#9 Spa Hotel in Psalidi
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Psalidi
#11 Luxury Hotel in Psalidi
#12 Romantic Hotel in Psalidi
Price Range: £124 - £285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kipriotis Panorama Hotel & Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reflecting the crystal clear Aegean waters, 200m from the beach, KIPRIOTIS PANORAMA HOTEL & SUITES is conveniently located in the area of Psalidi, on the North - East coast of the island of Kos, only 3km from Kos town and 25km from Kos International Airport. Amphitheatrically built, its shiny glass facade strikes out from the natural scenic beauty that surrounds it, enabling the visitor to stare the undreamt view to the immense sky-blue Aegean sea. With state of the art conference facilities of 1.500 people total capacity, a fantastic sky bar on the 7th floor "Red Loft Sky Bar" and an impressive spa center "Hippocrates Holistic Wellness Spa", Kipriotis Panorama Hotel & Suites provide the best proposition to both business and leisure travelers. Majestic and ample, modern and luxurious, warm and welcoming, this 5* deluxe property has been designed to offer unprecedented standards of hospitality. The hotel features 253 spaciously designed units of standard rooms, junior suites, executive suites and one presidential suite. All rooms have a superb view either on to the sea or the mountain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Stayforlong S.L., Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kipriotis Panorama Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kipriotis Panorama Hotel Psalidi
Kipriotis Panorama And Suites
Iberostar Hotel Kipriotis Panorama
Iberostar Hotel Psalidi
Iberostar Kipriotis Panorama
Kipriotis Panorama Hotel & Suites Kos/Psalidi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing