We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel ruined by swingeing cutbacks”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kipriotis Panorama Hotel & Suites
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Psalidi
Certificate of Excellence
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel ruined by swingeing cutbacks”
Reviewed 22 August 2010

We have recently come back from a 2 week stay at the above hotel. Whilst we had an enjoyable holiday we feel it was in spite of the hotel and not because of it.

There was no animation team at the hotel despite this being advertised. On arrival we were told we could use the Panorama Family hotel (which is 4* and not the 5* we had booked) but we could not get all inclusive drinks at that hotel. WHilst we did manage to get the AI drinks we were not happy that the children had to spend their holiday at that hotel as it was overcrowded around poolside, the main pool was not clean (you could not see the bottom of the pool) and had an overwhelming smell of blocked drains.

There was no Thalassotherapy Spa at the hotel -despite this being advertised on the website. When we made enquiries we were told that this hadn't been built yet. We paid a lot of money for our holiday and the spa and the animation were the two main reasons for our choices so we felt that we had booked a holiday which was contrary to what was advertised.

Despite being AI we were told that if we wanted a toasted sandwich by the pool at lunchtime we had to pay extra for this! We could use the restaurant for a proper meal but the restaurant was a full buffet and this is not what we wanted - on a 5* holiday it is not asking too much to expect to be able to get lunch by the pool and for this to be included in the AI price.

The pool was not cleaned in the whole time we were there - 4-18 August - there were chemicals added but at no time was it hoovered and cleared of the gravel and stones from the bottom.

The queues at breakfast and dinner time for the restaurant were ridiculous/ This was caused by the fact that the Hippocrates Hotel reception and restaurant had been closed and those guests were using the Panorama Suites for their meals. We know it to be true that waiting staff had been cut to a minimum and so service was at best slow and at a 5* hotel we did not expect to stand in a queue twice a day to eat in an overcrowded and chaotic restaurant and be served by overworked and harrassed staff. Whilst the food was enjoyable the queues were not and eating was not a relaxed and pleasant experience - you felt that you had to hurry in and out as there were always people waiting to sit down. The restaurant closed at 9pm which is too early on holiday.

The air conditioning was not working to full capacity - it had to be left on for the whole day to have any effect at all and the common areas of the hotel were too hot at all times.

The lifts were dangerous and erratic. They need to be properly serviced / maintained as they were quite a terrifying experience and we were often stuck in them.

The cleaners hoovered outside of our bedroom at 8.12am every day for 2 weeks. This is far too early to wake up on holiday and whilst we did ask at reception if this could be changed nothing was done about it.

The bar was also understaffed - 2 waitresses worked all of the tables at night so it was not easy to get served - they also didn't have sufficient barmen making drinks up so you could wait up to 20 minutes from ordering to receiving your drink.


On a positive note we would like to say that the hotel was beautiful, clean and spacious and the staff were polite at all times. However, we do not feel it offers good value for money and it would deter us using Iberostar Hotels again in the future. We do not know if these cutbacks are a result of the Greek economic situation but we think that they do not reflect well on Iberostar as a company.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    453
    383
    190
    82
    57
See reviews for
289
563
25
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2010

I have just returned from the Kiprotis Panorama Family hotel (4*)and have to say, was a little disappointed. This is not to be confused with the sister hotel on the same location the Kipriotis Panorama and suites, which appeared to be much better on all levels (5*). This hotel is very focussed on families, as the name suggests, but leaves a little to be desired for anyone else. We were all inclusive and I will put the positives first: the food was excellent, plentiful, lots of choice and not totally 'english', offering local specialties which was nice. The dining room staff were fantastic and efficient. Then the problems: the front desk staff at this hotel were certainly not service oriented. Each time we had to deal with them, it was invariably a frustrating and unpleasant experience. We were placed in a room adjacent to a bank of air conditioning compressors that were very loud and running 24 hrs a day, thus making a peaceful chat or read on the balcony impossible - front desk reaction... a shrug and an indication that the resort was full therefore no possibility of relocation, without even an apology. The juniors working the desk were helpful, but the seniors ranged from indifferent to actively unhelpful. We initially tried to upgrade to the 5* Panorama and so also dealt with the staff there on a number of occasions, and on all levels they were more helpful and friendly than the Family hotel. The rooms were spacious with beautiful views, though minmalist. The clearning was very uneven. One day very good, the next, barely touched. There are other examples of the overall lack of attention to service, but suffice it to say, while not horrible, I would have expected much more and the consistent surliness of the front desk staff was offputting to say the least. Having been present whilst numerous others were making complaints, I hazard a guess that we are not the only ones who were unhappy with the overall level of service. We asked for an iron and were told that this was not possible, that we had to send the clothes to laundry to have them ironedv -- and it took two days to get them back. While the resort was clean, the public spaces provided little charm nor ambience, but I guess perfect for families. We had drinks and dinner at the 5*, which was much more pleasant with much better decor and service. Calling the gym a 'fitness centre' is being generous. It was very basic and according to my husband, not a set of matched weights in the place. On the whole, the Kipriotis Panorama Family was certainly not a 4*, I would say 3* at the most.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charlep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2010

We travelled to this hotel in the middle of June as we wanted to scout around the hotel before we sold it. Overall this was a good, solid stay. 5*? I'm not sure. Here are our reasons:

The location of the hotel is 10/10. In the quieter part of Psaldi but the town is a short bike ride away. Rent these from the bottom of the hotel- the perfect way to see the island and works out at the same price as the bus.

Rooms: Fantastic views. Rooms are done out nicely but its not the 5* luxury that we are used to. We often stay in the best hotels in the world (Conde Naste style), but this is a good room for your money. If you have never stayed in a 5* or have stayed in very good 4* across Greece and Turkey, then you won't be disappointed. TV wise, there are no British channels (but who goes away to watch TV??) To make the rooms more luxurious, Egyptian cotton sheets would be nice, as would a fridge refill. No room service was offered, hence why we feel this is a four star and not a 5.

Pools: Excellent. Charging a deposit for pool towels - 4 star service not 5.

Food: The A la carte restaurants should have a choice, NOT a set menu. Main restaurant, great breakfast choice, good lunch choice and good evening choice. However, not enough is cooked before your own eyes, need more choice. Also perhaps provide stuff not in sauces?

Other reviews have said people have been moved hotels. We believe this is a problem with the paperwork provided by the supplier. Make SURE your paperwork says "Iberostar Panorama AND suites" then you will not have a problem.

As I've said, this is a great hotel if you want 5* on a beer budget. We feel the hotel is marketing to the wrong sorts of people. If it marketed to Thomas Cook Style then the luxury would come with it. Due to them marketing at the cheaper end of the market, the luxury is lacking because they believe they do not need to provide it. If, however, you have the money to spend on a luxury holiday, we'd suggest you spent it on a luxurious hotel (Four Seasons in Sharm, etc) and paid the money for the service.

Attention to detail is essential to providing a 5* service. We would have liked drinks and a snack in our room on arrival, staff to recognise and remember customers and to feel special. It is a great hotel to kick back and do nothing in and is well worth a visit. It's not 5* and it's not luxury; but it is a great hotel for a relaxed vacation on a shoestring.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelExpert_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crook, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2010

fantastic hotel,very clean,great food,great cocktails,rubbish ac though
everything is fantastic but the ac,its ike a weasle breathing on you
when your hot and bothered you need ice cold ac
cocktails brilliant
clean pools
loads of loungers etc
food nice

ben

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben_northEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2010

This hotel is an absolutely huge complex, but sits on the hillside in Psalidi which over looks Turkey - Bodrum (which by the way is only 8 miles - 45 minutes - away across the Aegean and a brilliant day trip to be had - which you can book in-house through your respective tour operator).

The hotel did exactly what it said on the site - it was very clean and relxing and the staff were very friendly, however the enormity of the complex (as ever they do) left you feeling a bit lonely. Although I was travelling with my mum - there was no real feel of unity of the hotel guests and everybody kept to themselves.

It has a very International feel - majority of the internationals are German or Russian, I think we spotted about 2 - 3 other British families, which we found bizarre considering the size of the complex.

The pools were great and plenty of sunbeds to go around, although get down there early as people do tend to 'reserve' them even though there is a polite notice requesting them not to.

The food was perfectly acceptable, although perhaps a little 'samey' but you do tend to get that with all inclusive hotels. That didn't stop us from tucking every evening! There is night entertainment as well, however if you're like me and you cannot stand one man and a key board attempting the beatles and carpenters and such like - it won't be for you.

The room was a good size and the very clean, nothing bad to report on cleanliness in general of the hotel.

I didn't check out the gym or spa so I couln't pass comment on that - all I know is that when we vsiited Bodrum for the day - I much preferred the hustle and bustle of the day and the character of the town. By comparison Psalidi and Kos felt too quiet for me - even though I went for a complete chill out, it would be nice if there was some night life going on or even something for amusement to do in the evening having just spent a day by the pool. Having said that many ofthe foregners posing around the pool in the day did more than that to serve amusement to me.

All in all - good hotel, ticks all the boxes it says it will, but just the atmosphere was a little flat-line!

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BM_Lodnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2010

Be aware of multi agent holiday package providers. We booked and paid for panorama hotel and on our arrival we were sent by panorama's reception to a 3 star hotel.

We booked the holiday for 4 people thru beachcollection.co.uk, but when we arrived at panorama the mangement said to us that they had no information about our booking and blamed a list of companies called triton accomodations, globaltravelgroup and onholidaygroup. They also said that we were not the only guests who had had this problem with triton accomodations and it had happend for the past 2-3 years. Therefore, they sent us to another hotel without telling us that they were downgrading our accomodation to a 3 star.

Until now (Aug 2010) we have not been able to track the responsible agent who got our money and did not book us to the correct accomodation. However, we blame panorama management too as they still work with tritons no matter they have rouined people's holidays many times??!!

Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank AngelAnahita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2010

i don't know why people are saying its a bad hotel! i couldnt fault it at all. I'm 17 and i went with my 3 sisters (all teenage) )and my parents. it was AMAAZING. we stayed half board for 2 weeks and the rooms were gorgeous.... we had a room with 2 double beds for us 4 to share, then the room next door for my parents. the room was MASSIVE with a balcony over looking the sea. it was such a beautiful hotel with 2 nice pools. the receptionist was always very helpful and the people are really nice. its literally a short drive of about 2 minutes not even that to where all the bars are and the nightlife in kos town IS AMAZING. i cant wait to go back... the food was good, never went to breakfast but always for tea. we hired a car for the time we were there as theres an amazing beach about a 20 minute drive away to the other end of the island. totally white beaches and really big but not many people no about it so its nice and relaxing.... got lots of water sports etc to do so we went there almost everyday and took a few sandwiches... id recommend this hotel to anyone and everyone! the weather was the best! For all ages !!! IT WAS FABBBBBB. and the greek food. wow

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitchell2929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Psalidi
0.3 mi away
Kipriotis Village Resort
2.0 mi away
Michelangelo Resort and Spa
1.1 mi away
Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mitsis Ramira Beach Hotel
5.1 mi away
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Kipriotis Hippocrates
Kipriotis Hippocrates
#9 of 19 in Psalidi
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kipriotis Panorama Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kipriotis Panorama Hotel & Suites

Property: Kipriotis Panorama Hotel & Suites
Address: Psalidi 85300, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Psalidi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Psalidi
#10 Spa Hotel in Psalidi
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Psalidi
#12 Family Hotel in Psalidi
#12 Luxury Hotel in Psalidi
#12 Romantic Hotel in Psalidi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Kipriotis Panorama Hotel & Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reflecting the crystal clear Aegean waters, 200m from the beach, KIPRIOTIS PANORAMA HOTEL & SUITES is conveniently located in the area of Psalidi, on the North - East coast of the island of Kos, only 3km from Kos town and 25km from Kos International Airport. Amphitheatrically built, its shiny glass facade strikes out from the natural scenic beauty that surrounds it, enabling the visitor to stare the undreamt view to the immense sky-blue Aegean sea. With state of the art conference facilities of 1.500 people total capacity, a fantastic sky bar on the 7th floor "Red Loft Sky Bar" and an impressive spa center "Hippocrates Holistic Wellness Spa", Kipriotis Panorama Hotel & Suites provide the best proposition to both business and leisure travelers. Majestic and ample, modern and luxurious, warm and welcoming, this 5* deluxe property has been designed to offer unprecedented standards of hospitality. The hotel features 253 spaciously designed units of standard rooms, junior suites, executive suites and one presidential suite. All rooms have a superb view either on to the sea or the mountain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kipriotis Panorama Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kipriotis Panorama Hotel Psalidi
Kipriotis Panorama And Suites
Iberostar Hotel Kipriotis Panorama
Iberostar Hotel Psalidi
Iberostar Kipriotis Panorama
Kipriotis Panorama Hotel & Suites Kos/Psalidi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing