We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third time, and better every time”
Review of Platanista Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Platanista Hotel
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Psalidi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 March 2012

The past four years, we have been here three times. This hotel is already over 10 years old since last refurbishment, but every time again it looks brand new! We are convinced, during winter time, all walls are painted again, defective equipment is replaced... Food again was quite decent for a tourist hotel, unfortunatelly we would prefer more Greek courses every evening besides typical Britisch and German food, but for the price one pays, one can't complain.

Staff is just marvellous and friendly, we had an accident with our motorcycle, and staff members helped us to get to the best doctors on the island because the public hospital... Well, just stay away from the public hospital...

The Platanista will never let you down, if you look for a real 4-star superior hotel, this is it; on the island of Kos, and for this money, you wont find better!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Radarlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (938)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

568 - 574 of 938 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2011

This was our first to Kos traveling from the Northwest US. Visited in September 2011. Chose this hotel based on trip advisor reviews and was not disappointed. You can tell from the reviews that they get a lot of repeat customers especially from the UK and Germany. We booked 6 nights here, on arrival found that they were overbooked and they transferred us to another hotel for the first night. Initially we were a bit unhappy but they took care of the transfer and put us in a luxury suite with private pool in another beachfront hotel at their cost. When we transferred back we were pleased to find Platanista was very clean, excellent service, friendly, beautiful pool areas, breakfast buffet was of good quality and
selection. The Hotel is well maintained, rooms are clean, comfortable, with air conditioning. We feel they had excellant customer service as shown by the recovery of our satisfaction. We stayed in a deluxe double with balcony on second floor overlooking pool areas. I would highly recommend this hotel and would stay here again if returning to Kos. Bike rental nearby for riding to town. I also rode to and from the conference center where I was attending meetings.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RuralEMDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

This is a great looking hotel with a great backdrop of the mountains and just 50mtrs from the sea!
We opted for a standard room, which on the website looks quite basic but, in reality, it is far far better! Modern, clean and comfortable!
Everywhere is spotlessly clean;the staff are friendly and helpful and the food is excellent with great breakfasts and superb dinners too!
The only negative point is that the drinks are quite expensive and there is a charge of 16 Euro's to use the reception safety deposit boxes!
The local tavernas just outside the hotel offer great value for money, especially the Blue Ocean.
We can recommend the Volcano excursion and Zia by night but the "simply Kos" excursion is very poor value for money and excludes lunch and also applies extra charges for admission to some of the attractions!

However the area and the hotel are great and the weather was very hot too. A good value holiday overall!

Room Tip: The standard rooms are really nice - no real need to upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tinribs46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

We stayed here in September and had a great holiday. The room was just like the photo's on the web pages. The food was the best we have had in a hotel and fresh and some tasty meals. Some things did not try such as rabbit, but don't forget there is a mixture of different nationalities so have to cater for all tastes. We had a ground floor room and a potio with a vew of the pool. There is a tiny mini bar in the room full of drinks ask for a price list at reception. We thought the price for drinks was expensive at the restaurant 12 euros for a bottle of wine 2 euros 60 for water that you have to pay for during the evening meal. We laughed a lot at people taking the plastic bottle with what was left, i suppose if your paing for it why not. We did not stay in at all at night but saw some entertainment on our way out and it was not our cup of tea. Not many people stayed round the bar at night. We hired bikes from across the road for our stay and went into Kos town, there is a cycle path all the way and loads of places to park at the harbour, be carefull of the people who think they are in the tour de france they go so fast and don't care about others. Most of the other guests at the hotel were using bikes as well. We had a nice boat trip paid 20 euros each with lunch well worth the money it was the three island trip on the Poseidon. Kos town is very nice takes around 25 mins waking 10 mins on a bike. We had a day at the beach just past the harbour the bar owners will give you loungers and an umbrella for free but be aware that they expect you to buy drinks or food. We also used the taverna accross the road the food was nice and drinks were cheaper, you can have a meal or drink they dont mind and you can sit right next to the sea and look out over to Turkey and watch boats. We paid 45 euros for late check out as we were on a late flight. At Kos airport when you have checked in your cases don't go through passport control until they ask you to go to the gate as it is very small and there are not enough seats, it was terrible. We would stay here again but not until we are a bit older as we found there was no one our age group may be due to going in September.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janemjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

We stayed at The Hotel Platanista in August 2010 and had a fantastic holiday. The hotel looks like a castle from the outside. You enter the hotel via a grand entrance, leading into the reception area, which is all marble. Very impressive! The hotel has two fantastic pools. One being larger than the other and we found the smaller one was for the more reserved people, who preferred a quieter swimming pool. The smaller pool has a pool bar and a jaccuzzi. There are plenty of sunbeds around both pools. They have activities going on during the day, like water polo, water aerobics, crazy golf, beach volleyball, darts, pool etc, for you to join in if you wish.The restaurant was very impressive, but gets very busy. If you want to sit outside for your meals (especially evening) you need to get there early. The food was excellant and varied. There is entertainment in the evening. There are a couple of bars and a separate eating place during the day for snacks. They have a small shop which sells everything you need. The room was very spacious with a large marble bathroom and a large balcony. The gardens were lovely and kept emaculate. They have their own beach just down the road, but it is very rocky and deep. Not ideal. We found a lovely beach in Tigaki, which was beautiful. You can either get the bus or a taxi. Kos town is about 35 minutes walk or you can get the bus, which took about 5 minutes. The only downfall with the hotel, is that there is not much to do around there. Apart from that, it was fantastic!!! Can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Spartak is in charge of the bar and he is a great guy. His service is excellent and he is so friendly. Thank you Spartak.
The hotel is good but the beds are hard.
Fabulous swimming pools.
Lots of entertainment from the animation team for those who like that sort of thing.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

After many years and many visits to the Platanista, it is still as good as ever and will continue to draw us back year after year. I cannot add any more plaudits than those the other reviewers have already stated - it is immaculately clean in the hotel complex itself, in the pool and garden areas and in the pool bar/restaurant. The food is varied and good and the staff are fantastic - without exception! We have become very friendly with some of them who keep in touch all year round. Kos town is within an easy pleasant walking distance and there are many boat trips available to some of the smaller islands and also to Bodrum in Turkey. Bodrum castle is certainly worth a visit with spectacular views across the bay. There is also a family run taverna just across the road from the Platanista called the Nestoras where there is always a warm welcome from Nestoras, Stephanos, Big Mike and Michael. We always eat lunch there and meet many of our local friends there in the evenings for the wonderful food they serve. All in all, we cannot recommend the Platinista or the area more highly - it is a fantastic place for couples and also for couples with young families. We are always greeted with the words "welcome home" and that indeed is how it feels! Thank you all at the Platanista for yet another wonderful holidaY!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yvonnepettitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Psalidi
2.5 mi away
Michelangelo Resort and Spa
1.8 mi away
Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel
0.8 mi away
Mitsis Ramira Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Dimitra Beach Resort Hotel
Dimitra Beach Resort Hotel
#1 of 1 in Agios Fokas
1,559 reviews
1 mi away
Kipriotis Village Resort
3 mi away
Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Platanista Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Platanista Hotel

Address: Psalidi, Psalidi 85 300, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Psalidi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Psalidi
#2 Romantic Hotel in Psalidi
#4 Spa Hotel in Psalidi
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Psalidi
#4 Luxury Hotel in Psalidi
Price Range: £68 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Platanista Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed to recreate the look of a castle, the family-run Platanista consistently wins awards for its high standards, excellent value for money & caring staff. This impressive hotel is in a quiet position only 200m from the beach, 2km from Kos town, & 1km from the marina. A simple, yet aesthetic, environment worked out to accommodate the visitors who would want to experience something exceptional from the ordinary. A thousand and one nights in Greece... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Platanista Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Platanista Hotel Psalidi
Platanista Hotel Kos/Psalidi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing