We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel”
Review of Platanista Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Platanista Hotel
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Psalidi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Hotel was lovely clean, and staff friendly and helpful. The food was great for adults , not sure if you had fussy children the evening meals would be suitable , as most meats/fish served in sauces The Wi-Fi in hotel not great had problems with the connection being intermittent , found most bars you could get it free.The hotel entertainment was typical of what you get in most hotels. The only problem with hotel is I feel there not enough sunbeds out , we were fine only had one afternoon were we found last one left and hotel wasn't full. The bus service into Kos Town was great, and cheap, although you could walk in about 30 minutes just watch out for some of the idiots on bikes (use same pavement). If you want to catch the bus to go to Tigaki you have to go to another part of the town and then cost 2 euro, goes every hour. There was bike hire just outside Hotel for about 5 euro a day. I found buying drinks expensive in general cost around 4 euro for a lager, to 6-7 euro for shorts, I took to drinking cocktails as same price as a short. We did do the simple Kos trip with Thomson's it was 'just' ok although the guide every funny guy, there are extras to pay for entrance fees. Did find most of the good trips tues/wed/thurs and did mention to Liam our rep who said it was due to arrival/depart times, not much use if only there for a week. Overall I enjoyed my holiday to kos and would use hotel if I went back, but I personally found not enough to do on island that appealed to me.

Room Tip: We asked for a room not on ground floor , room 255 it was in the shade nearly all day, which was fin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keri7171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (938)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

516 - 522 of 938 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2013

What a great holiday at the Platanista Hotel, Out go all the Hotels I've been to with Thomson this beats the lot, the hotel is very clean, rooms are also lovely and clean, thanks to house keeping who work so hard, I have to say the most important thing that made our holiday or should I say honeymoon was the staff, Julie and Michaela (sisters) on the pool snack bar where amazing, lovely hard working girls and so witty/funny always smiling and cheerful..... Nikon who also worked the snack bar, evening dinner and evening bar waiter was fantastic, again very friendly and nothing was too much trouble, such a cheerful guy... Maria the breakfast & dinner waitress, lovely girl hard worker and again with a good sense of humour..... Spartak The evening outdoor barman who has been working there 16 years, the hotel must be proud to have him work there as he was wonderful, such a gentleman and again nothing too much trouble and so hard working, great cocktail maker, try the genivieve cocktail.. Maria and Nono The animation team where very funny and worked hard, they where let down on some entertainers that should have arrived so they had to fill in, but again they where great.. Liam the Thomson rep, very helpful, great hotel because of the staff... Also food really good... Would go back again, you will have a good time overall.. Only dissapointment was the flight times from and to Cardiff...

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Honeymooners1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

This was our visit to Kos but it will not be our last.The hotel was fantastic, the service, quality, value and cleanliness were all excellent. The receptionists were extremely helpful and polite. The food and the service would be a credit to any 5* star hotel.Because we arrived in the first week of the hotel opening for the season the entertainment was a little thin on the ground in the evenings, but little Maria made up for it all with her enthusiasm and cheerfulness with daytime activities and evening quizes.A big thanks to all the staff and managers for making our holiday so memorable. If you are looking for a beach this is not the ideal place although they are adding sand to the small single beach 200metres from the hotel + sun beds and parasols.Would recommend hiring a car for a few days and seeing the island as it does have some lovely beaches.I am in my seventies but found driving very easy.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ray27541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012 via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed my stay here! Food went from good to average! Plenty on offer! Gyros was immense!
Pool was relaxing and had lunch in diner at the corner of the pool everyday! Not far to travel to kos town either! Overall 9/10 for me!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Richigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

This was our third visit and this time we brought my 85 year old mother. We all consider this hotel to be one of the best in our experience of the Greek Islands. It is spotlessly clean, the food is excellent and the staff are friendly and very helpful. Pantellis, our waiter, was most attentive and friendly, without being intrusive, and the reception staff were very helpful in arranging a snack when we arrived late in the evening. Wine was sensibly priced. Situated in a quiet area but close enough to walk into Kos Town or hire a bicycle. Thoroughly recommended and we will go back again.

Room Tip: Ask to have a room on an upper floor for a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Platanista from 19th September for 2 weeks. We paid extra for a superior room and thought it was well worth it as the views from our balcony were brilliant ,mountains to the left Kos Town straight ahead and the sea to our right, where we could see all the yachts sailing in and out of Kos Harbour. The hotel was very clean, great food, wide variety to suit every taste, the staff very helpful and friendly. Two great swimming pools, no problem with sun loungers. The location was good. We are a couple in our late 60's but we hired bikes (25euros per week)A and enjoyed every minute. There are good bike lanes into Kos Town and also to some beaches which makes you feel a lot safer when cycling. Kos Town is very quaint with plenty of ruins and excavations to look around and most are free to visit. There is a large square in the centre of Kos with many Bars and restaraunts, where you can sit and watch the world go by Brilliant!! Down a side street near the main square is a little cafe where you can get home made waffles with fresh fruit and honey Delicious!! Two Tavernas near the hotel to visit Nescontas where you almost sit on the beach with views of Bodrum in Turkey and another on the opposite side of the road run by a lovely young man called michael who is so friendly and welcoming. There is a local bus 100m from the hotel thats takes you directly into Kos journey approx 10mins. We would definitly return to this hotel and to kos where every one is so friendly and welcoming .

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bernito_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

We could not fault this hotel at all..............the rooms, main buildings and gardens were spotless.Our room was spacious and in a quiet location, the bed was most comfortable. The food was excellant ! SO much choice at breakfast and evening meal. The Reception staff were very helpful and friendly. The restauraunt staff all worked very hard. Pantelis in particular was always friendly with a smile. We would definitely choose to return to this hotel should we visit Kos again. On our arrival we were disappointed with the beach across the road and preferred to sit around the hotel quiet pool for relaxation. When we discovered how easy it was to get around the island using the village bus service we took several day trips out exploring other parts of the island. It took 30mins from the main bus station in Kos town to get to Tigaki or Mastichari. Both have lovely long white sandy beaches. The bus fare was 2 Euros each way. It took 1 hour to get to Kefalos and cost 4.40 Euros each way. From there we walked to the far end of the beach to the beautiful soft sandy beach at Kastri. We also took the bus to Pili to the highest point inland, there is a newly opened small National Park there with wonderful views. It's 30mins via bus and cost 2 Euros each way. The town of Kos is also picturesque with it's Harbour front and castle. The Square has a lovely atmosphere for dining out during the evenings. It's a straight walk in from the hotel taking approx 20mins OR there is a bus every 15minutes until late evening.

Room Tip: Rooms nearer the tennis courts are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Hazel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Psalidi
2.5 mi away
Michelangelo Resort and Spa
1.8 mi away
Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel
0.8 mi away
Mitsis Ramira Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa
2.6 mi away
Dimitra Beach Resort Hotel
Dimitra Beach Resort Hotel
#1 of 1 in Agios Fokas
1,558 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kipriotis Village Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Platanista Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Platanista Hotel

Address: Psalidi, Psalidi 85 300, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Psalidi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Psalidi
#2 Romantic Hotel in Psalidi
#4 Luxury Hotel in Psalidi
#4 Spa Hotel in Psalidi
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Psalidi
Price Range: £69 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Platanista Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed to recreate the look of a castle, the family-run Platanista consistently wins awards for its high standards, excellent value for money & caring staff. This impressive hotel is in a quiet position only 200m from the beach, 2km from Kos town, & 1km from the marina. A simple, yet aesthetic, environment worked out to accommodate the visitors who would want to experience something exceptional from the ordinary. A thousand and one nights in Greece... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Platanista Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Platanista Hotel Psalidi
Platanista Hotel Kos/Psalidi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing