We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Our Castle" in Kos”
Review of Platanista Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Platanista Hotel
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Psalidi
Certificate of Excellence
Mildenhall, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“"Our Castle" in Kos”
Reviewed 2 June 2013

I last wrote a review of the Platanista Hotel in 2011 and if anything, it has only got better and better. We have been going now to the Platanista Hotel for around ten years and although we have seen many other hotels in Kos, we would only go to this one as we feel it is the best. We took our daughter and son-in-law around 6 years ago when they were just a couple and they had a wonderful time, and this year they came back with us along with their 4 year old son. He had a fantastic time in the pools and playground and was spoilt rotten by all the staff. Our daughter remarked that she had forgotten just how special it is here - so beautifully kept and so spacious. The staff here are fantastic - nothing is too much trouble for any of them without exception and over the course of ten years we are treated as friends as well as guests and this is part of what draws us back year on year. The rooms are always immaculate as is the dining area, reception and all outdoor areas. The food is always first class! I would recommend this hotel to couples of all ages and to families with young children although the area of Psalidi may be a little too quiet for teenagers!
Kos town is lovely with quaint little shops and a permanent covered market and is only a short bus ride or a 30 minute stroll away. There are a great variety of trips to other islands and over to Turkey to be had at the harbour.
We love this place and it's people and will continue to come to the Platanista Hotel until we reach an age when we are unable to travel!
Thank you all at the Platanista for once again, a truly memorable holiday!

Room Tip: Any of the rooms here are excellent - if you want a shady area or a sunny area, just ask for rooms t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yvonnepettitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    593
    218
    34
    6
    2
See reviews for
202
482
21
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed at the hotel from May 11 for 7 nights as half board basis it has been one of the best hotels that we have stayed at the whole hotel was spotlessly clean,the food was really really nice with a good variation each night with a poolside snack bar for midday meals.Staff all very friendly & helpfull.The hotel is 3Km from from Kos town,We had a side seaview room which had a view of the sea and the hills around, bit off country noise in the day but did not bother us.we would definitly use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Over looking the swimming for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 64welshman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Firstly an admission, I have been to this hotel a number of times over an eight year period and while it has always provided an excellent experience it has never 'rested on its laurels' and improves. The staff team has a core of people you would be proud to have as friends from the manager Thanasis to the staff group notably Spartak, Maria, Julie and Markella plus the excellent reception team headed by Stavroula and with newer staff such as Makis, Nikos and Catalin the future looks bright for the family run Platanista Hotel.

The Platanista has now reached an optimum size with its new 5 star accommodation block but this has not detracted from the general feel of the excellently maintained grounds and pools. This hotel offers relaxation, friendliness and opportunity to mix with people from a variety of nations across Europe but still predominantly Belgians, Dutch, Germans and British. The staff are efficient and hard working but find time to engage with customers and have a laugh. They have excellent language skills throughout.

The accommodation is immaculately maintained and kept spotlessly clean, the head chef ensures a very good variety of food is available.

The hotel mantains its own stretch of sandy beach across the road which in Psalidi (pebble beach area) is a bonus,

Bar prices are competitive for a hotel of this calibre and nothing is too much trouble for the staff.

Regular buses to town (1 euro 10 cents each way) and bicycle/motor transport shop immediately by the hotel cover all transport needs. The walk to Kos Town takes about 25 minutes and a lot of people walk in and take the bus back.

So you will have gathered that I really like this hotel and although I have dveloped a relationship with some of the staff I can honestly say that I hold this opinion despite that fact. In all honesty this hotel allows people from all age groups to mix but would probably be recorded as having more middle aged/older guests in early and late season with a yoiunger aged group in the high summer (boosted by Italian visitors and families) but that is nothing new to seasoned holiday goers.

Room Tip: All the rooms are of a high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank markgharrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We booked this hotel through Thomson and thought the room came with shower, not shower over bath. We explained to the receptionist that a 'walk-in' shower was required, due to disability and were told she would speak to the manager and let us know. Later that day we explained, to the manageress, why a separate shower was required and were told that the hotel did not have any whatsoever and was not built that way, this was repeated more than once. The hotel brochure clearly shows a room with walk-in shower, she did not wish to discuss this and was very abrupt, rude and derogatory, after which she turned her back and stomped off back to her little office in the back! There was no mention or offer to pay for upgrade, nor for the remainder of our week would she speak to us, absolutely disgusted! This was a shame because otherwise the staff were very pleasant. With regards to the food, not bad but would have been nice to see more fresh fruit, most appeared to come out of a tin can. Overall we enjoyed the island of Kos, worth hiring a car to explore a bit and potter around!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Twitchet72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Hotel was lovely clean, and staff friendly and helpful. The food was great for adults , not sure if you had fussy children the evening meals would be suitable , as most meats/fish served in sauces The Wi-Fi in hotel not great had problems with the connection being intermittent , found most bars you could get it free.The hotel entertainment was typical of what you get in most hotels. The only problem with hotel is I feel there not enough sunbeds out , we were fine only had one afternoon were we found last one left and hotel wasn't full. The bus service into Kos Town was great, and cheap, although you could walk in about 30 minutes just watch out for some of the idiots on bikes (use same pavement). If you want to catch the bus to go to Tigaki you have to go to another part of the town and then cost 2 euro, goes every hour. There was bike hire just outside Hotel for about 5 euro a day. I found buying drinks expensive in general cost around 4 euro for a lager, to 6-7 euro for shorts, I took to drinking cocktails as same price as a short. We did do the simple Kos trip with Thomson's it was 'just' ok although the guide every funny guy, there are extras to pay for entrance fees. Did find most of the good trips tues/wed/thurs and did mention to Liam our rep who said it was due to arrival/depart times, not much use if only there for a week. Overall I enjoyed my holiday to kos and would use hotel if I went back, but I personally found not enough to do on island that appealed to me.

Room Tip: We asked for a room not on ground floor , room 255 it was in the shade nearly all day, which was fin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keri7171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

What a great holiday at the Platanista Hotel, Out go all the Hotels I've been to with Thomson this beats the lot, the hotel is very clean, rooms are also lovely and clean, thanks to house keeping who work so hard, I have to say the most important thing that made our holiday or should I say honeymoon was the staff, Julie and Michaela (sisters) on the pool snack bar where amazing, lovely hard working girls and so witty/funny always smiling and cheerful..... Nikon who also worked the snack bar, evening dinner and evening bar waiter was fantastic, again very friendly and nothing was too much trouble, such a cheerful guy... Maria the breakfast & dinner waitress, lovely girl hard worker and again with a good sense of humour..... Spartak The evening outdoor barman who has been working there 16 years, the hotel must be proud to have him work there as he was wonderful, such a gentleman and again nothing too much trouble and so hard working, great cocktail maker, try the genivieve cocktail.. Maria and Nono The animation team where very funny and worked hard, they where let down on some entertainers that should have arrived so they had to fill in, but again they where great.. Liam the Thomson rep, very helpful, great hotel because of the staff... Also food really good... Would go back again, you will have a good time overall.. Only dissapointment was the flight times from and to Cardiff...

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Honeymooners1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldershot, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

This was our visit to Kos but it will not be our last.The hotel was fantastic, the service, quality, value and cleanliness were all excellent. The receptionists were extremely helpful and polite. The food and the service would be a credit to any 5* star hotel.Because we arrived in the first week of the hotel opening for the season the entertainment was a little thin on the ground in the evenings, but little Maria made up for it all with her enthusiasm and cheerfulness with daytime activities and evening quizes.A big thanks to all the staff and managers for making our holiday so memorable. If you are looking for a beach this is not the ideal place although they are adding sand to the small single beach 200metres from the hotel + sun beds and parasols.Would recommend hiring a car for a few days and seeing the island as it does have some lovely beaches.I am in my seventies but found driving very easy.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ray27541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Psalidi
2.5 mi away
Michelangelo Resort and Spa
3.0 mi away
Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa
1.8 mi away
Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Mitsis Ramira Beach Hotel
2.6 mi away
Dimitra Beach Hotel
Dimitra Beach Hotel
#1 of 1 in Agios Fokas
1,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Platanista Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Platanista Hotel

Property: Platanista Hotel
Address: Psalidi, Psalidi 85 300, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Psalidi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Psalidi
#1 Family Hotel in Psalidi
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Psalidi
#1 Luxury Hotel in Psalidi
#2 Romantic Hotel in Psalidi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Platanista Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed to recreate the look of a castle, the family-run Platanista consistently wins awards for its high standards, excellent value for money & caring staff. This impressive hotel is in a quiet position only 200m from the beach, 2km from Kos town, & 1km from the marina. A simple, yet aesthetic, environment worked out to accommodate the visitors who would want to experience something exceptional from the ordinary. A thousand and one nights in Greece... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, LoveHolidays and HotelQuickly so you can book your Platanista Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Platanista Hotel Psalidi
Platanista Hotel Kos/Psalidi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing