We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful 11 nights in Hotel Platanista”
Review of Platanista Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Platanista Hotel
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Psalidi
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful 11 nights in Hotel Platanista”
Reviewed 22 June 2013

In May this year we decided we would like to take our next holiday in Kos so we went on Trip Advisor and looked at Hotels in and around Kos town. We wanted half board so we could spend some of our evenings soaking up the atmosphere in Kos town and, having read the reviews, we chose the Hotel Platanista - what a good choice that turned out to be.

I e-mailed the Hotel 2 weeks before and asked for a pool/sea view which we got, very pleased with the room, got just what we asked for and, as in previous reviews, the choice of food was excellent and the staff brilliant - nothing was too much trouble. We particularly enjoyed being able to dine outside for both breakfast and dinner.
Special thanks must go to Maria and Nuno from the animation team who got me and my wife involved in mini golf, french boules, table tennis and water polo even though I am in my 70th year!

I have to agree with some of the previous reports about the airport - what a shambles. We were flying home late evening and we had to queue for 2 hours 15 minute's just to get in the airport., then a further 45 minute's to check in then 30 minute's for passport control. If you work that out you will see we were delayed by almost 3 hours. I must stress not the airline's fault. We were not impressed with the Thomson Reps who seem to prefer being inside the terminal in a group rather than being outside telling us what was going on!

The only disappointment during our eleven day holiday was that it was my wife's birthday on the 4th June so I e-mailed the Hotel 2 weeks before and asked if they could do something special on that day, perhaps some fruit or a bottle of wine in the room? The day came and went and nothing happened, perhaps it's not Hotel's policy to acknowledge Birthdays but it doesn't take much to make someones day?

Overall,I have to say we had a fantastic time, the hotel was excellent, weather brilliant and we thoroughly enjoyed our holiday in Kos. The only problem was the airport which we would like to think could be improved before we visited Kos again.

Room Tip: Higher floors. better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    562
    205
    32
    5
    1
See reviews for
195
446
20
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
162 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Our room was quite small but very clean and the beds were comfy. Minor niggles were that the wardrobes were not deep enough to hang dresses so they were hung on the shower rail. The fan in the bathroom did not come on with the light so it was steamy and smelly sometimes. The balcony door lock was very stiff but never got round to reporting it and as been said the BBC channel had low volume.
All staff appeared genuinly friendly and the reception staff were particularly good and knowledgable and spoke perfect English. The Animation Team livened up the pool area without being too persistant and I played boules and mini-golf for the first time. The evenings entertainment was passable to good.
The buffet food was varied and generaly quite good and I thought the starters were particularly good in that they could be a meal in themselves. As been said the Apellia wine was quite drinkable at !0eur and if you wanted to drink it all week on the balcony a large bottle could be bought for 4eur from the supermarket down the road. There is a small supermaket as part of the petrol station but goods are limited and more expensive. A larger one is about 10 mins walk left on main road and then first left or can be reached by walking up the lane to the left of the hotel.
The bus into Kos can be full at around 10 o clock and it will not stop so one can walk or hire a bike. One can take a bus in the opposite direction to Thermos where one can feel the hot springs coming up from the sea but there is a steep track if you have walking difficulties. If you go there on a bike there is quite a long hill. If you do hire a bike and fit and experienced the ride to the mountain village of Zia is quite challenging via Asklepion.
The bar across the road is reasonably priced and the staff friendly and a pleasant place to stroll to for a drink or light lunch.
I would return to this hotel again if there were major improvements to the airport where on exiting one was treated like cattle which put a damper on the holiday.

Room Tip: Would not pay extra for an upgraded room the standard room is quite adequate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oldtuggo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

First visit to Kos and so glad that we picked this hotel. This is one of the friendliest and cleanest hotels we have been to and, despite some negative comments on here, the food was always excellent. The staff are all so friendly and seem to enjoy working at the hotel. Julie and Michaela at the pool snack bar are always happy and work so hard. The same can be said of Maria in the restaurant. It is probably wrong to single these out as all the staff were excellent. The hotel is in a quiet area but the walk to Kos Town was no problem, even for our 10 and 8 year olds. The two swimming pools are very pleasant and the whole area is kept so clean. A very special mention to Maria and Nuno who run the hotel animation. They work so hard to involve everyone during the day and evenings and obviously enjoy their jobs. They made my kids holiday all the more enjoyable by involving them in daytime activities and also giving them a part in an evening show which was the highlight of their holiday. All in all, a great time and we will go back to the Platanista without doubt.

Room Tip: Room in block away from main restaurant / reception block was excellent. Very quiet and easy to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaz12161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Stayed at this excellent hotel at the end of May/early June 2013

The staff especially are really excellent, smiling and helpful – how they manage to stay cheerful and smiling, despite the excessively long hours they work, beats me!

No food was available on arrival – surely some sort of snack could have been arranged after a late package flight with awful food! Fortunately, there is a good taverna just outside the hotel.

Apart from that, the food was very good and varied. . The house wine (Apelia white, rosé & red) is not bad at €10 a bottle. Lunch at the poolside restaurant was good and inexpensive

Rooms are well-equipped with comfortable beds and good balconies but the layout of the hotel is difficult to follow, with reception, restaurant and accommodation in several different blocks on several different levels. A map showing the hotel layout would have been helpful. There was very little information about the hotel in the room.

For some unknown reason, the air conditioning controller was trapped behind a plastic cage, making temperature adjustment difficult but not impossible.

There was no safe in the room, but you can hire a strong box behind the reception desk. There are plans to install room safes in the next year or so

There was no means of hanging washing on the balcony for drying.

No paper tissues were provided, so bring your own.

Hot water supply in the rooms (we had 557) is inadequate and prone to run cold, and pressure is low

For some reason, BBC World News, available on the room TV, had the sound controlled so low that it could hardly be heard and the aspect ratio of the picture was set incorrectly resulting in very tall and thin people!

The two swimming pools and surrounding areas are clean and well maintained.

Muzak, especially during the inevitable and ubiquitous aquarobics sessions and in the poolside restaurant was awful – what is wrong with traditional Greek music?

Evening entertainment was dire! Three very unfunny and embarrassing clowns with puppets one night and karaoke another - bring your own!

Wifi was expensive at €5 for 90 minutes, and difficult to set up, resulting in most of the 90 minutes being wasted trying to establish contact with the outside world! It’s possible that you can purchase access more cheaply through the internet company Wiplus website. (http://gr.wiplus.com/frontoffice/portal.asp?cpage=NODE&cno de=17) but I didn't explore
further. Reception is poor or non-existent in the far corners of the hotel site.

It was nice to see swallows nesting over the bar and swooping down to drink from the pool!

Kos town is a few kilometres away – No. 1 bus outside the hotel – tickets (€1.10 each way and timetable from reception) but don’t believe the timetable and don’t expect the bus driver to stop at the bus stops unless you ring his bell!

The ruined castle of Nerantzia constructed between 1380 & 1514 is well worth visiting (€3 or €2 for over 65’s) http://www.greeka.com/dodecanese/kos/kos-excursions/kos-castle-knights.htm

The one major downside was the airport, (Hippocrates International) which has put us off returning! The airport is small, hot and overcrowded, and people have to wait a long time in a very long queue in the open outside the small departure check-in area. Inside baggage handling is primitive – having checked in, bags have to be taken across to the scanner and conveyor system as there is no link conveyor between the check-in desks and the conveyor. The boarding gate area is especially cramped and hot with limited seating.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat3204Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

We travelled to this hotel and island for the first time this May, and we only booked 3 weeks prior to travelling and it certainly exceeded my expectations.

There's a lot of repeat customers which says a lot about this hotel. It's family run and its beautifully landscaped and maintained. We probably brought the average age down to about 50 but don't let that out you off if you're looking for a relaxing break.

Hotel: clean, beautifully decorated, comfortable and nicely spaced out in the grounds.

Bedrooms: ours was comfortable but a little on the small side and I wouldn't liked to have had to put up with the bathroom for a second week, but we had a twin and there are other options. Overall though the rooms were pleasant. The only things I would've liked were tea and coffee facilities in room but that was no big deal; safety deposit box but you could use the ones in reception and an iron and board but you could give it to housekeeping to do so you weren't stuck.

Food: excellent, fresh and plenty of choice and variety.

Bar: everyone who works there chips in and they're all really friendly and get on well, repeat guests are welcomed back like old friends - makes you want to be one of them!

Entertainment: plenty going on for a small independent hotel, the animation team did my head in a bit but I just wanted to read my book and be antisocial - my boyfriend appeased them a bit and joined in. It might nark some guests but others might find them a delight, they certainly got a fair few people involved in the activities.

Pool: there's two large pools and they're clean and well maintained, they're not heated though but in summer it's a welcome respite. Beds are plentiful, you don't need to be up to beat zee germans. Towels are available but there's a fee, I knew about this from trip advisor review so I took towels but I always do anyway, we used our own.

My only criticism, was on the last day we could keep our room on for a fee or use the facilities in the gym to get ready, the hair dryer was below par and there were only two showers and very little room to get sorted, the showers quickly became blocked and it was a little dangerous trying to get ready, if you want to stump up its worth keeping your room on for some comfort and facilities.

Overall, lovely independent hotel, clean and nicely presented, with a personal relationship with its patrons.

Room Tip: Our room was ground floor, and looked out on to the gardens, the garden views were better than some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FoodieFellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Just returned from a two week stay at the platanista hotel - Psalidi KOS
It deserves it good feed back
Location is not too far from the town with plenty of local cheap bus options. The photos are accurate and in some cases do not give a true picture of the location with a backdrop of the hills on one side and the sea only 100m the other. What is really nice you are not overlooked by any other hotels?
What was good
First off all the staff - from the front desk, cleaning and the restaurant - all friendly, helpful and smiling
Even the Animation team of Maria and Nuno (what nice people they were during the holiday) did all they could to make the guests stay pleasurable.
The hotel is kept in pristine condition.
The British are a very small % of the clients staying at the hotel but no issues with the early morning towel brigade.
What was not so good - but many complimented on this item (different tastes)
The hotel only provides a buffet and not table service. This very definition is the food is brought from the kitchen on trays and although they had water heaters below - it was never more than warm. The trays often would be cleared by the first in the queue so you had to wait till the next tray was brought out. This was not isolated but happened at each meal time. The quality of the food was OK but we normally only do B&B so by the second week we gave up and ate in town for the evening meal.
We can’t say what the evening entertainment was like as we preferred eating or drinking out in one of the bars overlooking the sea or town squares - this was more like Greece.
Would we go back - yes (but B&B)
For the price we paid - this holiday was excellent value. I’m sure you will enjoy a holiday here.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mildenhall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

I last wrote a review of the Platanista Hotel in 2011 and if anything, it has only got better and better. We have been going now to the Platanista Hotel for around ten years and although we have seen many other hotels in Kos, we would only go to this one as we feel it is the best. We took our daughter and son-in-law around 6 years ago when they were just a couple and they had a wonderful time, and this year they came back with us along with their 4 year old son. He had a fantastic time in the pools and playground and was spoilt rotten by all the staff. Our daughter remarked that she had forgotten just how special it is here - so beautifully kept and so spacious. The staff here are fantastic - nothing is too much trouble for any of them without exception and over the course of ten years we are treated as friends as well as guests and this is part of what draws us back year on year. The rooms are always immaculate as is the dining area, reception and all outdoor areas. The food is always first class! I would recommend this hotel to couples of all ages and to families with young children although the area of Psalidi may be a little too quiet for teenagers!
Kos town is lovely with quaint little shops and a permanent covered market and is only a short bus ride or a 30 minute stroll away. There are a great variety of trips to other islands and over to Turkey to be had at the harbour.
We love this place and it's people and will continue to come to the Platanista Hotel until we reach an age when we are unable to travel!
Thank you all at the Platanista for once again, a truly memorable holiday!

Room Tip: Any of the rooms here are excellent - if you want a shady area or a sunny area, just ask for rooms t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yvonnepettitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Psalidi
3.0 mi away
Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa
2.5 mi away
Michelangelo Resort and Spa
1.8 mi away
Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mitsis Ramira Beach Hotel
4.5 mi away
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Kos Aktis Art Hotel
Kos Aktis Art Hotel
#7 of 49 in Kos Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Platanista Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Platanista Hotel

Property: Platanista Hotel
Address: Psalidi, Psalidi 85 300, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Psalidi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Psalidi
#1 Family Hotel in Psalidi
#1 Luxury Hotel in Psalidi
#1 Spa Hotel in Psalidi
#2 Romantic Hotel in Psalidi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Platanista Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed to recreate the look of a castle, the family-run Platanista consistently wins awards for its high standards, excellent value for money & caring staff. This impressive hotel is in a quiet position only 200m from the beach, 2km from Kos town, & 1km from the marina. A simple, yet aesthetic, environment worked out to accommodate the visitors who would want to experience something exceptional from the ordinary. A thousand and one nights in Greece... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Platanista Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Platanista Hotel Psalidi
Platanista Hotel Kos/Psalidi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing