We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel and Staff, Lovely Island to Explore”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Platanista Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Platanista Hotel
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Psalidi
Certificate of Excellence
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great hotel and Staff, Lovely Island to Explore”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

We arrived for 2 weeks at the hotel in mid June. The first room we were allocated was lovely (409) but too near the noisy stage where the animation team held their evening activities including a loud disco on Saturday night.
We are not at all stuffy and enjoy music but this is not that sort of hotel. We were moved with no questions asked and the next room we had was again perfect and overlooked the mountains...the hotel is tucked away from the main road so not really overlooking the sea.
Rooms are spacious, beautifully clean, air conditioned and well equipped - pity its a mini bar and not a fridge - we had our wrists slapped for using said minibar to store milk and some of our own purchases.
There is no room safe - not good for 4 star hotel in 2013!
All meals are buffet style and food is excellent - thanks to hard working staff including the larger than life and lovely Maria also Alexandra, Robert, Catalin, Julie and Gianni,,,& many more whose names escape me all overseen by Marius the super cool efficient Maitre D'hotel.
Animation team work hard to encourage often reluctant guests to join in all sorts of daily activities & they are very friendly.
Hotel charges extra for:-
beach towels,
late check out, a rather exorbitant 45 euros!
there is a safety deposit box at reception - 15 euros per week
beach nearby owned by hotel charges all people including guests 5 euros per day for 2 beds and parasol.
no coffee/tea facilities in room
Overall lovely hotel with many faithful frequently returning guests- nicely located on bus route to Kos and other main attractions.
Cycle route nearby and lots of places to hire cycles/mopeds/cars.
Petrol is expensive as is car hire due to high insurance costs and tax for the rental companies but AutoWay run by Yiannis in Kos town is recommended- speaks perfect English and is very knowledgeable about the island.
A moped was great fun and we saw most of the island especially up into the mountains,villages Zia and Pyli up close and personal.
Great beaches on south coast, "Magic" and "Paradise" - "Exotic" beach is nudist.
also lovely beach on North coast of island at Marmari - visit "Biggy's on the beach", nice taverna and beach beds opposite,
Visit the thermal springs on south east side of island, free entry - worth the walk down but it is steep track to the beach /springs and of course back up again!Taverna at top and bottom but no toilets!
Overall - well worth going to this lovely island and Hotel Platanista is recommended as nice place to stay.

Room Tip: ask for quiet rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TookyLincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    557
    205
    32
    6
    1
See reviews for
195
443
20
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

A short trip away from KOS Town stands the idealic Platanista Hotel, extremely well run, superbly maintained and staffed by happy dedicated staff.

Really super in almost everyway - two freshwater pools, excellent food and good views. This hotel is not on the beach but is about 150m away. They charge for sunbeds on the beach (I think it was €5 per person per day ) and €3.50 per towel hire per 7 days. The rooms have very small minibars (not fridges) so you may struggle keeping things like milk or drinks you might purchase from the supermarket. My advise is to speak to reception about utilising the minibar as a fridge, they were relatively accomodating when I asked to keep some milk in it.

There are a couple of local supermarkets that sell most things you will need. Taxi from the Hotel to KOS Town is €8/10 each way where as the bus is €1.20pp (bus is very easy to catch as it is at the end of the road). Lots of people just hire bicycles and pedal around erverywhere. This hotel attracted a wide range of clients both young and older, I would suggest facilities for children (4-16) are fairly limited though. It was nice to see a few people who felt confident to travel and stay at this hotel on their own. Special thanks to Dimitrius the waiter, Spartake the amazing barman and Nuno for his inspired Water Polo sessions!

Ony let down was the Spa - booking got cancelled and there were hardly ever around to take bookings - very poor service in this area!

Room Tip: There are some new upgraded supererior rooms - best ideal is to go to the First Choice website and l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenn3053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

This was our first visit to the Greek islands Kos is beautiful and we were very lucky with our hotel the Platanista. A wonderful hotel, very clean, super food with a good choice. Excellent staff very helpful and friendly, good entertainment team, super swimming pools with plenty of sunbeds. Guests with walking difficulty may find access to some areas could be difficult.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

First time in Kos, made better by the exceptional members of staff and their friendliness and dedication. We stayed in room 657 and it was cleaned by a lovely lady called Inka who was always happy to accommodate our needs. Makis the bar man is an top bloke and brilliant bar man. Would recommend gossip cafe in Kos town square. A totally relaxing holiday would definitely recommend. Ideal time to visit (June) busy enough but always get a sunbed.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mariecole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

In May this year we decided we would like to take our next holiday in Kos so we went on Trip Advisor and looked at Hotels in and around Kos town. We wanted half board so we could spend some of our evenings soaking up the atmosphere in Kos town and, having read the reviews, we chose the Hotel Platanista - what a good choice that turned out to be.

I e-mailed the Hotel 2 weeks before and asked for a pool/sea view which we got, very pleased with the room, got just what we asked for and, as in previous reviews, the choice of food was excellent and the staff brilliant - nothing was too much trouble. We particularly enjoyed being able to dine outside for both breakfast and dinner.
Special thanks must go to Maria and Nuno from the animation team who got me and my wife involved in mini golf, french boules, table tennis and water polo even though I am in my 70th year!

I have to agree with some of the previous reports about the airport - what a shambles. We were flying home late evening and we had to queue for 2 hours 15 minute's just to get in the airport., then a further 45 minute's to check in then 30 minute's for passport control. If you work that out you will see we were delayed by almost 3 hours. I must stress not the airline's fault. We were not impressed with the Thomson Reps who seem to prefer being inside the terminal in a group rather than being outside telling us what was going on!

The only disappointment during our eleven day holiday was that it was my wife's birthday on the 4th June so I e-mailed the Hotel 2 weeks before and asked if they could do something special on that day, perhaps some fruit or a bottle of wine in the room? The day came and went and nothing happened, perhaps it's not Hotel's policy to acknowledge Birthdays but it doesn't take much to make someones day?

Overall,I have to say we had a fantastic time, the hotel was excellent, weather brilliant and we thoroughly enjoyed our holiday in Kos. The only problem was the airport which we would like to think could be improved before we visited Kos again.

Room Tip: Higher floors. better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
161 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

Our room was quite small but very clean and the beds were comfy. Minor niggles were that the wardrobes were not deep enough to hang dresses so they were hung on the shower rail. The fan in the bathroom did not come on with the light so it was steamy and smelly sometimes. The balcony door lock was very stiff but never got round to reporting it and as been said the BBC channel had low volume.
All staff appeared genuinly friendly and the reception staff were particularly good and knowledgable and spoke perfect English. The Animation Team livened up the pool area without being too persistant and I played boules and mini-golf for the first time. The evenings entertainment was passable to good.
The buffet food was varied and generaly quite good and I thought the starters were particularly good in that they could be a meal in themselves. As been said the Apellia wine was quite drinkable at !0eur and if you wanted to drink it all week on the balcony a large bottle could be bought for 4eur from the supermarket down the road. There is a small supermaket as part of the petrol station but goods are limited and more expensive. A larger one is about 10 mins walk left on main road and then first left or can be reached by walking up the lane to the left of the hotel.
The bus into Kos can be full at around 10 o clock and it will not stop so one can walk or hire a bike. One can take a bus in the opposite direction to Thermos where one can feel the hot springs coming up from the sea but there is a steep track if you have walking difficulties. If you go there on a bike there is quite a long hill. If you do hire a bike and fit and experienced the ride to the mountain village of Zia is quite challenging via Asklepion.
The bar across the road is reasonably priced and the staff friendly and a pleasant place to stroll to for a drink or light lunch.
I would return to this hotel again if there were major improvements to the airport where on exiting one was treated like cattle which put a damper on the holiday.

Room Tip: Would not pay extra for an upgraded room the standard room is quite adequate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oldtuggo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

First visit to Kos and so glad that we picked this hotel. This is one of the friendliest and cleanest hotels we have been to and, despite some negative comments on here, the food was always excellent. The staff are all so friendly and seem to enjoy working at the hotel. Julie and Michaela at the pool snack bar are always happy and work so hard. The same can be said of Maria in the restaurant. It is probably wrong to single these out as all the staff were excellent. The hotel is in a quiet area but the walk to Kos Town was no problem, even for our 10 and 8 year olds. The two swimming pools are very pleasant and the whole area is kept so clean. A very special mention to Maria and Nuno who run the hotel animation. They work so hard to involve everyone during the day and evenings and obviously enjoy their jobs. They made my kids holiday all the more enjoyable by involving them in daytime activities and also giving them a part in an evening show which was the highlight of their holiday. All in all, a great time and we will go back to the Platanista without doubt.

Room Tip: Room in block away from main restaurant / reception block was excellent. Very quiet and easy to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaz12161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Psalidi
3.0 mi away
Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa
2.5 mi away
Michelangelo Resort and Spa
1.8 mi away
Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Mitsis Ramira Beach Hotel
4.5 mi away
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Kos Aktis Art Hotel
Kos Aktis Art Hotel
#7 of 52 in Kos Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Platanista Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Platanista Hotel

Property: Platanista Hotel
Address: Psalidi, Psalidi 85 300, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Psalidi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Psalidi
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Psalidi
#1 Family Hotel in Psalidi
#1 Luxury Hotel in Psalidi
#2 Romantic Hotel in Psalidi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Platanista Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed to recreate the look of a castle, the family-run Platanista consistently wins awards for its high standards, excellent value for money & caring staff. This impressive hotel is in a quiet position only 200m from the beach, 2km from Kos town, & 1km from the marina. A simple, yet aesthetic, environment worked out to accommodate the visitors who would want to experience something exceptional from the ordinary. A thousand and one nights in Greece... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Bookgreece.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Platanista Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Platanista Hotel Psalidi
Platanista Hotel Kos/Psalidi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing