We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An ideal place in the sun - a perfect getaway”
Review of Platanista Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Platanista Hotel
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Psalidi
Certificate of Excellence
Dronfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
390 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“An ideal place in the sun - a perfect getaway”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We went to this hotel to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary. It was perfect. Close enough to Kos town and it's beautiful harbour and castle, yet far enough away not to be bothered by traffic or noise

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

885 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    612
    228
    37
    6
    2
See reviews for
216
495
23
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
plymouth england
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We arrived at night it was dark and coach drove up a very narrow lane we thought OMG. Then the hotel came into view it looked very good, It was excellent. Room was very clean. Double bed with TV english news and sky news to keep us up to date. The rooms were cleaned daily and towels and soap all changes as required. No kettle to make a cup of tea in the mornings but breakfast was from 7.30 am so not to much trouble. Plenty of different drinks in the small fridge but expensive. The resturant was first class with lots of choice of good quality meals. The resturant manager Marius ran a very tight ship and was there for every meal and right on the ball with anything that was not quite right full marks to this manager maintaining very hight standards. We enjoyed all our meals there. We hired bikes very flat and easy to ride. You see so much more this way and talk to lots of people. We will go again to this hotel top marks for everything.

Room Tip: Take a travel kettle if you want tea in the daytime in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank terryPlymouthEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Spent a week at Hotel Platanista 2-9th October. We were in room 655 overlooking the tennis courts, the deluxe room was lovely with a double bed, sofa, walk-in shower, bath robes and slippers. Free safe and free wired internet. TV has BBC World & Sky News, the rest were foreign stations. Fridge was full but there was room for our drinks. We took our own kettle. Water is safe to drink, of which the Koans are rightly proud. Food in the hotel was fine, not the best but we have had a lot lot worse. Drinks in the dining room were very expensive €2.50 for a small bottle of coke, think it was €2.20 for a bottle of water. Didn't partake of the entertainment or gym so cannot comment.

The local taverna Nestos across the road at the bottom of the lane did lovely food and were so friendly. Buses 1 and 5 go into Kos town.

Unfortunately I slipped on a stone in the Western Archaeological site and gouged a large chunk from my foot. Most people ran away, literally except for an English nurse and a couple from Athens. They gave invaluable help for which I am eternally grateful. Health care on Kos is not the best, locals try to get to Athens for their hospital treatment, so I got back to the hotel and the staff patched me up.

Used Theokritos Travel in Tigaki for our trips which were a lot cheaper than Thomson. Even with my bad foot I limped around Nisyros but was unable to make it down into the Caldera. Did the round the island tour as well which was lovely.

Was saddened to see so many empty shops and apartments, not just closed down for the end of season but permanently shut.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carol47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex
Level 6 Contributor
374 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 392 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

I chose this hotel after carefully reading all the reviews. It is indeed a superb hotel with just a few niggles which just causes it to fail to get the full five stars. However, it only just misses out so I can highly recommend this lovely hotel.

We went with another couple and booked the 11 night package with Thompson quite late and got a good deal.

Arrived after dinner had ended but were given lunch on our day of departure instead. Rooms were fine and quiet as they overlooked gardens. Air conditioning was very effective. Rooms were kept very clean and maid kept changing towels whether we wanted them changing or not. Same with the shampoos and shower gels which we were inundated with. No tea/coffee making but we took our own travel kettle. Minibar is crammed full and small but managed to fit in a little of our own water from the supermarket about 10 mins away. No room safe but used safe at reception at a cost. Also hired Hotel swimming towels which you can change as often as you want.

Unfortunately our friends next door had problems with the water being cold as did others in the hotel. Reception was aware of the problems and assured us that they were working on it but our friends continued to have variable water temperatures. Although we were next door we only had coldish water once even though one would assume that it would be the same. Given that this has not been previously mentioned in reviews I can only assume that this is not a regular problem.

The entire hotel is spotlessly clean and immaculate. Swimming pools are kept very clean but only just warm enough for me to get in. Plenty of sunbeds for everyone.The surrounding gardens are also beautifully kept.

We were on half board but most of the Germans seemed to be all-inclusive. The range of food and its quality is as good as one can expect to find anywhere. I could spend ages raving about the food so just be assured that if there is something better at the price I have yet to find it.. If anyone knows where I can get the same quality and choice please do not hesitate to contact me as I would like more of the same. I took lots of pictures of the food but have restricted these here to just some of the puddings.

The entertainment in the evening is not very exciting. The Entertainment team are keen but not pushy. The activities were the same each day.

All the staff at the hotel were delightful, very friendly and professional. I have nothing but praise for them all.

I took heed of comments regarding expensive Thomson/Crystal prices for trips. These trips are indeed much cheaper if you buy direct from the friendly and helpful boat operators. Buses are very cheap BUT can be full when they pass the bus stop by the hotel at busy times and they will simply drive past. If you are catching a boat you should book a taxi. We hired a car for two days and also did a little cycling - both means of transport obtained from the hire company just outside the hotel. Prices were just as competitive as elsewhere so there is no point in shopping around. The walk into Kos town centre is not too far but is not particularly picturesque and you must look out for cyclists who share the same path.

Despite not being perfect the niggles (apart from our friends lack of hot water) are fairly minor and more than made up for by the fabulous food, beautiful hotel and delightful staff. So I can honestly say that the Platanista is a highly recommended hotel and if I were to go back to Kos I would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank John_the_Cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

This hotel exceeded all our expectations. We read the reviews, which were all good, but fair play they deserve them all.We booked a deluxe double room with balcony, a lovely large room with plenty of space, modern fittings, not your usual dowdy holiday room abroad. The bathroom was beautifully equipped with modern white fittings, with a maid service every day and soft clean towels. We also had bathrobes and slippers/ complimentary toiletries.The room had a fridge, mini bar, TV, telephone, hairdryer, safe and air con. all free of charge. Plenty of storage and a lovely double bed- a rarity abroad! The food- well what's not to like! This is of a very high quality with a large variety on offer, you really will be spoilt for choice. There are fresh pancakes and waffles cooked to order for breakfast as well as a cold bar with fruits and traditional Greek breakfast, a full selection of hot food, juices, cereals, breads. cakes and pastries. For evening meal, again a wide variety of dishes are available and all served from a help yourself buffet area, of which there are 6 food counters in all. We never saw the same dish twice in a weeks stay. Tea/Coffee and juice is free with breakfast.The staff in the restaurant are very efficient and friendly and yes you do pay for drinks at dinner but these are not over priced as some people might have stated in previous reviews...after all it is a high quality restaurant you are paying for and not just the drinks themselves. The hotel facilities are superb, pools beautiful, and gardens immaculate. Entertainment is available if that's what you want, from Boules to Darts to Golf. The owners of the hotel mingle with the guests for dinner and take pleasure in seeing happy guests. The location is ideal for Kos town and in a quiet area,We will definitely be visiting again.

Room Tip: Double Deluxe room is well worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

recently returned from this hotel begining of october after a two week stay.although we were in a superior room which was very good, but do not think it is necessary to upgrade from a standard room which mistakenly given to us on our first night. i would suggest you ask for a higher floor side sea view room our room 386 was quiet and away from entertainment noise.

But now the downside, the entertainment was poor only 2 good shows but were repeated on both weeks the rest of the time it was terrible. food in restaurant a bit hit and miss food was not replenished quickly enough and you were kept waiting while the rest of your choice was going cold also not enough room around the buffet area for people and trolleys to pass kept having to move out of the way also food was repetative over two weeks
Pool area is very good one quiet one busy, but be aware that there is a 3.50 euro charge per week per towel which you do not get refunded. constantly asked daily by animation team to join in games but a polite no is all that is needed.
There is only one taverna near by and it is a gentle 30 min walk into Kos town there is a bus but it does get very full tickets from reception but if you do walk beware of the bikes which are rented and are everywere. Bus station in town a little hard to find but you can go to several places cheaply a time table from reception and pay on bus.
We would perhaps not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Spent ten lovely days at this excellent hotel.
I cant really add to anything that hasn't been said before, the food was excellent the whole place was spotless, the animation team tried very hard to get everyone involved and everyone was really friendly and all the staff seemed to get on which added to the great atmosphere.
Asked for a kettle which was delivered within the hour, (we had to provide our own tea & coffee) which seems a little penny pinching?!?
All the facilities worked fine, didn't try the spa but the gym was functional and well equipped.
This is a very popular place based on the number of people we spoke with that had been numerous times before, I have no doubt we may return as well one day.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neilupandown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Psalidi
1.8 mi away
Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel
2.5 mi away
Michelangelo Resort and Spa
3.0 mi away
Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Mitsis Ramira Beach Hotel
2.6 mi away
Dimitra Beach Resort Hotel
Dimitra Beach Resort Hotel
#1 of 1 in Agios Fokas
1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Platanista Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Platanista Hotel

Property: Platanista Hotel
Address: Psalidi, Psalidi 85 300, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Psalidi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Psalidi
#1 Luxury Hotel in Psalidi
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Psalidi
#1 Family Hotel in Psalidi
#2 Romantic Hotel in Psalidi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Platanista Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed to recreate the look of a castle, the family-run Platanista consistently wins awards for its high standards, excellent value for money & caring staff. This impressive hotel is in a quiet position only 200m from the beach, 2km from Kos town, & 1km from the marina. A simple, yet aesthetic, environment worked out to accommodate the visitors who would want to experience something exceptional from the ordinary. A thousand and one nights in Greece... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Bookgreece.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Platanista Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Platanista Hotel Psalidi
Platanista Hotel Kos/Psalidi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing