We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel”
Review of Platanista Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Platanista Hotel
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Psalidi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Having cruised with NCL for the previous two years we were a little apprehensive at the prospect of staying in one place for a week. We needn't have worried, this hotel did not in anyway go beneath our expectations. Everything about it from it's staff, level of service, food and rooms was fantastic. I confess to being slightly of OCD nature and I never once had a complaint. My only gripe is not with the hotel but with Thomson who should try to accommodate the late room/very late flight scenario.

Thank you Hotel Platanista for a lovely stay, we will definitely return.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AClemmie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (927)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

388 - 394 of 927 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

Stayed at Platanista 5th - 16th July. We stayed in room 284 (overlooking entrance to hotel, away from pool and stage area so nice and peaceful, you could also go out via a 2nd staircase thus avoiding having to go through reception). We arrived at about 11pm and had assumed we would be at least offered a snack as we had missed dinner but nothing was offered so just had a quick drink at the main bar. Breakfast is the usual self-service buffet type with lots of choice. My personal favourite is greek yoghurt (yum!) and fruit but if you prefer a cooked 'English breakfast' you won't be disappointed, along with waffles, crepes and cereals - you'd have to be really 'picky' NOT to find something you like.. We tend not to eat lunch on holidays but munch on fruit etc. so I can't really comment on lunches. Dinner - again I'm happy with salads pretty much most of the time so I was well catered for. Crackers would have been nice to have with cheese but weren't available. Lots of choice and lets face it, if you try something and you don't like it just try something else!! We usually sat at the bar in the entertainment area after dinner where Spartak, Michael, Christian and Maria served us. Entertainment as mentioned before was hit and miss!! Sometimes 'prefessional' acts which were good and sometimes the animation team improvising! (they tried bless 'em and at times it was sooo bad it was good!!) Monika (animation) came and chatted to us at the bar one night and was interested in what we thought of the shows and told us about herself, lovely girl. We had pre-booked a hire car for 3 days and toured the island (doesn't take long given that its only about 25 x 5 miles!) Paradise beach nice for a day out plus we found lots of other nice little beaches such as Tigaki. We did 2 excursions with Thomsons - to the volcano - brilliant guide, Marianna ?? I think. She's very knowledgeable and gave us a running commentary ALL the time! We also did the Zia village trip (only about 20 mins away) to watch the sunset, very pretty - we ate in a lovely restaurant (can't remember name but if you walk back down the hill its on your left, blue and white with lots of greenery covering balcony, starts with an 'O' - highly recommended). We hired bikes for a couple of days (bear in mind its 40 years since I've been on a bike!!) had great fun, cycle path all the way into Kos (I have scars, literally!). There are restaurants on the walk into Kos but we didn't try any so can't comment. All in all we really enjoyed our time at this hotel, we like walking so it wasn't a problem being a little bit out of town but wouldn't want to walk in every night. We found the staff to be really helpful and polite. As we were checking out we were offered a voucher for lunch as we had missed dinner on the 1st night! ( see comment previously) and subsequently realised we could have ordered a take-out lunch to have on the flight! DOH!! Really happy overall. Don't know where all the negative comments came from, we enjoyed it. We emptied the mini-bar and put our own things in it and the next day were ticked off about it!! From previous comments it seems it depends who you ask whether they let you have the fridge emptied or not!!

Room Tip: We had room 284, overlooking entrance, overlooking courtyard, quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The hotel looks like a Venetian castle, with white terraces and little towers on every building. It looks very beautiful, especially when lit at night. The hotel is spotlessly clean, we stayed in Family Room, the room was nothing special, but comfortable and pleasant, with wide screen TV and fridge. There is no safe in the room. The hotel has two large pools with plenty of sunbeds and two bars. The best asset of the hotel was the staff - reception, waiters, bartenders were extremely friendly and professional, and they actually seemed to enjoy serving you! The food was very good, great choice and quality. There was seafood and fresh fish every day and they really cater for every taste and nationality. Kos town is nearby, about 20 minutes walk. The bus stops just outside the hotel, but when you want to go in the evening , the buses are quite often full and just don't stop to pick up more passengers. The pool/beach towels are chargeable ,£3.50 per towel per week, but they are changed every day. The only downside was the beach - if you are a beach lover, like we are, there is not much on offer. The beach is located about 150 meters across the road from the hotel, it has some sand ( but it's not beach sand), and the seabed has pebbles and large stones, difficult to walk or to swim. Apart from that it was a wonderful holiday and we couldn't have chosen a better hotel for a price.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Kate T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We recently stayed for a couple of days during or holiday over to Kos and I had the opportunity to compare this directly with another local hotel. I do appreciate that different hotel audiences are looking for different experiences but there were some fundamental basics which it lost hands down on.

To put things in perspective we paid 25% more for a bed and breakfast arrangement at the Platanista in comparison to "all inclusive" at the Ramira Beach so had expected excellence.

The Platanista did not compare on :-
Quality of staff (both in professionalism and attitude)
Room standard
Entertainment (shows and facilities)
Food standards (only based on breakfast)

It won on :-
Pool standard
Relaxing atmosphere

For anyone travelling with younger families this will not provide you the best value for money!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank janski69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Great hotel with clean rooms and very good breakfast. On request they make you waffles, pancakes and crepes. There are two swimming pools. One is very big and even in high season the pool is not crowded. Enough beds around the pool. Great animation team. They dont force themselfs up to you and are not loud. They are just very nice persons! We enjoyed the yogastretching, aquagym, table tennis and soccer!
There is also a very nice lunch place near the hotel. Go left on the boulevard and next to the gas station is a great place called Harmo with very good gyros!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank martina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Brilliant hotel with great facilities; 2 lovely pools, no shortages of sunbeds which are very well laid out with plenty of space and an umbrella to every 2 sunbeds.
Everywhere extremely clean!
Beds changed very frequently and were very comfy, rooms were ideal.
Bar and restaurant staff very friendly and always smiling.
Brilliant choice of food (especially the fresh cooked pancakes/waffles at breakfast). The Greek night food was particularly good!!!!
Would definitely like to return- both the hotel and the island are beautiful! :)

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Emily F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Spotless,excellent service and food, men must wear long trouser in restaurant for dinner, no kettle in room, 20 minute walk from kos town. Bus located right outside Hotel but buy ticket from reception first. Outside the hotel next to fuel station is Bar Harmo, really nice people and reasonable priced, bike and car hire outside hotel but bikes half the price further down towards kos.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Sparra9032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Psalidi
1.8 mi away
Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel
2.5 mi away
Michelangelo Resort and Spa
3.0 mi away
Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mitsis Ramira Beach Hotel
4.5 mi away
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Kipriotis Village Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Platanista Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Platanista Hotel

Address: Psalidi, Psalidi 85 300, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Psalidi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Psalidi
#2 Romantic Hotel in Psalidi
#4 Luxury Hotel in Psalidi
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Psalidi
#4 Spa Hotel in Psalidi
Price Range: £68 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Platanista Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed to recreate the look of a castle, the family-run Platanista consistently wins awards for its high standards, excellent value for money & caring staff. This impressive hotel is in a quiet position only 200m from the beach, 2km from Kos town, & 1km from the marina. A simple, yet aesthetic, environment worked out to accommodate the visitors who would want to experience something exceptional from the ordinary. A thousand and one nights in Greece... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Platanista Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Platanista Hotel Psalidi
Platanista Hotel Kos/Psalidi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing