We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel we have been to”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mitsis Ramira Beach Hotel
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Psalidi
Certificate of Excellence
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best Hotel we have been to”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

The Mitsis Raira deserves recognition as a great hotel. It offers very good value for money and is really 5 star. It is situated in a convenient location, within easy walking distance of Kos town. The hotel is very well maintained, excellent cleanliness throughout, towels changed daily and a wonderful choice of food, beautifully presented. As soon as one dish is finished , it is immediately replaced by a fresh one.
The manager and staff are very friendly and cannot do enough to help, if you need it. The animation team, Mickey, Flo, Alex and Jo Jo provided really good humorous entertainment and everyone found the evenings entertaining and full of fun and laughter.
The special Italian restuarant compared very favourably with good London Italian restuarant complete with wine, but unbelievably free of charge! The Chinese was also excellent.
There is also a sandy beach opposite the hotel right on the sea front and a lot of the rooms have sea views. There are loungers on the beach with bright coloured hoods to protect you from the sun and they work very well. There is also a beach bar where alchohol and soft dinks and tea and coffee are served, also salads and snacks, all free as the hotel is all inclusive.
We intend to return next year with our family and the grandchildren. We feel sure that they would love it too!!
was un

Room Tip: We liked our room which was on the second floor south side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Librarian62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,080 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    605
    330
    95
    37
    13
See reviews for
480
385
12
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We traveled as a couple independently to the Ramira Beach hotel for 10 nights in October and booked mainly based on the reviews on Tripadviser.
Firstly the good things
• The staff are nearly all very friendly and helpful and a great credit to the Hotel.
• The two girls serving drinks in the lounge in the evening were both excellent and great with the guests.
• The rooms in the main block are of a good size are cleaned and maintained to a very high standard daily
• The air conditioning work well
• The shutters on the veranda doors kept out light well so you can sleep late
• There is a wide variety of good food but it does not change much over 10 days
• The animation team are all very good, work hard and are very friendly and outgoing.
• The location means you can easily cycle into Kos town – bike hire is on site
• No shortage of sunbeds at this time of year
• The Chinese restaurant was good.
• You can use facilities of other Mitsis hotels free of charge – the Mitsis Blue domes in Kardemena is simply amazing and more like a 6 star- except the pools are SALT water and very cold. Nice sandy beach though.
Not so good in Hotel
• The beach is very stony, and gets deep quickly and so not good for kids (not a lot they could do except to import sand.
• The pool was SALT water, very cold and so hardly used by anyone during October. We had good weather of 28 degrees all week. They could choose to heat it and use fresh filtered water. We would not come again based simply on this point.
• The towels although changed regularly are of a poor standard as are the beach towels.
• The tap water is brackish so do not brush your teeth with it ( there should be warning signs not to drink) – they did supply plenty of free bottled water though
• The paid for internet is awful and don’t except to watch anything that requires decent broadband speed. I paid for what was advertised as 4 Megabyte speed and doubt if it was 10% of that speed.
• The TV had awful reception and there were very few English speaking channels
• They do not spray for mosquitoes that I saw and so people were always being bitten. If you cannot spray use electric mosquito machines.
• Charging 30 Euros to keep the room until 6pm seems a bit excessive
Restaurant problems
• They should install coffee machines in the restaurant and pool bar so you are not always queuing for coffee during the day at the pool bar and waiting for a top up at meal times. I agree its good service to also have waiter served tea and coffee but guests should have the choice. This would even save them money on waiting staff.
• They should also install soft drinks machines in restaurant and pool bar so guests can help themselves – lower cost and less time queuing again
• The queues for crepes were just silly. The lady doing them was lovely but insisted on cooking each one individually and fresh which is great except in a full restaurant when one could just not be bothered to queue. - just another queue
• Only one toast machine – another queue ( Tip – have more than one)
• Only one fresh egg station – another queue.( Tip – have more than one or prepare some in advance)
• Choice of desserts were a bit limited and almost the same every night compared to most hotels we have stayed in.
The overriding issues seem to be the number of times you have to queue for so many things in the hotel (this is October and so I would be very nervous about peak season) If the management looked at points they see guests regularly queuing and solve them -this it would be a vast improvement.
Having said all of the above the very friendly staff, location and cleanliness outweigh most of the negatives and most people seemed happy with their holiday as reflected in the overall reviews.
It’s a shame to write negatives about a generally well run hotel but all of the above could be solved very simply by the hotel at no real major cost (except maybe heating the pool – but what are happy guests who return especially at low season worth).
The management just need to pay more attention to detail.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank artofeffectiveliving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Have just come back from a week at this hotel. It was a lovely hotel and all the staff were fantastic efia that done the pancakes we'll she was the most loveliest person and all the shapes that she made had everyone hooked. The food was lovely, rooms were cleaned everyday and clean towels too. The hole hotel was very clean and the animation team were fantastic. The only downside at going this time of year is the pool was freezing so you couldn't go swimming (24/10/13-31/10/13) .

Room Tip: Presses the fitness by mistake haven't got any
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Priscilla P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 October 2013

My views largely echo those expressed by previous contributors.
The public facilities, the rooms (we had 640 on the first floor overlooking the small pool) and most of the staff were excellent. I did think the older waiter with the moustache who worked near the entry to the dining room behaved rather inappropriately, tickling young girls. In addition to Efi on pancakes, I would also single out Alexandra, who waited in the beach bar, for praise. Although we didn't participate in the animations we thought the team had the correct balance or enthusiasm without being irritating.
I thought the Tv was a waste of electricity - very poor picture and nothing in English to watch except Euronews which repeats every 15 minutes. I did enjoy a Benny Hill compilation in black & white which lasted around an hour on a Polish station; this channel seemed to broadcast pixellated porn on most of the occasions when I flicked through in the hope of finding something to watch at around 22h00. With the abundance of satellite stations available free to air and receivable in the Eastern Mediterranean, theres no excuse for such a poor offering.

We were extremely disappointed with food; breakfast, lunch and dinner and Sunday to Saturday had about 70% of their offering the same. The bread was poor for breakfast and the jams rather tasteless; the Kiwi jam looked as if fluorescein had been added to it.
We had the Italian meal one night and the Chinese another. Both these were poor, the Chinese particularly so as we noted, on entry, the race of the cooks, however all that was served, except the fried banana or apple as sweet, were reheated catering packs not freshly cooked to order as we had hoped for.
Where was the Greek food? No souvlakia, no moussaka, no spanakopita, no taramasalata, no melitzanosalata, no stuffed peppers or tomatoes.
We found the drinks fine - we drunk the beer, wines, soft drinks and coffee (as long as you ask for espresso or special otherwise you get poor quality instant. And although we didn't abuse it the free minibar was unusual and a nice touch.
We paid only about £270 for two for a week so can't really complain about value for money, but without increasing the cost of the food the hotel could achieve a much better experience for their customers.
And finally the other guests... the Brits were probably the biggest group but accounted for only 20 to 30% of the guests. None of them annoyed me too much - I hate being surrounded by them because when you understand every word you can't avoid listening; when you only understand some of the language spoken you can "switch off"! The other language groups were fine. There was no drunkeness or misbehaviour so far as I was aware.

Room Tip: I don't think first floor (no room above) looking north (all day shade on balcony if desired) ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daresbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Great hotel, nice clean room with mini bar restocked regularly. Lovely pool and beech areas with loads of sun loungers. Very good food choice available all day long, plenty of seats in the bar areas also. The staff are very helpful and friendly and the entertainment staff are lovely. The bike hire on site is great value for money, we had a very nice ride into Kos town.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knebworth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

Great place for an end of season holiday. Hot sunny days but much cooler nights, but bearable. Great staff, with thanks to Mickey of the Animation team who make the activities fun but who are not pushy. You can take part in as many or as few of the activities as you want. We enjoyed the darts, but there are plenty to choose from.
The food is good but as a vegetarian, the meals can be similar most days, although there is still plenty to choose from. Why no haloumi or humous in Greece? Try the speciality restaurants which are excellent, but book early as spaces are limited. Also try the pancakes in the main restaurant if only to meet Efi who must be one of the happiest people we met there. Overall, well worth another visit.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Knebworthian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 October 2013

My daughter and spent 1 week at this hotel a clean room good size with sea view food ok something there for everyone.
all the staff were very friendly and very hard working.
entertainment , team excellent Alex Mickey jo jo and flo we miss them all ......
i do wish now that we had more than 1 week.
i cant express how much of a wonderful hotel the ramira is kos town is just a short bus ride and plenty to do there as well . definitely going back next year for more than 1week .

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Psalidi
9.7 mi away
Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa
3.6 mi away
Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa
2.2 mi away
Michelangelo Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Mitsis Norida Beach Hotel
9.5 mi away
Mitsis Summer Palace
Mitsis Summer Palace
#19 of 39 in Kardamena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,190 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kipriotis Village Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitsis Ramira Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitsis Ramira Beach Hotel

Property: Mitsis Ramira Beach Hotel
Address: Psalidi 85300, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Psalidi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Psalidi
#4 Romantic Hotel in Psalidi
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Psalidi
#6 Luxury Hotel in Psalidi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Mitsis Ramira Beach Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mitsis Ramira Beach is a gorgeous hotel built on the beach, right at the starting tip of the hotel zone in Psalidi, overlooking the bay of Kos, just 3.5 Km away from the town centre with a convenient bicycle/jogging path along the beach to the centre. Whether in the main building or in one of 8 bungalow buildings all 338 guest rooms are carefully appointed and offer all the comforts of a 5-star resort. Renovated in 2008 and surrounded by profuse gardens they are all decorated in contemporary style, with warm gentle colours, marble floor and wooden furniture and provide all modern amenities to make your stay as pleasant as possible. This sprawling resort is designed to surpass the expectations of the most discerning traveller, providing excellent service in a secluded setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Lastminute, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mitsis Ramira Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramira Beach Hotel Kos
Hotel Ramira Beach
Ramira Beach Kos
Mitsis Ramira Beach Hotel Kos/Psalidi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing