We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Such a great hotel!! Such good value for money!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mitsis Ramira Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Mitsis Ramira Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Psalidi
Certificate of Excellence
Essex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Such a great hotel!! Such good value for money!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2009

My boyfriend and i decided that we wanted to go on holiday together for the first time and were really worried that we would get a rubbish hotel and after reading some of the reviews on here we didnt feel much better, What can i say? The people who rate this hotel as poor are liars!!!!

We arrived at the hotel at 3am in the morning and was greeted by a friendly man on reception, sandwiches and orange juice. When we got our room key i went to pick up my suitcase but the porter (who did work through the night) soon took it off me and loaded it onto a trolley. He took our suit cases into our room, showed us around and out onto the balcony and then left. He was very pleasant.

The Room - After having paid a very reasonal price to stay in the hotel, when our confirmation came through it said we were to be getting a standard room which i fine with because after all we wouldnt be spending too much time in there. The room we got was just slightly different to what we expected. It was gorgeous. A large entrance hall with four large built in wardrobes, large clean bathroom with bath, shower over and visor (all spotless), large bedroom space with lots of storage space, vanity desk with large mirror, tv, fridge which was full of drinks including beer (all free and topped up EVERY day). The room also had a sun room with two sofas and table and a sun terrace with table and chairs (we were on the ground floor) - Apparently the hotel has been completely refurbished so i think all the rooms are like ours. lets just say we were both amazed and we hadnt even seen much of the hotel.

The rest of the hotel was just as great with large lounging areas, patio areas with modern comfy table and chairs, two bars which were great (i asked for malibu and coke, half a glass malibu, half a class coke, which was the same with all drinks - try the cocktails they are great!! i liked doc and dopey the best :) ), two pools which were lovely with lots of sun loungers (yes they were salt water but who cares, they were gorgeous to swim in, people are just moany).


The resturants was also lovely. You were always shown to a table by VERY lovely waiters who then asked what you would like to drink. The resturant was buffett style so you then just helped yourself to whatever and however much you liked. Yes the food was the same. (different food for breakfast lunch and dinner but the same (or similar) each day) but there was SOOOO much to choice from it didnt matter. I loved the waffles for dessert yum yum!!! The women who made the waffles and pancakes was great!!! We didnt even try the italian resturant because the other food was so good, we did go to the chinese on the last night wer were there and that was yummy too.

The location of the hotel was very good not excellent. The beach wasnt sandy but stones which we know some people didnt like and it was quite a way from the main kos town if you were to walk but we got mopeds which worked out at about £9 a day (how good) or push bikes which were 3euros for the day and then it was a 10-15min bike into town but on lovely flat bike lane on the beachfront - paradise!

Kos Town itself was lovely, lots of nice shops and resturants and a lovely marina. One thing i would say is i woulnt recommend it to party people as there is not much nightlife but we didnt go for that.

We went on two excursions, one to bodrum turkey and one to paradise beach, I would recommend going to paradise beach it was gorgeous, lovely sandy beach, clear water with fish swimming around your feet and we had such hot weather while we were there!!!. However i didnt really enjoy bodrum, it took quite a while to get there as you had to get through all the passport control again, it was like being back at the airport which i hate and then a 45 minutre ferry journey. Once you get there you go on a tour of bodrum which is good with lots of photo oppotunities but then they take you to bodrum gold centre where the people follow you round and try to make you buy things not taking no for an answer. The rest of the town was like that too with people following you round and then you had to barter which was horrible and very off putting but i suppose some people like this. I wouldnt go again if we went back to Kos.

As to the mozzie situation, after reading all these reviews about them i was so worried as i always get bitten so we took jungle formula mozzie spray, but we didnt even have to use for the first half of our holiday as we didnt even see any mozzies however towards the end of hol we did start seeing some - not millioins, but as soon as we used the spray they didnt come near us, i didnt get bitten once! As the Germans, obviously it wasnt the same people as on the other reviews but yes there were lots of them but they were not rude, actually we only saw a very few english people but it was fine, the hotel had a very relaxed atmosphere. There was no germans putting there towels to reserve sunbeds, there were always sun beds availble for us which ever time of day!! There were loads!

Overall we had a FANTASTIC holiday, all the bad reviews are RUBBISH!!! The hotel is spotless, friendly, the food is great - what more could you ask for? We would recommend to anyone (except party goers) and we are actually considering going back there again this year!!!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PixieSunSeeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,062 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    599
    322
    93
    35
    13
See reviews for
472
378
12
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2009

DON'T BELIEVE ANY of the bad reports. The hotel was very clean and the cleaner was in our room every day. The staff was very friendly and always asked if you wanted anything. The food was good but selection was limited.will defiently be going back.

  • Stayed September 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank themacams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2008

My wife and I stayed at this hotel in the first 2 weeks in October 2008.We had a really first class holiday.The staff were brilliant,hard working and could not do enough.The hotel is a 5 star delight,the food and drink could not have been better.The weather was superb,in the high 70`s for the whole fortnight.This was the best holiday we have ever had and we will be going back next year.A big thank you to Jannis and the rest of the staff for making this a great holiday.(Beware of the mozzie`s)

  • Liked — The really great staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank benzoil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidcup,Kent
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2008

Just returned from a 7 days stay at this hotel. The food at this hotel was of a reasonable standard, very plentiful, there were always cakes and pastries available around pool areas. Drinks were plentiful and generous. Service was FANTASTIC. They excelled themselves. Rooms however were basic, and I found apart from our beds being made every day there was no other evidence of our rooms being cleaned. Bathroom floor was quite dirty. The hotel grounds were not great. The beach bar was poor and even though pizzas were meant to be available, every time I asked I was told they had run out. The beach was nasty, pebbles and sand and the sea was merky. There were hideous umbrella/cones that covered the beds. If you like a nice beach this is definately NOT the hotel for you. The hotel was mainly germans, and they were indeed intimidating and extremely rude. I found their behaviour unbelievable. There was also a small dutch community holidaying here and they made up for the bad behaviour of the Germans, as the Dutch were extremely well mannered and lovely people. This hotel was full of mozzies, they were absolutely everwhere, and the hotel did NOTHING to stop this. In fact they encouraged this by over watering the gardens so much there was constant stagnant water everywhere, **which Mozzies love**. The health of the guest should have been paramount, and I feel the lack of concern that some of the guests were bitten to pieces, to be alarming. I sprayed myself, morning noon and night, and still got a few nasty bits. If the manager is reading this, I would say please ensure all rooms are sprayed daily, **stop the overwatering of the gardens**, spray the gounds weekly, and have insect repenant candles on all dining tables, as there were lots and lots of mozzies in the restaurants. The other thing that needed attention was the entertainment, which was really poor. And some of the shows that were put on were just plain embarassing,as they were so bad. I am sad to write this review as there were some nice things about this hotel like the fantastic service, the friendly reception staff, etc, but unfortunately this hotel fell down badly on the points made above.

  • Liked — the service
  • Disliked — the mozzies
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank stuanddawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2008

Just back from Ramira Beach Hotel after staying All Inclusive for 1 week.

I'll start with the good points...

When we arrived (after 3am) we were greeted by a friendly man on reception who welcomed us with fresh orange juice and sandwiches. he apologised as the porter does not work through the night (which didnt bother me any way).

When we got to our room, it was very tasteful, spacious and comfortable. The management had kindly left a bottle of champagne and fruit as an anniversary gift for us, which was a nice surprise.

The maid came every day with clean linen for our bed and clean towels. She was also very friendly and would always say hello and ask how we were. All the maids seemed lovely, and wouldnt walk past you without smiling and saying Hi.

The restaurant staff were all friendly (apart from 1).

Chinese restaurant food was very good and service excellent.

The hotel has 2 large pools which are kept very clean. They are both salt water pools, however we didnt mind this at all.

Now for the not so good points...

MOSQUITOES!!!!!! AAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHH

They are everywhere! We were warned to spray ourselves with repellent morning, noon and night which we did. The hotel provided a repellent plug, we also had our own, then I sprayed the room a few times as well. Thankfully I only got bitten once as I was going OTT with the spray every few hours, but it worked!

For some however, it almost ruined their holiday as they were eaten alive!

Next, the flies!!! Again, they are everywhere!

At meal times, it was not pleasant having to constantly shoo flies away from your meal and face.

I couldnt see any attempts from the hotel to try and keep them at bay.

Everywhere you go in the world, you will always encounter flies, but this was a joke. I've never seen so many in one place.

The food in the main restaurant is very repetitive. We got sick of eating the same things everyday for lunch and then dinner.

There is also an Italian and a Chinese restaurant which you need to book a day or so in advance.

The Italian restaurant staff were like something from Faulty Towers. The service was extremely slow and I had the experience of being served by the very rude Anna!....A young girl with a VERY small skirt and a BIG attitude. Some people we got talking to also complained about her.

The staff at the main bar were a bit weird. Sometimes they would snap and ask you quickly what you wanted. I asked for a coke and a cup of tea. She gave me my coke, then told me to stand at the other end of the bar for my tea!! I then had to wait another queue. I felt like a school girl being told off.

Other times, they would be ok and smile, then serve you hot and cold drinks at the same time.

Next, the Germans!!! Oh dear! As an earlier review says, I found most of them to be very rude. Most of them didnt seem to understand what a queue was, and I found myself waiting at the bar for some time. You get nowhere being polite. Also, fingering the food in the restaurant!!!! I'll say no more.

The walls in the hotel room are paper thin. Our neighbours were also German. We were kept awake by a screamer next door!!!! They would get up very early next morning, and shout and scrape furniture around. Needles to say, I'm very tired and glad to be in my own house.

Unfortunately I wouldn't go back to this hotel. I have stayed at a Mitsis Hotel before which was 5 star. I wouldnt class Ramira Beach as a 5 star.

  • Disliked — Entertainment and food
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank juliehudson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2008

We have just returned from having a fantastic week stay at the Ramira Beach Hotel. We stayed in one of the refurbished room and it was lovely - would recommend asking for one of these! Mini bar restocked every other day - air con that worked - lovely bathroom and comfy beds. What more could you want from a room? Pools were lovely - although cold when you first get in you quickly warm up and it's very refreshing. The second pool could easily be missed as it is at rear of hotel - but do find it as had nice atmosphere and a bit quieter than larger pool. Food was lovely - would recommend chinese restaurant for one night. This was my first experience of an all-inclusive and I would say that I loved every minute of it! One thing not to miss on the island is the natural hot spring in Therma - a short distance from hotel and very enjoyable. There are a lot of mossies so make sure you wear repellant all the time and that is the only bad thing I have to say about the holiday!

  • Liked — The relaxing atmosphere
  • Disliked — The mossies
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BerkshireHappyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2008

Just returned from a fantastic two week holiday, did not want to come home. the hotel is fantastic the staff are fantastic and Kos is fab. cant wait to return next year. never once heard any one complain. every one in the hotel enjoyed their stay and all nationalities mixed in together. now that takes some doing!!!!

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Johnstys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Psalidi
12.5 mi away
Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa
3.6 mi away
Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa
9.7 mi away
Mitsis Norida Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Michelangelo Resort and Spa
9.5 mi away
Mitsis Summer Palace
Mitsis Summer Palace
#17 of 39 in Kardamena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,173 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kipriotis Village Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mitsis Ramira Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mitsis Ramira Beach Hotel

Property: The Mitsis Ramira Beach Hotel
Address: Psalidi, Kos, Dodecanese, Psalidi 85300, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Psalidi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Psalidi
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Psalidi
#4 Romantic Hotel in Psalidi
#4 Luxury Hotel in Psalidi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Mitsis Ramira Beach Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mitsis Ramira Beach is a gorgeous hotel built on the beach, right at the starting tip of the hotel zone in Psalidi, overlooking the bay of Kos, just 3.5 Km away from the town centre with a convenient bicycle/jogging path along the beach to the centre. Whether in the main building or in one of 8 bungalow buildings all 338 guest rooms are carefully appointed and offer all the comforts of a 5-star resort. Renovated in 2008 and surrounded by profuse gardens they are all decorated in contemporary style, with warm gentle colours, marble floor and wooden furniture and provide all modern amenities to make your stay as pleasant as possible. This sprawling resort is designed to surpass the expectations of the most discerning traveller, providing excellent service in a secluded setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Lastminute, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your The Mitsis Ramira Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramira Beach Hotel Kos
Hotel Ramira Beach
Ramira Beach Kos
The Mitsis Ramira Beach Hotel Kos/Psalidi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing