We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Little Things Could Be Changed Though”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mitsis Ramira Beach Hotel
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Psalidi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2009

I Would like to start off by telling you the good points of the hotel. The People who work there are lovely, Great Range Of drinks, Great range of food. Rooms are extremely clean stocked with mini bar hair dryer and good beds however we did have to complain to get them. There are a few things that could be improved to make the hotel alot better. Such as 90% of the food is cold (which could be easily solved). Both pools are saltwater which is not ideal but can be put up with but is not nice if you swallow a mouthful. There are not alot of english all mainly Dutch. Inside there are alot of mosquiteos which is not nice. And outside in the grounds its obviously not the hotels fault but inside they could put some reppelent in becuase i recon i was bit about 12 times about 10 of them from inside not outside. The loacation of the hotel is ok. Not walking distance to the town but easy enough to catch a bus or higher a bike and when you do get in to town its great becuase they dont pull you in to there shops like places such as Turkey. The Beach is not great mainly pebble but you get free such loungers and umbrella's and the highlight of the beach is the beach bar, it normally gets very busy but the food there is always nice, greek salads, gyross, burgers. All very tasty. What was very annoying tho is that the glasses were always hot in the hotel and i mean burning your hand hot, by the time you sat down with it the glass was freezing and the liquid inside is warm! And thats a brilliant pro of the beach bar the glasses are kept in the fridge so drinks are always cold. The games room is not very impressive at all, 1 air hockey table, 1 pool table and 1 football table all badly damaged and always had to wait forever to get on one of them. The computers were slow and rubbish and with a price of 1 euro for 10mins not the best prices either. How once you get past all the con's there are alot of pro's. Great range of food. Salads, Food on the grill, Soup, Kebabs and Pancakes. But if you want a kebab or pancake you have to be prepared to wait atleast 10mins maybe more. Super comftable chairs and sofas throughout the whole hotel. The Entertainment had its good and bad nights. Fire eating night and Men V Women was one to watch. Lord of the dance and Abba is ones to miss. All of the staff were super friendly and super smart except my parents said there was one guy doing the grill who was very sarcastic however i never had a problem. I know this is a problem with every hotel and its very annoying when you got to wake up at half seven to run down to the pool to reserve sun longers and you do need to do this on the beach aswell. The main pool is probably one of the worst i ever been in 10ft in deep end 6.5ft deep in shallow end, salt water and freezing cold not really that desirable. The smaller pool was a bit better 2ft deep in shallow end 6ft deep in deep end. which ment that the pool was a bit warmer but still a bit nippy, so i would recommend going to the smaller pool. The snacks on offer are ok, but not that exciting. 80% of the hotel is dutch which is not good however most of them can speak a little bit of english which made life alot easier. Our room was good enough, nice balkony but there was only one english channel on the TV and that was pretty crap. But overall a good hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shawer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,174)
There are newer reviews for Mitsis Ramira Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

651 - 657 of 1,174 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2009

just got back from a weeks stay at the ramira beach in psalidi ,kos and can honestly say it has been one of t he best hotels ive ever been in !

the hotel and grounds where great, the rooms where clean tidy and well maintained,and spacious,and the room service was second to none!

the food was amazing the staff where equaly as good always helpfull nothing ever too much trouble.

great themed food nights aranged on site, we tried both, the italian and the chinese nights and found it to be superb !

we where lucky to be based over near the small pool area as it was much quiter than the main building!

i do believe in an honest review and the only bad point i found was simply beyond the control of the hotel itself and that is mosquitos,

they are a serious problem in and around the hotel grounds!
especialy on a nite when sat out having drinks and watching the entertainment ,only tip i can give is get plenty of repelent from either the shop on site or take some from home!

the beach bar is nice as well always happy to be around when youve had a swim or a day by the sea to cook up fresh food and a cool glass of coke

do yourselves a favour and book yourselves in! this is an ace place to have a break away !

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank babypadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2009

We visited the Ramira beach in May (I think it was perhaps the 2nd week of the season). The plan was a relaxing holiday and it couldn't have got any better. From the moment we arrived in the middle of the night we were provided with refreshments and it never stopped for the whole week. The rooms were huge, clean, lovely and cool to sleep in at night, the balcony was also a bonus to enjoy a drink and relax on before going down for dinner. As for the food - it was excellent how some people can say it didn't differ....... I think you'd have to stay there for a couple of months before you managed to get round and try all the food on offer! The staff were unable to do enough for you and they all worked so hard, but always a smile on their faces. We enjoyed our time both around the pool and beach and I would definitely return for another relaxing trip. The bike hire is also great - just a couple of euros a day and you can head off and explore. Plenty to see and do in the town but just be aware of the hard sell from every bar/restaurant you walk past in the evenings!

Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank Bam_bamLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2009

We just got back on sunday 2nd August. This place was magnificent!! The staff could not do enough ( apart from Otto in the Italian) the food and choice was great, and we got into the chinese twice!! The rooms were cleaned daily, the fridge in the room was topped up as soon as we used anything but one word of advice, thanks to reading this site before we went, we armed ourselves with plenty of insect repellent. You could do worse than take heed. The saltwater pool was not my cup of tea, but that is purely personal choice. Everyone else seemed to enjoy it. We will go back withouut a doubt one day. We did nnot want to leave.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank herdsman71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2009

We are just got back from a wonderful two weeks at the Ramira Beach have to say that it been one of our best holidays (and we have had quite a few). We chose Ramira after looking on trip advisor so feel the need to give something back, if like me you have trawled through the reviews and wonder which to believe then the last few are a true refection the food is good the drinks good and free flowing no need for an empty glass even get bottles and jugs of wine/beer with your meals. Staff very friendly and helpful, Hotel smart and up market not true 5* but as good as Thomson gold or platinum hotels we have stayed in before (Gran canaria Princess, Bahira Princess, Panorama Ibiza) BUT and this was a problem for us some of the rooms are not upto standard the one we were given would not even make a 1* it was an old one that was a throwback to the eighties very poor damp with moldy paint flaking of the ceilings and bare wires in the bathroom. we complained and the very nice manager gave us a refurbished room which was fantastic but to be honest just what we were expecting for the price, another point even thought the manager bid this for us I dont think he could do it for everyone as the hotel was full so but something else had gone wrong for us nothing to do with the hotel but he understood and went the extra mile.
We are so glad we went all inclusive as three drinks and an ice cream in Kos town cost 12 euro god knows how much we would have spent if the hotel was not AI as the kids must have had 100 ice creams and drinks.
We hired bikes (3 euros) and went out on rides three time this was a good also loads to do around the hotel from beach,pools, sports you should not be bored at all and the animation team were great ( we loved Micky). also my daughter 6 was at the kids club everyday and was well cared for by Irene & Luca.
We also met some really nice holiday makers especially the dutch people who we found nice friendly, and a bonus no real English chavs.
Lastly Mosquitoes we read about them so bought jungle formula spry, and a pug in and my wife and daughter did not get one bite I spread loads on and had a anti mozzi band and got bit over 30 times from feet to face even two on my knuckles and was a bit sick of them by the end.
But over all we really enjoyed our holiday and would go back if we could guarantee a refurbished room at a good price.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darlobp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2009

i agree with everything that is said in the reviews below but i must take exception to th comments about the dutch if you take the time to speak to them you will find they are very friendly people. as for the russians thats a diffrent story they look at you as though they want to rip your head off and they think that a que is a guard of honour and walk straight to the front. other than that the hotel is fantastic as is kos town itself. the staff cant do enough for you and always with a smile which is genuine and not forced as in other european countries the rooms are clean but basic and if you are lucky enough to get one overlooking the small pool are fantastic location location. cant fault this hotel at all and would stay in a mittsis hotel any time.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WiganWatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2009

We stayed here for a week from 15th July, I booked it two days before based on reviews from trip advisor and was NOT disappointed. We did not leave the hotel complex once during our stay it was so relaxing.
I agree with all positives said before
Food excellent -especially greek salads- we also booked italian which was great - recommend do this on first day
Beach - fab - ok it was stones - but purchase beach shoes - around 6euros from shop - and it is lovely and warm with a great wind to keep you cool. Beach bar does really good freshly cooked kebabs and burgers and lovely salads - plus plenty more
Pools good but get busy and need to be up as sun rises to reserve sunbeds - which is only negative
Serv ice was superb - everyone helpful and friendly and hard working
Drinks always filled and can have as many as want - beer great and wine ok. Ouzo - very nice!
Room - very clean - cleaned every day - plenty of room - we had superior family room whch was perfect - bath small and could do with putting shower on wall - but apart from that could not fault itl. Beach towels and bath toels changed every day and room cleaned well every day
Mini bar filled every other day - big bottles of water which was great from beach - but can also take drinks to room
Didnt want for anything - would go again for complete relaxation
Entertainment was ok - although we are not really keen on that sort of thisng - but cvould easily avoid
We took room mossie machines and plenty of spray that we used every evening and did not get one bite - but others did - so make sure you go prepared
Alot of Dutch who we found to be really rude -also alot of kids entertainment seemed to be for them - but this did not affect us- although we are used to this as go to france alot when they are on hols there- they do not smile, say please or thanks and seem to treat staff very badly - we were always polite and friendly and felt very looked after by everyone. Thats only other negative but not a problem
This place is perfect for a weeks break and we would highly recommend it
We normally stay in 5stars everywhere and are very fussy- and whilst this is more a high 3 or 4star it is great for just chilling out

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oedipuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Psalidi
1.1 mi away
Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel
2.2 mi away
Michelangelo Resort and Spa
0.2 mi away
Kipriotis Village Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa
9.7 mi away
Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa
9.7 mi away
Mitsis Norida Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitsis Ramira Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitsis Ramira Beach Hotel

Address: Psalidi 85300, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Psalidi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Psalidi
#4 Romantic Hotel in Psalidi
#5 Luxury Hotel in Psalidi
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Psalidi
Price Range: £62 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mitsis Ramira Beach Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the crystal blue Aegean, the welcoming Mitsis Ramira Beach Hotel is located 3,5 kilometers from picturesque Kos Town. The highlight of this stunning setting is the 250 meters long natural beach, fringed by pines, hibiscus and poplar trees; dispersed amongst the 15 acres of well groomed gardens. The spacious and comfortable guestrooms offer sea, pool or garden views. Ramira feature two a la carte restaurants along with the Main buffet restaurant and the Grill bar on the beach. Guests will find five superb bars; indoors or next to the lavish gardens and pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Mitsis Ramira Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramira Beach Hotel Kos
Hotel Ramira Beach
Ramira Beach Kos
Mitsis Ramira Beach Hotel Kos/Psalidi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing