We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent - we were delighted!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Psalidi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 May 2011

Our first impression was very positive, the lobby area and bar were both very smart. The staff were very warm and friendly on arrival and throughout our stay. In fact, the staff were a real asset to the hotel, being attentive but not overbearing and multi-lingual. Many of the guests at the hotel are not English. We are a couple in our early thirties and noticed that other guests were mostly older in their fifties/sixties.

We were delighted with our room, the rose petals on the bed and wine were a nice touch. The room was quiet with a beautiful view over a pool and onto the beach. Maid service was daily, with fresh bath and beach towels. Bathrobes were provided though the addition of slippers would have been nice.

The grounds were beautiful with numerous rose bushes and paved paths leading around several pools and onto the beach. The lobby bar had a beautiful view over the grounds and ocean. Everywhere was very clean and well maintained.

The all inclusive option included a wide range of drinks, including beer, wine, spirits and cocktails. The food was of good quality and there was an extensive range at every meal. If we were being picky, we would say that there could be more premium food available, but for the price we paid there was more than enough choice, and everything was good.

We thought the hotel was excellent value for money. We could imagine in peak season things could get a little crowded, but this was not the case for us. There were numerous sun loungers both around the pool and by the beach. Music was also played only at low volume and we found the whole hotel to be very peaceful.

The location of the hotel is approximately 4km from the centre of Kos town, which took us at least an hour to walk. It would have been nice to have a shorter walk, but bicycle hire is no problem, and we were more than happy to be in and around the hotel anyway. There is also a bus into town which was a couple of euros, and the bus stop is right outside the hotel. Kos town is pleasant enough and there are some interesting historical places to visit.

We can understand that it may not be five star by "rest of world" standards, but we certainly had no complaints. Overall, we were delighted with this hotel, particularly the staff. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend the hotel to friends.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mighty_Skate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (997)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

503 - 509 of 997 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2011

Stayed for a week just as the season opened this year. Really good staff; very efficient and polite and easy, notably Denis at breakfast and dinner and Dimitri in the bar in the evening. On arrival we were encouraged to head down for dinner as it was nearly closing to find a sumptuous buffet with piles of langoustines and calamari. Exceptional service and friendly staff from the word go. Were then taken by buggy to a bungalow near the sea (an unexpected upgrade) with a canopy bed (wife happy) and free bottle of wine in the fridge, fresh flowers and fruitbowl. Room super with bathrobes slippers and quality bathroom and good shower.
Breakfast aspects a delight (we sat outside) overlooking calming lakes and an excellent choice of food (basically everything you could possibly want; smoked salmon and champagne if that's your thing). Lunch outside near the beach amongst the numerous pools seawater and cold but pleasant nevertheless. Dinner offers more of the same; huge choice with a Greek corner every day with all the usual suspects and loads of kos preserves and honey. Only shame was that the seafood restaurent on the beach wasnt open yet, and whilst there was plenty of fish on the menu every day we would have loved to see more shellfish.
Resort itself is spendid, great for windsurfers, quite windy generally, providing a bit of a chill when we were there but probably most welcome later in the season.
Usual domination by Germans, Russians, French with a smattering of Brits. No loudspeaker entertainment during the day which was welcome, entertainment in the evening was a bit hit and miss.
So to the beach. This by no means spoilt out holiday but it should be noted that aerial shots of the complex show a strip of whitish beach along the front before spreading around the corner to a large open beach area. Firstly this latter area does not exist at all and seems to be an open wild grass area, which leaves the beach strip itself which is sandy in places but is mainly coarse sand/grit mingled with predominantly pebbles, and is more grey than white/yellow. Sand it aint, and one morning there was a digger at work further along the beach and guys out with spades and mattocks! I think the sand gets washed away in the winter as the sea is pebble bottomed; bring sea shoes.
Dont be put off by this unless you are a sandy beach fanatic. We loved this place and reccomend it highly.
We only left the hotel three times; twice to the hot springs a few miles away (hire bicycles; lovely ride along the coast above the cliffs) and so Kos town and Ascleplion.
All inclusive was the right choice for us (one free a la carte meal worth doing) and overall excellent value for money, when we left it was about half full and we were lucky to get the room upgrade and an easy week around the meals (no queueing), grounds beautiful. Wife informs me the coffee was excellent (proper choice Greek, Latte, espresso etc) and I would add all inclusive had a super range of aperitifs, liqueurs and the wine was palatable. £1250 for the two of us; 9/10.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank philandlarysa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2010

Unlike my other reviews, there is not much to say about this one. It is just standard. Nothing too bad, nothing to good. There weren't anything that exceeded our expectations.
The variety of food was pretty good, though I did not expect to pay extra for drinks like water and coffee in a 5-star hotel. The beach was nice and clean, varieties of pools.
Sunrises were gorgeous there. Great photos.
Bottom line, I expected more attention and some special treatment from a 5-star hotel, where we were on our honeymoon...
Would not recommend it not because it's not good, but because for the money it costs, I sure something better can be found.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oblikomorale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2010

Just come back from a pleasant stay at Grecotel Imperial Kos. First impressions were great, a large marble faciaed reception, large complex with numerous shaped swimming pools (5 in all I think) and my room a very spacious bungalow apartment with balcony.

Staff: Largely helpful and quite formal in manner although the porter who drove me to my bungalow expected a tip (not sure he deserved one for driving a golf buggy and then unloading my luggage).

Location: In the middle of nowhere really, Psalidi is a collection of hotels and the odd taverna but Kos Town is just 5/10 mins journey by bus with a stop right outside the hotel. The hotel is just a mere 200 yards from the sea which has its own sand/stone beach.

Room: Although I don't know if all the rooms in the hotel are similar to the ones in the bungalow (which I had). but plus points was the space, balcony, large double bed, effective air-con, power shower, free bottle of wine and fruit, easy to use safety deposit box, good wardrobes and generally very clean. Negative points: basic TV with CNN or BBC world News, bed a bit on the hardside and no coffee/Tea making facilities.

Food: I stayed half-board, and buffet styled. Breakfast: a wide variety of pastries, cereals, fruits and cooked meats, eggs, beans etc with a wide variety of preserves etc although no fresh fruit juices. Dinner: 2 soups to choose from to start, a large variety of many styles of foods from chicken, turkey, fish and beef in different sauces, pastas some traditional greek foods. Desserts again with a large variety to gorge on and they were good! No hard sell for wine or drinks from the staff whilst you eat but not that cheap!

2 A La Carte restaurants in the grounds of the hotel but didn't go to these and also 2 bars near the pools and 1 inside the hotel.

Hotel: Has a large spa, a good mini market, a free internet cafe, a play room for playing pool but strangely no gymnasium? Lots of sun loungers by the pools and on their beach so finding one is no problem and a kiddy play area and pool.

I would recommend this hotel to a friend as it's the best one I've been to so far on the greek Islands and I've been to Rhodes, Crete and Corfu and usually go 4/5 star and apparantly even Bill Clinton's been here so it can't be too shabby! 4 and a half out of 5 for me and I'd like to point out that this hotel is quite Geman orientated.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TimmyHEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2010

Agree with most other comments, very good food and most other stuff that makes a 5-star Greek hotel what you expect from it (if you can make abstraction of a very few minor 'attention points').
We had a fantastic time and came back very relaxed after a 12 day stay.
However, what makes this hotel truly amazing is the friendliness of the staff. We have actually travelled intensively for the last 35 years and encountered a lot of 'plastic' friendliness in hotels all over. This time it was different ... staff actually enjoy working here, and it shows !! Hats off to the management for this achievement.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travel_Jan95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2010

All the pools were great - un-crowded and loads of sunbeds (there were about 600 and almost every pair had an umbrella). Food was great and lots of it and the lagoon restaurant is novel idea. Rooms were comfortable and the views from the balcony were great. The staff were very helpful - overall, what more could you want?. There is a regular bus into town (about every 15 mins) that cost about 1.50 Euro - which makes Kos town very accessable.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank STUMAC01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2010

We expect more of a 5-star resort in terms of cleanliness, facilities, service and flexibility.
Morning and lunch buffets were very good, waiters were mostly friendly. We didn't have dinner at the hotel.
Some of the facilities need refurbishment (chairs in restaurant and on the beach), our room had a horrible smell when we arrived (probably not occupied for weeks) and after daily cleaning we still found hair on the floor.
In terms of service we particularly regretted the unflexibility of the hotel staff with regard to a very small special request we had. The hotel was far from being fully booked at this time of the year, but, even though our outgoing flight was only at 6pm, we had to check out at 12am.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kumbaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Psalidi
1.5 mi away
Michelangelo Resort and Spa
6.2 mi away
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa
4.7 mi away
Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Dimitra Beach Resort Hotel
Dimitra Beach Resort Hotel
#1 of 1 in Agios Fokas
1,559 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mitsis Ramira Beach Hotel
0.9 mi away
Kipriotis Village Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel

Address: Psalidi 1, Psalidi 853 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Psalidi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Psalidi
#5 Romantic Hotel in Psalidi
#6 Spa Hotel in Psalidi
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Psalidi
#8 Luxury Hotel in Psalidi
Price Range: £92 - £249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 384
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grecotel Kos Imperial Psalidi
Hotel Grecotel Kos Imperial
Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel Psalidi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing