We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Psalidi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2011

I can't fault this hotel. The food although buffet was varied and good quality. The staff were friendly and efficient. The kids club was great with very caring staff. We had a great holiday and will go back.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LynneBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (999)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

500 - 506 of 999 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2011

Stayed for a week mid july, hotel was of a high standard. Rooms nice and clean, they give you a free bottle of wine, water and fruit on arrival which was a nice touch. Had a sea view lovely. The food was varied and very good, and of high quality for a buffet type meals. Waiters and staff were all very helpful and as I was on my own the waiters were particualry attentive and felt cared for. Pools are lovely, only slight downside is beach as it is rocky and you need water shoes as it would be very painful on feet. However I did see some fish snockelling off beach due to their being some rocks.Overall very nice hotel and of high standard

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeachloverWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2011

After a rather disappointing trip to Mauritius after our wedding 18 months ago, we are keen to remember this trip as our honeymoon - it was a wonderful holiday in a wonderful hotel.

People say first impressions are important and ours here couldn't have been better. The lobby is stunning and has a fantastic view out to the sea. We were upgraded for no apparent reason and given free wine, water and a fruit basket. Our room was huge, cool and beautifully clean. The pool areas are immaculate with plenty of sunbeds (complete with pillows and a table & umbrella between each pair of beds).

The food is spectacular. High quality buffet meals with so much choice. The dishes are replaced extremely quickly, meaning you are never going to miss out and the food will not go cold and spoil. We were half-board and can't praise the breakfasts and dinners highly enough. Lunch was also very good but very pricey. We weren't helped by the weakness of Sterling against the Euro or by the Greek economic crisis but £10 for a sandwich is still a bit steep! (We shared one between us each day and found that was plenty) Bottles of water and beer are over £4 so bear this in mind before booking. There are two shops - one in the hotel (where everything is eye-wateringly expensive) and one opposite (a little cheaper) but neither sell fresh bread, ham, salad etc so you can't make your own lunch and you are not allowed to take extra at breakfast and save it for later. The spa is also prohibitively expensive.

The staff are brilliant. They are all extremely friendly and helpful but here's a special mention for Alessio. You'll see him around the pool area, arranging table-tennis , boccia, beach football and volleyball matches. I urge you to take part in the water polo - he makes it great fun and it doesn't matter whether you're 10 years old or 60.

We stayed for two weeks - the final week of May and the first of June. We had one day of rain, one of cloud and 13 of beautiful, scorching sunshine. The resort is big so while there were lots of people staying there, it seemed pretty quiet (which suited us). We never had a problem with a lack of hot water in the fabulously powerful shower and never had to wait for a table in the restaurants.

We thoroughly recommend this hotel and intend to visit again.

Slight gripes:
* It would be nice if they set up a smoking area around the swimming pools - we are non-smokers but were often caught in clouds of other people's smoke.
* There are lots of huuuuuuge cockroaches that seem to fly at you at night! In fairness to the hotel, they must have a pest control team as there were always lots of dead cockroaches on the pavements early in the mornings that were quickly cleaned away.
* The beach area is small and stony and the sandy beach volleyball area has lots of stones and rocks under the surface which caused us a couple of injuries!
* Pictures in our brochure seemed to show a "lazy river" part to one of the pools but there is no current.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PaulBel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2011

Hotel exceeded our expectations five star plus. On entering reception stunning views overlooking outside and sea that alone was worth the long flight! Hotel very clean and food excellent.. Staff were all so helpful, polite and friendly and could not do enough for you. We went in late May so obviously it was much quieter and not so full but I imagine in July and August it would be very busy with children etc!

Downside the drinks and snacks very expensive in hotel and in hindsight we would have gone all inclusive. But apart from that had a great holiday and would thoroughly recommend the hotel and would definitely use the Greocotel chain again.


Sue & John London

Room Tip: get near to the restaurant and beach and pools
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank hammersmith186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2011

This was our 2nd visit having been 8 years ago when the hotel just opened. Very well located hotel in large landscaped grounds right on beach, 4km from Kos town, and there is a cycle way/footpath away from Greek driving once you have diced with the traffic for a short way at the beginning. There is a bust stop at the hotel gate, and cycles for hire at the hotel. We also had a beach front bungalow room with pool (unfortunately we paid not upgraded!!), excellent sized room, and very quiet, no canned music or in fact any pool noise to be heard. The beach is not of the best, but this is not a problem unless you really want a sandy holiday! As with all Grecotels the food is excellent, vast choice at breakfast and dinner, including many Kos/Greek delicacies. Staff all very attentive, polite and welcoming, reception never seemed busy. The spa was excellent and can recommend the treatments, Also as ever with Grecotels the wine in general was rubbish and overpriced with Greek table wine 26 euros a bottle with dinner, 4.20 for a bottle of water was enough! We would go again and would recommend it.

Room Tip: Consider upgrading to bungalow in garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank doc50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2011

Our first impression was very positive, the lobby area and bar were both very smart. The staff were very warm and friendly on arrival and throughout our stay. In fact, the staff were a real asset to the hotel, being attentive but not overbearing and multi-lingual. Many of the guests at the hotel are not English. We are a couple in our early thirties and noticed that other guests were mostly older in their fifties/sixties.

We were delighted with our room, the rose petals on the bed and wine were a nice touch. The room was quiet with a beautiful view over a pool and onto the beach. Maid service was daily, with fresh bath and beach towels. Bathrobes were provided though the addition of slippers would have been nice.

The grounds were beautiful with numerous rose bushes and paved paths leading around several pools and onto the beach. The lobby bar had a beautiful view over the grounds and ocean. Everywhere was very clean and well maintained.

The all inclusive option included a wide range of drinks, including beer, wine, spirits and cocktails. The food was of good quality and there was an extensive range at every meal. If we were being picky, we would say that there could be more premium food available, but for the price we paid there was more than enough choice, and everything was good.

We thought the hotel was excellent value for money. We could imagine in peak season things could get a little crowded, but this was not the case for us. There were numerous sun loungers both around the pool and by the beach. Music was also played only at low volume and we found the whole hotel to be very peaceful.

The location of the hotel is approximately 4km from the centre of Kos town, which took us at least an hour to walk. It would have been nice to have a shorter walk, but bicycle hire is no problem, and we were more than happy to be in and around the hotel anyway. There is also a bus into town which was a couple of euros, and the bus stop is right outside the hotel. Kos town is pleasant enough and there are some interesting historical places to visit.

We can understand that it may not be five star by "rest of world" standards, but we certainly had no complaints. Overall, we were delighted with this hotel, particularly the staff. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend the hotel to friends.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mighty_Skate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2011

Stayed for a week just as the season opened this year. Really good staff; very efficient and polite and easy, notably Denis at breakfast and dinner and Dimitri in the bar in the evening. On arrival we were encouraged to head down for dinner as it was nearly closing to find a sumptuous buffet with piles of langoustines and calamari. Exceptional service and friendly staff from the word go. Were then taken by buggy to a bungalow near the sea (an unexpected upgrade) with a canopy bed (wife happy) and free bottle of wine in the fridge, fresh flowers and fruitbowl. Room super with bathrobes slippers and quality bathroom and good shower.
Breakfast aspects a delight (we sat outside) overlooking calming lakes and an excellent choice of food (basically everything you could possibly want; smoked salmon and champagne if that's your thing). Lunch outside near the beach amongst the numerous pools seawater and cold but pleasant nevertheless. Dinner offers more of the same; huge choice with a Greek corner every day with all the usual suspects and loads of kos preserves and honey. Only shame was that the seafood restaurent on the beach wasnt open yet, and whilst there was plenty of fish on the menu every day we would have loved to see more shellfish.
Resort itself is spendid, great for windsurfers, quite windy generally, providing a bit of a chill when we were there but probably most welcome later in the season.
Usual domination by Germans, Russians, French with a smattering of Brits. No loudspeaker entertainment during the day which was welcome, entertainment in the evening was a bit hit and miss.
So to the beach. This by no means spoilt out holiday but it should be noted that aerial shots of the complex show a strip of whitish beach along the front before spreading around the corner to a large open beach area. Firstly this latter area does not exist at all and seems to be an open wild grass area, which leaves the beach strip itself which is sandy in places but is mainly coarse sand/grit mingled with predominantly pebbles, and is more grey than white/yellow. Sand it aint, and one morning there was a digger at work further along the beach and guys out with spades and mattocks! I think the sand gets washed away in the winter as the sea is pebble bottomed; bring sea shoes.
Dont be put off by this unless you are a sandy beach fanatic. We loved this place and reccomend it highly.
We only left the hotel three times; twice to the hot springs a few miles away (hire bicycles; lovely ride along the coast above the cliffs) and so Kos town and Ascleplion.
All inclusive was the right choice for us (one free a la carte meal worth doing) and overall excellent value for money, when we left it was about half full and we were lucky to get the room upgrade and an easy week around the meals (no queueing), grounds beautiful. Wife informs me the coffee was excellent (proper choice Greek, Latte, espresso etc) and I would add all inclusive had a super range of aperitifs, liqueurs and the wine was palatable. £1250 for the two of us; 9/10.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank philandlarysa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Psalidi
1.5 mi away
Michelangelo Resort and Spa
6.2 mi away
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa
3.3 mi away
Maritina Hotel
Maritina Hotel
#30 of 48 in Kos Town
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa
1.1 mi away
Mitsis Ramira Beach Hotel
2.2 mi away
Alexandra Beach Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel

Address: Psalidi 1, Psalidi 853 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Psalidi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Psalidi
#5 Romantic Hotel in Psalidi
#6 Spa Hotel in Psalidi
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Psalidi
#8 Luxury Hotel in Psalidi
Price Range: £86 - £257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 384
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Prestigia, Expedia, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grecotel Kos Imperial Psalidi
Hotel Grecotel Kos Imperial
Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel Psalidi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing