We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kos best resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Psalidi
Certificate of Excellence
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Kos best resort”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

The hotel territorry is really nice.you can meet the beautidul cats and kittens who has their own cat cafe. To come to the sea and start swimming you will need special footwear if you are not fan of the shingle beach. there are a lot of pools with the salt water around and showers with normal water, each breakfast and dinner were tasty and different. Personal is so kind and helpful if you ask for any help,The fresh food and cats are the symbols of Greece. taxi from the hotel to the airport costs you 45 euro, it is official and fixed.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Elena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

863 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    493
    255
    72
    28
    15
See reviews for
374
339
15
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Hope, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We have stayed at other Grecotel hotels but this was our first time in Kos, and although we did not find the island as amazing as other Greek island, we LOVED the hotel. We had a bungalow on the beach with a private pool and our kids were in heaven. The grounds were beautiful, the pools and the lazy river nice, the suite and the hotel nicely decorated, the nightly entertainment decent, and the food was really good. We did not have the all inclusive package, and although the hotel buffet (all-inclusives were using it all the time) was almost extravagant (do we really need that much food?), we like to be served and to have more gourmet choices, and pay for it. I am not crazy about all- inclusive hotels because it is nice to be able to order any drink you like and have a more discriminating menu and environment. So we were able to enjoy delicious grilled fresh fish with a greek style menu at the beach restaurant (they gave us the option to order the fish (fresh catch) a day in advance, so the chef had to find it in the market that morning. We also enjoyed a delicious gourmet dinner in the upstairs restaurant.
The people at the hotel were overall very nice and customer friendly. We particularly LOVED Kostas, our server in the main restaurant and Zoran in the guest relations (we actually liked everybody in the guest relationships including the beautiful blond young woman from Russia, sorry I cannot remember her name) . They really put a face into the hotel and provided excellent service. The receptionists were polite but not as personable.
We would definitely recommend this hotel, every time we went sight seeing, we couldn't wait to return to our hotel!

Room Tip: The bungalows looked much nicer and closer to the beach and the pools than the rooms in the main ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank YotaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhodes Town, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Our stay was excellent at Kos Imperial! The hotel is an ideal place for relaxation from everyday routine, both for couples and for families, as it simply has everything on properties, from kids facilities to recreation for adults. Delicious food, professional friendly staff, variety of swimming pools, not crowded anywhere on the resort. Surely would like to come back for another stay in Kos Imperial!

Room Tip: preferable rooms near the small pool on the left side of the resort, very peaceful, with good access...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Irinoula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We have now stayed in this hotel 10 times and are never disappointed with it. In fact we are looking forward to returning next year again. Apart from the fantastic staff who are a huge asset to the hotel, there is the great food, views, pools and gardens. The staff are so attentive and friendly. The choice of food at breakfast is the best I have had at any hotel. Huge variety and also freshly cooked produce. Evening meals are the same. The dining area is lovely and opens out on to terraces surrounded by water. There is also The Pavillions Restaurant. A definite must to visit. The views from the restaurant are amazing especially when the sun is going down. For food during the day there is the choice of the pool bar, beach bar and the Taverna. This is a great hotel if you are a solo traveller, couple or family. There is something for everyone. The childrens club Grecoland is brilliant for children. The staff there are fantastic. The children in our family loved it and there is so much for them to do. The animation team are also terrific and put on shows during the week that are not only really good but are also hilarious. The pools are beautiful and are right beside the beach so you have a choice. The childrens pool is really safe for the little ones. The beach is a little stoney and hard to walk on in places but the sea is lovely and warm. The hotel is surrounded by lovely green areas with flowers and shrubs and tended to by an army of gardeners. There are good walks around the hotel also. This is an extremely well run hotel and I always look forward to going back each year.
The bus stop is directly outside of the hotel. It is €1.60 per adult and €0.85 per child into the town. If you buy the tickets in the kiosk in the town the prices are slightly cheaper. The only problem is that the bus is very packed going back towards the hotel in the evening. A taxi costs €10 and is worth getting back if the bus is full. The hotel have an arrangement with Hot Bikes for renting out bicycles. We rented them out for our stay and this is a great way of getting around. There is a cycle lane practically all the way into town. There are a number of great cafe bars around. Cosy at Lemoni and Spitaki beside the Marina are lovely. You can hire sunbeds and umbrellas here and have a swim or sip a fresh orange juice. Lovely on a really hot day. The town of Kos is lovely also. You can go on a boat ride to Turkey, do the 3 island tour or go scuba diving. There is a lovely atmosphere in the town and the main square is a buzz of activity particulary around the Agora which is the local Market. There is a good cafe bar Aenaos in the main square that do great cappuccinos. A definite must is the Ambavris Taverna. This is a family run greek taverna with great food. We have been there loads of times and have never been disappointed. A taxi to the taverna costs €10 from the hotel and takes about 15 mins. It is also a lovely walk to the taverna from the town of Kos. It is up a winding country road with plenty of chickens and goats running around amid an olive grove. Truly greek. A taxi to the airport cost €40 and is about a 40 min drive.
I would definitely recommend this hotel for a really great relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Jeannette25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We (a party of two adults and a 14 yr old) booked a week at this hotel from 21 -28 August 2013 on a half board basis. Overall this was a really enjoyable holiday, and the hotel is excellent.
Things started well when we were at the hotel within 40 minutes of leaving the airport, stopping at two other hotels on the way. We had been braced for a transfer time of 1 hour 20 as quoted in the brochure so a much reduced journey time on the bus was a bonus. On our arrival at the hotel, we were impressed by the greeting we received from the reception staff, who informed us that we had been given a complimentary upgrade to a garden room with a limited sea view. The sea view turned out to be pretty expansive so that was another bonus.
As some of the other reviews have highlighted, the staff are excellent and are really friendly. Other good points were an excess of sun beds (no need to fight for them or leave towels out at daybreak), some nice touchs with complimentary fruit and wine being left in the room, the food was of a very good standard, the position of the hotel and the views from it were excellent, the general standard of the building and it's decor is very good and there is free wifi in the reception for those who need it (with a free internet room containing three computers on the floor below the reception).
It does appear to be the case that British guests are in a minority but this was never a problem, other than with the TV which only had two English speaking news channels out of fourteen but nothing else other than German, French, Italian and Russian channels which was a little frustrating but having said that you don't go away to watch the TV!!
If I was to nit-pick (and that's all it is) there is very little outside the hotel other than a small supermarket and a taverna, neither of which appeared too inspiring. Kos town was very good but is a 10 minute bus ride away so was not within walking distance at night when a change of scenery would have been nice. Drinks prices were as you would expect at a 5 star (ie not the cheapest - beer and juices were well priced but wines and cocktails were a bit on the high side). Also the bathroom was nice but perhaps in need of a bit of a make-over. It was slightly at odds with the otherwise high standards of the hotel. However, as I say these are minor details and the big question is would we go there again? The answer would be yes, which says it all.
I can also recommend making a trip to Zia to watch the sunset, this is a bit of a treat and I'd also recommend the Oromedon taverna - an excellent night with excellent food - what more can you want?!
On a final note, and this is about the Thomsons' travel arrangements and not the hotel, the transfer back to the airport was chaotic. This was due to Thomsons/TUI loading the bus with British, French and German customers, and the reps having to repeat all of the instructions three times over. They did this at the airport whilst everyone roasted away on the bus for an extended period of time - I'm sure this could've been planned a bit better and ended the holiday in a bit more of a relaxed fashion.

Room Tip: The hotel views over Psalidi bay are excellent so a sea facing room would be highly advised.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Adriang184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for the last 2 weeks of July, 2013 then family with children (boys aged 15 and 12) joined us for the second week. We have absolutely no complaints about this hotel and every reason to praise the location, the facilities, buildings and the staff who, without exception, bent over backwards to please. Our all-inclusive package (from the UK) represented great value for money: buffet food was very good and the local wines, beers and spirits were very drinkable! The hotel pools were clean and safe, and poolside facilities were first-class, including a waiter service from the pool bar. The sea was 2 mins walk but of course the beach was shingle and rock - but with a pair of sae shoes, no problem! We have no hesitation in recommending this hotel for guaranteed summer sunshine (90+ deg every day!) and an easy, relaxed holiday.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RLancaster44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Just back from a 2-weeks stay, we really enjoyed the hotel.
We were a little bit worried before choosing a hotel in Kos, and were wondering whether the overall very nice rate of the Imperial Thalasso was true of not. We decided to follow the users' views and did not regret it at all.
Pools are great and there is always a sufficient quantity of sun chairs, rooms are clean (even if a little bit old-fashioned) and we were very well located, the weather was great, and all the staff very friendly and always keen on supplying whatever we could need.
On the negatives:
- the beach is really stony (this is disclosed but really not nice)
- there is a quite nice variety of food, but always the same thing everyday (a pity that there isn't more fish) / however, breakfast is really great
Special thanks to the Manager Mr Xirogiannis.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Dede O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Psalidi
1.5 mi away
Michelangelo Resort and Spa
4.7 mi away
Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa
6.2 mi away
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Mitsis Ramira Beach Hotel
1.8 mi away
Platanista Hotel
Platanista Hotel
#1 of 19 in Psalidi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
17.8 mi away
Blue Lagoon Village
Blue Lagoon Village
#1 of 13 in Kefalos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel

Property: Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel
Address: Psalidi 1, Psalidi 853 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Psalidi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Psalidi
#5 Romantic Hotel in Psalidi
#6 Spa Hotel in Psalidi
#7 Luxury Hotel in Psalidi
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Psalidi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 384
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grecotel Kos Imperial Psalidi
Hotel Grecotel Kos Imperial
Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel Psalidi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing