We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEAUTIFUL 5 STAR HOTEL” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Psalidi
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“BEAUTIFUL 5 STAR HOTEL”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel in June 2014 and we had the most wonderful time.The public areas of this hotel are amazing and are truly 5 star.The pools and gardens are beautiful and kept so clean and tidy by the very hard working staff. They are all very friendly too. Rooms are cleaned every day by the very hard working Room Maids and they will always find time to say hello.The food at this hotel was as good as we have had anywhere we have been with plenty of variety, beautifully cooked and presented, The Restaurant staff, Bar staff, Receptionists, Bell boys and Animation team are all so friendly and just can't do enough to help make your holiday so special, We loved every minute of our stay at Grecotel Kos Imperial and we hope we can go back there again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank walsall_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    487
    254
    71
    27
    14
See reviews for
371
335
15
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

I have just arrived back following a week at the Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel and it was amazing. The attention to detail was excellent The Reception staff were very helpful. All staff are very smart in appearance and are friendly and cheerful. The room was a good size with ample storage space and the bed comfy. Everywhere was very clean, especially around the pool areas. I am a very fussy eater but the food was well prepared and there was always good choice even for me. The only down side is the distance from Kos centre but with a regular bus service/car or bike hire available this was not a problem. I would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank franklyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doetinchem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here with our 18-month old son, end of May. We booked a family room but were upgraded to a bungalow, which has the same rooms, but are not in the main building. Ours was closer to the Grecoland playground. The room was very clean and was a good size. The balcony was quite small and had no sunlight. Which was a pity because we had to stay in or close to our room while our son was sterling in the afternoon. Overall impression of the hotel is very good, but it needs some maintenance in some areas. The pirate ship on the beach, which has three slides had some rotten and broken spots. Some of the umbrellas at the pool were torn and our balcony fencing was broken. Still,these are small things that did not really bother us. What makes this hotel a real 5star hotel is its staff. They do their best to make you enjoy your stay. All in all I think this hotel is slightly overpriced compared to other hotels we stayed in. But we had a real good time!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mausie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hants
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Just returned from a weeks stay at the Imperial and although we had a nice break we were disappointed with the hotel as it did not live up the the 5* it claims to be. We booked our stay here primarily base on the hotels own website (and reviews on here) but we now know the photos over sell the place. There was nothing that was bad but lots that's wasn't good and needs improving in our opinion to bring it up there with other 5* resorts we have stay at.
The good:
The hotel staff particularly the cleaning lady and waitresses and waiters in the restaurant are very friendly and helpful, couldn't fault them at all.
Pool area was good, spacious and sun beds always available
Hotel always looked clean and tidy
Outside eating area really lovely and lobby very grand looking
Not really anything to do with the hotel but the local bus service into Kos town picked up and dropped off right out side hotel, takes about 10-15mins and 2euros per person one way and fairly frequent.

The not so good:
We arrived at 5am and were not offered a welcome drink which we noticed other new guests received when we were sat waiting in the lobby for our departure pick-up at 1am
The beach is a pebble beach and very short.
No poolside service
Only 3 sandwiches options available at pool side bar for snacks
No cold flannels offered at pool
Uncomfortable and cheap looking beds, with ugly brown blankets rather than a light duvet and lift up the sheets and you'll find a white mental frame that looks like its from ikea.
No proper hair dryer in bedroom
Cleaning of rooms starts early so you can hear the cleaners trolly rumble past your bedroom. Walls and ceilings seem quite thin also so you can hear odd noise from neighbours
No docking station, just an old looking CD player that doesn't even have a aux lead.
Cheap looking shower curtain that was fraying
Tacky looking stickers on windows rather than frosted glass
No wifi in bedroom. Only wifi in lobby so everyone is sat in lobby on their phones and iPads making the download time slow
When you leave room and take key card out all electricity goes off including sockets where you might leave things to charge whilst out and about. This happened to us when we left a camera battery to charge during the day, then when we went up to the mountain village of Zia to watch the sunset (highly recommend) realised it hadn't charged so were unable to take any photos, hugely disappointed and annoyed.
No late checkout, unless you pay an extra charge. Our pick up was at 1am but had to get out the room at 12pm
The Buffett doesn't really change night after night, although lots on offer it felt like we were always eating the same. No themed dinner nights or none that we could tell of. One of the reasons we came to Greece was because of the cuisine especially the souvlaki (Greek kebab) but not once did they serve it. Desserts were really poor, they looked different but all tasted the same.
Hotel entertainment was pretty poor. They tried but it had a butlins feel although butlins probably offers better quality these days.
Be careful of the locks on the toilets they are a bit fiddly and I was even in the toilets by the restaurant when one lady got locked in one of the cubicles and couldn't get out.

The spa was terrible. We can't comment on the treatments as with all 5* hotels they were overpriced but we did go on our last day to use the thermal spa. 35 euros each to use the facilities, when we paid we were not told that there were stages to the thermal experience, which involved an employee coming in every 5 minutes to turn on a different water jet or pump, not quite the relaxing experience we were hoping, as experienced at other spas where all the jets and pumps are on at the same time and you can just pick and choose which ones you want to use, there were also a couple of bugs floating around and some of the grouting looked like it could do with a scrub. We were also not told that the sauna and stream room were separate in the changing rooms so we we're not able to relax together in them. The changing facilities were basic, the shower I used was broken, the head was cracked so water came out the side and also it didn't drain until after the shower was switched off so I was paddling in a pool of water. There was also one of those sticky labels from bikini bottoms stuck to the wall suggesting it hadn't been cleaned recently. The toiletry products available were poor and also the same rubbish hair dryer and no plug sockets to straighten your hair. The steam room was not working when we visited and we were given 5 euros refund each but frankly we would have preferred to have been told all of this upfront and we would have not bothered and saved ourselves 60 euros to spend on the overpriced cocktails.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rach383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kosimperial2014, General Manager at Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Mr Hans,

first of all I would like to thank you for your comments regarding your stay in our hotel. Your comments really help us improve the quality of our service, as our aim in Grecotel is not just to serve, but to extend real Greek hospitality.

I am really grateful for your excellent comments regarding the hotel staff. It is an honor for me, as a General Manager, to hear from a Guest that our staff is friendly, helpful and hospitable.

Regarding the not so good comments that you reported, I would like to inform you as follows:

- Upon the arrival of our guests, we certainly offer a welcome drink at the area of the lobby. I accept the fact that welcome drink was not served upon your arrival, as it was very early in the morning (05.00 am)

- Regarding your comment about our beach, we are trying on a daily basis to refresh it, plus the fact that we have created a sandy place above the pebble beach part.

- Regarding pool side service, we have three waiters who go around pools, cleaning ashtrays, tables, and make sun beds tidy. The particular waiters are also responsible for taking orders from clients who are around the pools.

- Regarding the sandwich options, I would like to inform and confirm that we have three sandwich options in the pool and another six in the beach bar, which you may have not visited. We do not have cold flannels offered at pools, as this is an exclusive service.

- Your comments about furniture, linen, hairdryer, walls & ceilings and other disposal equipment, are highly considered and will be discussed with the Head Offices of Grecotel.

- We have WiFi Internet only in the public areas. Upon request of our guests, we are able to provide WiFi USB Stick, free of charge, which backs up the client to have Internet in the room.

- I confirm that we have two different entertainment programs every night, one in the lobby bar and one in the pool bar. We recognize that it is a matter of taste, this is why we do our best to meet our guests’ needs as much as possible.

- The stickers on windows are a safety procedure, under the tour operator’s safety audits.

- Regarding the electricity which goes off when the key card is being taken out of the room, it’s a global system all around the rooms, under the umbrella of green environment tasks that Grecotel is operating , plus the fact that on safety regulation, not any kind of equipment must be turned on when the client is not in the room.

- The Food & Beverage Department, based on the Grecotel quality standards, has created a themed dinner nights program, which is:
Zorbas the Greek, Asian night, Welcome to Kos night, International night, Greek BBQ, Greek pasta, Greek islands, Mediterranean night, Wellness symposium night. Of course, I respect your opinion, as probably it is a matter of taste, but we are always flexible on special occasions to satisfy our client’s taste, as long as he has approached and asked for it.


- Regarding our spa, I would like once more to thank you very much for your comments, our spa staff are excellent trained and the treatments are very popular. Value for money is very important, and with all the respect on your opinion, the prices are very reasonable.

- Speaking of prices, our beverages are not overpriced, as it is being considered that the service, the place and the quality of our drinks is based on the Five Star Hotel standards.

It is always my pleasure to receive from our respectable Guests any kind of comments, which could help the management of the hotel to fulfill the needs and wants of them, during their holiday, as long as they approach us while they are in the hotel. I would be the most happy Manager if all the guests approached us during their stay to discuss various issues and find solutions immediately.

I will be very, very happy that the next time you will decide to visit Kos Imperial, we will have a personal contact, and I assure you that your holiday will be great, as soon as we cover any tips of your wishes.

My email is vtsagarakis@grecotel.com, and I remain always at your disposal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cupar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

My wife and I have just returned from an excellent weeks holiday at the Kos Imperial, in Psalidi.
Like most of the other reviews, we found the Kos Imperial very nice indeed. Comfortable rooms, beautiful public areas, excellent outside dining in the Pavillions, the food was good quality and well presented, and most of the staff were very helpful and friendly.
However, the hotel had three big negatives for us.
1) We expected a shingle beach, but didn't expect the seabed to be covered in big stones, that made walking out to the sea practically impossible. There was a small jetty, that enabled you to get out to swimming depth, but even here if you put your feet down, you weren't sure what you were standing on. As a result you couldn't paddle in the water.
2) The drinks prices were shocking. Many guests in the hotel were on an all-inclusive basis, but the deal that we booked was only for halfboard. A beer cost €4.80, and cocktails which are half the size of the cocktails you are normally served were €11.00. As a result, most of the guests on halfboard used the Nicos & Kontessa Taverna which is 300yards away for drinks and mid day snacks. Great food, and great crack. Well worth a visit.
3) The evening entertainment was very poor, for a hotel of this standard. Most of the nights, the entertainment was provided by the entertainment team. Very enthusiastic amateurs, and nothing like the entertainment we have seen at other Thomson Platinum hotels. On one night the entertainment was stopped half way through because the power kept failing!
A final watchout. If you want a late checkout from your room, it will cost you €40.
In summary a great hotel, just a shame about the beach and the drinks prices

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

This hotel is absolutely luxurious and we were very impressed. Although travelling as three couples after dinner or afternoon drinks were expensive a spirit and juice will set you back around 8 Euros and cocktails are 12, eating lunch will set you back around 18 Euros for the buffet or 7 Euros for a toastie, we were regularly around £50 pounds for a round of 4 alcoholic and 2 non alcoholic drinks. This is when you should head across the road to Romeos Taverna, the same round of drinks set us back around £15....and a toastie 3 or 4 Euros. Be aware this is a very quiet resort only this hotel and the one taverna and very small shop.

The hotel is quality, but buses to Kos are irregular and sometimes too full to take you meaning another half hour wait.

Hotel spotless, food Fantastic, although do not be fooled by the pictures of the hotel beach its is disgraceful and really needs vastly improved..

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms with the double balcony one of our rooms had this, all rooms have sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stephendickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Breath-taking, we booked a triple room with side sea view, the view was amazing. Staff were extremely friendly and couldn't do enough for you. The room was clean and airy. There was enough food to feed an army and so much choice, the fussiest of eaters would never go hungry. The beach was very pebbly, you may need footwear for the sea. The water sports were reasonably priced too. The pools were fantastic, so much room around them and plenty of sun beds. Entertainment was there if you wanted it, but it was nice to sit at the terrace bar overlooking the sea. Will definitely go back here!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aliboo2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Psalidi
4.7 mi away
Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa
1.5 mi away
Michelangelo Resort and Spa
6.2 mi away
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Mitsis Ramira Beach Hotel
13.0 mi away
Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa
1.8 mi away
Hotel Platanista
Hotel Platanista
#1 of 21 in Psalidi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel

Property: Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel
Address: Psalidi 1, Psalidi 853 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Psalidi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Psalidi
#6 Family Hotel in Psalidi
#6 Romantic Hotel in Psalidi
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Psalidi
#7 Luxury Hotel in Psalidi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 384
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grecotel Kos Imperial Psalidi
Hotel Grecotel Kos Imperial
Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel Psalidi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing