We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nightmare hotel for discering travellers!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Psalidi
Certificate of Excellence
WINDSOR,UK
Level Contributor
86 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Nightmare hotel for discering travellers!”
Reviewed 20 August 2009

This was our third stay at a Grecotel property and the most stressful and disappointing. This hotel is an overbuilt property with poor architectural design and terrible sound insulation in the main building. Every square inch is crammed full with salt water pools [ no chlorine], and overcrowded tiny beach frontage and building upon building.
The furnishings are poor; the bedroom furniture is not functional and worst of all , we arrived to stay in a very expensive two bedroom two bathroom maisonette, to find no wardrobe in the master bedroom; sheets covered with beach sand due to failure to service the room as a departure for a new stay, and worst of all, cockroaches running up the headboard and under the bed !
Definitely not suitable for the FIT traveller particularly since the hotel appears to have the policy of cramming groups into the surplus rooms whilst pretending to be a 5 star hotel.
After moving twice and making voiciferous complaints, we were finally upgraded to an acceptable suite. The only redeeming part of our stay were our evening meals in the a la carte restaurant where Antonis the Maitre d' took good care of us, and Mimosa the room attendant who was a genuinely committed member of staff.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CBB99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

860 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    492
    254
    72
    27
    15
See reviews for
373
338
15
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London - UK (but Italian)
Level Contributor
87 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2009

Extremely good hotel for a resort-like holiday. 5-star luxury standing which might be borderline in other countries but for Greece is very well deserved: top notch service is sometime not as "automatic" as in other similar standing places but if you seek it, then it is provided.

Rooms are very good, landscaped gardens and pools amazing (loved the waterfall cave for free jacuzy feeling), the beach is nothing special, but the pools are more than enough anyway.

Food is good and there is plenty of it, service in the restaurant spotless. We tried the fish a la carte, and it was good and not terribly expensive.

Only big negative, the ambience and hotel are so nice that you are not incentivised at all to leave it and explore the island... but after all, i understand Kos is not among the best ones anyway... Great for a relaxing holiday

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emanuele B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2009

This was our first vacation with our 3 old daughter in an all inclusive hotel. Our child loved the pool facilities and the kindergarden. We also loved the pools. The beach was not so nice, did not come even close to the beauty of other beaches in the island or in Greece in general. The staff was very polite, the hotel was very clean, the gardens very beautiful. The spa was also very nice, but rather expensive. We stayed in a bungalow in the ground floor by the gardens, small size rooms, very nice bathroom, very good water pressure. Although we had reserved a bungalow to accommodate a small child, they gave us a room with a travel (plastic) baby crib, not an extra bed or a cot bed, and our daughter could not sleep in such a small bed. They failed to change it, because they said the hotel was fully booked. We didn't bother so much with this, our bed was pretty big so our daughter slept with us, otherwise the service was very good. Downside: although in great quantity, the food's quality and taste was not so good, it was rather indifferent - some food tasted like it was made some other day before and was re-heated in a micro wave (that usually happens in buffets). The hotel is about 5 km from the city and abt 20 km from the airport. Airport rides cost 30 Euros, which is rather expensive. In general, we would have preferred another cheaper but with same amenities and quality standards hotel, if we did not have our daughter with us. So the hotel, is a very good choice if you have small children. They will love the pools and kids' activity programs, and they are so many of them!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Athensjuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2009

This is my second stay at the fabolous Grecotel Kos Imperial within the 2008 stay at the one&only 6-star Amirandes (Grecotel Hotel) on Crete. This is also my second review on this resort which has soon gained the reputation as the most splendid hotel on Kos island.

The room was classy and very nice. When booking, I do not reccomend the main building rooms, because they are a little bit hidden, so there is less daylight comming through the windows.

Service and staff is overall good - very friendly and willing.

Pools are fabolous, but the beach is not as good - do not expect gold sands on volcano-based island.

The hotel is really beautiful - I promise there is nothing slightly similar to Imperial. The architecture is stunning and the atmosphere is very nobles. This prooves the fact that the royal family and it's suite has stayed here for a while at Royal Pavillion Villa.

Imperial the best on Kos - Grecotel the best in Greece!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nixero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2009

This was our second visit to the hotel and yet again, our holiday was fantastic. The hotel is spotless, the staff can't do enough for you and the food is superb. Our son loved the children's club which is run by a fantastic team.

Downside - the cost of drinks in the bar is high and did limit our use of it.

We would return again next year but we feel that we ought to go somewhere else just for variety - it will be another Grecotel though.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheclanEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2009

Excellent hotel and facilities. Plenty of sunloungers available so no need to get up early to reserve, towels for pool use provided regularly. The hotel has a beach with sunloungers provided but it is shingly, watersports also available but expensive. Hotel staff cannot do enough to help you during your stay, staff are so helpful and friendly. Rooms excellent, we had fresh flowers and a basket of fruit on arrival. Use of safes in rooms is free and there is a large fridge for you to use. When you walk through the lobby the view through the terrace is stunning looking over towards turkey. You are taken to your rooms by golf buggy along with your luggage. Food very good but not much variation throughtout the stay. The cost of drinks in the hotel is expensive almost 5 euros for a bottle of beer in the restaurants and 3.50 for soft drinks,however there is a small taverna across the road next to budget rent a car called paraskevas which is much cheaper - also does good value meals if you want a change. As others have said use the supermarket across the road as it is much cheaper than the one in the hotel. The only downside to this hotel is that the entertainment at night is not very good and it will take a good hour and a half to walk into kos town - not recommended. The bus stop is outside the hotel and is 1euro 60 each - it runs regularly not stopping until 3am in high season but can get very busy on the way back at night. When you get into kos and get off the bus you will see a small kiosk by the bus stop where you can buy the return tickets cheaper and avoid the crush to pay when getting on the bus as you get on at the back. We hired a car through europcar which was good value for money, as the island is so small you can see most of it easily. Zia is beautiful a tourist town up in the hills but shops are not expensive and the views across the islands and to turkey are amazing. Askeplion worth a trip but avoid kardamena as it is dirty and a town full of bars for young people. We also went to thermes about 3 miles up the road from the hotel but worth a visit. It is quite a walk down a rough path but when you get to the bottom walk along the beach until you get to the circle of rocks which is a natural hot spring - like getting into a hot bath and you can see the bubbles coming from below ground - the amazing thing about this is that the sea next to it is normal temperature - warm/cool. If you want a quiet holiday to relax without hundreds of small children and brits abroad this is the place to go - bliss, well recommended.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suehat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warsaw, poland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2009

we stayed in a spacy bungalow room facing the see, nicely decorated with a good-standard bathroom and huge terrace. it is a beatiful hotel which looks exactly like in catalogue pictures. had a great vacation and would not mind coming back here again. the only minus - the grecoland for kids was quite poor, just a few low quality toys in the open air playground. luckily we spent most of time in the swimming pool and the beach.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank agnieszkamac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Psalidi
1.5 mi away
Michelangelo Resort and Spa
4.7 mi away
Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa
6.2 mi away
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Mitsis Ramira Beach Hotel
1.8 mi away
Platanista Hotel
Platanista Hotel
#1 of 19 in Psalidi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
17.8 mi away
Blue Lagoon Village
Blue Lagoon Village
#1 of 13 in Kefalos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel

Property: Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel
Address: Psalidi 1, Psalidi 853 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Psalidi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Psalidi
#5 Romantic Hotel in Psalidi
#6 Spa Hotel in Psalidi
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Psalidi
#7 Luxury Hotel in Psalidi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 384
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grecotel Kos Imperial Psalidi
Hotel Grecotel Kos Imperial
Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel Psalidi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing