We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great hotel-badly run”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sensimar Oceanis Beach & Spa Resort
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Psalidi
Certificate of Excellence
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“great hotel-badly run”
Reviewed 17 August 2011

the hotel is gorgeous really modern and bright, the views are fantastic and the pools are clean and not too cold.
the area is lovely also and the people are very friendly, we couldnt fault the food in any way it was lovely and fresh everyday different menu each day and always very tasty.
the beach is nice bit pebbly so you do need beach shoes and some of the stones can be quite sharp, good snorkelling water!!! lots of water sports available too, the evening entertainment isnt up to thomsons normal standard, i think simon cowell would have a field day with some of the singers! the greek dancing was pretty good, if people would only not stand up right at the front because people at the back cant see anything. pool table, ping pong table and darts are available as well.

now for the moaning bit!

the room was lovely except it was on the ground floor in the gardens facing the bar, so lots of loud music all day and night, so not much sleep, the shower did leak all over the floor each time the floor got soaked, needs a better shower door!!
the bar downstairs is a joke! you can stand there for 15-20 minutes before you get served and then you could still wait before you actually get the drinks you ordered! there is one male member of staff down there little bloke with a bad attitude and definately picks and chooses who he waits on, he totally ignored us when we asked for drinks and avoided making eye contact with us so in the end we stopped asking him and got them ourselves.
the bar upstairs is a bit better by reception, although i did feel sorry for christos who is the bar supervisor, the bar was packed most nights and several times he was serving all them people ON HIS OWN!! he just kept apologising and holding his hands up, it isnt his fault its down to thomson to make sure there is plenty of waiting and bar staff in high season!!

the beach was good, except to keep finding dirty condoms there several times, you will not get a sunbed either by the pool or on the hotels beach!!! seen the germans running across the gardens at 6am with their towls, ended up on the public beach each day with the noisy kids and the barking dogs!!! so take your earphones with you!!!

reception staff are very lazy, whatever you ask them they just say "come back tomorrow" or just smile and say "i dont know" generally a lovely hotel, but very badly run, Oh and dont buy the internet cards from reception THEY DONT WORK!!! (on iphones) husband was very annoyed!! come on thomson sort this hotel out, you need more bar and waiting staff and sort out your internet, oh by the way, christina the waitress is wasted on waiting tables, she is so much fun and had us in stitches with hr dancing and she got everyone up and joing in the fun, she is a true diamond and has hidden talents you obviously havnt noticed, my advice would be put her in charge of the entertainment she would do such a better job, than daniel, couldnt understand a word he said on the mike for the whole two weeks!!!

this hotel needs someone to sort out all the silly little niggly things and get this hotel up to the standard its advertised at, thomsons website mentions the words "relaxed" and "tranquility", these are not two words i would put in its description, loud club music playing all day and most of the night is not my idea of "tranquility".

such a shame, come on thomson pull your socks up!

Room Tip: pay the extra and get the jacuzzi room or the private pool room it;ll be worth it. dont get a garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ilovediamonds35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,494
    463
    140
    24
    7
See reviews for
96
1,734
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (685)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

like other coments, after reading the poor reviews we were also worried- but on arrival our fears were unfounded. our actual comment when we walked in the room was "wow". modern, clean and very comfortable.
we found our rep to be friendly and more importantly accessible- every day!. the staff could not do enough- not just friendly, but professional too. we hired bikes and a car, played tennis and went into kos ,all booked through reception. all very easily done.
the food was fabulous. staff remembered you and even remembered your drink preference. we learnt some basic greek through them which seemed to help more. coffee cup was filled on average 4 times at breakfast!!
evening entertainment was low key, but never pretended to be anything else. the entertainment team were friendly and fun- canton we miss you!!
with regards to the above complaint- how can thompson regulate eurapean airtraffic control!!!!!? is this really relevant to a review on the oceanis??
yes, the shower leaked. but we got a clean bathmat every day!! what is the problem with waiting for a drink? we quietly mentioned a rude staff member to the bar manager and it was resolved instantly. how can the hotel control the beach and the sea contents??? there were only 3 sandy beaches on the island!!!
for greece this hotel was wonderful. staff could not do enough. some people are not happy unless they can nit pick. get a life!!!
if we ever get the opportunity to return without the kids, we will!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank hjshaw1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

In my opinion Thompson holidays and this hotel were a absolute mess! and ruined our week holiday.When we left Thompson delayed our flight from Gatwick keeping us all on board the aircraft for nearly 3 houre before takeoff no updates as to what was happening and generally unconcerned air cabin crew.What should have been a approximate 3 hour flight ended up being over 7 hours to go to Kos.

The Hotel when we arrived was not a 4 or 5 star as described in the brochure. I would describe the Oceanis at best as a 2-3 star hotel.The shower cabin in our room leaked all over the floor and the toilet / bathroom has no door !. When we reported this to the reception their response was "We are aware it is a design fault" and they promised to send a maintenance person who never showed up and that was the end.We spent the entire week mopping up water from our bathroom floor everytime we had a shower.The all, inclusive is terrible, they have two bars and everyone sits around the bars and hangs around trying to get a drink. I had to wait over 20 minutes one evening to get a drink.The service is dire and the hotel is understaffed.When ever we went to dinner we were never served any drinks and when someone noticed we had sat down for dinner more often we had already finished dinner when they would then ask us if we wanted a drink. There are not enough seats available for the evening entertainment and eventually the thought of having to queue for a drink and then never finding a table and seats just turned us away.The entertainment was so poor anyway that it was best not to bother attending.One further thing the hotel charges for use of a room safe which is in the room anyway! The food in the hotel is good but that is a must for any hotel so I dont think this should be seen as a positive.If the food were bad this hotel would cease to exist in my opinion.The refurbishment is poor and you can see shoddy work in different areas of the hotel.The staff are not polite as some have descibed here in fact one evening I was queing for a drink for over 20 minutes and one bar staff member who clearly knew I had been waiting long then advised me to go to the other side of the bar as "he was too busy serving the waiters orders"..amazing and unforgivable.

The have recent opened the Spa area and when we asked about some treatments the staff were not well trained and in my opinion just unconcerned.My wife eventually settled for a small message when we would have gladly ordered more service.Just proof on how poor customer service can affect revenue.

The beach area and sea are just terrible, I can honestly say the worst I have ever visited.if you swim with goggles you will see that that old building materials, pipes, old furniture has been dumped in the sea.While swimming I nearly swam into some old upright pole from being a disused Sun umbrella dumped in the sea. Sea shoes a absolute must as the pebbles can hurt.The swimming pools are just too small for the size of the hotel and always crowded.

The only excursion we took was the Nisyros volcano trip and regretted this.At 50 Euro (100 Euro for both) each we wasted a entire day.In all honesty we visted what resembled a flat area with what appeared had a few hot areas. Nothing like we thought it would be. The Thompson rep think was called Laura was very poor and just read from a rehearsed script when selling this tour. She suggested was a must trip , which it turned out was not.We also did not find her very freindly, possible she sees so many tourists she was running through the motions.We asked whether the trip would be late returning and she assured us this had never happned ever. Guess what the trip was late on return and we missed dinner! . The only trip we enjoyed we arranged ourselves going to the Kos town which is advised.

After 7 days we just wanted to go home, and Kos airport is a absolute mess.Our luggage was weighed at 19 kgs and 17.3 kgs in Gatwick ..when we checked in at Kos they suddenly found our luggage to be 44 kgs and charged us approximately Euros 48 which we had to pay as the queues everywhere were building and we could not be bothered to start playing with our luggage especially as we never added anything! This really upset us. However worse still be booked exended leg room in the aircraft but the cabin crew had left the air conditioning on so cold that the whole row was freezing, I retuned home with a cold and a terrible stiff neck.

In summary in our opinion going with Thompson and to this hotel was a absolute mistake! We will never use Thompson again their airline staff, both in Gatwick and Kos , and overall representation was just poor.The hotel is not up to what was described in the brochure.It looks faily reasonable priced and good value, but it is not!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Brad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaconsfield
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

We have just returned from the most perfect two week break at the Oceanis Beach & Spa Resort in Kos. We were recommended this hotel by our travel agent and she came up trumps with the hotel's location, accommodation, staff and cleanliness.
Arriving at the resort we were impressed as it has recently been refurbished to a high standard.
Food was excellent with a brilliant selection and very courteous staff.
Poolside was active with, Pilates, Volleyball, Water Aerobics and Water Polo which the Animation team did a great job of organising.
The newly refurbished spa was well worth a visit with fantastic jet pools and massage,
Kos is a short bus drive away which stops just outside the hotel and such a lovely port town with lots of options to have a day visiting islands.
Husband went on Mickael Arcangel for a day cruise around three islands and he said this was the 'highlight of the holiday'.
I would definitely recommend the hotel!

Room Tip: Need to put shower mat down as shower leaks into room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mum_of_two_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

what can i say apart from fantastic everybody was so kind and helpful the rooms were gorgeous the service is out of this world the food was great so many choices to choose from the town is 1 short bus journey away and believe me it is a beautiful town to visit the oceanis was so nice there was mini golf tennis pool tables to keep u entertained during the day the animation and the hotel we had 3 people called CANTO JENNY AND DANNY who were so much fun and so nice to talk to they make you feel at home we travelled as a couple and made very good friends with these people and people at the hotel night entertainment could of been a bit better as it is low key but the put shows on every night for us cant fault 1 thing apart from when we arrived the air con was not working but after i spoke to reception it was fixed with in 5 minutes would go back there 100% TIP : if you can get 2 weeks then take it i was sad to leave oh and one more thing the beds are amazing and its so very clean and beautiful remember the name canto so much fun

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gavin2328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

I have never wrote a review before but after stopping at this hotel I feel I have to.
Before we went to the oceanis we read so bad reviews and this really put us off however from the day we got there the holiday was perfect.
the staff are all very friendly and helpful, the animation team made our holiday all 3 were brilliant, lovely to talk to and very good fun! best we have ever had!
the rooms are lovely alot of people complained about the shower it did leak but it made no difference at all we just put the mat down!
food everyday was lovely! always a lot to choose from!
we really enjoyed this holiday! and would definetly go back
thank you for a great holiday

Room Tip: if you can book a room withprivate pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank blades61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

We have been on several Summer holidays and this was one of the best. The hotel staff were all extremely friendly and helpful, particularly the restuarant staff (who taught me some basic Greek language!) The food was fantastic and varied. We ate all the salads and even my husband , who is normally suffers with bad stomach was fine (in fact we spoke to lots of people and no one had suffererd bad tummy).The hotel and surroundings were immaculate and our room was cleaned thoroughly, daily. The hotel is situated next to the sea with lovely views whilst dining and the bus stopped outside regularly for taking a trip into Kos town. The pool was lovely and clean and the only dilemma as often is the case was having to get up early to get sunbeds around the pool. However this was not really a problem as there were plenty of beds and parasols all along the beach, that belonged to the hotel. This hotel is outstanding and ideal for couples who want a relaxing, child free break!

Room Tip: Our room was a suite and had a spa bath on the patio. Some had own swimming pools. Some rooms away f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank ELizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Psalidi
1.4 mi away
Michelangelo Resort and Spa
2.0 mi away
Platanista Hotel
Platanista Hotel
#1 of 19 in Psalidi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
4.9 mi away
Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel
1.3 mi away
Mitsis Ramira Beach Hotel
6.4 mi away
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sensimar Oceanis Beach & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sensimar Oceanis Beach & Spa Resort

Property: Sensimar Oceanis Beach & Spa Resort
Address: Psalidi 85300, Greece (Formerly Oceanis Beach & Spa)
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Psalidi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Psalidi
#2 Spa Hotel in Psalidi
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Psalidi
#2 Luxury Hotel in Psalidi
#4 Family Hotel in Psalidi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sensimar Oceanis Beach & Spa Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanis Beach & Spa is a four and a half -star “Couples - Adults Only" All inclusive holiday destination with Spa and focused on couples holidays. Ideally located on the outskirts of the quaint and graphic Psalidi area, the Hotel is designed to satisfy the highest quality demands of its guests, providing all comforts for a pleasant and unforgettable stay.At the Oceanis Beach & Spa comfort, luxury and style are celebrated each and every day. There is a world full of sun, sea and pleasure. There is a hotel where hospitality is an art…Concealed on a stunning 70-acre in Southwest of Kos Island, and just a breath away from the lively Kos town, our guests enjoy fabulous blue Aegean views and the ultimate resort experience. The Hotel offers: 382 double rooms, Suites and Junior Suites, 2 swimming pools, Spa, Gym, 3 Restaurants, 3 Bars, mini market & souvenir shop, surfer's shop, internet access (additional charge), sports animators, aerobics, live music, night shows, Greek evenings, car rental, complimentary lounge chairs and sun umbrellas by the pool and beach, complimentary pool towels, terrace solarium, private beach, and picturesque church for weddings. The hotel also provides two tennis courts, mini golf and beach volley. This All inclusive holiday destination combines Kos’ charms, unique hospitality and renowned levels of personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sensimar Oceanis Beach & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanis Beach Hotel Psalidi
Oceanis Beach And Spa Resort
Hotel Oceanis Beach
Sensimar Oceanis Beach & Spa Resort Kos/Psalidi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing