We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sensimar Oceanis Beach & Spa Resort
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Psalidi
Certificate of Excellence
West Midlands
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Absolutely Amazing”
Reviewed 26 August 2011

We stayed at this hotel in August 2011, booked via Thomsons.

HOTEL STAFF
All the staff at the hotel were friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. All the members spoke English.

ROOMS
Our room was ultra modern and stylish with the most comfortable hotel bed i have ever slept on. The room had a mini fridge which was stocked with a bottle of wine on arrival and restocked daily with a 1.5 litre bottle of water.
The AirCon unit had a remote control, and could be set with a timer, you could also set the temperature, the direction of air flow and the speed of fan.
The electrics in the room were operated by a little panel within which you placed your room card, but we discovered that any card would do...clubcard for example kept the air con on throughout the day making sure it was a pleasant cool temperature when we got back to the room.
The bathroom had his and her sinks and a fabulous shower, both a fixed large head which displayed random colours and a flexible shower head as well. The water pressure was fantastic and it heated up very quickly. There was also a hair-dryer and shaving unit present.

BARS
There was a massive amount of drink choices available, although the All Inclusive drinks were made with local brands rather than international brands, but this was not a problem and they tasted just a s good. I recommend trying a 'Mango Passion' but beware as the measures are very liberal...not that we complained about that!
I don't drink red wine but was assured it was good enough, the white wine available is dry but still pleasant enough to drink.
Even at peak times we found the bar staff to serve us very promptly and were always friendly and professional.
There are two main bars - one in the lobby and one near the Pool which was also the location for the evening entertainment program.
The main Restaurant serves only soft drinks and beer and wine - but it was easy enough to just carry in a glass if you fancied something different.
The Lunch time restaurant allowed you to help yourself to soft drinks, beer and wine.
The Poolside Cafe and Beach Cafe served only soft drinks and beer - but when in the heat of the sunshine, the last thing on my mind was more alcohol.

CAFES
The Cafe near the 'quiet' pool served pancakes and toasties from 3pm-6pm and ice cream all day and the beach cafe served a light lunch running from 1.30pm consisting of kebab, pizza and salads. I have to say that the Pancakes were very nice and as a result often by 5pm they had run out!

RESTAURANTS
The main evening restaurant choice of food was astronomical, so much choice that it wasn't possible to taste everything...but that which we did eat we couldn't fault in anyway. It was delicious and sorely missed now we are back home.
The Lunchtime Restaurant also boasted a massive choice of food - very little of which was repeated in the fortnight we were there.
The Al a Carte Restaurant is worth a visit, if just for a change if nothing else. We were greeted with a glass of sparkling wine and helped ourselves to a starter and dessert buffet and chose our main from the menu. The food was very nice but the choice was limited. Lovely setting though, so definitely recommend one visit during your stay. The drinks served here on All Inclusive included soft drinks, beer, Ouzo and Martini. Wine had to be paid for.
All the Waiters and Waitresses were friendly and we found that we tended to stick to a particular table which was waited on by Christina. She was absolutely lovely, and would chat away with us. The Maitre'D was also a very friendly and down to earth guy called Antonis.

POOLS
There are two pools at the hotel unless you have upgraded to a private pool. one pool which we tended to stick close to was the 'quiet' pool so named because none of the daily enetertainment activities took place there. The other pool was larger and hosted the daily water polo game.
Both Pools were clean and warm, but if you wanted a sunbed by the pool it required early morning stealthing. When we arrived at the hotel, the first thing the reception staff told us was that towels would be removed... "no saving allowed" but we found this wasn't the case. By 9am the sunbeds had all gone. One friend said that beds were even being reserved the night before. Wasn't an issue for us though and there was always plenty of beds available on the beach.

BEACH
The beach was the most disappointing thing about the hotel, but that wasn't the fault of the hotel, it was just because all beaches on Kos are shingle. Thomsons did run a trip to a sandy beach at the other side of the island which was highly recommended by party members who took the trip.
There were plenty of sunbeds and shade available on the beach all day, so if you feel like a lie-in, there are places left to catch some sunshine!
The hotel have beach towels available which can be changed daily. They were good quality towels - we had no issues.

ENTERTAINMENT
We actually didn't see much of the Entertainment program, but it seemed pretty much like the usual to me. However, hat did make a pleasant change was the fact that we weren't constantly hounded by animation staff,
Saw a couple of evening shows which were of a very high quality. The Greek night included Greek dancing and being dragged up to Zorba the Greek - but worth seeing, as was another show called Fire and Bellydance.

GENERAL
Each room has a safety deposit box which you can hire at a cost of €15 per week.
There was a small internet cafe with 3 computers, but they did operate very fast and time could be bought at 200 minutes for €12 or 60 minutes for €6.
There is a bus that runs into Kos Town every 15 minutes from about 7am until 2am. You can buy tickets at reception at a cost of €1.50 or €1.60 if bought on the bus. After midnight the price went up to €2. The bus journey took about 10-15 minutes and the bus was often packed but the driver called out all the relevant hotel stops.
Taxi from Kos Town to the Hotel cost €10.
The hotel also has a mini market, a watersports centre, hairdresser and spa.

KOS TOWN
It is well worth visiting the town both in the day to see the ruins and castle and on the evening to sample the night-life. The atmosphere is buzzing, the boats line the main street all lit up and street vendors on corners sell corn on the cob. The cafes and restaurants are perfect for people watching and for those who are more adventurous...head to Bar Street. This is the one 'happening' street. We spent a night there drinking cocktails and free shots and well worth a visit!

If you fancy an evening meal out then i cant recommend the 'Sunrise Restaurant' enough. Its right opposite the bus stop in the town and serves absolutely massive portions!

I recommend booking a boat trip with one of the many boats and visiting the 3 islands. We booked a trip with the 'Friederike' boat and had a fantastic time!

THOMSON EXCURISONS
I would say if you are travelling with Thomsons, the only trips worth doing are the Kos tour and the trip to Paradise Beach. The other trips are extortionate. Their boat trip costs double what you can book in town and if nothing else steer well clear of their 'Greek Night' it was awful. It involved the same dancers that the hotel arrange on their own greek night and you are packed into a taverna with tables of 6, served food which is adequate at best, there must of been at least 600 people present and there were 3 toilet cubicles. I sat there counting down the time for the coach pick up.

All in all, we had a fantastic time at the Oceanis and will definitely be back. One piece of advice...if travelling in the summer season, take a fly swat! The flies are everywhere and begin to ruin the holiday. The food in all the restaurants is uncovered and often had flies crawling over it, this was our only major complaint - but even that couldn't spoil the fantastic time we had!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Frankie2102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,591
    516
    156
    27
    7
See reviews for
105
1,878
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (723)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Low key entertainment is a direct quote from the Thomson website and does not reflect the hotel at all.

We arrived at about 10.00pm and initial impressions were very good, the hotel does look as good as the pictures on the website suggests especially in the evening with the type of creative lighting being used.

Initially we didn’t notice the level of noise around as we were distracted by the checking in process, however whilst we waited for the porters to take us to our room we noticed a thump thump thump background noise whilst sitting in reception and released it was the entertainment outside. Upon arriving at our room we released that you could hear the noise from inside the room through the closed windows of our sea view room and through the door to the room. We went down to reception to ask about this and was informed that the level of noise was similar each evening until 11.00pm (in actual fact it was more like 11.30/45pm) and that we could request a change of room in the morning. In this point it is interesting because the change of room was offered almost immediately suggesting that it is a common issue. The evening was unsettled for us, with drunken groups of people shouting and singing at the top of their voices outside the rooms and in the corridors close to our room for about an hour after the bar had shout.

In the morning we did ask to change room, however the lady on reception said we needed to come back later as she needed to speak to the manager. Later we were told that the new room wouldn’t be available to look at until after 12.30pm as it was occupied until then. When we asked if there new room was a sea view we were assured that this was the case. Upon 12.30pm we presented ourselves to reception to view the room and were taken to it only to find it wasn’t a sea view room, when we questioned this we were told that this was all that was available with no apology being offered or a refund of the difference it had cost us and we essentially were made to feel like it was our fault that we didn’t like the fact that you could hear the evening entertainment inside our room.

The new room whilst being quieter generally still had noise issues from the neighbouring hotel abet not as bad as the previous room, and we were awoken by drunken groups of people shouting in the corridors after 12.00am each evening.

We have no problem with people going out and having a good time, however this hotel is not marketed as some sort of upper class 18-30 resort it is marketed as a ‘’couples retreat’’ and is therefore very misleading.

The day time entertainment is possibly more intrusive than the evening, we generally stayed as far away from the pool area as possible, electing instead to sun bath on the beach, however when the entertainment/activities started you could hear the thump thump thump of music from where we were – which was some distance!

If you want a lively holiday with plenty of drink and loud entertainment then this is your place, however if your seeking something more relaxing then look elsewhere as you are likely to be very disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Stuart1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

My husband and I have just returned from 11 nights here and had a fantastic time. I have no idea where some of these negative comments have come from!! ALL the staff are so friendly and work tirelessly to keep up very high standards of cleanliness in all areas of the hotel. The room was made spotless each day and a fresh bottle of water left by housekeeping. The bar staff, despite being very busy were friendly and as serving 2/3/4 people at a time we were never kept waiting long (the hotel was fully booked too.) The food was lovely, a little repetitive maybe but always tasty and plenty of it. We managed to get by the pool easily everyday (despite reading a previous comment to the contary) but as with any hotel if you turn up expecting 2 sunbeds and a parasol at 1pm you might be dissapointed! If you are wanting to book treatments in the spa, do so a couple of days in advance, we had a massage in the couples room which was wonderful and worth every penny. The only slight moan I have is that the entertainment is a little lame (we are 31 so whether it's an age thing, I don't know?!!) but the 'Harmony night' was truly awful, 90 min of very slow, morbid songs! All in all we had a wonderful time, you won't be dissapointed!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SGKSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Me and my boyfriend have just got back from an 11 night stay at the Oceanis Hotel.

The hotel is lovely; decorated fantastically, very modern and the reception and hotel rooms were excellent. We stayed in a double room with garden view, which had a very comfy bed and modern bathroom. The shower did leak slightly, but nothing a couple of towels on the floor cannot solve. Bit of a funny set up in the bathroom, with no door on the bathroom at all. The toilet had a glass door which gave you some privacy.

Garden view was fine, and we were glad to see the restaurant coming to pick fresh herbs from the gardens each night.

The staff in the hotel were amazing and really made the hotel; Especially the bar staff on an evening who would remember your drinks order from previous nights, always ask if you have had a nice day and made the service very personal. They were fab!

Same thing is to be said about the restaurant staff who again were very friendly and efficient at their jobs.

The animation team worked well to get people playing games including water polo and volleyball during the day and were very enthusiastic, especially Contos who worked really hard everyday and was very enthusiastic about his job.

Each day/ night their was a good selection of food in the restaurant and they had cooking stations. We visited the Italian restaurants a few times and had fantastic service. It was refreshing to order off a menu as even though the buffet restaurant is nice, you can find you eat bizarre combinations of meals and are in and out in a matter of minutes if you are not careful. The staff didn't rush you at all but can becoming a bit anti social with your partner as you are constantly up and down getting more food!

I would defiantly recommend this hotel. The views are amazing and the pool area and entire hotel have a great atmosphere...especially with no children!!

Room Tip: The private pools look amazing on the website and brochure, however be warned, they are not private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank LizQ87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karlovy Vary, Czech Republic
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

My husband and I went simply speechless when we first saw the room. The hotel kindly upgraded us to a junior suite as compliment, the room was located just on the beach with design furniture and jacuzzi in the patio on the top of it! The hotel complex was in top condition and spotless, the cleaning staff work very hard, also the hotel grounds are very well kept. I quite liked the pool area overlooking the sea and the spacious main restaurant. As far as food is concerned, the variety is wide and surely there is always something for everybody, however, we would enjoy the food more spicy, especially if the hotel is adult only zone. To those who are going to stay at Oceanis: enjoy the delicious drinks and crepes, do get up a little earlier to reserve your favourite pool spot (towel policy) and book yourselves late check out directly with the hotel (if necessary). Thank you Oceanis, you are true professionals!

Room Tip: not all sea oriented rooms are better than standart, even though more expensive, the best seem to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank olala1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

anybody moaning about this hotel have a problem,it was excellent from start to finish,the room ,staff ,food ,weather,facilities etc were all great.yes nothing is perfect,but they give it a good shot,keep up the standards.ps those flashing lights on the shower are temp indicators,blue-cold.green-ok.red-hot.DOH.

Room Tip: get one with private pool if you have the cash
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank fred k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Upon reading the poor review posted recently I would really have to disagree. Points raised about a trickle of water leaking from under bath door, or air con being to cold on plane? Come on, really.
This hotel is superb, excellent refurb, staff the friendliest I have ever met and the food was of high quality with plenty of choice for all. The pools are of a large size and just coming back from peak season never had a problem with getting a sun Lounger etc. Overall, better than what I was expecting and very likely I will return next year.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Matrix07929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Psalidi
1.4 mi away
Michelangelo Resort and Spa
0.2 mi away
Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel
2.0 mi away
Platanista Hotel
Platanista Hotel
#1 of 19 in Psalidi
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa
6.4 mi away
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Mitsis Ramira Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sensimar Oceanis Beach & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sensimar Oceanis Beach & Spa Resort

Property: Sensimar Oceanis Beach & Spa Resort
Address: Psalidi 85300, Greece (Formerly Oceanis Beach & Spa)
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Psalidi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Psalidi
#2 Spa Hotel in Psalidi
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Psalidi
#2 Luxury Hotel in Psalidi
#4 Family Hotel in Psalidi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sensimar Oceanis Beach & Spa Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanis Beach & Spa is a four and a half -star “Couples - Adults Only" All inclusive holiday destination with Spa and focused on couples holidays. Ideally located on the outskirts of the quaint and graphic Psalidi area, the Hotel is designed to satisfy the highest quality demands of its guests, providing all comforts for a pleasant and unforgettable stay.At the Oceanis Beach & Spa comfort, luxury and style are celebrated each and every day. There is a world full of sun, sea and pleasure. There is a hotel where hospitality is an art…Concealed on a stunning 70-acre in Southwest of Kos Island, and just a breath away from the lively Kos town, our guests enjoy fabulous blue Aegean views and the ultimate resort experience. The Hotel offers: 382 double rooms, Suites and Junior Suites, 2 swimming pools, Spa, Gym, 3 Restaurants, 3 Bars, mini market & souvenir shop, surfer's shop, internet access (additional charge), sports animators, aerobics, live music, night shows, Greek evenings, car rental, complimentary lounge chairs and sun umbrellas by the pool and beach, complimentary pool towels, terrace solarium, private beach, and picturesque church for weddings. The hotel also provides two tennis courts, mini golf and beach volley. This All inclusive holiday destination combines Kos’ charms, unique hospitality and renowned levels of personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sensimar Oceanis Beach & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanis Beach Hotel Psalidi
Oceanis Beach And Spa Resort
Hotel Oceanis Beach
Sensimar Oceanis Beach & Spa Resort Kos/Psalidi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing