We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolute Heaven on a stick.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sensimar Oceanis Beach & Spa Resort
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Psalidi
Certificate of Excellence
lancashire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“Absolute Heaven on a stick.”
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

Already booked for 2014.
Arrived home on 3rd October after yet another wonderful 14 night holiday.

Without doubt the management and all staff go that extra mile to ensure guests are all treated with respect, courtesy and such warmth that at times it is humbling.

Because we have visited this hotel on 3 occasions in the last 18 months I feel justified in my comments and critique ( if any) so, here goes.

You are greeted by warm and friendly reception staff on your arrival, luggage is swiftly taken to your room, and even if you arrive late in the evening a meal will be waiting for you, it may only be a light supper, but very rare any hotel goes this extra mile. Check in quick and painless.

Rooms. Standard rooms are all airy and light, best beds ever, tea, herbal tea, douwe egbert coffee, milk and fresh water replenished every day. Towels are changed every day too, if you read the info card left in bathroom, it clearly states should you require towels changing then leave in shower or bath, otherwise they assume you will be happy to keep another day. The housekeepers do not have psychic powers, so if you don't drop they won't swap!
Bed linen changed every third day, we have never once been let down in this area either. It often makes me laugh when people who stay at any hotel moan about bed linen not being changed every day!? Do they change it every day at home? Doubt it very much, but hey ho, people do love whinging.

Food. In yacht main dining area is superb, buffet style, better than other 'couples' hotels we have stayed at, plenty of fish,pork,chicken,turkey at every sitting the swordfish and salmon were our particular favourites. Salads, fruit, desserts,breads,sauces,cheeses,yoghurt both full and 0% are on offer too. The chef station has pasta every night, also rare beef, lamb, shish and pork crackling on offer too, delicious. Yes, sometimes meat could be a little fatty, but a smile and a comment to the Chef rectifies any gripe you may have, pointless walking away with something you moan about in a review days later, the staff will always do what they can for any guest, even the rude ones.

Food in Meltemi at lunch is excellent, we didn't eat at Beach bar, so can't comment. Pancakes and crepes at the quiet pool that Eleana and Micaletha make are yummy, made fresh in front of you too, no complaints here at all. Lovely ladies lovely relaxing part of the hotel.

A la carte'. Ok, people have criticised this more than anything else.
We have, like most of you eaten at many a la carte restaurants on our travels, and this isn't up there with the best, but this year the improvements were obvious. Met with complimentary sparkling wine and iced water on all tables. Bread rolls, grissini and tapanade brought fresh to each table, followed by plates of smoked salmon,melon,aubergine,mozzarella and tomato. Choice of main course and dessert. Cheesecake, scrummy.
Wine list is good, wines by bottle are priced from 6 Euro upwards, we visited twice, and were not disappointed with the service at all, and a special word for Fotini, who is marvellous, a true professional and deserves a round of applause, the service was excellent, and the attention to both the couples with birthdays and anniversaries was lovely. They looked delighted.

Bars. Service at all bars was exceptional, no long waits for anything at all. Drinks varied and well chilled. Beer a little gassy, but enough choice for other tipples, cocktails scrummy yummy. Hic!

Pools. Clean and clear, yes cold, but after 20 seconds...hey! Big respect to the lady who swam every morning in the quiet pool. A true mernaid.

Some areas could have benefited with an extra quick check with the cleaners, especially the main toilet area in reception, the bins did sometimes over flow, but a nod to reception rectified this. All other areas spotless, so I guess it is the high useage in the main bar area that causes this problem?

Entertainment. Low key, but quizzes, and fun nights were as always, excellent. Greek night is as you would expect, but good fun, and most people just go with the flow, as it should be on holiday. Fashion show, was alright, but something I personally would reconsider for next season. Live group once a week may be something to ponder? Film night a good draw too, as is the free wind surfing lessons and spa treats, an excellent addition from last year to have a taster evening, lovely experience. Thankyou. Spa is amazing.
There is a notice board with day and evening entertainment plus leaflets at reception, so, everything is there for you, if you don't look then your problem.

WiFi is hit and miss!

Smoking. People smoke, some effort has been made to have 'No Smoking' zones in the lobby bar and main pool bar, quite a few tables now have signs on them, so 'YES' management listens, and they cannot wade in and reprimand inconsiderate people who need 20 cigarettes between each course, etiquette is something you either have or not in these cases, and I am sorry, but I know of no non smoking hotels anywhere. So, unless we as non smokers walk round with masks on, smokers are here to stay, get over it, it didn't bother us at all.

Safety deposit boxes. Yep, placed in wardrobes, and yes quite dark, but unless you need to be opening up every hour for your bling etc, once a day squinting isn't that bad, and maybe something can be done to relieve this small gripe? Patty, flashlights please!! Doh!

Beach. Stones and sand, but well documented that it isn't a white oasis, so, moaners..blah!

Staff. This hotel excels in this. Accolades are there on view, and they are richly deserved.
The divine Miss Patty, Antonis who is a real star of the restaurants, fabulous Fotini who is a true professional and a lovely lady. Christos, king of the bar. Eduart, a lovely man who runs the beach bar with ease. Miichaleta my lovely captain, Christina, a gentle kind lady, who astounds me each time we go, she remembers my name and knows what we drink, bless. Roland, my darlin, 'yamas' you are hopefully going to be there next year? Alexa and Pauel, two waiters who remember everything. Vivien, a lovely girl. And last but never least, my beauty Themis. Reception is a better place because of you. See you all in 2014.

We can all find negatives with any hotel, but negatives are very few at the 'Oceanis'
Thankyou, one and all for yet another wonderful holiday.

Shirley and Tony. X


  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank delavega_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,502
    467
    143
    24
    7
See reviews for
96
1,748
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (689)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

After going to a couple of other Thomson 'couples' hotels and reading the excellent reviews of this hotel, we were really really looking forward to our visit.

The hotel looks good when you first arrive and is fairly clean, although the restrooms leave a lot to be desired, overflowing bins full of toilet paper and hand towels YUK!

Rooms are ok but dark - especially the wardrobe area and you need to take a small torch to see into the safe, which costs 15 euro's a week!! always been included at any other AI hotel we have been to. The bathroom has a strange arrangement with a clear glass door to the toilet area Why? take the door off and put it at the entrance to the bathroom, would make much more sense! They were kept clean enough and the tea and coffee always kept topped up.

The restaurant is a bit 'canteeny', the food lukewarm and the plates red hot! If you want a salad you need to hunt all over for a cold plate for it!
We commented to the Maitre d' one night that there was no carvery lamb left at 8.00 (the restaurant is open until 9.30) and also commented that there was a shortage of cold plates for salad. The next day we were ask to meet with the hotel manager to justify our complaints!! It was like being back at school.!! The manager Patti admitted that there should have been more lamb available at 8.00 and the staff shouldnt have told us it was all finished and given us the bones, skin and fat we were offered. She also said we would have to find a hot plate and leave it to cool for a salad and there was nothing the hotel could do about that! Seriously??! The next week exactly the same thing happened - no lessons learned there then.
You can get a bottle of wine - which was good quality if you just ask. The desserts were lovely though. Service was good considering so many people came to eat at once.

It was my husband 60th birthday whilst we were there and I previously e-mailed the hotel and asked about arranging a cake. "Leave it with us' was there response! Imagine our disappointment when nothing - not even a mention of this birthday was mentioned. Not on check in, nor on the morning of his birthday, not at the al- a- carte restaurant, well not until halfway through our meal when they realised we were sitting at the wrong table, which incidentally had been set for 2 when there were 4 of us! The al-a carte was very disappointing, we were not even offered a drink of water and were told that if we wanted any drink other than beer or soft drinks we would be charged! Why? we could of walked 20 yards and got a free drink from the bar. I understand about charging for wine but house wine and all the other drinks should be included. We have already paid for this in the price of our holiday.! No choice of starters and no pasta dishes offered just the main course which was lukewarm and the vegetables stone cold!

There are 2 pools both of which were freezing cold, dont know if they ever warm up over the season? but far to cold to swim in, everybody obviously felt the same as nobody was ever in them.

The waiters at the various bars were always quick to serve and the drinks quality was very good, although why the red wine is served chilled is beyond me.?? Is it a Greek thing??

The entertainment was OK, just OK though and I thought it was a bit cheeky having a fashion show featuring the on site boutique. Dan played the guitar and was quite good, the fire show and greek night both a bit tame.

Kos town was great- easy on the bus 1.5Euro each way. We went over to Bodrum - go over on the ferry 15 Euro, dont do the Thomson trip though, its much much dearer! We went to Therma 1.5 Euro's on the bus which was nice but busy.

We had a great time but that was down to the people we went on holiday with and not the hotel. It needs 'to pull its socks up' to compete with the other Thomson Couples hotels.

Would we go back? to the hotel NO but to Kos YES and to another Thomson couples hotel? ABSOLUTELY!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank dennyDenny_52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bovey Tracey, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Having just returned from the Oceanis I am sure I heard the person from the last review moaning in the restaurant during my stay. Firstly yes the plates are hot, but then there would be moans if they were cold. Secondly I do not know what they are moaning about cutbacks,we never once sat at a dirty table and waited for it to be cleared. The staff work tirelessly to make your stay as good as it can be. This is the first all inclusive hotel I have been to that actually re opened the restaurant at 11 o'clock at night so guests arriving on late flights could have a meal. Please ignore any negative comments about this hotel, I sometimes think people go away just to find things to complain about. Would I go back here, yes without a doubt, well done to all the staff at this hotel for making our stay so memorable.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cindy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Befordshire
Level Contributor
114 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We had booked a seaview room for 2 weeks in September and requested a high floor, which we got. It was on the top (fifth) floor of block 3, and had fantastic views across to Turkey from its very large balcony. The hotel was built in 1985, but totally refurbished in 2011 in a modern, contemporary style, so everything seemed brand-new. It comprises three main blocks, with Reception and main restaurants in one, rooms and gym/spa & a la carte restaurant in two and rooms only in three. There is a wide variety of rooms and suites, in each block, many with their own pools.
Our room was a good size, with King-sized bed, fridge (complimentary water replaced every day), flat-screen TV, remote-controlled aircon, tea/coffee-making and plenty of wardrobe space. My wife said not much drawer space. The bathroom was quirky-modern, with no door, twin basins,shower, and only a glass door on the WC - embarassing, even after 30 years' marriage!
Breakfast and dinner are taken in the main Yacht Club Restaurant and are buffet. Drinks are brought to your table. Buffets were plentiful, varied and good quality with international dishes and theme nights of Greek and Asian. Breakfast buffets had the greatest choice I have ever seen, but, paradoxically, English bacon was only on occasionally, otherwise being bacon grill or a substitute normally only seen in Muslim countries. Obviously here not due to any objection to pork, which appeared in various guises at every meal and was definitely the predominant meat, beef being rarely seen and lamb only occasionally. There were always fish and pasta dishes and show cooking, which often provided the best meal. Extensive salad choices were always available.
Lunch was served in the Meltemi Taverna, beneath the Yacht Club, and was primarily alfresco, with a small area of "typical" Greek taverna under the Cypress trees - we always headed for this. Food choice was similar to evenings, and you help yourself to drinks.
The Lobby bar was popular pre-dinner, and had a pianist a couple of nights a week, but we preferred to sit outside in the pool bar area. There was some modest entertainment every night, from resident accoustic to guest fire eaters and Greek dancers, usually at the pool bar.
All guests are all-inclusive, but no wrist bands or signing for drinks etc - in fact no formalities of any sort - we joked that you could wander in off the street and eat, drink etc for a week without ever being challenged. The large grounds provided every kind of lounging experience you could want, from pools to beach to grass, in sun or shade, and there were plenty of sunbeds. Watersports were available at a charge. The beach itself is a bit disappointing, with steeply-sloping shingle and submerged rocks (you definitely need footwear) I much prefer sea swimming, but only did it once, as it was so difficult (and painful!) getting out. However, two good-sized pools provided frequent dips to cool-off.
As a stand-alone hotel, you couldn't better its location, with lovely grounds and beautiful views, but it's a good walk ouside Psalidi, and there's nothing there anyway. However, there is a frequent local bus service into Kos town, which is a lovely place. We did two Thomson day trips - one around the island was interesting and informative. Our other, a day trip across to Turkey, was marred by rough seas (both ways) and poor organisation.
In summary, we would confidently recommend the Oceanis to anyone who appreciates quality and tranquillity on holiday - the place is lovely and the staff brilliant.

Room Tip: A lot of the private pool rooms don't get the sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bigal257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

ha ve just returned from the oceanis 3/10/13, very nice setting and on first impression looks impressive. I will list for you all my disappointing bits to this hotel, restraint staff cut backs mean most of the time you have to sit at a dirty table and wait for it to be made up,They are very short on crockery and drinking glasses, many times I had to wait for theses to be brought out or washed up at the bar. Once you have your table comes the worst bit, the food is poor it is only luke warm but whatch out for the plates they are very very hot the food is mainly pasta based with pork as its main meat, if you are on atwo week stay your second week menu is a copy of your first week.Once you have paid your 30 euros for the safe in your room this will be the first time that you will need your miners hat to see the the keypad to programme the safe, then you will see how dark your room is but this is the same all over the hotel. The poor lighting in this hotel is made even worse by the many trip hazards around the premises.But I must praise the staff they do have are very friendly and cannot do enough for you this hotel has been ruined by the cut backs they have made.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank stephen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

What to say that already has not been said? This place is fantastic, from first arriving and being sent for lunch before checking in, to personally being shown to your room its the little things that make this place.Our room was high up facing the road which we were initially disappointed with however we soon realized that we had a bigger, shaded corner balcony and could still see the sea and the mountains, result. The food was excellent with choices for everyone including the embarrassing 'sausage & chips with tomato sauce' brigade. The local cuisine was very tasty and full of flavors, the wines were palatable and the beer decent. The entertainment was reasonable just a pity it would be finished by 1030-11:00 most nights but i suppose that is low key for you. The beach is pebbly (as are most Greek Isles) but is not a real problem if you wear flip flops etc, it was windy towards the end of our stay which did sand blast us a bit but apparently this is normal towards the end of season. Final word must be about the ever so friendly staff who would do anything to help or assist, even down to Christina the waitress trying to teach people Greek dancing!!

Room Tip: Go high up and not in Block one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mickey_250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rayleigh
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Hi travellers, yes the rumours are true...Firstly,The Oceanis is a fabulous hotel and an absolute must for couples who want a relaxing and memorable holiday. The location is spectacular and the views are stunning. Even when you eat in the al fresco part of the main dining room, you get to enjoy the sight of boats and windsurfers meandering past in the distance against a diamond blue sky and deep blue sea. The staff here are simply the best. Truly professional and even the gardeners give you a warm smile as they tend the lovely gardens. Antonis, the maitre de who everyone comments on is a remarkable guy. There must be at least six clones of him because he somehow manages to speak to you at breakfast, lunch and dinner. He even remembered what my wife was wearing the night before ! Also a special mention of Kristos, the head barman who has an engagingly confused demeanour but believe me he knows exactly what he's doing and mixes a wonderful Pimms. We had a junior suite with jacuzzi and sea view as we booked late and it was the only room left, but the standard doubles would suffice as the rooms are so nice. Incidentaly we travelled on 14th September for 11 nights which is a great time to go as the climate is perfect. Any earlier and it can be 40 degrees plus..phew !
As with all inclusives, the food, whilst of a good standard, does get a bit samey, so get yourselves into Kos which is a vibrant town, much bigger than we had expected, where there are some very good restaurants. Also check out the Yachts (mostly Russian owned I suspect). There was one in particular which must have been twice the size of my house! Must mention that the hotel has a 'no towels on sunbeds' policy which they strictly enforce. You simply don't have to anyway as there are plenty to go around at both pools. Well done Oceanis, it's a shame all hotels don't follow your excellent example. The entertainment is a tad limited but Dan Thomas on guitar (acoustic and electric with backing tracks) is excellent at lunchtimes and evenings. Of course the team drag you up to do the Zorba the Greek thing on the themed evening so don't sit too near the front, unless you want to be totally embarrased! Would we go back in the future....in a heartbeat, but the thought of Kos airport may make you think twice.
So, secondly, it's a fact that Kos airport is voted the worst in Europe and they thoroughly deserve this rather dubious acolade. On arrival you play 'hunt the suitcase' (our second suitcase arrived half and hour after the first) and on departure you play 'escape from Colditz'. Just prey that your flight is not delayed (ours wasn't) because if it is you'll know how a sardine feels.
Well done Thompson, this hotel is a jewel in your crown.

Room Tip: Get a sea view if you can, but the garden views are lovely too
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michael_BRayleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Psalidi
1.4 mi away
Michelangelo Resort and Spa
2.0 mi away
Platanista Hotel
Platanista Hotel
#1 of 19 in Psalidi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
4.9 mi away
Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel
1.3 mi away
Mitsis Ramira Beach Hotel
6.4 mi away
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sensimar Oceanis Beach & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sensimar Oceanis Beach & Spa Resort

Property: Sensimar Oceanis Beach & Spa Resort
Address: Psalidi 85300, Greece (Formerly Oceanis Beach & Spa)
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Psalidi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Psalidi
#2 Spa Hotel in Psalidi
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Psalidi
#2 Luxury Hotel in Psalidi
#4 Family Hotel in Psalidi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sensimar Oceanis Beach & Spa Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanis Beach & Spa is a four and a half -star “Couples - Adults Only" All inclusive holiday destination with Spa and focused on couples holidays. Ideally located on the outskirts of the quaint and graphic Psalidi area, the Hotel is designed to satisfy the highest quality demands of its guests, providing all comforts for a pleasant and unforgettable stay.At the Oceanis Beach & Spa comfort, luxury and style are celebrated each and every day. There is a world full of sun, sea and pleasure. There is a hotel where hospitality is an art…Concealed on a stunning 70-acre in Southwest of Kos Island, and just a breath away from the lively Kos town, our guests enjoy fabulous blue Aegean views and the ultimate resort experience. The Hotel offers: 382 double rooms, Suites and Junior Suites, 2 swimming pools, Spa, Gym, 3 Restaurants, 3 Bars, mini market & souvenir shop, surfer's shop, internet access (additional charge), sports animators, aerobics, live music, night shows, Greek evenings, car rental, complimentary lounge chairs and sun umbrellas by the pool and beach, complimentary pool towels, terrace solarium, private beach, and picturesque church for weddings. The hotel also provides two tennis courts, mini golf and beach volley. This All inclusive holiday destination combines Kos’ charms, unique hospitality and renowned levels of personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sensimar Oceanis Beach & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanis Beach Hotel Psalidi
Oceanis Beach And Spa Resort
Hotel Oceanis Beach
Sensimar Oceanis Beach & Spa Resort Kos/Psalidi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing