We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two weeks of sunshine”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Niriides Beach Hotel
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Psalidi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Not necessarily the best apartment we've stayed in but the attitude from every member of the staff made up for any shortcomings. Would have liked to have had a quiet word with the cockerel that woke us up at some unearthly a few times !!
We hired a car for 3 days during our first week and found 'Magic Beech' which is part of Paradise Beech just beyond the airport. No matter where we intended to visit we always ended up there. About 45 minutes from Niriidis.
6 Euro's for the two sunbeds for the day and a taverna just behind the beech. Peace and quiet. Great. On the back of our first week we hired another car for 3 more days in our second week.
On one evening we decided to look beyond Kefalos and found a fantastic taverna at Agios Theologos which is about as far west as you can go. If you are impressed with the sunset at Zia, try Agios Theologos. Take cash because they don't have a phone line to enable the use of cards yet.
We used local restaurants and found the sword fish at the Spitaki fabulous. The restaurant is down towards the marina, having said that, we enjoyed all the meals we had.

Room Tip: As far away from B11 as possible to avoid that bl**dy cockerel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank golfmowerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (469)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 469 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2013

2 friends stayed here for a week 11-18 sept.
Arrived approx 8pm swift check in, stayed in an apartment with views out to the sea. Good standard accommodation by greek standards.
Cleaned daily with fresh towels most days. 5euros a night for air con which we found reasonable and definately needed in the hot weather.
Pool area was reasonably quiet this time of year so plenty of sunbeds. Nice size pool which was great to dip in after sunbathing in the hot weather we experienced.
The blokes at the pool bar were friendly enough however we found the lady behind the bar at night was quite rude and the one night we decided to have a drink at the hotel bar, she stood chatting on her mobile the whole time and seemed annoyed that we had asked for a drink as we had interupted her phone call! needless to say we didnt bother drinking here again.

Greek night was good value for 10 euros. However i would give the Rock night a miss, we didnt actually stay for this but coming back to the hotel after some food at one of the local restaurants we had to listen to the awful 'singing' from our balcony.

We ate at most of the nearby tavernas, the Blue ocean was nice, the spitako restaurant was nicely decoarated and ok food but the staff were quite rude.
George at the Cafe Classic was a great host who remembers everyones names and makes you feel very welcome!

The walk into Kos town is about 30 mins, a nice walk though.

We booked a trip in Kos town to do a 3 island cruise for 25euros per person (Thomson reps wanted 48euros per person for the same trip)
Great day out!

We both enjoyed our week here and would say if you are looking for a decent 3* family run hotel then definately give it a go.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beebntt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

2nd time to Niriides in July this year,last was 2 years ago.Very friendly welcome and seemed to remember us from our last visit.We stayed in apartment B27 which was great,lovely patio area to enjoy a drink or two before going out for the evening. Kyros in the pool bar is a lovely man,always with a smile on his face,prices are pretty reasonable too.The owners Smaro and Stavros are very nice,taking the time to have a chat with you. Pool area very clean and plenty of sunbeds to go around.
Greek night is exceptional value ( 10 euros each ), food and entertainment top notch and well worth it. Couple of good restaurants in the immediate area,all offering more than decent food and not too expensive. Walk into the heart of Kos Town takes about 35-40 minutes,though it's not too difficult a walk with a couple of nice bars en-route if you fancy a pit stop! Alternatively buses stop outside the hotel and are cheap enough( @ 1.2 euros ) Slightly more expensive to eat and drink in the town,though not too bad really.
We didn't do an excursion this time,though we did do the 3 island cruise a couple of years ago on the "Katerina" which you can book in the harbour area-great day out and hilarious!
Would definitely return to Niriides- not often we say that as we prefer to try different destinations so it speaks volumes on the hospitality you'll receive here.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Snaz1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Spent an enjoyable two weeks at the beginning of September here with our friends.We had a great time at the Niriides and as mentioned in earlier reviews,everyone who works here are very nice,pleasant & friendly helpful people,from Smaro & Stavros who own the hotel to Katerina & Joanne on reception to Ilena behind the bar in the evening. We enjoyed many a chat with Ali who looks after reception overnight & is on hand to help if needed. The pool/snack bar is well run by Kyros aided by Michalis during the day where you're always greeted with a friendly smile.
It was very windy for the first four days so we couldn't use the beach so we stayed around the pool instead but we found it very pleasant with plenty of space & never too crowded even when it got busier some afternoons,the beach in front was very small & a bit tatty so we kept using the pool for the rest of our holiday
We enjoyed the walk into Kos town during the day,20mins to the Marina where we stopped for a frappe on route,then another 20 to the Old Town which is very pleasant with plenty of shops,bars & restaurants,our favourite taverna is Alexandros up the steps behind Agia Paraskevi church(the one with the blue domes behind the square).They serve traditional Greek food,very tasty & home cooked,lovely for lunch or in the evening.
There isn't a lot in the area around Niriides a few tavernas nearby,our favourite was Nestoras,great atmosphere & a wide selection of food,very friendly staff & we enjoyed many lovely lunches overlooking the sea & ate here often in the evening too.
You catch the bus to Kos town outside Nestoras which we did some evenings but always packed in the mornings with people from the big hotels up the road,probably going into to town after breakfast! so we walked in by day but less so in the evening because they're likely to be half board or all inclusive.
All in all,we had a great time at Niriides & would go again but hopefully Thomson will change the flight time from Cardiff arrive 3.50am depart 4.50am! horrible flight time land back in uk at 6am.

Room Tip: we had self catering studio in main building but worth upgrading to studio or bungalow up behind the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheOuzoLovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Stayed for 2 weeks Aug./Sept2013.
Communal areas of hotel and grounds kept very clean. Pool area quite nice with plenty of sunbeds any time of day and lots of shade if that’s what you want. Pool bar serving drinks and snacks and a nice seating area. We had an apartment near the main road which was like the M25 sometimes, lots of traffic noise and not always easy to cross to get to the beach and back, other apartments in blocks situated behind the pool would be fine and it seemed much nicer and quieter there. Beds not bad and linen and towels changed every 3 days. Apartment was well equipped and very clean on arrival but the maid didn’t do much during our stay apart from make the beds and empty the bins. The outside table was not wiped once, we did it ourselves every afternoon when we returned to the room. The hotels private beach was described as shingle so we expected to need beach shoes to get in the water but it is more like rocks and boulders and not easy to walk on, it never gets sandy once in the sea like other places we have been, the water was lovely though and very clear. There are plenty of beach beds but you have to sort them out as many are broken and some even dangerous, not a problem if you get there early enough, the beds are on a man-made sandy bit of the beach, the sand is not very deep and we picked up several pieces of broken glass during our stay. The nearest supermarket is well stocked with most things you need and is a 5 minute walk along the road (seems longer when you are carrying your water supply back! There are 2 other shops next to the supermarket selling inflatables, beach towels and all the other usual holiday junk, neither of them really worth a visit. Kos town is pretty, we are not slow walkers and it took us 40 minutes, only 5 minutes by bus but be prepared to be squashed in like sardines at certain times. The town itself is full of expensive jewellery and leather shops and the usual touristy stuff, there is the obligatory MacDonald’s too! Plenty of eating places in town and overlooking the boats in the harbour, a nice location. There are also restaurants near the hotel, some have tables and chairs set up on the water’s edge, a nice place to have dinner. There is a snack bar next to the hotel. We had lunch there a few times and also ate there some evenings, the food was as good as the more expensive restaurants and better than some, Michael in the snack bar is probably the friendliest guy you will meet during your stay and will look after you well. The Polish? girl behind the hotel bar was also very sweet and makes good cocktails. Like most places there are negatives and positives, we enjoyed our holiday but would not return to this hotel and probably not to Kos. On saying that, for the price we paid we did get good value for money so can’t really complain.
P.S. The chaotic shambles of an airport is a good enough reason never to return to Kos. A good tip is to ignore your rep when they tell you to join the mile long queue OUTSIDE the airport. Go straight in to the check in desk as we did, as if you are an independent traveller and save at least 1.5 hours queuing.

Room Tip: Get a room as far away from Hotel and road as possible. Behind the pool at the back of complex would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rileyoblimey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Just back from Niriides (9th Sep). Echo comments from other reviewers. A great place to go because:
GREAT STAFF
CLEAN, WELL KEPT ROOMS AND GROUNDS
CLOSE ENOUGH TO KOS TOWN FOR THE NIGHT LIFE
BEAUTIFUL WEATHER
ACCOMMODATION IS SPACIOUS AND WELL EQUIPPED

I do not normally go back to the same place twice but I will definitely visit the Niriides again.!

Try the bar next door. Michael is a great host and makes fantastic Gyros

Room Tip: B1 and B2 are self catering rooms at the front closest to swimming pools
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mark m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013 via mobile

Just came back from a 2 week stay. Two adults 3 kids had the best time ever. Staff are all helpful and friendly, hotel is clean and well maintained. Dhimitri the maintenance guy is hard working and helps with anything.

Area is lovely. A 30 min stroll to harbour and Kos town. Beautiful views and although shingle beaches, Nirides has its own sandy beach opposite!

Greek night is a must! Excellent pool facilities and pool snack bar. Food is wonderful there.

An amazing holiday and we're definitely back next year!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Honestdining
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Psalidi hotels
0.1 mi away
Platanista Hotel
Platanista Hotel
#4 of 19 in Psalidi
927 reviews
1.9 mi away
Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel
0.9 mi away
Mitsis Ramira Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Kipriotis Village Resort
2.6 mi away
Michelangelo Resort and Spa
0.3 mi away
Alexandra Beach Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Niriides Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Niriides Beach Hotel

Address: 24 Leoforos Papandreou Georgiou, Psalidi 85300, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Psalidi
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Psalidi
#7 Family Hotel in Psalidi
#11 Romantic Hotel in Psalidi
Price Range: £20 - £44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Niriides Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Niriides Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Niriides Beach
Niriides Beach Hotel Kos/Psalidi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing