We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding! Cannot wait to return!”
Review of Kipriotis Maris

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kipriotis Maris
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Psalidi
Certificate of Excellence
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Outstanding! Cannot wait to return!”
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Just returned from the Maris- Enjoyed every minute of it. The room was so spacious (Junior Suite)
Lovely large balcony/terrace which over looked the pool. The staff were so friendly- they could not do enough for you. Even on busy days they always had a smile on their faces.Hotel kept very clean and tidy. The food was excellent. Always a good selection of food. Excellent service all round. Would recommend.

Room Tip: Absolutely enjoyed every minute of our stay. Lovely spacious room(Junior Suite) Had a large terrace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Carolinecaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kipriotis, Guest Relations Manager at Kipriotis Maris, responded to this review, 28 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share a few good words from your recent stay in Kipriotis Maris. Our staff will keep up the hard work in order to keep a friendly and comfortable environment for a future stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for a return visit!
The Guest Relations Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    194
    68
    36
    6
See reviews for
280
184
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Den Helder, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

We booked 13 days in may and arrived in the evening. At first we got a room 'ground floor' but we didn't like that because it was more in the basement. No view when you sit on the terras and a lot of stairs down. After 2 days we were placed in other rooms which was better. Rooms are very big and cleaned every day. Food was good and the service in restaurant and bar also. Everyone was very friendly and cooperative. A nice place to be!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jolanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kipriotis, Guest Relations Manager at Kipriotis Maris, responded to this review, 26 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share a few good words from your recent stay in Kipriotis Maris. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for a return visit in Kos!
The Guest Relations Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

We found it difficult to work out before we went just what to expect so hope some of this may help others! Kipriotis is the owner of about 5 hotels in the Psaldi area. The Village is on its own site and its beach is away from the main road, just backed by a quiet no through road with a bike path along it. The other hotels (which seem to have once been separate entities) now form a very large complex. We stayed at the Maris which suited us very well, but it's really just 2/3 storey blocks (not my idea of bungalows) of superior rooms of the 4*Hippocrates, as all the food & drink options and use of facilities is common. Maris rooms are very spacious and fittings of good quality. I liked the nice firm beds! All the staff were lovely throughout and everything was kept immaculately clean. The Maris side is quieter than Hippocrates.
May was a perfect time for us as the hotel was far from full so had a lovely calm feel. My only complaint would be that the food was let down by not being hot enough, always a bit of a problem with buffets, and exacerbated by a slow through-put. Breakfasts and salads very good. We liked the idea of the themed meals at the Maris but it wasn't proving popular. We thought the AI drinks package was good as the sodas were nice so made good mixers, and the range of local drinks, finishing at 11pm, was what we would expect on such a package. Overall, it was better than our experience of Greek 4* (but it's not Swiss 5*!)
We had a lovely holiday and would recommend to friends.
For those travelling with just hand luggage, pool towels were inclusive (on deposit).
Water in fridge in room restocked daily.
Room safe inclusive, all nice things that make the difference for 5*

As the hotel seems to read this, some suggestions for improvement:
Maris dinner 'bites' did not seem popular which is a shame as staff very keen to please. Perhaps displaying the menus would help? And when guests make a reservation, if they chose a half hour time slot to arrive, perhaps that would make it easier to serve the food hot?
An information leaflet on arrival would help. It was possible to take dinner at The Village but that wasn't at all obvious. Could we have used Panorama too? If there is an A La Carte restaurant there, don't you want other guests using it too?

Room Tip: In our 3 storey block, the ground floor was almost below ground which I would not have liked! All M...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank optmaxLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kipriotis, Guest Relations Manager at Kipriotis Maris, responded to this review, 26 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your review from your recent stay. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay in Kipriotis Maris. As you have already noticed, we take under consideration of all remark and suggestions, therefore our staff will keep up the hard work in order to keep a friendly and comfortable environment for a future stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for a return visit!
The Guest Relations Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

We have just returned from a 2 week all inclusive stay at the Kipriotis Maris and had a fantastic time both at the resort and in the local town, we have a few helpful hints and tips so you can maximise your stay and enjoy it as much as we did!!!
First of all if booking through Travel Republic - like we did - it will say Panorama Complex, be aware that this not only includes the Panorama hotel, but the Hippocrates and the Maris.
We stayed in the Maris and though you can use the facilities at the 4* Hippocrates you can't use the facilites AI at the Panorama, you can use the pools at any of the hotels, but at the bars/restaurants in the Panorama you will have to pay.
During our stay the Maris reception desk wasn't open, everything goes through the Hippocrates, which is just as close, you can get all your information from there as well as weather forecast and booking trips to Turkey etc.


Beach towels - provided at reception for a refundable deposit of 10euros per towel - save luggage allowance.
A-la-carte nights - Every night in the Maris restaurant is a themed night, which you have to book for, all drinks and desserts are self service. A selection of Italian, Chinese, Oriental, Mexican and Greek cuisines are availble throughout the week, which are very tasty and fresh. If you are not dining at the themed nights, there is always the buffet option at the Hippocrates, which again the food was very fresh, varied and plentiful. You can have breakfast/lunch at either of the Hippocrates&Maris hotels.
A downside that we found was that there was no information pack in the room - hence the hints and tips - as if you needed to know anything you had to keep contacting reception, but the front desk staff are very helpful and friendly
All inclusive Bar - 10am-11pm. All soft drinks, locally produced beers sprits wines included. Not all cocktails included but wide range to choose from.
The bar staff both day and night are very friendly and small tips go a long way.
Rooms - very clean, spacious and well equipped with lots of storage.lots of extra bedding and pillows in room, beds very comfy.
Room 79 highly recommended, fantastic view over pool and grounds.
Pool area - Pool is massive, lots of sunbeds with shaded areas. A little cool but when you have been sitting in the sun its very refreshing.
The resort is very child friendly.
Distance to town - A 30 minute fast paced walk or 5minute bus journey.
Bus stop right outside hotel and is 1.60each single.
Very nice scenic walk.
Hotel and grounds very well maintained.
Staff are extremely friendly, courteous and professionnal.
Hairdryer in room, not very powerful - if like me you have long hair I would take your own!!
Toiletries provided by hotel, we took our own from the airport - but there is no need, there is a mini market on site and a supermarket a 15minute walk away where you can get everything you need.
Suntan lotion - more expensive than at home.
UK newspapers - not available at hotel, but from town/supermarket. Papers for that day will arrive about 4pm.
Kettle provided in room with tea/sugar - milk can be purchased from mini market.
Mini market - take small notes if you have them, they do not carry an awful lot of change!!
Exchange rate - we found that we got a much better exchange rate from taking money out in the town through a cash machine than we did at home.
Beach - shingly but has allocated sunbeds for hotel users - great views to Turkey.
Dress code - we found it very mixed. But for a-la-carte nights, men wore long trousers with shoes/espadrilles.
Jackets - recommended that you take a light jacket or hoodie with you for the evenings as the temperature does drop at night and can be chilly with a breeze.
Bikes/Buggys/Quads - available to rent from 40euros for a buggy for the day. You could rent a bike for about 20euros for a week.
The company right at the front of the resort we found to have just as competitive rates and you don't have to walk miles to return it!!
Bodrum, Turkey - Booked through hotel at 25euros each. Long day!! Quite a lot of hassle having to go through passport control/security/customs for one day!! Cold on the boat also. But cigarettes very cheap 63euros for 3 cartons of Marlboro. A bargain can be found here. Very pretty area.
Wifi - Not included at hotel, panorama has wifi at an extra cost.
Safe - can be used but contact reception. We didn't bother, maids are very trustworthy and if you want to you can lock valuables in a suitcase!!
Transfer from airport - LONG!!!!!! highly recommend that you book a private taxi as the hotel is one of the last stops, if not the last!!!
Mini bar - fully stocked for arrival. Water is replenished, 1.5litre water =1euro at mini mart.

Room Tip: Room 79 - Junior Suite on ground floor - Great views of pool and gardens!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank Jimjim241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kipriotis, Guest Relations Manager at Kipriotis Maris, responded to this review, 26 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share such a detailed and helpful review from your recent stay. Your remarks can be useful for many guests. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay in Kipriotis Maris as we look forward to welcoming you back soon for a return visit!
The Guest Relations Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bad Oldesloe, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

I went to Kos with my mother and stayed at the Maris hotel for 8 days. We had a juniorsuite-room with pool-view. The rooms are very comfortable and they were cleaned up daily. The matresses were a bit to hard for me, but some people prefer that I think. The staff was really friendly and cooperative at all times and the food was quite good as well. We had the possibility to visit to different restaurants - one offered always a buffet, the other one was a theme restaurant, where you got special meals (mexican, greek, ...) on different days. The pool is big and when we stayed at the hotel, there were often just a few guests, which were using it, so we had always much of space to swim. I just can tell you, that we had a great time and I can recommend the hotel to other possible guests.

Room Tip: Rooms with pool-view are better than rooms with the view directly to the sea I would say, because of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kipriotis, Guest Relations Manager at Kipriotis Maris, responded to this review, 24 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share a few good words from your recent stay in Kipriotis Maris. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for a return visit in Kos!
The Guest Relations Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retford
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Booked a 1 week stay at the Maris all inclusive starting on 2/5/12 on the net at a very good price.

On arrival at 10pm we were too late for dinner and had to make do with bread cheese and ham etc from a small buffet. Drinks finished at 11pm each night which was unexpected and limited our fun! The room was lovely and modern but had almost no sea view and was on a busy and noisy main road next to the car hire outlet! The receptionist was friendly but unable to change our room so we went to the manager to request a change. Met up with another couple who were insistent they had booked the Panorama ( up the hill with a better view but similar rooms) but put in the Maris. Manager was friendly and moved us to a room overlooking the pool which suited us well.
Food
The Maris restaurant was closed for most of our stay so we ate in the Hippocrates (4*) It was acceptable buffet style for all meals, the plus point being that you could eat outside on the terrace. When the Maris restaurant finally opened the day before we left we ate there and it was a better experience - much more spacious and attractive with outdoor eating in front of the pool.

Pool
Excellent beautifully maintained with great shaded sunloungers and not crowded.

Bar
All inc only gives you "local" beer wine and spirits and a few cocktails which were mediocre. other cocktails were 6-8 euros each which seemed extortionate. Staff were mostly ok and worked hard.

We ate in the Panorama one lunch time. Similar food but waiter service for drinks. Great sea views from the terrace.

They let us keep our rooms on the last day which was a real bonus.

All in all a good experience for the price but not quite the full 5*

Room Tip: Don't settle for rooms around 168 overlooking the main road!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kipriotis, Guest Relations Manager at Kipriotis Maris, responded to this review, 26 May 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying at the Kipriotis Maris and sharing your comments at Tripadvisor. We are glad that you enjoyed the junior suite we moved you to, as well as the food, the pool and the complimentary late check out. For the record, the couple you are referring to actually had reservations for Maris not Panorama.
Furthermore, in our all inclusive description, we clearly state that our restaurants close at 2100 and 2130 hours and what you are describing is part of our midnight snack consisting of cold cuts and salad.
Also to set the record straight, the price of 6 to 8 Euros is not meant to extort but is the current market price of a cocktail made of imported name brands.
I would welcome the opportunity to meet with you again and am always available to further discuss your thoughts as your comments are precious to us.
The Guest relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

I have just got back from at 10 day holiday at the Maris Hotel in Kos. I went with a group of 7 and we had three rooms between us. We originally had booked in the Hippocrates Hotel but when we arrived we were told we had been 'upgraded' to the Maris. We were concerned that our rooms wouldn't be what we had wanted but he were extremely thrilled to find that our rooms were three rooms next to each other and were twice as big as we expected or needed!!! We had been expected two single beds pushed together for a 'double' bed but we walked into our room to find a KING sized bed! The bathroom was big and everything worked perfectly! We had a lovely view of the pool and enjoyed sitting out on the Balcony. We decided to have our room cleaned every other day and this was enough! The hotel in general was immaculately clean which was very nice to see from such a big, busy hotel!

The food was also better than I had expected! Apart from being slightly cold the food was all very fresh and very tasty! Even for the most picky eater, you will be able to find plenty to eat. The staff in the restaurant were very attentive and always prepared us a table of 7 as soon as we walked in. The Hipppcrates Bar was a lively, friendly place to be at all times of the day. The pool table was very popular and so was the darts machine. The bar staff were very nice and always friendly! The free drinks did end at 11pm but they would make sure everyone at the bar got a drink before shutting, so normally it was open until at least 11:30! The Maris bar, was slightly quieter but also extremely friendly and they had a tv on in the evenings.

The facilities were of a very high standard and if they did get broken, they were fixed within 24 hours! The Table Tennis Tournament (organised by the Animation Team) was so popular and such a nice break to sitting by the pool! The evening entertainment was generally very good and varied every night! For younger kids there was a mini disco every night which was also run by the Animation Team. Everyone at the Hotel was so friendly and we made a lot of friends there! We rented of bikes for 5Euros to cycle to town which was a lovely 15 minute cycle along a safe cycle path. There was also cheap cars to hire and quad bikes.

I had the most amazing Holiday and had nothing bad to say about this Hotel! I would 100% stay at this hotel again, although I wouldn't go in April again as the rain did ruin some possible days out! I would suggest this hotel for couples, older people, families and group of friends! Absolutely brilliant and so much better than expected!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Libby T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kipriotis, Guest Relations Manager at Kipriotis Maris, responded to this review, 24 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback from your recent stay. I am glad to hear you enjoyed staying with us in Kipriotis Hippocrates. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for a return visit, perhaps during the high season, when you will be able to enjoy a magnificent weather in Kos!
The Guest Relations Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Psalidi hotels
0.2 mi away
Mitsis Ramira Beach Hotel
0.3 mi away
Kipriotis Village Resort
2.1 mi away
Michelangelo Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel
0.7 mi away
Platanista Hotel
Platanista Hotel
#1 of 19 in Psalidi
827 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kipriotis Hippocrates
Kipriotis Hippocrates
#9 of 19 in Psalidi
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kipriotis Maris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kipriotis Maris

Property: Kipriotis Maris
Address: PO Box 337, Psalidi 85300, Greece (Formerly Iberostar Kipriotis Maris)
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Psalidi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Psalidi
#5 Spa Hotel in Psalidi
#6 Luxury Hotel in Psalidi
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Psalidi
#7 Romantic Hotel in Psalidi
#9 Family Hotel in Psalidi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Kipriotis Maris 5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
KIPRIOTIS MARIS is a luxurious but at the same time, cozy hotel conveniently located in Psalidi area, just 3km away from Kos town and 25km from Kos International Airport. With a bus stop directly in front of the hotel and a cycling path extending to the town centre. Kipriotis Maris makes the best choice for sightseeing lovers. Separated from the beach by the coast road alone, this 5 star property features comfortable and spacious rooms built in bungalow complexes all around the pool and garden area creating a fantastic setting ideal for relaxing and luxurious holidays. The property features 144 luxurious rooms including 9 rooms designed for guests with special needs. All rooms are very spacious with modern - easy living furnishing. They all have large verandas with view either to the gardens, the pool or the sea. Rooms are broken down in double rooms and junior suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Kipriotis Maris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kipriotis Maris Hotel Psalidi
Iberostar Hotel Kipriotis Maris
Iberostar Hotel Psalidi
Kipriotis Maris Kos/Psalidi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing