We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“kipriotis maris”
Review of Kipriotis Maris

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kipriotis Maris
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Psalidi
Certificate of Excellence
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“kipriotis maris”
Reviewed 16 August 2012

My friend and I stayed in the Maris for our stay, I didn't know what to expect as we got a bargain deal so my expectations weren't high! Well I have to say we got so much more than expected it was great. We both had a lovely time. The food was really good can't complain about anything. we got the bus just outside the hotel into kos town every night and that is really lovely too!
I just want to mention the lady behind reception (wish i'd taken her name) was really lovely and helpful always had a smile for everyone.
The one thing i'd say is take your own hairdryer the one there is in the bathroom and not great, we did manage but if you're fussy about your hair you'll want your own.
I would definitely go again

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joanne p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kipriotis, Guest Relations Manager at Kipriotis Maris, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Dear Guest,
We are delighted to read your review in Trip Advisor, therefore we would like to thank you for your good words. We are glad to hear you enjoyed staying with us in Kipriotis Maris Suites and we are looking forward to welcoming you again in soon, for another memorable summer holiday.
The Guest Relations Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    284
    202
    68
    38
    6
See reviews for
293
188
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pardes Hanna Karkur, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

We spent a weekend (Friday-Monday) at the Maris Kipriotis hotel and we were very disappointed, As we arrived, we mentioned we have a young baby, and also it was written in advance in our hotel voucher and we even sent an e-mail a day before our arrival to make sure it's written in our reservation. Even though we had a baby bed waiting in the room, the room itself was far away from all the main area - not very easy climbing up with a baby stroller in the heat of July. Moreover and even worse, you had to go down about approximately 20 stairs to get to the room. it made our first day in the hotel a nightmare ! I couldn't go out with the baby by myself since i couldn't carry the stroller up the stairs (the baby is not walking yet). You would expect the hotel staff to do the simple math that if we are traveling with a baby, it doesn't make sense pouting us in a room you can't approach to with a stroller ! Moreover (!!!), the room was right next to the animation club and the loud music was on until 11PM, so after going up and down the stairs all day we would expect the opportunity to rest in the room at night. Not to mention the poor baby that couldn't sleep. The same day we asked to switch rooms, so we were told that it's not possible today and we should come tomorrow. The day after, after going back and forth to the reception desk, we got a room with no stairs (though still very far and up the hill). The only thing they forgot to mention, is it's a room made for handicapped, which means - No bath ! If you have a baby you probably know that no bath makes a big challenge when it comes to washing your baby, But since we didn't want to switch rooms again, we decided to stay in this one. Around noon, we felt the air conditioner is not cooling the room. We called the front desk to complain. They sent maintenance guy after 4 hours (!) and a few more phone calls from our side... BTW, even after he fixed it, it wasn't cold enough in the room, not sure why.
And one more thing - The bed in the room was two single beds combined together ! Both were not comfortable, squeaky, and with wheels- so my husband and i had a growing gap between our beds.
As it was written in another review here - There was no air conditioning inside- in the dining area, even though the management response to the review said they did. I'm sorry but it's just not true. We came to lunch and dinner straight from the pool or the shower so it would be possible sitting there. The air conditioning system exists, it's just not on !
Another thing was not being able to have dinner at the day of our arrival in our hotel since it had to be booked in advance. The option is to eat at the Hippocrates, which is a 4 star hotel. I don't understand - If i paid for five stars and i'm a guest of the Maris hotel, why can't i eat dinner in the hotel i'm staying at ? It only makes sense that the Maris guests will get the first priority to eat there.
The food itself was Ok, though very repetitive, My husband liked it, I didn't.
Also- the "all inclusive" idea is not being fulfilled to what it should be, Wi-Fi is not free and very expensive, Coffee from a coffee machine-(i couldn't drink the Greek coffee) Latte was not free (even though it's at the main pool bar). The rooms are big, but not very modern, and i also found it hard to find a place to put the electric kettle.
I think that because the hotel is a part of the Kipriotis resort, and right next to the Hippocrates resort- which is a 4 stars hotel, it makes the Maris a 4 stars hotel as well- at least according to the rooms, food and facilities,
But - Not all was bad: they have a very nice pool, very nice beach and the staff was friendly most of the time.
I would like to end this review by saying that even though we had to complain a few times about what i wrote, we were always polite, talking nicely and quietly and explaining our requests, And still, unfortunately, it was not the service and the holiday we were hoping for...

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ns_Zs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kipriotis, Manager at Kipriotis Maris, responded to this review, 18 August 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay in our hotel for your holiday, and also for taking the time to write this review.
Regarding your first room location, we allocate rooms to our arrivals based on the information we receive from the Travel Agents and the availability.
As soon as you expressed discontent about the first room, we issued a key and offered the second room for you to inspect and then move to, only after your own approval.
It is not fair to us writing that we “forgot to mention” the kind of room we offered as an alternative, since you did see the room first and then consented to move there.
Concerning the A/C in the restaurant, both units are operating normally –we stand by our previous reply as it is true-. Anyhow, having open doors all around that area decreases the efficiency of the cooling system, as warm air from outside gets mixed with the cool air inside.
Our theme restaurant, as it operates with a table served menu, requires reservations for dinner. We do get often and accept pre-arrival reservations for dinner but had none on record for your party.
Also as advertised, Wi-Fi is not part of the All Inclusive and there are drinks and beverages that are on extra cost as well.
As for our hotel’s classification, it is officially classified 5 stars by the competent authorities.
We are glad however that you find our pool and staff to your liking. Regarding our service, we learn from your benign comments and strive to ameliorate it.
I would welcome the opportunity to further discuss your stay with you and can be reached at wecare@kipriotis.gr
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hyde cheshire
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

we actually booked for the hippocrates, but taken to the 5 star marim suites, which is a 5 star opposed to the 4 star part, presume they upgraded us ??.rooms were large with a big terrace,food really good, and i am fussy,rooms cleaned each day with clean towels.all the staff were excellent.thank you to michael the hotel manager,a very caring person who went out of his way for us,thank you michael you are extra special.Then we have virginia supervisor in the restaurant,very helpful and excellent at her job.Onto the pool bar erika another excellent member of staff who went out of her way to help me when ill.Only downside was lack of good professional acts, for night time,although the animation team worked hard, and put on various things in the day,they cant put on professional shows at night.michael,virginia,and erika,you all did 100 per cent for us,thank you, brian and vanda, from hyde cheshire.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bnt1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kipriotis, Guest Relations Manager at Kipriotis Maris, responded to this review, 8 August 2012
Dear Guest,
We are delighted to read your review in Trip Advisor, therefore we would like to thank you for your good words. We are glad to hear you enjoyed staying with us in Kipriotis Maris Suites. Our management and staff members will keep up the good work in order to provide high quality services for all our guests. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in soon, for another memorable summer holiday.
The Guest Relations Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

Just returned from another fabulous holiday at the Kipriotis Maris Suites! All the staff are friendly and very efficient and certainly made us feel special.Our room was very clean ,large and spacious.The air conditioning was great and we didn't have any problems with it at all.Food was excellent and the themed nights offered a great selection. If you don't like the themed nights, go to the buffet in the Hippocrates and help yourself to whatever you want.Lovely big pool surrounded by loads of sunbeds where you can while away the hours.
Michael, the manager was charming and was regularly visible making sure things were running smoothly. Virginia,the captain in the Maris restaurant was great at looking after us .Lastly a big thank you to all the waiters and waitresses who worked tirelessly and always with a ready smile, especially Katerina who made our holiday extra special.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Buddies2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kipriotis, Guest Relations Manager at Kipriotis Maris, responded to this review, 8 August 2012
Dear Guest,
We are delighted to read your review in Trip Advisor, therefore we would like to thank you for your good words. We are glad to hear you enjoyed staying with us in Kipriotis Maris Suites. Our management and staff members will keep up the good work in order to provide high quality services for all our guests. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in soon, for another memorable summer holiday.
The Guest Relations Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We arrived to the hotel on 27 july 2012 we recieved a room two floors below ground , the cortains should be always closed because everybody could look into our room.
there was no electrical outlet in the room although there was a kettle in the room but could not operate it.
We had to reserve dinner 24 hours in advance, if not we should ate at the hippocrates hotel which was far away from our room .
The public areas, lobby and dinning room, were not airconditioned and imposible to sit there.
When we asked to replace the room, the front office manageres was rude and not nice.
Great disapointment , not recomended.

Room Tip: rooms on the second floor facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dorongr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kipriotis, Manager at Kipriotis Maris, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday and for sharing your thoughts on Tripadvisor.
To set the record straight, our hotel has no rooms below ground. What you are referring to is a superior room at ground level, with its balcony adjacent to the lawn. Furthermore,its price is the same regardless of the floor. We are not happy of your discontent but as clearly explained, having no request in your reservation for a room on a high floor and no more available rooms to change your room to, it was not possible to replace the room. This has however nothing to do with rudeness.
Each room in our hotel has at least 4 electrical outlets; it puzzles us that you didn’t find any of them considering that no malfunction was reported from your room regarding the sockets.
Maris suites as advertised, has a Theme restaurant for dinner, where indeed because dinner is a served menu –as explained- one has to reserve 24hrs in advance. Kipriotis Hippocrates and Maris suites operate jointly and our guests may use the main restaurant at Hippocrates hotel, located only 50 meters away from Maris’ restaurant.
As for the air conditioning in our restaurant, it does work and our clients can enjoy their meals both inside the restaurant and at one of the verandas.
I would welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay further with you and am available at wecare@kipriotis.gr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capelle aan den IJssel, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

The staff is very kind and friendly. The food is good. You can choose for every day another theme. Only the plates and knifes and all that was not always clean. The rooms were very good and big. It was clean. The animationteam was very kind. The downside was that the hotel was build like you had to clime a lot and it was big so you had to walk a lot to get to the restaurant and swimmingpool. But when we asked for a room somewhat closer and not so high, we got another room without problems.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Esther V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kipriotis, Guest Relations Manager at Kipriotis Maris, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
Dear Guest, we would like to thank you for your detailed review on Trip Advisor and for sharing with us your experience in Kipriotis hotels. It makes us happy to know that you enjoyed tour holidays in Kos and we are looking forward to seeing you again soon for another memorable stay.
The Guest Relations Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newport
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We stayed at the Maris Suites which were clean and spacious, the let down was the air con...I could blow cool air more efficiently. Layout of hotel is a bit hotch-potch and long ways round to get to your rooms. Reception and information services are poor...as was our check in experience. The food was pretty grim...with seriously inedible stuff on some occassions. Staff are pleasant but there is not enough of them. Bar was slow with queues often and drinks were a bit watery...the sister Hippocrates was better all round...odd considering we paid much more for the Maris. I travelled with all female family members. One room was fine with a nice balcony and view but my poor nieces had no view and a generator outside their window area. This was change half way through the holiday. We were originally booked into the Panorama...but they put you where they see fit. Went to the Panorama to see what we were missing...not much as it happens....3 lifts for 7 floors with 1 of the three out of action...much time is wasted waiting while lifts take forever....sporadically going up 1-down2-up3 ad infinitum. The view when we did ascend to the roof to bar was wonderful...but I genuinely felt the hotel was all window dressing with very slippery floors throughout.
On the plus side Kos town was a seriously nice place to be...a refuge from a hotel which at best can be considered 3*. I cetrainly wouldn't waste my money on this one again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mooster15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kipriotis, Manager at Kipriotis Maris, responded to this review, 29 July 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your vacation and for sharing your thoughts on Tripadvisor.
In reply to your observations, our Air Conditioning system operates throughout the rooms’ buildings non stop. At times we get reports of eventual malfunctions; we deal with them immediately and solve the problem. There is no such recorded report from any of your rooms and the guests actually occupying them are satisfied with it. Had we known you were unhappy with it we would have taken the appropriate action.
On our food we serve, we have an extensive variety in our buffets and theme menus in both restaurants which we alter daily. Other reviews on Tripadvisor witness the quality of our food. We are discontent that the food was not to your liking. However calling it inedible only hurts the credibility of the comment.
As for the drinks, as stated everywhere, we use local drinks of standard and better quality, state controlled and approved. Their alcohol degrees are the same as everywhere in the world.
We allocate our arriving guests to rooms according to the information we receive on their reservation. “Putting people where we see fit” is mile apart from being true.
Concerning the lifts of Panorama hotel, they operate on a sophisticated electronic “collective-selective” scheme in order to minimize travel time for all calls and save energy.
However the existing situation is very different to what you are describing.
As for the slippery floors, you must be referring to the beautiful marble floors of the Panorama. We realize that to people unfamiliar with clean polished marble this, instead of the picture of luxury may create the impression of walking on ice.
I would welcome the opportunity to further discuss your stay with you and can be reached at wecare@kipriotis.gr

The Manager of Kipriotis Hippocrates & Maris suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Psalidi
0.2 mi away
Mitsis Ramira Beach Hotel
0.3 mi away
Kipriotis Village Resort
2.1 mi away
Michelangelo Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel
5.1 mi away
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
Platanista Hotel
Platanista Hotel
#1 of 19 in Psalidi
855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kipriotis Maris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kipriotis Maris

Property: Kipriotis Maris
Address: PO Box 337, Psalidi 85300, Greece (Formerly Iberostar Kipriotis Maris)
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Psalidi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Psalidi
#5 Spa Hotel in Psalidi
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Psalidi
#6 Luxury Hotel in Psalidi
#7 Romantic Hotel in Psalidi
#9 Family Hotel in Psalidi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Kipriotis Maris 5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
KIPRIOTIS MARIS is a luxurious but at the same time, cozy hotel conveniently located in Psalidi area, just 3km away from Kos town and 25km from Kos International Airport. With a bus stop directly in front of the hotel and a cycling path extending to the town centre. Kipriotis Maris makes the best choice for sightseeing lovers. Separated from the beach by the coast road alone, this 5 star property features comfortable and spacious rooms built in bungalow complexes all around the pool and garden area creating a fantastic setting ideal for relaxing and luxurious holidays. The property features 144 luxurious rooms including 9 rooms designed for guests with special needs. All rooms are very spacious with modern - easy living furnishing. They all have large verandas with view either to the gardens, the pool or the sea. Rooms are broken down in double rooms and junior suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays and HRS so you can book your Kipriotis Maris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kipriotis Maris Hotel Psalidi
Iberostar Hotel Kipriotis Maris
Iberostar Hotel Psalidi
Kipriotis Maris Kos/Psalidi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing