We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay, very welcoming”
Review of Kipriotis Maris

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kipriotis Maris
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Psalidi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Have just come home from a week in the Maris suites (150).Had a great holiday family of 4 children 11 and 9. on arrival at 22.00 on saturday night we were met my a very welcoming receptionist, she explained everything we needed to know, meal times etc, arranged transport to our room and activated our safe immediately. The room was very spacious and exceptionally clean. a little dated decor, but you don't go on holiday to stay in your room. The pools were excellent and clean and the facilities were kept nice. Rooms cleaned daily with fresh towels. The food was very varied, could of been hotter but the choice was great and the buffets were really filling. fresh meat etc were being cooked and refilled all through service. The theme nights were good, each morning you put your name on the sheet if you wished to attend. there was no 48hr in advance for us.The meals were served to your table, waiter service and the meals were filling and really tasty. our favourites were the Mexican and the greek night. the staff in the restaurants worked really hard, they were there every breakfast lunch and dinner the whole 7 days. Veronica kept a tight ship, she made sure you had what you needed and plates were cleared etc, by the others. Each and everyone were courteous, friendly and very helpful, and always had a smile. the choice of food for the buffets were exceptional, from various salads to fresh cooked meats, cold meats, pasta, you name it. snacks were available through the day, and coffee and cakes in the afternoon. the drink choice for AI was everything you needed, beers spirits, cocktails, soft drinks, coffees and teas. The bar staff were great to name a few Angel, Chris, and Erica, were friendly and great staff. Erica made the kids special lime cocktails and always served them ice creams etc, the kids really loved her. The animation team were fab, they worked really hard with all the games for the children and adults, They did bingo nights, comedy shows, music quizzes, kids mini disco from 20.30- 21.30 so you got a bit of time to chill with a g&t. We thoroughly enjoyed this hotel, could' not of wanted or needed more than we had. An excellent place for a family holiday.
i would recommend the day trip to turkey, it was good fun and lots of bargains to be had.

Room Tip: We had a juniour suite good location, right near the pool. If i booked again i would ask for a secon...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kipriotis, Guest Relations Manager at Kipriotis Maris, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2012

Dear Guest,
It makes us happy to read that you enjoyed your holidays in Kos and we are thankful for your review on Trip Advisor, sharing with us your experience at Kipriotis Maris Suites. Our staff will keep up the good work, providing our guests with quality services. We are looking forward to seeing you again soon for another memorable stay.
The Guest Relations Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (627)
There are newer reviews for Kipriotis Maris
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

239 - 245 of 627 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2012

I have recently come back from my holiday in beautiful Kos staying at the Maris hotel with my partner and also my parents. We were all really excited for our holiday as we had paid out good money for it and we were expecting 5* luxury. When we booked the holiday, there was a complete miss selling of the hotels and the hotel that we originally booked for (according to the pictures and title: Kipriotis Panorama Complex) that we were not it the Panorama hotel but in the Maris (but we weren’t 100% certain). Either way we weren’t too bothered as they were both labelled as 5*, so they should be at the same quality. Also upon researching the hotels it makes it appear that the Maris is part of the same complex as the Panorama and that you can share facilities, but that is also wrong.
Upon arrival we went into the Panorama hotel (as mentioned before we weren’t 100% certain which hotel we were in), and we were blown away by how lovely the hotel was. The man behind the desk was very helpful and polite and told us that we were in the Maris and that he would call the mini bus to take us to our hotel. We were fine with this because we were expecting the Maris to be at the same standard. The mini bus came and we got in, the driver said nothing to us then dropped us off outside the Hippocrates hotel which is the 4*! We went in expecting there to be a mistake but there wasn’t, basically although you are staying in the "5*" Maris you need to use the Hippocrates reception desk to check in and check out, there was also a lack of information as to what we can and cannot use (I would strongly advise the hotel to provide a welcome pack to guests so they know what is included for all inclusive guests, at each hotel). We then had to get another mini bus to take us to the Maris, which was basically on the same complex as the Hippocrates but our room was on the far side where there is no easy access to the pool or restaurant area. The room was spacious and our air con worked fine our whole stay (but heard a lot of people complaining about their air con not working). The rooms are dated in the Maris but clean. There wasn't any added extras that you would expect from a 5*, no dressing gown or slippers ect. There is a mini bar in the room and again we weren’t told any information were we could use it or not (so we didn’t).
The food was always good, but found it wasn’t very hot or fresh in the Maris so lunch times we ate in the Hippocrates 4*. There is a nice idea of a sit down set theme night each night in the Maris, BUT there is a problem that you need to book 48hrs in advance which is a joke, as that was our hotel and we should have the choice of eating there every night. The other option was to eat in the 4* hotel which seems crazy as we should of been allowed to eat with the Panorama hotel which is the other 5*. There was also the option of booking in the Kipriotis Village hotel for their italian or greek restaurants (again this hotel is 4*, but an absolutely lovely hotel!) we ate at the greek restaurant, the food was nice and it made a change, but because the hotel was so nice we felt mugged that ours was suppose to be 5* and had no comparison.
The entertainment in the Maris was rubbish there was one greek night which was great but the other nights it was bingo (which you had to pay to play!) and karaoke which no one took part in as it was in a room out the way of the bar. There were no staff in the reception of the Maris our whole stay so it felt like we were staying in the Hippocrates 4*. The staff there were helpful when asked but very abrupt and rude at times and expected us to know the answer to the questions we were asking. The staff in the bar in the Maris at night 'Angel' and 'Chris' seemed to have a private joke about me and my partner and would laugh at us each night it was so rude and really spoilt the holiday. There was another girl working at the bar (blonde hair) she was really nice, she had to work such long hours I felt sorry for her!
Overall we felt very disappointed with the hotel, and defiantly would not return. It felt like the worst hotel amongst the Kipriotis hotels even though it was suppose to be one of the best. Also it wasn’t a proper all inclusive you had to pay extra for most things, even bottles of water!, not recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hannah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kipriotis, Manager at Kipriotis Maris, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your holidays and for taking the time to share your valuable comments on Tripadvisor.

We find objectionable the fact that upon reserving the description of our complex was not accurate and assure you that we do make distinctions to each of our hotels when sending information to our partners, trying to avoid any confusion from happening. The kipriotis Complex in Kos consists of 5 hotels. Among those, Maris suites and Panorama Suites are the 5stars. Maris suites is neighboring Hippocrates and operates jointly with it since last year, with one reception desk helping our guests, as Hippocrates is the main building, as opposed to Maris’ rooms being spread in 9 buildings. We do advertise everywhere that while staying in Maris you may use all Hippocrates’ facilities as well for free plus the two restaurants at Kipriotis Village upon reservation. This information is in a welcome letter in each room, together with other advertising material for our spas, our disco etc. also there are information boards in each hotel providing information about the times and availability of different departments. Also on this letter it does mention that your mini-bar is filled complimentary upon arrival and can be refilled on extra charge. Our food in all hotels is cooked fresh each day and for each meal. We resent that it is not fresh. As for the booking for the theme nights, 24 hours prior and not 48, the theme menu being a served menu with a certain amount of seats, reserving for it is our hotel policy as advertised helping us to program the seating, service and food so everything goes smoothly. Our guests are allowed to use the Panorama restaurants and bars but it is not part of the all inclusive package and this can be obvious nothing but by looking at the components of its menus which are quite exquisite. As for the entertainment in Maris and Hippocrates, we advertise everywhere that we have soft animation with gymnastics, sports and games during the day and games or shows each night. The place you are referring to as “a room out the way of the bar” is actually our little theatre which we use for shows and games as it is air conditioned, instead of having the shows outdoors. We appreciate your comment about the bar staff at Maris and immediately took the appropriate action. As for the long working hours, they are 8 as per the law. As stated else where in our answers, opinion and taste are personal to each individual and we respect and understand that.

We feel that calling Maris suites the worst hotel amongst the Kipriotis hotels is neither fair nor valid.

I would welcome the opportunity to further discuss your stay with you and can be reached at wecare@kipriotis.gr
The Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

My friend and I stayed in the Maris for our stay, I didn't know what to expect as we got a bargain deal so my expectations weren't high! Well I have to say we got so much more than expected it was great. We both had a lovely time. The food was really good can't complain about anything. we got the bus just outside the hotel into kos town every night and that is really lovely too!
I just want to mention the lady behind reception (wish i'd taken her name) was really lovely and helpful always had a smile for everyone.
The one thing i'd say is take your own hairdryer the one there is in the bathroom and not great, we did manage but if you're fussy about your hair you'll want your own.
I would definitely go again

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joanne p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kipriotis, Guest Relations Manager at Kipriotis Maris, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2012

Dear Guest,
We are delighted to read your review in Trip Advisor, therefore we would like to thank you for your good words. We are glad to hear you enjoyed staying with us in Kipriotis Maris Suites and we are looking forward to welcoming you again in soon, for another memorable summer holiday.
The Guest Relations Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

We spent a weekend (Friday-Monday) at the Maris Kipriotis hotel and we were very disappointed, As we arrived, we mentioned we have a young baby, and also it was written in advance in our hotel voucher and we even sent an e-mail a day before our arrival to make sure it's written in our reservation. Even though we had a baby bed waiting in the room, the room itself was far away from all the main area - not very easy climbing up with a baby stroller in the heat of July. Moreover and even worse, you had to go down about approximately 20 stairs to get to the room. it made our first day in the hotel a nightmare ! I couldn't go out with the baby by myself since i couldn't carry the stroller up the stairs (the baby is not walking yet). You would expect the hotel staff to do the simple math that if we are traveling with a baby, it doesn't make sense pouting us in a room you can't approach to with a stroller ! Moreover (!!!), the room was right next to the animation club and the loud music was on until 11PM, so after going up and down the stairs all day we would expect the opportunity to rest in the room at night. Not to mention the poor baby that couldn't sleep. The same day we asked to switch rooms, so we were told that it's not possible today and we should come tomorrow. The day after, after going back and forth to the reception desk, we got a room with no stairs (though still very far and up the hill). The only thing they forgot to mention, is it's a room made for handicapped, which means - No bath ! If you have a baby you probably know that no bath makes a big challenge when it comes to washing your baby, But since we didn't want to switch rooms again, we decided to stay in this one. Around noon, we felt the air conditioner is not cooling the room. We called the front desk to complain. They sent maintenance guy after 4 hours (!) and a few more phone calls from our side... BTW, even after he fixed it, it wasn't cold enough in the room, not sure why.
And one more thing - The bed in the room was two single beds combined together ! Both were not comfortable, squeaky, and with wheels- so my husband and i had a growing gap between our beds.
As it was written in another review here - There was no air conditioning inside- in the dining area, even though the management response to the review said they did. I'm sorry but it's just not true. We came to lunch and dinner straight from the pool or the shower so it would be possible sitting there. The air conditioning system exists, it's just not on !
Another thing was not being able to have dinner at the day of our arrival in our hotel since it had to be booked in advance. The option is to eat at the Hippocrates, which is a 4 star hotel. I don't understand - If i paid for five stars and i'm a guest of the Maris hotel, why can't i eat dinner in the hotel i'm staying at ? It only makes sense that the Maris guests will get the first priority to eat there.
The food itself was Ok, though very repetitive, My husband liked it, I didn't.
Also- the "all inclusive" idea is not being fulfilled to what it should be, Wi-Fi is not free and very expensive, Coffee from a coffee machine-(i couldn't drink the Greek coffee) Latte was not free (even though it's at the main pool bar). The rooms are big, but not very modern, and i also found it hard to find a place to put the electric kettle.
I think that because the hotel is a part of the Kipriotis resort, and right next to the Hippocrates resort- which is a 4 stars hotel, it makes the Maris a 4 stars hotel as well- at least according to the rooms, food and facilities,
But - Not all was bad: they have a very nice pool, very nice beach and the staff was friendly most of the time.
I would like to end this review by saying that even though we had to complain a few times about what i wrote, we were always polite, talking nicely and quietly and explaining our requests, And still, unfortunately, it was not the service and the holiday we were hoping for...

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ns_Zs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kipriotis, Manager at Kipriotis Maris, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay in our hotel for your holiday, and also for taking the time to write this review.
Regarding your first room location, we allocate rooms to our arrivals based on the information we receive from the Travel Agents and the availability.
As soon as you expressed discontent about the first room, we issued a key and offered the second room for you to inspect and then move to, only after your own approval.
It is not fair to us writing that we “forgot to mention” the kind of room we offered as an alternative, since you did see the room first and then consented to move there.
Concerning the A/C in the restaurant, both units are operating normally –we stand by our previous reply as it is true-. Anyhow, having open doors all around that area decreases the efficiency of the cooling system, as warm air from outside gets mixed with the cool air inside.
Our theme restaurant, as it operates with a table served menu, requires reservations for dinner. We do get often and accept pre-arrival reservations for dinner but had none on record for your party.
Also as advertised, Wi-Fi is not part of the All Inclusive and there are drinks and beverages that are on extra cost as well.
As for our hotel’s classification, it is officially classified 5 stars by the competent authorities.
We are glad however that you find our pool and staff to your liking. Regarding our service, we learn from your benign comments and strive to ameliorate it.
I would welcome the opportunity to further discuss your stay with you and can be reached at wecare@kipriotis.gr
The Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

we actually booked for the hippocrates, but taken to the 5 star marim suites, which is a 5 star opposed to the 4 star part, presume they upgraded us ??.rooms were large with a big terrace,food really good, and i am fussy,rooms cleaned each day with clean towels.all the staff were excellent.thank you to michael the hotel manager,a very caring person who went out of his way for us,thank you michael you are extra special.Then we have virginia supervisor in the restaurant,very helpful and excellent at her job.Onto the pool bar erika another excellent member of staff who went out of her way to help me when ill.Only downside was lack of good professional acts, for night time,although the animation team worked hard, and put on various things in the day,they cant put on professional shows at night.michael,virginia,and erika,you all did 100 per cent for us,thank you, brian and vanda, from hyde cheshire.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bnt1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kipriotis, Guest Relations Manager at Kipriotis Maris, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2012

Dear Guest,
We are delighted to read your review in Trip Advisor, therefore we would like to thank you for your good words. We are glad to hear you enjoyed staying with us in Kipriotis Maris Suites. Our management and staff members will keep up the good work in order to provide high quality services for all our guests. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in soon, for another memorable summer holiday.
The Guest Relations Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

Just returned from another fabulous holiday at the Kipriotis Maris Suites! All the staff are friendly and very efficient and certainly made us feel special.Our room was very clean ,large and spacious.The air conditioning was great and we didn't have any problems with it at all.Food was excellent and the themed nights offered a great selection. If you don't like the themed nights, go to the buffet in the Hippocrates and help yourself to whatever you want.Lovely big pool surrounded by loads of sunbeds where you can while away the hours.
Michael, the manager was charming and was regularly visible making sure things were running smoothly. Virginia,the captain in the Maris restaurant was great at looking after us .Lastly a big thank you to all the waiters and waitresses who worked tirelessly and always with a ready smile, especially Katerina who made our holiday extra special.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Buddies2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kipriotis, Guest Relations Manager at Kipriotis Maris, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2012

Dear Guest,
We are delighted to read your review in Trip Advisor, therefore we would like to thank you for your good words. We are glad to hear you enjoyed staying with us in Kipriotis Maris Suites. Our management and staff members will keep up the good work in order to provide high quality services for all our guests. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in soon, for another memorable summer holiday.
The Guest Relations Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We arrived to the hotel on 27 july 2012 we recieved a room two floors below ground , the cortains should be always closed because everybody could look into our room.
there was no electrical outlet in the room although there was a kettle in the room but could not operate it.
We had to reserve dinner 24 hours in advance, if not we should ate at the hippocrates hotel which was far away from our room .
The public areas, lobby and dinning room, were not airconditioned and imposible to sit there.
When we asked to replace the room, the front office manageres was rude and not nice.
Great disapointment , not recomended.

Room Tip: rooms on the second floor facing the pool
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dorongr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kipriotis, Manager at Kipriotis Maris, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday and for sharing your thoughts on Tripadvisor.
To set the record straight, our hotel has no rooms below ground. What you are referring to is a superior room at ground level, with its balcony adjacent to the lawn. Furthermore,its price is the same regardless of the floor. We are not happy of your discontent but as clearly explained, having no request in your reservation for a room on a high floor and no more available rooms to change your room to, it was not possible to replace the room. This has however nothing to do with rudeness.
Each room in our hotel has at least 4 electrical outlets; it puzzles us that you didn’t find any of them considering that no malfunction was reported from your room regarding the sockets.
Maris suites as advertised, has a Theme restaurant for dinner, where indeed because dinner is a served menu –as explained- one has to reserve 24hrs in advance. Kipriotis Hippocrates and Maris suites operate jointly and our guests may use the main restaurant at Hippocrates hotel, located only 50 meters away from Maris’ restaurant.
As for the air conditioning in our restaurant, it does work and our clients can enjoy their meals both inside the restaurant and at one of the verandas.
I would welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay further with you and am available at wecare@kipriotis.gr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Psalidi
0.3 mi away
Kipriotis Village Resort
0.2 mi away
Mitsis Ramira Beach Hotel
1.2 mi away
Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Michelangelo Resort and Spa
5.1 mi away
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Kipriotis Hippocrates
Kipriotis Hippocrates
#10 of 19 in Psalidi
1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kipriotis Maris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kipriotis Maris

Address: PO Box 337, Psalidi 85300, Greece (Formerly Iberostar Kipriotis Maris)
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Psalidi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Psalidi
#5 Spa Hotel in Psalidi
#6 Luxury Hotel in Psalidi
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Psalidi
#7 Romantic Hotel in Psalidi
#9 Family Hotel in Psalidi
Price Range: £78 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kipriotis Maris 5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
KIPRIOTIS MARIS is a luxurious but at the same time, cozy hotel conveniently located in Psalidi area, just 3km away from Kos town and 25km from Kos International Airport. With a bus stop directly in front of the hotel and a cycling path extending to the town centre. Kipriotis Maris makes the best choice for sightseeing lovers. Separated from the beach by the coast road alone, this 5 star property features comfortable and spacious rooms built in bungalow complexes all around the pool and garden area creating a fantastic setting ideal for relaxing and luxurious holidays. The property features 144 luxurious rooms including 9 rooms designed for guests with special needs. All rooms are very spacious with modern - easy living furnishing. They all have large verandas with view either to the gardens, the pool or the sea. Rooms are broken down in double rooms and junior suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Kipriotis Maris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kipriotis Maris Hotel Psalidi
Iberostar Hotel Kipriotis Maris
Iberostar Hotel Psalidi
Kipriotis Maris Kos/Psalidi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing