We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kipriotis Hippocrates & Maris”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Kipriotis Maris

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kipriotis Maris
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Psalidi
Certificate of Excellence
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Kipriotis Hippocrates & Maris”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

The property is ideally situated and we thought should be quiet! NOT! Families letting their screaming children run ferral round the complex! (Eastern Europeans mainly)
Half an hour walk into Kos Town or the bus for 1 euro 60.
Food was terrible and the animation team - well - who employs these people?!
The plus side - Olga at the Maris Bar is an absolute dream! She is a credit to the hotel! So friendly as opposed to her colleague Lorentzio who is as miserable and unfriendly and one can get!
I do not recommend this hotel/suites/ whatever they call themselves! so confusing! not worth the money at all! in fact absolutely apauling

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikey2804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    259
    187
    63
    36
    6
See reviews for
264
174
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
merseyside
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

Bit confusing on arrival as reception at the Maris wasn't operational, this gave the hotel a lack of focus and a social gathering place. We checked in at the Hippocrates late and in the dark so it was a bit disorientating. The porter drove us and took our cases down into a bunker. Our room was at the furthest spot from the hub of the hotel and we had a staircase down that led to what was a bit like a bunker, the view from the window was a bank of soil. To be fair we did request a higher level and after three days we moved up one level.We exited our block onto a road and then found a route to dining and bar area.

Once settled we found the complex relaxing and not crowded, Victoria and restaurant staff very friendly and hard working. Reception staff seemed a bit harassed at times,well serving two hotels you would be wouldn't you? We did tend for ourselves mostly spent every day on the beach looked after a jolly man who manned the sunbeds and served cold drinks. A trip to the lovely Kos Town in a cab for an evening meal was a welcome break from the routine than can become a bit tedious with All Inclusive menus. Overall this was a relaxing holiday and my first Greek Retreat.

Room Tip: At the Maris the higher level of room means less stairs to negotiate especially if you of a certain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suequk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed at the Maris in September for one week. As a young couple we were pleased with the location of the hotel. Ideally situated 10 minute bike ride away from the main town, close enough to jump on a bike or bus but far enough away to go back to the hotel and chill. The staff were lovely and friendly and we were really pleased with the service and how clean the hotel was. Food was what you would expect for all inclusive- lots to choose from everyday. Only downside was the booking for evening meal but wasn't an issue if you forgot as staff were helpful and gave you a table.
Overall we had a brilliant time at this hotel and would definitely return. Only thing i would suggest is hiring out the bikes and adventuring around the island as there are lots of activities to do.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorna p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

We have just come back from a lovely week in Kos, in which we stayed at the Maris Suites. I have read some mixed reviews on this hotel so thought I would share my experiences. We booked an all inclusive package and overall had a lovely week, however there was a few disappointing bits about the holiday.
We arrived at the hotel to find the Maris Suite reception closed so we had to venture over to the sister hotel Hippocrates to check-in. The receptionist gave us our key to the suites and sent us on our way with little information about the hotels, throughout the stay I found the reception and some of the restaurant staff to be not much help at all. More information on what is and isn't included at the hotels would have been a great help. The hotels and grounds were beautiful and very well maintained, there are a few very sweet cats that visit the hotel, and get very well looked after by the staff.
The room was not a suite at all and just consisted of two single beds pushed together and a few bedroom furniture (A bit disappointed as we had paid for the upgrade). However the room was very clean and was kept like this the whole stay by the lovely cleaner.
We ate out at both the Hippocrates and Maris hotels (Maris you had to book for the evening meal) The food was nice however it did get a bit repetitive after a few days, they didn't seem to have a wide selection of foods throughout the stay, but it was good value for money. There is a wide selection of drinks on the bar and the staff are very generous on the measures :-).
The animation team was friendly and put on shows and quizzes most nights, plenty to do for everyone.
The location is ideal, 30 minutes walk to Kos town, or you can catch the bus that stops right outside the hotel.
Overall this is a lovely set of hotels, and I would most likely stay again in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a view overlooking the grounds and pools :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StaceyHand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

Excellent surroundings and reception staff however DO NOT book the all inclusive, food is tasteless and poor quality, and service in the buffet restaurant was beyond poor. Food off the a la carte menu in the triton restaurant was beautiful and we'll worth a visit. Only book this hotel on a room only basis! Also beds and pillows are very hard.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pound01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stayed as a family (all adults) in September 2013 and were all inclusive at the Maris suites. Overall, we had a great week, but there were quite a few things that I feel should be highlighted and that the hotel let itself down with.

The positives of our stay...

Our request for rooms together were honoured and the superior rooms were very spacious with massive superking beds. The maid cleaned the rooms daily and there were no problems with noise between rooms. The hotel itself was lovely and we had use of the Maris and Hippocrates bars and restaurants. The animation team were fantastic; friendly and good fun and would try and get people involved in activities without being too pushy. For buffet food, the all inclusive food was good, and it was good to have some alternatives (we were able to book into the Village hotel for the buffet style Italian restaurant, or the Greek restaurant, and they also do theme nights in the Maris hotel)
The pool at the Maris is particularly lovely.
We also enjoyed hiring push bikes (get a discount token from reception and it is €3 for the day until 8pm) and found it a lovely way to see Kos town and surrounding areas.

Unfortunately, the following are the problems we encountered...

- On check-in (granted it was 4am ish) we are given no information at all. Apart from one member of staff, reception were not very helpful throughout and, at times, quite rude. The hotel would benefit from a much more comprehensive way of explaining what is and isn't included at the various hotels as it is confusing and we spent the week discovering the rules largely from other guests/ by trial and error.

- On the last day we flew out at 3am and had to check out 12pm the day prior. We were refused access to another room (they said this would have been €40 but that our room wasn't available to keep on) and the only alternative was 2 showers in the gym area. This lead to massive queues - completely inadequate for the number of guests. I have experienced this at more basic hotels but think they need to address this if professing to be 5*.

- I would ask for pool view rather than sea view. Our sea view looked out onto a road, then a line of trees which completely blocks any view of the sea. The pool would have been a much nicer view.

Although some staff were nice, unfortunately as many weren't very friendly, and we were particularly disappointed with reception and some main bar staff.

It's a shame that these things let us down, as we did enjoy our week away. I would love the hotel to make improvements in these areas to be as good as it has the potential to be.

Room Tip: If staying in Maris, choose a pool rather than sea view (sea view looks onto the road and trees bloc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DK123187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

We stayed here, two years ago - and had 10 days of chilling out by the lovely pool, and hardly felt the need to leave the hotel. It is one of 2 hotel - ours was the Maris Suites - and it was definitely the nicer of the two - although the other looked ok!
The food was excellent, our room was lovely - clean, comfortable and although we were near the pool, it was quiet.
I would thoroughly recommend this hotel if you want somewhere to totally chill out and not worry about anything.
The town of Kos is a bus ride away, and easy to get to.
The beach is across the road, but we didn't go, as it was nicer by the pool.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorraineereira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Psalidi hotels
0.2 mi away
The Mitsis Ramira Beach Hotel
0.3 mi away
Kipriotis Village Resort
0.7 mi away
Platanista Hotel
Platanista Hotel
#1 of 21 in Psalidi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel
2.1 mi away
Michelangelo Resort and Spa
0.1 mi away
Kipriotis Hippocrates
Kipriotis Hippocrates
#8 of 21 in Psalidi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kipriotis Maris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kipriotis Maris

Property: Kipriotis Maris
Address: PO Box 337, Psalidi 85300, Greece (Formerly Iberostar Kipriotis Maris)
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Psalidi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Psalidi
#4 Spa Hotel in Psalidi
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Psalidi
#5 Luxury Hotel in Psalidi
#8 Romantic Hotel in Psalidi
#10 Family Hotel in Psalidi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Kipriotis Maris 5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
KIPRIOTIS MARIS is a luxurious but at the same time, cozy hotel conveniently located in Psalidi area, just 3km away from Kos town and 25km from Kos International Airport. With a bus stop directly in front of the hotel and a cycling path extending to the town centre. Kipriotis Maris makes the best choice for sightseeing lovers. Separated from the beach by the coast road alone, this 5 star property features comfortable and spacious rooms built in bungalow complexes all around the pool and garden area creating a fantastic setting ideal for relaxing and luxurious holidays. The property features 144 luxurious rooms including 9 rooms designed for guests with special needs. All rooms are very spacious with modern - easy living furnishing. They all have large verandas with view either to the gardens, the pool or the sea. Rooms are broken down in double rooms and junior suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kipriotis Maris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kipriotis Maris Hotel Psalidi
Iberostar Hotel Kipriotis Maris
Iberostar Hotel Psalidi
Kipriotis Maris Kos/Psalidi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing