We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of Kipriotis Maris

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kipriotis Maris
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Psalidi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2014

It is a great hotel and I really enjoyed my stay. The rooms are clean and very big and the food at the restaurant was good. The pool is nice and big and the beach was also good but I didn't liked the stones. The animation was great, they had funny activities and sandy was cute. :)
Would like to go again.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim99O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kipriotis, Manager at Kipriotis Maris, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor and sharing your holiday experience.
You have provided an excellent and very detailed review for potential holiday makers.

We greatly appreciate the acknowledgement for our services, facilities and staff. It gives us an immense sense of satisfaction that we were able to meet your expectations.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to Kipriotis Hippocrates Hotel

Sincerely
Fotis Bokas
Operations Manager
customer.service@kipriotis.gr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (635)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 635 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

We have stayed in the Maris hotel between the dates: 24-29/7/2014 as a family of 5.
We received a junior suite which was very spacious but also very simple.
Pros: The hotel is nice and quiet, all the personnel and especially the front desk are very welcoming and nice and willing to help in any question.
The pool is also nice and clean but not big, the bartenders are great and are multilingual.
Cons: Unfortunately there are far more cons then pros
1. The food is UNEATABLE!!, this should be a 5* hotel and the food is like minus 1*. Its unthinkable to serve as a side dish a hot unfrozen corn and peas. all the rest of the food is either not tasty or even can not be eaten. The only comfort we found is eating in the other Kipriotis hotels, The Village and The Aqualand and even there the food was not great.
2. Although the personnel are very kind, the room service is terrible. The minibar is supposed to be a fridge but it doesn't work at all, when we call the front desk, they said that it should be like that. Lets see you drink hot Cola or hot Beer.....
we were a family of 5 including a baby, and every day the number of clean towels was a "surprise", sometimes it was 4, sometimes 3 and even 2. And when we asked for more, i had to show the maid that we are 5 in the room and that i got only 3 towels and only then she agreed to give me 2 more.
The coffee and tea were not renewed on a daily basis, only one time.
3. Wi-Fi, the internet has become a necessity and not a luxury and in nowadays it is also very cheap so why charge a ridiculous amount of euros for it??? when in most of the world it is free??? (solution: go to the car rental next to the hotel and ask them for the password, they are very nice and you could connect for free...)
4. All inclusive program is ok but after 16:30 you can not get ice cream anywhere until dinner, these hours are the craving hours of children so it is unthinkable to prohibit ice cream in this time. Also, if you missed lunch which ends at 15:30, you can't have anything to eat until dinner which starts at 18:30. Even Though it is mentioned that there are snacks, we saw only once these snacks, and we looked...
The alcohol is served freely only until 23:00 and beyond it you need to pay, again, a very strange decision when you are in all inclusive plan, it force you to go back and forth to the bar, once the children went to sleep to bring all the drinks you and your wife would like to drink during the evening, and because the mini fridge doesn't work, you can't keep them cold.

Overall it was ok, the maris is not a very expensive hotel, and you don't have much to do in it so we slept in it but spent the rest of the day in the Village hotel next to it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room far from the dinning room because it is quiet and try to be close to the car rental s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Ofir77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kipriotis, Manager at Kipriotis Maris, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and I do apologize that we did not live up to the usual high service standards that the majority of Tripadvisors talk about.
I have made sure to share all your feedback with our team.

Sincerely
Fotis Bokas
Operations Manager
Kipriotis Hippocrates Hotel
customer.service@kipriotis.gr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We took off on Saturday 19 July from Gatwick, be it later than scheduled, when we did land in Kos, we had to try to find our Rep, which took some time, when we did find the Rep we were directed to a coach, to transfer to our hotel, every holiday I have ever been on have always had a Rep on the coach to the resort, but on this occasion we did not, so we had to look very carefully to ensure that we got off at the correct stop for our resort.

We checked in at the Hippocrates Hotel reception, and were told that we were now staying in Maris Suites (an upgrade we were told) and were given a “Late Arrival Give Free Drink” yellow slip for each of us and were directed to the Hippocrates Hotel restaurant.

When we got there we were turned away as we had Maris Suites wristbands, so we had to walk to the Maris Suites restaurant, when we got there it was past 11pm, and was told we could not have anything, so we went back to the Hippocrates Hotel reception, and again told to go to Hippocrates Hotel restaurant, and again we were turned away, by this time we were all really fed up so we walked to our room, in the so called 5 Star hotel.

When we got in, we found the room had no tissues, soap, any price list nor any kind of guidance for the mini bar, we were gasping for a drink so we decided to just take soft drinks, the television was a big portable TV which did not work properly, I would have expected a flat screen for a 5 Star hotel, the air con made such a noise, we had to ask for both the TV and air con to be fixed the next day, which they managed to fix the TV, but only just made the air con quieter, but not cooler, as I would have expected.

Unfortunately in the confusion and exhaustion of the previous night, we missed our welcome meeting, but with previous experience in mind I thought I would be able to catch up with our Rep (Elliott) the next day, I was wrong, as I never was told if and when I would be able to speak to Elliott about any concerns I may have, in fact I next saw him in the airport when we flew home!


We obtained three beach towels for €30, but what we were given were disgusting, moth eaten shabby beach towels, we asked to change them, but they were all the same – not 5 Star standard, plus the Wi Fi was extremely expensive, when we went to Porto Santo, again with First Choice, last year we all got a password for our devices for free, not a €50 charge per device – a rip off.

We then went out to the pool area, which was nice enough, however there was not enough shade for the holiday makers, everyone had to really squeeze themselves in to any little space there was to grab some shade, this basically meant to ensure we got a nice shaded area we had to reserve a spot at 6am, I have never had to do this before, as there has always been enough area for all, this was like stepping back into the 1980’s.

We went to breakfast, and I have to say that this was an experience, as was the rest of the sittings for breakfast, lunch and dinner, we found the food to not be labelled properly, thus we had to guess, as the staff spoke very little English, the food was quite tasteless, and there were lots of flies on the cold food, such as the salad and sweet carts.

We then got our first “showing” of the total lack of professionalism by the portly restaurant manager, who shouted, ridiculed, and at one point pushed a fellow worker away, as they were not working quick enough for his liking, this was not nice for anyone to see, especially my 12 year old son.

On all the All Inclusive holidays they are just that, but not this one, we had to carefully look at the bar menu, as there were only a dozen drinks we could have the rest we would have to pay for (“Leave your wallet at home”…..I don’t think so), and the icing on the cake came when my son tried to get an ice cream at 4.15pm and was told, sorry we stop serving at 4pm!

We found that the entrainment, was quite poor, and with very limited seating in the outside bar area, the Air Hockey was broken when we got there until the time we left, the games room was hot, with no air con, thus to play table tennis with my son for 30 minutes, caused me and him to have to drink a litre of water between us.

Any questions we had, we had to speak to reception, as we had no rep, we found them to be quite unhelpful, and a little rude, we asked 4 days before we were due to leave to be able to extend our room, as our return flight was not leaving until 21.15, which I have to say if it was not for my girlfriend’s persistent, and the resort manager would not have happened.

On our departure day, the hotel manager managed to let us extend our room for €40, which was a godsend, but there was no clear information as to when the coach would pick us up, and in the end we were given a slot of 17.00 – 18.30, when we got to the reception we waited, and yet again no rep in sight, just a grumpy coach driver trying to tell us we needed to get on his coach for the airport.

Of course the next paragraph is common knowledge, our return flight was delayed, and so was our baggage collection – we eventually got our bags, some 2.5 hours later, on top of this my girlfriend came back with severe gastric problems.

I can honestly say that Maris Suites was no way a 5 Star hotel; it was an average hotel, with unhelpful staff, extremely old and tatty items for its guests.

We would never stay at this resort again - If you are thinking of booking, beware!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kipriotis, Manager at Kipriotis Maris, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and I do apologize that we did not live up to the usual high service standards that the majority of Tripadvisors talk about.
I have made sure to share all your feedback with our team.

Sincerely
Fotis Bokas
Operations Manager
Kipriotis Hippocrates Hotel
customer.service@kipriotis.gr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We have just come back from 8 days' vacation at the Maris Suits and we feel that it was too short. The Maris is part of 5 hotels complex (Kipriotis) and from our point of view is one of the best. We enjoyed the large swimming pool and it's alongside bar with the amazing stuff which provides all requests with very friendly approach and with a big smile. Special tanks to Nikos from the restaurant which gave to each gust a personal service and this was done with the great team (Cooks, Waiters, Cleaners...).
The entertainment section handled by Curly and Ramon which was very helpful and did everything to make us all very comfortable (Serving water melon to all gusts in the pool), and running the water polo and volleyball games every day end keep everybody happy.
The best indicators that we made the right choice has provided by our two sons (16 & 11) which were very busy all the time (Tennis, Billiard, Table tennis, Volleyball, water games) and also met many friend in their age. For yang kids it's recommended to visit the water park at the Kipriotis Aqua Park (4 Euros / kids, 8 Euros / adults entrance fee with free daily shuttle).
We have also tried the le-cart restaurants (Greek & Italian) located at Kipriotis village which was OK. It's recommended to reserve tables 2 days in advance.
To conclude, this was our first time in Greece, It was a very good vacation and we will surly come back.

Room Tip: Rooms with pool view are recomended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Motti B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kipriotis, Manager at Kipriotis Maris, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Guest

We greatly appreciate the time you have taken to share your holiday experience.
It gives us immense satisfaction to learn that we not only met your expectations but also exceeded them. I will convey your positive feedback to all our staff concerned.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Kipriotis Hippocrates Hotel in the near future.

Sincerely
Fotis Bokas
Operations Manager
Kipriotis Hippocrates Hotel
customer.service@kipriotis.gr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We arrived late but everyone was so accommodating!! The hotel is very clean and the food is very good quality and plentiful in quantity, however, variety does lack!

Dionisos is very friendly and pleasant!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Naomihc88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Our 10 days all-in holiday at Kipriotis Maris was great! The junior suite was a really nice room, the swimming pool is beautiful and the amazing bar and restaurant staff was very helpful!! With the free sun beds and drinks, the beach was also a very nice place to go! This was our first time in Kos and with the help of Kipriotis Maris our holiday turned out to an amazing experience! Many thanks for that, we loved it!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Annabelle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kipriotis, Manager at Kipriotis Maris, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your holiday experience.

Its always a pleasure to read that our guests leave our hotel satisfied and rejuvinated.
We also greatly appreciate your personal overall rating.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Kipriotis Maris Suites in the near future

Sincerely
Fotis Bokas
Operations Manager
customer.service @kipriotis.gr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

It's a nice and clean hotel the people are very helpfully and kind. The food and drinks are great. And there are a lot of activation to do kids and parents.

I recommend this hotel for a great Holliday.

Room Tip: Close to the pool, and lower floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ramon v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Psalidi
0.3 mi away
Kipriotis Village Resort
2.1 mi away
Michelangelo Resort and Spa
0.2 mi away
Mitsis Ramira Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel
0.1 mi away
Kipriotis Hippocrates
Kipriotis Hippocrates
#10 of 19 in Psalidi
1,067 reviews
2.1 mi away
Dimitra Beach Resort Hotel
Dimitra Beach Resort Hotel
#1 of 1 in Agios Fokas
1,559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kipriotis Maris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kipriotis Maris

Address: PO Box 337, Psalidi 85300, Greece (Formerly Iberostar Kipriotis Maris)
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Psalidi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Psalidi
#5 Spa Hotel in Psalidi
#6 Luxury Hotel in Psalidi
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Psalidi
#7 Romantic Hotel in Psalidi
#9 Family Hotel in Psalidi
Price Range: £82 - £254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kipriotis Maris 5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
KIPRIOTIS MARIS is a luxurious but at the same time, cozy hotel conveniently located in Psalidi area, just 3km away from Kos town and 25km from Kos International Airport. With a bus stop directly in front of the hotel and a cycling path extending to the town centre. Kipriotis Maris makes the best choice for sightseeing lovers. Separated from the beach by the coast road alone, this 5 star property features comfortable and spacious rooms built in bungalow complexes all around the pool and garden area creating a fantastic setting ideal for relaxing and luxurious holidays. The property features 144 luxurious rooms including 9 rooms designed for guests with special needs. All rooms are very spacious with modern - easy living furnishing. They all have large verandas with view either to the gardens, the pool or the sea. Rooms are broken down in double rooms and junior suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Kipriotis Maris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kipriotis Maris Hotel Psalidi
Iberostar Hotel Kipriotis Maris
Iberostar Hotel Psalidi
Kipriotis Maris Kos/Psalidi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing