We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok but miserable staff”
Review of Aristo Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aristo Apartments
1 review
“Ok but miserable staff”
Reviewed 6 July 2011

These are very good apartments, abit off the beaten track, I suggest you rent a pedal bike only 4 euros a day, 25 minute walk into psalidi 50 mins to kos town. Overall good apartments but the staff are extremely miserable.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roderz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    15
    11
    6
    5
See reviews for
22
13
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
burnley
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2010

Really enjoyed our late holiday to the aristo, met some very nice people, basic but comfortable, hotel is in the middle of nowhere really and a bus stop outside the appartments takes you into kos town, not much going on at the hotel but we went for a relaxing break really, no good for children i would say, food is ok at the appartments and priced very reasonabally, no entertainement but it was the end of season, hire a car as we did for a couple of days and see the island, tigaki is the best place i would say, if you are after a resort holiday this is not for you, as you have to travel every night into kos town, about 2 euros, or 8 euros in a taxi. all in all we met some nice people and everyone was very friendly.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michellefern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 September 2010

I stayed here for a week in early September. The apartments were clean, spacious and had everything we needed. The shower is very small but you could cope with it. The pool area was nice, always had sunbeds so there was no putting towels out at 7am!!
The apartments are abit out but the bus service is great so theres no problem getting into Kos Town, there is also a supermarket with all the basic essentials about a 5 minute walk away. There is a lovely restaraunt at the end of the road which has lovely food and the staff are very friendly and welcoming.
Kos Town is fantastic with its lovely harbour and plenty of shops, bars and restaraunts. I would definitely recommend Kos Town.
All in all I would recommend these apartments and I would definitely return to Kos Town.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunlover2305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2010

on arrival place looks very nice steep hill so no good at all if you have health issues,REP WAS RUBBISH staff cant be asked unless they take a liking to you ,the room was filthy and the floor was never washed or swept the whole time we were there .Two little dogs chained up on the waste ground all day everyday in the heat barking their heads of every morning poor devils and the girl above us had to put up with total scum bags for over a week chucking stuff over the balcony onece nearly hitting me and my husband as some crap they threw down hit the balcony she had complained and then there was vomit and a bed sheet thrown down they had been sick on when she complained she was told that they where leaving soon and didnt want to spoil their holiday WHAT !!! they had no intention of sorting it until i pointed out the bed sheet and suddenly they where interested then took the sheet and left all the vomit and pasta under our window obviously these scum must have propped the bar up for the duration of their stay USELESS no entertainment nothing except radio and tv staff only interested in their lap top the dark haired girl was a real misery and thats it Kos lovely bus service great ,resort beach in psalidi is crap stones rubbish kos beach ok i dont mind basic it ok but this was rubbish dirty no lights working shower grotty and whole thing a mess cant say about other rooms but just the rubbish staff would not make me want to go back pool area nice though.delayed getting there rubbish Monarch reps and airline same crap delay going home as well STEER CLEAR

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EssexUkGooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Psalidi hotels

York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2010

As a travel agent I feel I must alert people about the noise at these peaceful looking apartments. The views are stunning, the rooms are basic but clean, the pool is wonderful however - the owners of the bar see to like to play loud music until 1.30am every night for perhaps 2 or 3 people in the bar who cleaqrly didnt do there homework before booking and expected an 18-30 style holiday! No consideration for the rest of the guests staying. Most people who travel to this accomodation are looking for a peaceful haven away from the bustle of Kos town - this is a fact having spoken to many of the guests staying whilst I was their, however you will not get this until the rather 'dim' owners wake up and realise that the apartments are great but that level of noise is not acceptable.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Loladog_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2010

Aristo Appartments, Psalidi, Kos

1 Adult, 2 children (14yrs, 10yrs - boys)

Booked through First Choice, Chester. Holiday operator: Olympic Holidays. Duration: 7 days, Arrival: Wed @15.30

The Resort

Apartment
We were in apartment no. 46 with a balcony overlooking the pool and a view of the Med (with Turkey in the distance). 1 bedroom (slept 2), 1 sitting room (2 sofa beds), a kitchen and a bathroom. There were towels. A fan was provided - there is no central heating. It was generally clean, being cleaned every other day. Hot water supply was sporadic. Kitchen utensils, cups and glasses were cheap and basic. No cleaning equipment provided. The bedroom and the sitting room both had patio doors leading onto the balcony.

Swimming Pool
Clean, smallish, cold. There is a separate area for smaller children to splash in. The only problem were the 'overnight reservation' towels on the sun loungers, this was even after the rep 'advising' us not to do it. What I thought was good though that on one day, the cleaners cleaned the surrounding pool area with water from a hose pipe and so had to put the towels to one side.

Other Facilities
There is a small mini supermarket down the drive and left - 10min walk (500m)- with all your basic essentials. After the first day we went to the mini supermarket in Kos town (facing the waterfront), being slightly cheaper and bigger. Table tennis: the bats are in need of repair or replacement - the table is ok though. Tennis court: that was not used as it was €8 per hour and did not look in particularly good condition. Pool table: was ok, however the slate had several small shears causing the ball to take off if hit hard or to deflect if hit soft. Internet access: €1 per half hour. Snack Bar: basic and simple, prices are comparable to what's in town but the quality was not as high. There was a small kids play area: next to the pool - basic.

Transport
20 minute bus drive to Kos Town on the No 1 (or No 5 bus). Buses are very regular not waiting more than 15 mins for one with stop at the bottom of the drive. Buses run from around 5am to after midnight. Cost not more than €3 for the 3 of us to Kos Town. Most of the time the buses became very full but you usually get a seat as passengers board en route.

Car Hire
The rep quoted €68 for the cheapest car, any slight damage and you would have to pay the first €600, you can pay an additional small supplement to reduce the waiver to €300. Other local car hire companies charged €45 for their cheapest car and there was also the €300 waiver for damage. You need to enquire if the contract is in English also with the local firms. I'm not sure why the Rep tried to persuade us to book with them other than you are hiring through a 'reputable' organisation who would resolve any 'difficulties' you may face. How they would do that I'm not sure but I was not prepared to risk being (scammed) out of pocket of €300 and ruin the rest of the holiday (with a possible dispute).

Kos Town
A pleasant town, plenty of restaurants serving Greek and English food. There does not appear to be any individuality with the restaurants, serving pretty much the same stuff in the town centre. Meals were fetching between €25-30 (inc drinks). Try the crepes: €4-6, Milkshakes: €4-6, Cocktails: €6-7. Even though there are plenty of German, Dutch and Polish tourists, the island caters for the English tourist. Walking around town or by the waterfront you will be enticed onto a boat, bar, restaurant or nightclubs. Banks don't open on the weekend, so make sure you have enough money (they open at 8am). Sites to see: Castle (about €7 for the 3 of us), Hippocrates tree, archeological ruins.

Excursions
Visit to Bodrum
Tickets from Blue Star Agent (not the rep). €15 adult, €10 14yr old, €7 for 10year old. We left at 10am, on arrival we went on the guided tour seeing some sights ending up at a gold jewelry manufacturer and shop which lasted 1hr 30mins. We then wandered round Bodrum. We had a meal in a quaint part and then picked up some souvenirs. We headed back to the boat for 16.45. It was an enjoyable day out. See: http://www.danae.gr/ferries-Greece.asp

Lido Waterpark: Cost €17 adult, €13 child (independent); the rep's quote was more expensive. We bought the tickets from Blue Star agency in Kos Town. There are designated bus pickup points. You will need to check where they are. The rep warned that it be better to buy from them as tickets were limited - the park was not full. About 30min trip. We arrived at 11.30. Food was expensive, service fair, food was ok, cleanliness was ok (you are not allowed to take your own food). There were plenty of assistants ensuring safety at all times. Since it was not crowded we were able to do most runs a number of times. After about 3 hours you had done them all. Unfortunately the Wave Pool was out of action. By 4.15 we were ready to go. An announcement was made to tell you your bus was ready. You felt that they could have done more to the waterpark. It was a good day out all the same. See: http://www.lidowaterpark.com

3-island Trip
Cost €40 for the 3 of us (not via the rep). Prices do not vary that much with any of the boats (except the scuba diving one) - they do all the same route more or less. Left on 10am. The boat was almost full. We went to the island of Pserimos to Nisida for a swim and BBQ. Then after 1hr 30min off to Kalymnos, a small sea side town where you could get authentic sponges from €3 - €12, most at €6. On our return we stopped off at Plati Nisida for some snorkeling for 1hr. We did not return till 17:30. Overall, it was an enjoyable experience with plenty of photo opportunities, and getting to know some of the others on board.

Evenings
Quite or noise depending on your interpretation and where your apartment was. There was no real evening entertainment (as such) put on by the owners or the Holiday reps except for Karioke one night. A TV showed Premier League football or other sports, music was then played until from 2200hrs to around 1am. Plenty of mozzies to keep you company!

Flights
With Monarch, nothing exceptional other than the complimentary meals. There was in-flight entertainment (don't forget your headphones). I'm not quite sure what those who paid for meals, when booking the holiday, did.

Summary
For us it was most enjoyable holiday and an experience my boys will not forget for a fair time to come. We had 6 days of cloudless skies but it rained on the 7th. Both boys were able to make friends. You get what you pay for and it was reasonable, not busy (and not really that noisy), close to Kos. There was a certain gentle pace to the resort. Nor was it too big to get over awed by the fuss of a big resort. I chose the apartment for the cost and location. The location gave me various options for activities. I would liked to have visited Zia or hired a bike. Using a hire bike would make it easier to gate crash the other local resorts: Sun Palace or Kipriotis (where they have a ship in the swimming pool - check out the pictures in google maps). There is no reason why I wouldn't come here again.

I hope that this has been informative.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Jools1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2010

We have just come back from Aristo Hotel Kos. Was disapointed with the room as it was very small with a row of single beds and very basic kitchen facilities. The shower wasnt working but they did repair it after 2 days. We didnt have a light in the bathroom all the time we were there which we did tell them about but didnt do anything. Our room was on the ground floor with the only view being a hedge. The only advantage we had by being in the room we were in was that we didnt hear all the late night revelry experienced by othe guests. The hotel is run by a few young men and apparently they have parties in the bar area and pool area untill the early hours of the morning. But as I said we did not experience that problem.
That was all the bad points. Now here are some good points. The pool area is lovely and clean and there is a paddling pool for very young children. It is very quiet and peacefull. The bar area is nice and very clean and they have a greek night on a Tuesday which was great. The bus service is very good and they pick you up at the botom of the road. Basically we had a good time for the money and the weather was brilliant.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikekington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Psalidi hotels
0.0 mi away
Michelangelo Resort and Spa
0.0 mi away
Platanista Hotel
Platanista Hotel
#1 of 19 in Psalidi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kipriotis Aqualand
Kipriotis Aqualand
#5 of 19 in Psalidi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mitsis Ramira Beach Hotel
0.0 mi away
Kipriotis Village Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aristo Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aristo Apartments

Property: Aristo Apartments
Address: Psalidi, Psalidi 853 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Psalidi
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Psalidi
Hotel Class:3 star — Aristo Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Aristo Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aristo Apartments Hotel Psalidi
Aristo Apartments Kos/Psalidi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing