We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Break, But certainly not 4 star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SENTIDO Louis Plagos Beach
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tragaki
Certificate of Excellence
Sutton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good Break, But certainly not 4 star”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

First Impressions of the hotel were good, we arrived late afternoon checked in and went straight into the restaurant whilst our bags were taken to our room. We stayed for 7 nights over our 20th Anniversary and just wanted a nice chilled relaxing break.
Our room was clean and tidy there was no musty smell like you can get it some hotels, however it was very dated and tired, furniture was very old, safe in the room was operated with a key rather than the new digital safes. Beds were a little hard too, when we turned on the air conditioning, all sorts was spat out of the machine and very noisy, rooms are in serious need of being updated. We had paid extra for a sea view and this was worth every penny, the view was absolutely lovely. We had requested a quiet area of the hotel with a good view and this is exactly what we got.
Restaurant area was clean and tidy and staff were very helpful. However having stayed in many all inclusive hotels I found this hotel to be the most repetitive with their food, although the desserts were lovely. On our last night we had kleftiko in the restaurant and the food was only luke warm, the following morning I had a severe upset tummy, great when your travelling home! when we arrived home my hubby also had an upset tummy, this lasted for several days for both of us.
Entertainment was rubbish, we ended up having our meal later in the evening then a few drinks in the bar and back to our room. Really was very poor and I think the hotel need to consider getting some professional acts in several times per week.
Hotel is in a good location, there are a couple of local taverna's and a shop close up, Tsilivi is close but I would not try walking it, either bus or taxi. We got a bus into Zante town which was easy to do and very inexpensive. We also did the smugglers cove trip with Thomsons, the 2 reps on this trip were absolutely fantastic, I learnt more about Zante in this 1/2 day trip than I have in my 2 holidays to Zante! Well worth the money.
On our anniversary we did have a lovely chocolate cake and sparkling wine delivered to our room which was a nice gesture.
The best thing about this hotel are the staff, they are really friendly and really work hard with some very long hours being worked.
Overall we wanted a nice relaxing break which is what we got. However this hotel is not a 4 star hotel at best its a 3 star. However the hotel are doing something right as there are many return guests here. Would we return, this is unlikely but perhaps next time we would try a Louis premium hotel.

Room Tip: Seaview rooms have a fantastic view, however be aware there are lots of steps to these rooms and are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tinkerballs41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at SENTIDO Louis Plagos Beach, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your valuable feedback about a recent holiday at the Louis Plagos Beach.

It is a pleasure to hear that you had a nice relaxing break in our beautiful, clean and tidy hotel. We are also glad that you found our staff very efficient and friendly and that you deeply enjoyed our great location with our wonderful sea view room.
We feel sorry that some of our standards did not meet your expectations, and rest assured that we will look into your comments for immediate improvement where possible. We especially find your comment about our food hygiene surprising as we haven't had any similar reports recently.

We are glad to know that despite your disappointment you would still grace Louis Hotels with a future visit. We suggest you try one of our premium hotels like the King Jason in Paphos, Louis Zante in Zakynthos or the Louis Grand in Corfu.

Best regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

979 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    575
    314
    61
    19
    10
See reviews for
382
470
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

My first time in Greece, such a fantastic hotel and all the staff are so helpful and friendly. No complaints what so ever.. Located in the perfect place, great facilities and Zante is beautiful and the beaches and surroundings are breathtaking. Would recommend to families and friends. The entertainment is first class, entertainment one very night for children and the adults. Big variety is good, great choices for kids and adults. The hotel caters excellently for children and adults.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SabahSameena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at SENTIDO Louis Plagos Beach, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Let us thank you for writing this short and nice review about your stay at the Louis Plagos Beach.

It is delightful to know that you had such a fantastic holiday in our beautiful property and that you have been impressed by the high standard of our services and cuisine. We are also extremely pleased to read that our entertainment team has played an important part in making your vacation memorable.

We thank you for your kind apreciation and hope to welcome you back at the Louis Plagos Beach soon.

Yours truly,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Excellent sea views and good for snorkelling. Very helpfull and friendly staff. A very big thankyou to Takis who spoke to the chef in the restaurant everyday for me to make sure I did not eat anything containing alchohol as I'm alergic to it. I can't rate this highly enough

Room Tip: We had a room with a sea view, some have garden views. All have a private veranda and double glazing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anita D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at SENTIDO Louis Plagos Beach, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for writing this short and nice review concerning your stay at the Louis Plagos Beach.

It is a delight to hear that you had an excellent vacation and that you deeply appreciate the stunning sea view as much as our very attentive and friendly staff, all of which played an important role in your holiday at the Louis Plagos Beach.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kindest regards,

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
678 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

When we said we were gong to Zante, everyone said, but that' s party land for youngsters. Well, it may well be in certain parts, but not in The Louis Plagos. A nice hotel, not a 4 star, but a good 3 star plus. Some of the rooms could do with an upgrade, although, they are clean and perfectly adequate. The staff are definately 5 star. Although another contributor said it was unfair to highlight some as all were excellent, I have to mention those that gave us exceptional service, and were genuinely interested in us thoroughly enjoying our time there; Ellnani on reception, could not have been more helpful. Takis in the dining room, made us really welcome at every meal. Lefteris and Alexandre on the main bar, brilliant at knowing who should be next to be served and maintaining a really great atmosphere.
The food is what you would expect from an all inclusive resort, good selection at breakfast, although the bacon was more like a cooked ham. Lunch and dinner were very simillar most days, with some differences, but edible and reasonable.
The location is lovely, with a grassed area leading down to a walkway into the sea. There is also a small beach, which you can walk to from the hotel, literally 5 minutes away. As other contributors have said, it is difficult to walk anywhere, due to the roads and distance, but we knew that when we booked, although sometimes a short walk works off the food!
The entertainment is nto geared to their audience, I understand it is very difficult to please all, and maybe they should re think their options or style.
They have a great area beside the pool bar (sunbathing terrace), which they could use as an A La Carte dinner location, which would give another food option, which I think guests would appreiciate for a premium.
All in all a very pleasant stay, greatly enhanced by the fantastic team of people who make your stay special.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SagaloutsTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at SENTIDO Louis Plagos Beach, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Louis Plagos Beach as your holiday destination and for sharing your experience with the online community.

We are more than pleased to see that you had a most enjoyable and relaxing vacation at our lovely property and that the service you received enchanted your stay. It is also a great pleasure to know that you appreciated the hard work of our friendly and attentive staff.
Nonetheless we are sorry to hear that yo think our hotel is more a 3 stars plus than a four stars, but we thank you for your observations that we duly note for future improvements.

We hope to welcome you again at any of our Louis Hotels very soon.

Yours sincerely,

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

I have to say that I've been very disappointed about this "4*" hotel. Our "double" bed was made by two single and in the morning we wake up with a gap between us. The mattress was hard and you could feel every spring. We asked for our room to be changed and they said that all the rooms have the same "double" beds apart of the family rooms where we've been moved on the fifth day and every morning was very noisy because of the kids and the cleaning ladies.
The TV was antic which had few channels which you couldn't watch properly. The hair dryer was antic and useless as well.
The room was very far of the restaurant. We had to walk like 5 mins and to go up and down the stairs.
The food was tasteless and they were re-using every left overs. I'm wondering if the chief ever taste his food?! The breakfast was the same every morning with the same cheap bacon and the same sausages which they taste like cupboard. The snacks were poor. If you want a fresh orange juice you had to pay €3.00 extra even if you paid for All Inclusive. We were expecting more fish meals as we were next to the sea but mostly it was pork and pasta dishes. Every meal had low quality ingredients.
All the desserts were leaving only margarina taste in your mouth.
For drinks you had lots of choices and fruits as well.
About entertainment: the sound system it was so bad and loud. For the kids was the same 10 songs every night which would get stuck in your brain. For adults was very boring like guessing the songs.
The only good night was Saturday when it was a Greek night the entertainment team was lovely and the food good as well.
They provide darts only in the morning, tennis table all day but if you want to play billiard you had to pay €5 extra even if you paid for all inclusive services.
The hotel doesn't have any beach even if is next to the sea.
I would not recommend this hotel for young couples because is full of kids and elder people.
We would not come back to this hotel and we would not recommend it to anyone.
I don't understand how is a "4 star" hotel when in reality is hardly 2 stars.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Alexandra V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at SENTIDO Louis Plagos Beach, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at the Louis Plagos Beach.

We are glad to know that you appreciated our Greek night with our delicious special cuisine and the evening show. However, we are really sorry to hear that the rest of your experience did not meet your expectations.

Indeed, you booked a sea view room with a special request for the highest floor and a double bed.
Upon arrival you got a SUPERIOR front sea view (with no extra charge ) on the second floor.
The next day you requested a room change informing us that you are honeymooners (we apologize but your travel agent didn't provide this information to the hotel).
Unfortunately, the front sea view rooms all have twin beds (put together) and only the triple and four bedded rooms have double bed in this room category.
The first room with double bed was available after 5 days and that is when we were able to change your room.

You mentioned some other aspects of your stay which were not to your satisfaction; we want to apologize for not meeting your expectations even though it is surprising that our food gave you such a bad impression. This rarely happens and actually we have scored 87% in a recent survey performed by our Head Office. We assure you that all our food is cooked fresh and that our chef is very hands on.

We are certain that despite your negative experience at our hotel, Louis Hotels has many other properties which would enchant you during a future visit. Examples include the Royal Apollonia or the King Jason, both in Cyprus, and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you there soon.

Sincerest regards,

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertclarke58
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Arrived midday and took about 40 mins to transfer, so not too bad .A welcome drink which is always nice. Taken streight to our room which was a veiw of the sea. The room was ok clean and airer with a balconey . The pool is not a playing pool but more for swimmimg due to the depth. The pool and the area around it was always clean. I have to say I was quite impressed with the food choices, breakfast, lunch and eveninng meals especialily. I liked the idea of beer on tap and not having to wait it could get busy in the summer. The restaurant was clean, bright and fresh, no flys . A very family orientated hotel but there was a good mixture of all age ranges. Not a lot around the hotel and a very small beach area. However, we were told it was a 20 minute walk to the town. But this was along a very bending hilly road without any paths so we got a taxi costing 7 Euros.which took about 5 minutes. All in all a good hotel and a nice place to visit.

Room Tip: get a sea veiw
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robertclarke58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at SENTIDO Louis Plagos Beach, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for staying at the Louis Plagos and for writing a review about your experience.

It is wonderful to know that you deeply appreciated our exceptional bar service and the variety of our drinks as well as our delicious cuisine and the cleanliness of our hotel premises.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you as a guest again at the Louis Plagos.

Kind regards,

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This was how second time to this great hotel the hotel was spotless and all the staff was fantastic .it would not be fair to mention them individually as all of them was excellent the pool area was clean and tidy the food was excellent as usual with loads of choice and the bar drinks were very good too. the only negative was the evening entertainment was not very good and also they have moved it to the bar erea on the decking so you had to sit through the kids mini disco at night even though you had no kids as this was the only place to sit of a night to have a drink last year this was down by the grass area where they had a stage so you could sit by the bar and have a quiet drink .Hope to go back next year to this great hotel

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank EssexJason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at SENTIDO Louis Plagos Beach, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear loyal guest,

On behalf of the Louis Plagos we thank you for choosing to spend your holiday at our hotel and for writing this nice review.

It is a great pleasure to know that the quality of our services and our efficient staff along with the amazing location did not fail to impress you again. Nonetheless, we are sorry that you have been a little disapointed by the location of the evenning entertainment, but we have duly note your remarks for future consideration.

It would be an honor to have you as guest again at the Louis Plagos.

Best regards,

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tragaki
9.2 mi away
Mabely Grand Hotel
Mabely Grand Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kampi
663 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lesante Blu Exclusive Beach Resort
6.6 mi away
Venus Hotel & Suites
Venus Hotel & Suites
#1 of 30 in Kalamaki
1,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Louis Zante Beach
Louis Zante Beach
#1 of 73 in Laganas
1,626 reviews
5.9 mi away
Xenos Kamara Beach
Xenos Kamara Beach
#6 of 27 in Argassi
253 reviews
2.0 mi away
Balcony Hotel
Balcony Hotel
#2 of 51 in Tsilivi
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SENTIDO Louis Plagos Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENTIDO Louis Plagos Beach

Property: SENTIDO Louis Plagos Beach
Address: Amboula Beach, Tragaki 29100, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Tragaki
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tragaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — SENTIDO Louis Plagos Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SENTIDO Louis Plagos Beach, around 150m from the gentle-sloping, sandy and pebbly beach of Ampoula (Zakynthos - Greece). We are happy to announce that this hotel will be franchised by SENTIDO Hotels and Resorts as from Summer 2015 following a series of renovations which will take place in winter 14/15. The renovations will include: 1) Full renovation of all 48 front sea view superior rooms 2) Refurbishment of all other hotel rooms by changing bed covers, curtains, balcony furniture, adding flat screen TV, glass partition in bathrooms and by replacing the room and balcony floors 3) brand new spa & gym 4) addition of 2 new adult Infinity pools & transformation of our existing pool to a large kids' pool with water features and to a separate swimming section. 5) upgrading of the hotel's snack bar by the pool to a themed restaurant (Greek Taverna) with show cooking offered as extra choice by reservation to clients on All Inclusive without extra charge 6) new open air Blue Bar 7) refurbishment of hotel lobby ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your SENTIDO Louis Plagos Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Hotel Plagos Beach
Iberostar Hotel Tragaki
Iberostar Plagos Beach
SENTIDO Louis Plagos Beach Zakynthos/Tragaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing