We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel E Velasco
Nearby Hotels
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$83
HotelsClick
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$182
Elvoline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Club Karey(Varadero)
US$67
HotelsClick
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$174
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$84
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (217)
Filter reviews
217 results
Traveller rating
97
74
29
11
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
97
74
29
11
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeautiful hotellobby barthe main squarela libertadhotel managerwifi cardbeautiful architecturecomplimentary cocktailincredible staffchange moneyporktwo nightsair conditioningday tripsoupparquecuba
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
93 - 98 of 217 reviews
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Excellent hotel with a very professional staff, food is excellent, with everyone very attentive.
The suites are large with 2 rooms, overlooking a busy square. You will have a true "Cuban" experience as this is really a town that represents Cuba. There are now many merchants in the vicinty.

Room Tip: Rooms on the interior are quieter
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2011

This recently-refurbished hotel was lovely. Don't understand why they didn't put in an elevator -- so be prepared for stairs. Hotel is located across from the main square.
The bartender was great -- concocted beautiful cocktails. We ate dinner as a group. The food and service were good. Traffic is a problem, trucks and buses run right past the lobby, which opens onto the street.

Room Tip: Range from suites to very small rooms, but nice patio/deck at rear.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BarbDavis_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

Excellent small hotel a relic of the city of Matanzas. I visited this hotel often as a child back in the 1950's and now came back 3 times in the past year. The food is excellent and the most important part is the friendly profesional staff. The chef can make miracles for your table and the bartender an expert. Very comfortable and spotless across the beautiful Liberty Park. The perfect place to stay.
Will go back next April
Regards
Alejandro Lopez

Room Tip: There are 3 front suites with lots of confortable space
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alejandro L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

My wife and I normally stay at an all-inclusive hotel on the beach, but we love to visit the neighboring towns for a change of pace, and a more authentic experience. This January we were in downtown Matanzas at the central square and we saw that this hotel had just re-opened. Imagine our surprise to find the new hotel manager was our own Ibia from the Tuxpan hotel. She quite graciously gave the grand tour to our entire party. What a beautiful hotel! The lobby is just stunning. Some of the rooms overlook the central square. There is a nice patio on the upper floors. The dining hall has a ceiling about three stories high.

Unfortunately we could not stay for dinner, but we took the opportunity to take cocktails at the lobby bar, and were served the best Mojitos ever by our old friend José, again from the Tuxpan. Delicioso!

After, we visited the world-famous Museo Farmacéutico just around the corner. If you find yourself in downtown Matanzas, do not miss these two experiences.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Cuba is pretty hit or miss on both hotels and restaurants but Velasco was faultless on both counts as well as being friendly. Even if only passing through Matanzas (most of which is pretty run down), I would recommend dining here for a rare experience of the culinary finery you would normally only find in the touristy resorts in Cuba's south.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LaurenBV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews