We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice quiet place, despite the restaurant & food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Blue Orchid Resort
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Moalboal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2014

The hotel has only few rooms scattered next to the ocean. There is not much to do other than snorkeling, diving or relaxing... which is a good thing. Small sandy area on the shore acts as a beach. Within a short walk (or swim) on the ocean there is an excellent reef for snorkeling. The rooms are basic and clean and most have good seaview. The staff could have a bit more attention to details though. Sun chairs and beds were dirty and not taken care of. Also the surroundings could use a little more upkeeping. The staff was very nice and helpful.

Only major issue we had with the hotel was that the restaurant was very overpriced especially considering the average quality of the food and drinks. The nearby Club Serena Resort has by far better food quality and selection for about half the price. It's strange that a high end hotel has cheaper food and drinks than a small place like Blue Orchid.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoonasG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (446)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

252 - 258 of 446 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

Luxury holiday! We spent 2 weeks here and it couldn't have been better. The diving and snorkelling just offshore was world class and they have their own professional dive shop. The resort fits in beautifully with its picturesque surroundings and each room has a brilliant seafront view. The kitchen serves a variety of delicious food and cocktails! We made so many friends here, a home away from home and we can't wait to go back. We have traveled to a lot of places in Asia and the Phillipines, but the Blue Orchid stands out above them all. There are a lot of trips organised from the resort. We particularly enjoyed swimming with whale sharks and canyoning! Thank you! Counting the days until we are back next year!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deanhallworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I enjoyed my stay with the resort in general: nice rooms and beautiful settings - the manager, Melissa, was sweet and helpful.
We chose to stay with the resort because the neighboring Club Serena was fully booked (it takes 10-15 min to walk from Blue Orchid on the hard rock during low tide). We went to Moalboal for scuba diving and free diving, and booked with Club Serena's in-house dive shop. Their price is much more competitive than Blue Orchid's.
We were disappointed with the restaurant:the staff could not even taken our orders properly. We had to repeat and remind them several times! And the food also came very slow. ( We actually ate a lot in Club Serena: they had a much bigger menu and better service).

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zhen z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Excellent location by the coast, very friendly staff, good food, excellent diving very close to the resort. Plan a little bit of time to reach the resort from the airport (2-3hours). Lovely lookouts by the sea. Don't miss the swimming whale sharks!

Room Tip: The honeymoon suite has a really nice terrace! Excellent to enjoy the lovely sunsets in huge Philipp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

The place is perched on top of a rock formation which gives you a very nice view of sunset. There is really no sandy beach in front of the resort, you have to walk around 200 meters to get to the beach. The good thing is that you can snorkel in front of the resort and see colorful fish and different coral formations. The food is very delicious, the kilawin (must be order a day in advance) is a must. A downside is that the kitchen is only open from 8am to 8pm, hence breakfast is a bit late if you eat there. The pool is warm at night which is very good for relaxing. The staff is very friendly and can accommodate almost all of your requests.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Turista_academia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

this is a little piece of heaven that has a small gate that connects to Hale Manna and a few minute walk would get you to the white sandy beaches of Basdaku. Melissa, the manager, was very friendly. the place is so quiet, beautiful and romantic. i never thought the view from our room would be so fantastic...the room was very spacious and pretty. beds and cabinet doors were squeaky though, but overall, the experience was heavenly!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GingGing_Saging
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

My family (adult children +parent) loved every aspect of this resort. The staff were friendly and obliging, the manager (Melissa) was a perfect combination of relaxed and charming host and amazing organiser of any activity or other request we had. The gardens are beautiful, the outlook stunning! It is set located out of the main part of Moalboal but this is ideal.The beach (just off the resort) is beautiful, the snorkelling/diving there is easily accessible. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable, the food is fantastic (easily the best we ate on our holiday) We organised for several activities through the resort which were also fabulous. It is also the perfect size to allow guests to socialise with each other. Am planning a return as soon as possible!

Room Tip: Anywhere is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teacherSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moalboal
105.2 mi away
Tepanee Beach Resort
Tepanee Beach Resort
#1 of 13 in Malapascua Island
547 reviews
43.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 91 in Cebu City
3,376 reviews
47.8 mi away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#9 of 43 in Mactan Island
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
43.2 mi away
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu
#2 of 91 in Cebu City
1,293 reviews
3.3 mi away
Marcosas Cottages Resort
3.1 mi away
Savedra Beach Resort
Savedra Beach Resort
#6 of 7 in Moalboal
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blue Orchid Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blue Orchid Resort

Address: White Beach, Moalboal, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Moalboal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Moalboal
Price Range: £52 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Blue Orchid Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beautiful, private, seaside resort accommodation is tucked away in a secluded corner of Mac Payong, just 30 meters from the 2km White Beach. Just a short drive away from Moalboal and Panagsama, it offers a quiet, idyllic setting for your holiday. The location couldn't get any better for diving as one of the best reefs in the area is directly in front of your ocean view room. The reef is perfect for beginner divers, and also for snorkelers. However the step walls make an exhilarating dive for seasoned advanced divers. The resort's architecture is a blend of Mediterranean and native styles incorporating local stone and thatched roof with white arches and Spanish tiles. Each room has either a large arched doorway or huge glass sliding doors to provide guests with amazing ocean views. Fall asleep after a hard day's dive to the sound of gentle waves and the wind gently blowing through the yucca trees. Office hours: 8am to 8pm Email to arrange airport pickup with a minimum of 24 hour notice. Check -ins are to be arranged in advance if past or before normal office hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Blue Orchid Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blue Orchid Hotel Moalboal
The Blue Orchid Resort Moalboal, Philippines - Cebu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing