We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The right place for backpackers in Moalboal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Moalboal Backpacker Lodge
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The right place for backpackers in Moalboal”
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

This is the place tp stay for backpackers, it has cheap rooms (the dorms are one big room with some fans, not quite enough for escaping the heat...), a good location- a walking distance to most of the dive shops, friendly helpful staff, and a nice balcony to relax. I enjoyed it.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eyal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    51
    21
    6
    12
See reviews for
3
30
58
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vinstra, Norway
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2014

This hostel is the best hostel I have ever stayed at. It's a great place with wonderful people. The staff is always there to help and take care of the guests. I have been here several times and I'm planning to go back there soon. I miss the atmosphere and the receptionist, Analou, who makes the best BBQ's you have ever tasted. Not far from the hostel, there is a bar called Chili Bar where you can play pool and drink San Miguel. Panagsama Beach is mostly known for diving, but I don't dive and still didn't want to leave. I have the Panagsama virus and I probably always will have.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anonymous A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Having the rooms booked in advance, we were delighted to have checked-in really fast. We never waited in line nor never had to look for other accomodations in the area. You really get what you pay for. The rooms are cozy and warm, and the amenities are excellent. However, there is a certain negative vibe around the general area of Moalboal, especially to people coming from Manila (Tagalogs). They seemed to talk behind our backs and we somewhat felt a little queasy walking around. Anyway, many locals still had neutralised this and made our stay pleasantly acceptable.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jay Louise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grenoble, Rhone-Alpes, France
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I stayed here for 4 nights while diving. This place is great but bear in mind this is a Bag packer's place. The dorms are OK, I had no chance to get a good sleep as the whole area is very noisy. It's kept quite clean and the Staff is great, friendly and helpful.
If you're looking for a cheap place to sleep, this is for you!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Soumeya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We stayed here for 4 or 5 nights in dec. Through our travels. Location was perfect, amazing snorkeling across the road- . You can also dive right there too. We snorkeled everyday and always saw something new. Not the best location to just swim as its all coral pretty much from the beach out. However extremely close to another beach which is a bit nicer for swimming and laying on the beach. Close to lots of restaurants. Found everything in the area activity was a little more expensive compared to other places through our travels. Lodge was great- got to meet lots of nice people and the hammocks made for an awesome place to relax in the afternoon, Owner was super nice and let us wash/ and dry our snorkeling stuff in the back and kept it safe over night.
The memorial Experience came with our room- we had booked the private room which is attached to the dorm and was greeted every evening by our friend the mouse. First time nearly gave us a heart attack as we were just about to turn off the lights and go to bed when a mouse ran down the wall right beside my bf head - luckily there a bug net over the bed. He joined us every night afterwards- the last nice there was a little mouse vs cockroach battle on the wall beside our bed and on our bug net- needless to say I couldnt sleep the rest of the night. The walls and roof dont close - better circulation. Just remember you are staying at a backpackers lodge and not a hilton five star resort. I would prob stay there again. As the staff were great! and the price is affordable.

Room Tip: The dorm may be a bit loud- as it is just in the upper portion of the building and the common area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kla030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Ive checked on internet some hours before arriving and that was really a good choice for me I met a lot of beautiful people, the owner is a german married with a philipina, the dorms are ok and the price too, its just near the seashore of panagsama beach, when ill come back i will for sure came here, kisses

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamJoeJam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

It's good value for money and is most likely the absolute cheapest accommodation you can find in Panagsama Beach area. Dorm beds are about 275 pesos/night. Can be a bit noisy at nights due to the balcony hangout area and bars trying to drum up business. Mostly clean, showers tend to flood though. Very central location.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank 39f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moalboal hotels
0.0 mi away
Savedra Beach Resort
Savedra Beach Resort
#5 of 6 in Moalboal
80 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marcosas Cottages Resort
0.3 mi away
Quo Vadis Dive Resort
Quo Vadis Dive Resort
#1 of 24 in Moalboal
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Moalboal Beach Resort
Moalboal Beach Resort
#12 of 24 in Moalboal
118 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sisters Inn
Hotel Sisters Inn
#11 of 24 in Moalboal
36 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tipolo Beach Resort
Tipolo Beach Resort
#5 of 24 in Moalboal
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moalboal Backpacker Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moalboal Backpacker Lodge

Property: Moalboal Backpacker Lodge
Address: Panagsama Beach, Moalboal, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Moalboal
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Moalboal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're a new hostel for budget traveler they looking for a simple, friendly and clean guesthouse. Our facility is a mix dormitory, 1 single room and 1 family room all with fan and shared bathroom. Our price list started by PHP 199 for the budget rate 1n/p in the mix dorm. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Moalboal Backpacker Lodge Philippines - Cebu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing