We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice sea resort, especially for fans of snorkling!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quo Vadis Dive Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Quo Vadis Dive Resort
Ranked #1 of 22 Moalboal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mechelen, Antwerpen, Belgium
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice sea resort, especially for fans of snorkling!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

I stayed in a bungalow, it was very good, with all the modern comforts.It was the best (budget) hotel that I stayed in Philippines!The beach is nice but you can't enter the sea barefoot because there are corals and sharp stones that hurt you.Don't try to swim in the morning, the water is really shallow because of the tide.You'de better wait the afternoon or go to the "white sand beach".The swimming pool is relaxing and the food in the restaurant good.Negative: there are many ants on the restaurant's tables, maybe because the staff don't clean them properly!
I was really satisfied with the service (room cleaning and fresh towels every day) and the causyness of the room.

Room Tip: choose a bungalow with view to the pool, like me, you won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stavros P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    114
    36
    12
    3
See reviews for
41
138
69
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vilnius
Level Contributor
194 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

Good value for money. Our standart garden view room (No 4) had a nice terrace with the furniture. View to the green garden - relaxing.
The room is big. We had no A/C, but there were 2 ventilators, so no problem.
Complimentary water in the room - thank you. Free safe box in the room.
The only thing we didn't like - chicken farm behind our cottage? Roosters can start "kukurukuuuu" at 11 pm, 3 am, 5 am - anytime :) My earplugs couldn't help me. Well, it is funny now, when I am remembering, but during the night time they made me a little bit nervous.
Breakfast is rich. You can choose from a list, what kind of breakfast you like. For example, omlete with bacon, toasted bread, jam, butter, banana, coffe, juice.
Hotel staff is nice.
If you choose to dine at the hotel, prices are not high. Pasta, pizza or chicken - about 3 - 4 euro (200 php). :)
There is a motorbike rental next to the hotel. For one day 300 - 400 php.

The most important thing there - diving and snorkeling. There is realy beautiful coral reef and fish in front of hotel (the sea).
There is now sandy beach. You walk down the cement stairs and get into the water. But it's ok, because there is a swiming pool with free sunbeds.
Other boats from other places come close to our hotel's beach for diving. That means something, yes?
If you don't have your own mask, hotel has a rental.
Special shoes - 100 php. Mask and pipe 150 php. I think a little bit too much, so if you want to snorkel more than one day, better bring your own equipment :)
In the morning the sea level drops and in the afternoon it comes back to the cost.

If you come from Cebu by local bus (107 php), from Moalboal bus station tricycle costs about 70 php to the hotel.
Moalboal is a small town. You can find many fruit "kiosks", bakeries, bank (money exchange rate better than eanywhere else, but you mus present passport).
Kawasan falls just 18 km away (15 - 20 minutes) with a motorbike.

I would come here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SigitaVilnius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bacoor, Cavite, Philippines
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

My wife and I got a room fronting the beach, it was room number 1 ... the a/c was a little bit small for the room but still ok, the comfort room was clogged though the staff were fast to fix the problem..the food was so-so, less the big black mosquitoes the accommodation was fair.
what made quo vadis very good was the dive master dodo and the dive instructor albert (both padi) their skills are excellent, specially the navigation skills and the ability to spot micro and macro species. I wont stay in other resort in moalboal except quo vadis.

Room Tip: choose beach front always.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Del R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

We enjoyed our stay in Quo Vadis. It is a mid range "resort" in a backpacker town and offers decent facilities for the £25 per night we paid.
A big plus is the large pool with plenty of loungers and a sea view. There is also a pool bar but we never saw it in operation during our stay. Main bar by sea was however open. Rooms are great; large and clean with hot showers. Views from the majority of the cottages are however of the road through the hotel or dive centre, but then they are not advertised as "sea views" so that's fine; it just makes the pleasant cottage balconies a bit redundant!
Location is good; at the end of village and near nice restaurants. Slightly more upmarket than centre of town but still relaxed and backpacker-esque.
There is a restaurant on site and breakfast is good with eggs or pancakes. However give it a miss for dinner as food is bland compared to Chilis, Maya's or Last Filing Station.
One negative though was that resort had a lot of foot traffic. The road outside it is the hang out for trike drivers and there was a bit of construction work and so lots of people were walking around site. We had no problems, but we were extra cautious to hide valuables in room as the resort was pretty open and reception is at opposite end from the activity.

Finally, the staff were a bit inconsistent; dismissive some days and wonderfully helpful the others. I guess it just depends on the individual. We however found the dive centre staff consistently on point and enjoyed our two days diving here. Equipment is good and there are lots of people to help you with setting up, testing and carrying equipment. However as another review mentioned, groups are usually led by local DMs and the main focus was on safely guiding you, rather than highlighting marine life. As my partner is a DM, we loved that the resort was relaxed and so allowed us both to venture on our own, go down to greater depth and generally explore....More so than other shops on beach. So for experienced divers, the lack of formality is a plus but if you want to know more as to the biodiversity of area, then one of bigger dive shops in town may be better.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HazamM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pemuteran, Indonesia
Level Contributor
146 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

We were there during the low season in Sep, but only the more expensive and spacious superior rooms were available as we wanted AC. They were divided by a road (width of a footpath) used by vehicles. No view whatsoever as they overlook the dive shop. Prices and interior are very much similar to nearby resorts with pools like Marcosas Cottages. The big selling point of this place is the seafront location, especially of its restaurants and chillout areas. And impressively fast wifi.Good value for what you pay for in this aspect.

Now for the diving. Firstly, the diving here is spectacular. However, the onsite dive operation, Visayas Divers, may not be your best bet, though it is the most convenient, of course. At first, we were curious why divers who joined us for a dive were never seen again on our boat, only to appear on other dive operators' boats for subsequent dives, though they were fellow resort guests. The mystery was finally solved when we spoke to them over a drink at the pool. Other than the usual price difference, more importantly, the dive experience was the determining factor. All the dive boats are similar for all the dive operators here as they are all local bancas of similar size, so it's not the hardware.

It's the software. To be fair, the resident DM (the brother of the resort owner) is a responsible, fellow. However, his definition of a dive guide is to ensure your safety. And nothing else. No argument with that, but we are not used to DMs who don't bother to show us critters and other marine life. At all. He'd just hover at a distance, check your gauges, and tell you when bottom time's up. Forget about personalised service as he'd be the only dive guide regardless of the number of divers.

If you wish to snorkel with the whalesharks at Oslob, do yourself a favour and DON'T book with the dive operator. Instead, just book a taxi or van, depending on your group size, and make all the arrangements at Oslob. No hassle at all. You'll pay at most a third of the PHP4200 snorkelling package we paid each (or even less if you opt for the dive package) for exactly the same experience. Ah yes, we ended up only snorkelling once with the whalesharks, though the package was for twice. We didn't quibble as 30 mins was actually enough time with the amazing creatures. Upon hindsight, it was probably our fault for not doing our homework by shopping around first, but we hope no one will fall into the same trap subsequently after reading this. You can read my separate review under Oslob Whaleshark-watching for more details.

In summary, stay here for the good location (seafront, near convenience store, restaurants and cafes) but choose another dive operator if you want to save a few bucks and a DM who shows you stuff.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rusutsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

This place has Big clean rooms right on the beach. The pool is large and clean with a pool bar that will extend its hours if its busy. The restaurant overlooks the water and the service is good. The food is a bit hit and miss which is a shame because the rest of the resort is great. Dive staff are helpful and willing. All in all a great place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gjc0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

We went to Quo Vadis on a recommendation from a friend. First of all Moalboal especially the area where Quo Vadis is located caters more for divers than anything else. Don't expect a white sand beach there but one is located 10-15 minutes by motorbike/trike from Quo Vadis.

The rooms were clean and had AC and the resort is located in the quiet area of Moalboal which is a blessing at night and if you want to go out you only have a 10 minute walk to do. The wifi was really good which is rare in the Philippines and breakfast was included.

Staff was nothing but helpful and friendly.

The diving was sublime and the local staff very good.

Will definitely come back.

Room Tip: Get the rooms with the aircon as it can get warm if there is no breeze
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Superded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moalboal hotels
3.3 mi away
The Blue Orchid Resort
The Blue Orchid Resort
#1 of 6 in Moalboal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marcosas Cottages Resort
1.0 mi away
Sampaguita Resort
Sampaguita Resort
#2 of 6 in Moalboal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Savedra Beach Resort
Savedra Beach Resort
#5 of 6 in Moalboal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
3.0 mi away
Moalboal Beach Resort
Moalboal Beach Resort
#12 of 22 in Moalboal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
1.0 mi away
Turtle Bay Dive Resort
Turtle Bay Dive Resort
#3 of 28 in Moalboal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quo Vadis Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quo Vadis Dive Resort

Property: Quo Vadis Dive Resort
Address: Panagsama Beach, Moalboal 6032, Philippines (Formerly Quo Vadis Beach Resort)
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Moalboal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Moalboal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Quo Vadis Dive Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quo Vadis Dive Resort welcomes divers and non divers. Perfectly located along the shore line and only 3 minutes walk from Panagsama center with bars and restaurants. We are appreciated for our clean and peaceful surroundings, big clean rooms, good food and our 5 star PADI dive center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Quo Vadis Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quo Vadis Beach Hotel Moalboal
Quo Vadis Dive Resort Moalboal, Philippines - Cebu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing