We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A friendly and safe dive resort to stay at in Moalboal...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Asian-Belgian Dive Resort
Reviewed 25 April 2011

We had a wonderful, 2-night stay at this resort and were instantly greeted with welcoming smiles by the friendly staff of Daniel, the Belgian resort diver-owner, as soon as we arrived. They made our short stay really pleasant and memorable. The rooms are spartan but are clean and the grounds are well-maintained. Adela and Manang Tely, gave us superb service and were just wonderful hosts, with warmth radiating through their smiles and greetings. Food was really tasty, albeit a bit pricey for such small portions (maybe it's because they cater mostly to foreign divers), but you wouldn't really mind if being served by such friendly, smiling staff who would engage you in good conversations and treat you with typical Cebuano hospitality, giving you personalized service. The mango jam is a must-try as well as their fried chicken and pork chops with this buttery and garlicky divine-tasting gravy! Daniel, who took us diving in their house reef, was a good and accommodating instructor. Since we are all beginners, he made sure that we know all the basics before he took us out to the sea and agreed to take us deeper as his main concern was our safety. He stayed with my son the whole time who loved him and had a pleasant experience with him in the sea, showing him things that a 9-year old would find amazing. Asian-Belgian has a colorful house reef you would enjoy whether you're diving or snorkeling. My sister was happy with Manong Mario, their Dive Master, who stayed with her the whole time and was very patient in guiding her underwater. The reef is at about 20-30 meters from the shore where you will find live corals and colorful reef fish. Water is crystal clear, with a sandy bottom. We're very happy with this trip and can recommend this resort for divers, adventure seekers, nature and beach lovers who are planning a trip to Moalboal - to dive in the house reef, in Pescador Island or visit Kawasan Falls which was truly a remarkable and one-of-a-kind experience to us.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heynowbeaches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (237)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 237 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2011

Stayed here on our Moalboal leg of a dive tour of Cebu. Was very well taken care of, the diving was fantastic as was the staff. Everything was relaxed and well accomodated. Excellent food, cooked by Stella! I like it how I can order the way I ike my dishes.. Will gladly come back here again.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ng18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2010

Family owned style resort...Daniel gave us a super value package. We're totally enjoy everything...

1) Good for Value
2) Quiet and pleace
3) Helpful staff (everyone...as a family...)
4) Great Chief (especially homemade mango jam)
5) Good owners
6) Excellent dive guide/buddy.....Albert & all boatman !!!!!
Thank you for yours.. we got a wonderful holiday in your resort (2010 X'mas)

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cat820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2010

My girlfriend and I loved this place. The snorkling right in front of the resort was a wonderful. It was so luxurious to be sleeping in front of this beautiful spot. The owner, Dan and wife came diving with us and showed us an amazing time at Pescador Island and various spots there. He has been diving there for years and is very familiar with the area. His dive master was also very professional and friendly. We saw so many fish, corals, sea turtles, and amazing "tornados of sardines" there.

The cook in the restaurant was fantastic. She served us some amazing fried Talapia one night. It was so good I had it at 3 more times before leaving. The belgian fries are a nice snack and the coconut curries are to die for. I think everything we tried there was fantastic. In addition to great food the ambiance was great in this open air restaurant, which was right by the water and relied on the sounds of the ocean to fill the air. This is opposite to many places in the philippines that are dampened by the aural congestion of too many pop songs playing over rooster calls.

The short motorbike ride into town had very little traffic on it so we could easily manage to get around even with little experience on motorbikes. I do recommend you take it slow on the bikes as friendly dogs, goats, etc roam freely there.

The dives are a bargain. If we had time to do an extended course this could definitely be a wonderful place to do so.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gregoryholder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2010

I was there with a friend in Moalboal. We had a very nice stay there int this resort.

Very good cottage, friendly staff and owner, good diving for nice price and very good atmosphere in a quiet environment.

Certainly worth a visit!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tom_adriaens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2010

We stayed two weeks in this great family-style resort and really enjoyed the time. Daniel is very friendly and helps out anytime - he also has some tips on activities around moalboal and is a great dive Instructor.

The staff is amazing and was so nice and helpful - the restaurant has some asian and european dishes and we liked especially: potato salad, Hamburger, Pancit Canton, grilled fish and pineapple/mango shakes and of course the great mango jam in the morning!

This place is right for you if you looking for the following:
- quiet and relaxing resort with a family-feel to it
- a nice reef for snorkelling/diving just in front of the resort
- a place to look for dolphins with the resort's boat
- a place to try diving or take a PADI course or just some dives (Wreck, Pescador Island...)
- nice and simple cottage rooms (fan or aircon)
- a 5minute walk to the nice white beach

We are already considering coming back to the asian-belgian next year ;-)

Thanks to Daniel and the staff!!

Enjoy your stay.
Johannes&Julia

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johannes80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2010

Very recommended for diving . Took the PADI open water diving course in an excellent environment; and in a friendly and relaxed atmosphere, with good food. There is also excellent snorkeling on the house-reef as well.

Stayed: October 2010
1  Thank Lukas1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moalboal hotels
0.9 mi away
The Blue Orchid Resort
The Blue Orchid Resort
#1 of 7 in Moalboal
467 reviews
2.4 mi away
Marcosas Cottages Resort
2.4 mi away
Quo Vadis Dive Resort
Quo Vadis Dive Resort
#1 of 25 in Moalboal
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sea Turtle House Moalboal
Sea Turtle House Moalboal
#17 of 38 in Moalboal
75 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dolphin-House Resort-SPA-Diving
1.6 mi away
Bonita Oasis Beach Resort
Bonita Oasis Beach Resort
#7 of 38 in Moalboal
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asian-Belgian Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asian-Belgian Dive Resort

Address: Saavedra, Moalboal, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Moalboal
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 38 Speciality Lodging in Moalboal
Price Range: £25 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Asian-Belgian Dive Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small dive-resort plus restaurant at the sea front, next to White Beach. Amazing for diving & snorkeling. Kayaks are for free. Just relax, swim, dive, snorkel and enjoy your stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Asian-Belgian Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asian-Belgian Dive Hotel Moalboal
Asian-Belgian Dive Resort Moalboal, Philippines - Cebu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing