We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mayas Native Garden
Nearby Hotels
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$80
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$50
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savedra Beach Resort(Moalboal)(Great Value!)
US$31
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$240
US$191
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
US$17
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (142)
Filter reviews
142 results
Traveller rating
65
49
18
4
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
65
49
18
4
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnative housefan cottageburritopanagsama beachnice cottagesbahay kubonice balconyoverlooking the gardenbars and restaurantstwo nightsrestaurant areacold beermoal boalkawasan fallshot watermayanbungalow
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
67 - 72 of 142 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

I decided to book on this place because of the reviews i read from Tripadvisor. Cottages are made of indegenous materials like bahay-kubo with modern interior. We check-in 2 nights at eco-2 room which is very huge for the 3 of us. On our 3rd night we transfer to fan room since it is already booked with other guest. Their fan room is ideal for 2pax only, a bit hot in the morning especially if its summer season.

Most of their foods is served in large servings and tastes good too, mineral water also unlimited for the guests w/c i think not the same with other resorts there.

Peter the resort owner responds fast on all my queries. Even reserved our room w/o the payment, he's so kind. The staffs, they are all warm and so accomodating. Very attentive to your needs esp Lito a.k.a Ate Lita at night hahaha! Thank you guys for assisting us all the time.

We so loved the ocean..Snorkeling area is just a few meter away from the resort..and i only have one word for their snorkeling spot..Amazing! Can't believe that sea turtles are swimming in their shallow beach so closed that you can almost touch them. The clouds of sardines are just circling around the drop-off area. We see them everyday as we swim. We were so stoked following them in the ocean and did'nt notice that the sun is almost dropping.

The only downside in this place are the mosquitos..they are everywhere because of the greeneries around..so better packed some mosquito repelant if your traveling w/ kids.

If i'll go back to Moalboal i'll still choose Maya. Superb place and staff you have here Peter.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gray1227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Mayas located near the reef where you can snorkel as much as you want. The staff are accommodating and friendly! They even help us out in our itinerary (since we don't have any at all, hahaha!) We love having a good chat with Lita, Rose and Christine while waiting for our ride to take us to Basdako and Kawasan. They even give us advices regarding the price rates (i.e. cab fare, entrance fees..).

We booked the Eco- Aircon Cottage and the room is great. There is no television though, but I am fine with that since there's so much to see around the area. The restaurant setting is cozy. I was just a bit disappointed with the pasta, it was overcooked, but the rest of the food in the menu is great!

The place is perfect to get away from the crazy city life.

Stayed from 17-19 April 2014.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danielle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Super friendly and very accommodating staff! Great mexican and filipino food. Cozy and clean native cottages. Perfect for those who just wants get away from the city life. Very laid back and relax atmosphere!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PoorHungryTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Me and my husband stayed at Mayas for 10 nights at the end of February 2014. The cottages are located just a few minute walk to the small beach, break-wall and local restaurants. We booked the fan cottage, and intended to upgrade to an A/C cottage but loved our hammock so much we stayed in our initial one! (The owner, who was visiting also at the time, said that soon all cottages will have a hammock!) The fan cottage was spacious for the 2 of us, the balcony was very large with 2 benches, a table with 2 chairs and a hammock, and the outdoor sink was great for rinsing off our snorkel gear from sea water. I wish there was an added bench inside or shelf to place our luggage on though. No matter, there was lots of room in the cottage. The bathroom was normal, with all necessary things. I think the fan cottage is in the best place on the lot - there is only one cottage beside it, and it sits back from the restaurant behind the gardens. There is also a nice view of all of the flowers and the gardens from its balcony. The staff was fluent in English and easy to communicate with, and super-friendly. They greeted us by name and remembered our favourite orders from the menu. It was easy to book a driver too, when we wanted to visit Oslob for whale-shark watching, as well as for our trips to and from the airport. A thing to mention: you have to ask to have your room cleaned when you want it. At least that's what we had to do. Oh, one of the staff, Rose (if she is still there), is RMT licensed and offers massages in your cottage - I recommend her. The restaurant is very good, too. I read about it before going there, and couldn't wait to try the different dishes. EVERYTHING we tried was delicious. I highly recommend the burritos, and tzatziki dip. All the dishes were fresh, and filling, yet not too much that you can't go out for a snorkel or dive after lunch :) We were lucky enough to meet the owners and their family while we vacationed there. They were very friendly and had great recommendations. When we left, they gave us a Mayas t-shirt to remember the cottages by! We had a great time in Moalboal at Mayas Native Garden, and it being so close to the reef wall, we got to snorkel 3+ times a day and swim with the sea turtles and anemone fish without even going far. I would definitely recommend Mayas to other couples, dive or snorkel adventurers, and travellers looking for a comfortable and safe place to stay.

Room Tip: In the months before the hot season starts, the fan room is quite adequate to keep cool and it at a great price!
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelGirl_Foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We were there during the Holy week of 2014 and the place was very awesome, relaxing, and quiet (great for travellers like me). When I called Peter and his staff about the booking and reservation they were kind enough to book it for me and had a bank transfer since paypal was not available from my end. When we arrived, we were welcomed by Lita/Lito and the rest of their staff, gave us a welcome drink, help us plan our trip and gave a few advices. Their staff is very polite, they greet us every morning (cant say enough)

Their rooms are also very spacious. It's like you are in your own home to relax at night. Considering the price, you will really get a return of investment. The food is also great! I love this place and will definitely go back soon!

Room Tip: Book at least 3 weeks ahead of time, request for a Fan Cottage at 800 per night. This place is not hot at all so you dont need an aircon.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews