We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AVOID THIS DUMP!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Phetsokxai Hotel Pakbeng
Ranked #7 of 8 Pakbeng B&B and Inns
Boulder Creek
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“AVOID THIS DUMP!”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We booked the Shompoo Cruise (see separate review) two days up the Mekong from Luang Prabang to Housay Xait. We pre-booked and paid for our overnight stay in Pebeng. We were given three options: budget, comfort or luxury. We chose the middle comfort level being told the guest house would be, well, "very comfortable" and would include dinner and breakfast the following morning before we resumed our voyage.

On the boat, the crew had no record of our booking and after several pages to Alex, the tour operator, a page was returned stating that we were booked into the Phetsokxay Hotel. When we arrived, the receptionist was extremely unfriendly from our first hello and said she had no booking for us. I got her to call Alex and he confirmed the booking. When I asked her about the dinner, she said no dinner. I asked her to call Alex back which she did and then replied, "Alex says no dinner"! She threw our key at us and that was that.

The room was a hot pit. I have slept on floors doing village homestays in Myanmar that were more comfortable than that bed. There was a party of about 40-50 Chinese tourists who were very loud well into the evening. About 1:00 am the AC stopped and for the rest of the night emitted a continual high pitched beep. All attempts including cutting and restoring power to the room failed to stop it. No more sleep. In the morning the bathroom light no longer worked so we showered in the dark. Leaving the hotel just past 6:00 am we were given a bag with our breakfast to take to the boat. When we opened it, it had about 8 pieces of wonder bread smashed together and a couple of cold fried eggs which had been made at least the day before.

This hotel is a pit. Do not stay here. We paid $15 X 2 extra for the privilege of this dump! In retrospect, if we had paid another $10 X 2 we could have stayed in the "luxury" hotel. Probably a good idea if you book this cruise.

Whatever your reason for visiting Pakbeng, avoid this place at all costs!

Room Tip: Just stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RedwoodResident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    9
    52
    40
    15
See reviews for
10
51
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Struggled up the hill with our luggage, then climbed stairs to second floor of lodge. Room was small and dark, but clean. Hard bed. Breakfast on the large deck area was not bad, our first introduction to the interminable scrambled eggs and toast breakfasts we would experience in many parts of Laos. No shortage of chickens and eggs! A better location than most of the accommodation in Pakbeng.

Room Tip: Second floor in front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlecToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We didn't choose this hotel, we stayed overnight as part of the Nagi of Mekong tour, and I don't know what the rate would have been if we had, but I expect it would have been above our usual budget range and overall was a bit disappointing. It looks nice from the outside, with the traditional wooden architecture and nice outside seating area where you can watch the other boats arrive, but the rooms were really dark, stuffy and incredibly cold - so we didn't have a very comfortable nights sleep - and the shower wasn't that warm either (and you really need a warm shower here). You can walk to the restaurants in town and the boat landings, though the way back is up a hill. The staff were okay though not particularly welcoming - I expect because they are used to tour groups. This was very average so if you paid over £20 a night I think that would be too much!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level 6 Contributor
369 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We stayed here as part of a two day trip on the Mekong river to Luang Prabang. The room was very dirty and smelled bad. The toiled tank leaked and the floor of the bathroom was wet. Breakfast was scrambled eggs, bread and jam,and bananas and they kept running out of the eggs.This was a really bad experience.

Room Tip: Check out everything right away, and, if the room is not acceptable, get a different one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimandcarolstravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pakbeng hotels

Sassenheim, the Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Nice teakwood rooms, rather small but functional with adequate bathroom. Pity that the breakfast was a shambles, especially as we were leaving rather early. Pakbeng is a halfway stopover for two-day Mekong cruises between Huay Xai and Luang Prabang. It is a small village in the middel of nowhere which comes to life in the late afternoon as all the cruise boat land there for the night. The hotel exceeded our expectations.

Room Tip: Good choice in Pakbeng
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nico_Jong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset West, Western Cape, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

The basics were there - bed with clean sheets, a shower with warm water and a roof over my head - so I shouldn't complain but it was not an enjoyable stay. There are luxury places nearby, so clearly getting stuff there is possible. Maybe the will isn't there?
We had a lousy room: underneath the patio level, right on the road, so it was noisy and the light from the street shines in through the inadequate curtains. It was also on two levels, with only the beds upstairs, no place for your luggage, or bedside table, so every time you wanted anything you had to traipse up & down the stairs! And no luggage rack or table downstairs for the cases so they ended up on the floor, and you had to squat next to them every time you needed something. Luckily I can still do that!!
The pressure in the shower was poor, and it takes a while to work out how to use it, or which way is hot ... Also just one single small plastic shelf under the bathroom mirror - enough to put two tooth mugs - and NOTHING else! So nowhere to put your toiletries bag, soap, shampoo, clothes, towels, slippers etc. Bit of a nightmare ... and SO EASY to fix! Also the walls are paper-thin, so you hear a lot of what's going on in neighbouring rooms ...
Breakfast wasn't too bad, but poorly organised: ALL the guests leave at roughly the same time on the boats, so all are in the diningroom at the same time. The place where the food is laid out only allows access by 2 or 3 people at a time, so it's very slow-moving, and they didn't seem to have a handle on scrambling the eggs in the kitchen for peak demand: we waited for 10 minutes or more in the queue.
All that said, the bed was great: wonderful matress but a rock-hard pillow!
Not sure if any of the other places in the same price-range would have been much different ...

Room Tip: Don't take a room on the lowest level on the road as it is very noisy from traffic, or on the pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angtravel18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milan
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

this hotel is in the middle of nowhere, if you have a boat trip on the mekong river you can't directly go to luang prabang in one day, you HAVE to stop here. In any case, rooms were small, and the bathroom looked really like something coming out from an horror movie: i was afraid of having a shower there. It would have not taken so much effort to reach an acceptable standard level, but it seems they didn't care about it. In any case, there is no choice in this place forgotten by God.
Breakfast was very poor.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pettaspagna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pakbeng hotels
0.7 mi away
Sanctuary Pakbeng Lodge
0.4 mi away
Phonemany Guesthouse
Phonemany Guesthouse
#1 of 8 in Pakbeng
40 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mekong Riverside Lodge
Mekong Riverside Lodge
#3 of 12 in Pakbeng
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
BKC Villa
BKC Villa
#4 of 12 in Pakbeng
15 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Syvongsack Guesthouse
#7 of 12 in Pakbeng
5 reviews
0.0 mi away
Phomephithak Guesthouse
Phomephithak Guesthouse
#6 of 12 in Pakbeng
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phetsokxai Hotel Pakbeng? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phetsokxai Hotel Pakbeng

Property: Phetsokxai Hotel Pakbeng
Address: Donkham, Pakbeng 0406, Laos
Region: Laos > Oudomxay Province > Pakbeng
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Pakbeng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Phetsokxai Hotel Pakbeng 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing