We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“top class”
Review of Ryan's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ryan's Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Cong
Certificate of Excellence
Caleta de Fuste, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“top class”
Reviewed 29 July 2012

just returned from a week stay in ryans hotel cong, was a bit afraid after the reviews but had nothing to worry about the stay was 1st class. rooms where comfy and warm and the food was excellent.The hotel is so central and the staff where a credit to the hotel.There is so much to do and see and this hotel is in the hearth of everything.As a family with small kids we loved this hotel and will be back next year.A great hotel xxxxx

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kelly h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    21
    8
    7
    8
See reviews for
15
30
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Just returned from a trip and stayed here, the room was cold and with a mouldy smell, there was a spider and a cockroach in my sons bed, the bed covers were stale and old smelling, really not great.
That said, the service and staff were lovely and teh breakfast was tasty.

Hate to be so negative but really not great, needs a refresh and would be amazing

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank halomama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Outdated, Moldy, Expensive and Very Very ColdOutdated, Moldy, Expensive and Very Very Cold.. €100 for a Sunday night stay.. Not worth €10.. Rooms were cold with old bed linen on the bed and uncomfortable..

Room Tip: Do not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson Valley, NY, USA
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Okay this was by far the worst "hotel" / "B&B" or whatever its called, that we stayed at during this trip to Ireland. We wandered in off the road, somewhere around 7pm. The other lodging in town referred us to Ryans since they were full. The owner did come out with an apron etc (as others have said), and offered for us to view the room before deciding. Since we had no other options at that point, we agreed. We believe we turned the heat on (radiator on the wall with no indicators of what either knob is for. but my daughter who is familiar with foreign heating systems turned it 'on'), ran out for errands and a look around and to give the room time to heat up. When we returned, it was still ice cold in the room. After calling about the heat, they said the heat WAS on a timer and that it would take awhile to get going...they gave us a space heater that stopped working after about 30 minutes. The bedding and room furniture are all very dated. I can accept old dressers and stuff, but at any discount store nowadays you can find new bedding at cheap prices. Its shameful to have bedspreads from the 60s??? Look at my room pics and make your decision! The bathroom was actually modern, big and nice, yet the sink still had 2 spouts!!! So you can't run tepid water!! Plus there was black mold all around the window. Our heat never turned on, we all slept freezing the old flat pillows under our heads.. the walls were wet and dripping in the morning from the cold. Sorry....but this place with a little work could be very nice.

Room Tip: Bring your own heater.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NYDiamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The West
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Recently attended a function here and dined in the bar a few times in the lead up to the function. Function went very well - great food and very good service. The owners could not be more helpful. They helped on meal selection, booked the music, decoration of the room, setting up of marketing stall and late that night ensured everyone got home safe and well. Keenly priced also. The bar food was varied and had from the basic burger to mussels in white wine sauce. I would recommend the seafood platter with brown bread. Also do a very good seafood chowder. Ask Denis or Mike for advice as regards your stay. Denis will even do his own itinerary for you.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear of the building as the road can be busy in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emelynthehorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2011

We stayed in Cong because we had heard it was a lovely village. We booked online & thought that it was fairly expensive but usually you get what you pay for. We found the hotel with out any problems and were directed to park at the rear. We grabbed our bags etc and headed into the back door. I was carrying some jackets and as I entered the door was unable to see that it led directly & without warning to a number of steps going downwards. Needless to say I fell but luckily was uninjured. We then had to negotiate up some stairs & through corriadors to the reception area. The lounges there were quite dated old and grubby cream velvet with equally dated and grubbby cushions on them. After ringing the bell we were greeted by a "cook" who was filthy. He had grime and food alover his clothes and up to his elbows. He initially was unable to find our booking but eventually gave us a room key. When we got to the room it was very very basic, the bathroom floor had makeup on it & the beds had been slept in (there was mascara on the pillow cases and hair in the beds). I went back down to the reception and told the "cook" and he simply gave us keys to another room, which was still as basic and dated but reasonably clean. We found that the heating wasnt on, and were quite cold over night. Also the shower leaked and rand over the floor leaving a muddy trail on the floor as it picked up dirt etc from around the bathroom. The pub down stairs was reasonably priced basic food and the included breakfast was ok. I wouldnt recommend this hotel at all. The Village is quite lovely and is certainly worth a visit, just look around for your accomodation.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Trevor83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2011

The road is about 1 meter from your head as you sleep. That's all I can be bothered saying! The service was however fantastic, it is basically just an old hotel on the main road.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jacks0nFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cong
0.5 mi away
Ashford Castle
Ashford Castle
#1 of 3 in Cong
1,591 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Lodge at Ashford Castle
3.2 mi away
Fairhill House Hotel
Fairhill House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clonbur
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lydons Lodge Hotel
Lydons Lodge Hotel
#7 of 13 in Cong
67 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ryan's River Lodge
Ryan's River Lodge
#3 of 13 in Cong
88 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nymphsfield House
Nymphsfield House
#1 of 13 in Cong
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ryan's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryan's Hotel

Property: Ryan's Hotel
Address: Ryan's Hotel Main Street, Cong, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Cong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Cong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Ryan's Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at Ryan's Hotel, located in centre of Cong (made famous by the Quiet Man Film) in the heart of Connemara in County Galway. The hotel offers comfortable accommodation and each of the guestrooms comprises of en-suite facilities. In room amenities include TV, DVD, telephone, tea/coffee making facilities and hairdryers. Ryan’s Hotel is just 40 minutes from Galway City and is the ideal base for touring the West of Ireland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Ryan's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing