We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“50th birthday party”
Review of Ryan's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ryan's Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Cong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2014

stayed here for 50th party at the weekend staff not very friendly food poor no residents bar as we were told.needs a good clean traveled from london very disappointing rooms need a good makeover cong is a very nice village

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank breda j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2014

We stayed there as we had a wedding to go to in Ashford castle grounds, the wall in the room had mildew, it had stains on the carpet, cobwebs on the ceiling and the just a rotten smell. There was moss all over the roof, looking out our bedroom window. It had a 90s feel to the hotel and was probably the last time the hotel had been cleaned or painted.

Room Tip: Don't get to excited that your staying in a hotel, it is at best a B&B AT BEST..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank erickel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Stayed at Ryan's hotel as it seemed like the obvious choice due to its fantastic location in the center of the village!the hotel itself is very basic and dated, needs a deep clean! This could be easily forgiven as cong itself makes up for the dingy sleeping quaters, but the staff were so unbelievably rude and incompetent there is no way I could recommend anyone to stay at this "hotel". Ordering a drink was near impossible as it seemed the staff only wanted to.chat to and serve the locals!!! The food was so overpriced and average! Several of the bar staff rolled their eyes when I had to repeat my order as they were doing nothing about it!! Atrocious service in general! Definitely one to avoid!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank roadtripeire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We stayed chose to stay in Cong on recommendations from other people. It is a beautiful quaint Irish village from a bygone ear. Unfortunately the range of accommodation is also from a bygone era. The pub itself is charming and the staff were definitely very polite and helpful. The rooms themselves are very old and in need of some refurbishment. Also very overpriced. Breakfast however was really lovely, a full English buffet, freshly cooked. Some may enjoy the quirkiness of this hotel, I however did not.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kaylene D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed for only one night but we would not stay here again. It was €80 for the night but it was not worth the money. The tv didn't work and the place needs a good clean no excuse for what looked like months old cobwebs, spiders and dust. On the plus side the towels and sheets were clean and the location is excellent. We didn't eat at the 'hotel' so cannot comment on that. Another couple in our party the shower didn't work but the owner seemed more concerned that he might be asked for a discount as opposed to just apologising.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank padser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

My sister, parents, and I visited Ireland in May 2013. We stayed two nights at this wonderful B&B. It is exactly what I wanted when we decided to visit Ireland. It is an older B&B but so comfortable and charming. I wish we could have stayed longer but this was our last stay in Ireland before heading back to Shannon. It is perfectly located in the village of Cong (walking distance to everything). We visited all the local "Quiet Man" attractions and then enjoyed watching the movie that evening in the lounge of the B&B. My sister and I loved that we could take our morning run from the B&B to the castle or on one of the great trails that run throughout the "woods" located on the other side of the river from the B&B. Both rooms had views of river and were comfortable and clean. Martha, our host, couldn't have been nicer! I would stay here again without hesitation and hope to some day!

Room Tip: We really enjoyed our rooms with a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

My mom and I visited Ireland last fall. The only place she requested we visit was Cong so she could see where The Quiet Man was filmed. We drove into town without a place to stay and found Ryan's Hotel. We ended up staying 2 nights because of the people and sights in his tiny town. The staff was great and they had an adjoining pub so we ended up eating every meal there. They told us so many things to do and see it really made our trip! They care about your stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Becky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cong hotels
0.5 mi away
Ashford Castle
Ashford Castle
#1 of 3 in Cong
1,738 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Lodge at Ashford Castle
0.2 mi away
Lydons Lodge Hotel
Lydons Lodge Hotel
#5 of 13 in Cong
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ryan's River Lodge
Ryan's River Lodge
#3 of 13 in Cong
95 reviews
0.7 mi away
Michaeleen's Manor
Michaeleen's Manor
#6 of 13 in Cong
111 reviews
1.9 mi away
Villa Pio Bed & Breakfast and Luxury Apartment
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ryan's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryan's Hotel

Address: Ryan's Hotel Main Street, Cong, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Cong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Cong
Price Range: £75 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ryan's Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at Ryan's Hotel, located in centre of Cong (made famous by the Quiet Man Film) in the heart of Connemara in County Galway. The hotel offers comfortable accommodation and each of the guestrooms comprises of en-suite facilities. In room amenities include TV, DVD, telephone, tea/coffee making facilities and hairdryers. Ryan’s Hotel is just 40 minutes from Galway City and is the ideal base for touring the West of Ireland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Ryan's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing