We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (14)
Filter reviews
14 results
Traveller rating
14
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
14
0
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 14 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2018

Michael and Geraldine were wonderful hosts. The home is beautiful, the rooms spotless. Breakfast was fantastic! A very comfortable stay. Michael made everyone feel at home - like one big family for afternoon tea and at the breakfast table. Quiet location, but close still close to town.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017

Whitethorn Lodge has that lovely farm house feel that we were looking for when staying in Ireland. The breakfast is huge! Rooms are extremely comfortable. And the location is with in walking distance of the village. There are also some nice trails near the property.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessipher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017

This is an excellent B&B, mostly because of the charm and friendliness of the owners and their children. Michael gave us a wonderful greeting, and was generous in his help during our stay. Jack, Ruth and Geraldine were very friendly - Jack and Ruth noticeably pleasant conversationalists for teenagers! Bedroom was very clean and tidy, water was hot (when needed), and bed was comfortable. Breakfast was excellent ("full Irish breakfast" + other options), and the tea kept coming :-). Since Cong is quite busy, it was nice to be outside the town, surrounded by green fields (complete with Michael's sheep) and lovely stone walls, and well off the busy road. I unreservedly recommend this B&B - it proves why its better to stay with family-run B&Bs than in big hotels in Ireland.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked a field with sheep and the front driveway of the house; heard other guests comment that their rooms were very good also.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank exhibernian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017

We have stayed at Anne's lovely home twice this year. The boys stayed in May on motor bikes and the four of us on the 14th August in the car. We found our rooms over looking the garden clean very comfortable and spent a restful nights sleep.The breakfast was delicious, sadly we only spent one night with them, Anne was very helpful and gave us places of interest to visit on our way to our next nights stay.
Thank you very much Anne. From Vivienne, Alan Angie and Eric

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank vivipercival
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017

Whitethorn Lodge is by far the best B&B I've ever stayed in. Great location 5 minute drive to the village (20 minute walk). 2 minute drive (10 minute walk) to Ashford Castle & Lodge.
Gorgeous Breakfast - cooked fresh every morning.
Lovely spacious rooms and bathrooms.

It was like a home from home made to feel so comfortable and welcome.

Geraldine and Michael run the B&B and they are one of the loveliest couples we met in Ireland, nothing was too much trouble for them and they are very knowledgable of the area and places of interest - we were visiting specifically for my Dad to visit the locations in the film The Quiet Man and Michael kindly showed me all the locations so I was able to find them easily.
They also recommended various restaurants and we were never disappointed!
Jack their young son is real credit to them and is very sociable and helpful with any requests. Deidre - lovely lady we met on our last day - she was helping at breakfast.

Thank you to all of you for helping us to make some wonderful everlasting memories.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sharonparuddock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews