We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dolmen House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dolmen House
Ranked #7 of 13 Cong B&B and Inns
Goshen, Indiana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

Beautiful home in beautiful Cong! Kathy was a gracious hostess, and delicious cook. We loved our stay there. Our only regret was that we couldn't stay longer! Someday, we'll be back to Ireland and plan to stay longer in Cong.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bblosse3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    8
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
42
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

This was a wonderful place to stay, our hosts were wonderfully kind and helpful. Breakfast was so filling that we had to eat a late lunch every day there! The location was great, just a 12min nature walk from the village Cong. We had a blast in the village playing pool in the pubs, wandering about, horse riding and bike riding on the beautiful forest trails. Molly Bloom's cafe and The Hungry Monk are the best places to eat. The accommodations were more than we expected with a lovely bath and shower, nice sized bedroom, and large separate living room with a kitchen. We booked the double room and ended up with an apartment which was awesome! We actually extended our stay by one day because it was so amazing there, but we eventually had to leave in order to catch a flight home. That was a sad day. Kathy and her husband went above and beyond, Dermot even gave us a ride to the Galway bus station the day we had to leave, as he was headed that way.

The only caution I would have is if you are expecting a hotel with a staff to wait on you 24/7; it's not that kind of place. Kathy and Dermot were very helpful with anything we needed, there were just a couple of times when they were a little difficult to find because they had gone out for a bit. But hey, they've gotta live their lives too!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

Kathy was an exceptional hostess. We were greeted with the warmest of welcomes. Her house was attractively decorated and spotlessly clean. The location and grounds were gorgeous. We felt very at home with Kathy and her lovely family. She couldn't do enough for us. At breakfast, Kathy had everything from the full Irish breakfast to whatever you desired.
She gave us daily weather updates along with recommendations from what would be best to do for that particular day to places where we could dine in the evening. We spent three wonderful days at Dolmen House and we will always have fond memories of our stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shepshed, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

A fantastic place to stay, they gave me and my cousin the apartment suite - spacious bedroom and bathroom and large open plan kitchen and sofa room - fantastic choices of breakfasts in the morning, Kathy does an an excellent fry up! Kathy and Dermot were very warm and accommodating and inspired us all with plenty of useful advice on where to explore and what to do on our holiday – a beautiful B&B in a a beautiful location and at very reasonable prices – what more could you want ?!!! Cong is a beautiful village and the residents are very welcoming! Thoroughly enjoyed my stay! Many, many thanks again !

Room Tip: For two people the "Apartment" is a great part of the B&B to stay in if you would like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomOg1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

Excellent B and B. Kathy is lovely, so helpful and caring. Arranged bikes for us to rent and got us a special price. Gave us the apartment even though we booked and paid for a double room - was fantastic. Very comfortable and beautifully furnished. Had a wonderful stay. 10minute walk to Cong - a gorgeous village.
Thanks a million Kathy!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saorla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2012

Stayed for a wedding. Absolutely beautiful, clean lodgings, great breakfast and spacious rooms. Kathy was extremely friendly. The short walk into Cong was really lovely and the area was fantastic. I would say that of all of the B&Bs I have stayed in in Ireland it was the best for everything. Couldnt believe we got it for that price too!!! Thanks Kathy

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeanOCionnaith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

By far the best B&B I have evey stayed in.
A very nice worm welcome from Kathy. The accommodation is beautiful and you would expect to pay so much more for what you get. We had the apartment and it was an apartment to the highest quality. Its a shame we were so busy. I would of enjoyed relaxing around the stunning area more. Breakfast was filling and tasty. What you want from a breakfast. Sad to leave the area. I hope to be back.

Thanks :)
Mark

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cong hotels
1.0 mi away
The Lodge at Ashford Castle
0.9 mi away
Ashford Castle
Ashford Castle
#1 of 3 in Cong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,500 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ryan's Hotel
Ryan's Hotel
#3 of 3 in Cong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Villa Pio Bed & Breakfast and Luxury Apartment
0.6 mi away
Nymphsfield House
Nymphsfield House
#1 of 13 in Cong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hazel Grove B&B
Hazel Grove B&B
#2 of 13 in Cong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolmen House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolmen House

Property: Dolmen House
Address: Drumsheel, Cong, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Cong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Cong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd and Booking.com so you can book your Dolmen House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing