We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We stayed in the campsite”
Review of Cong Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cong Hostel
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We camped at this hostel and campsite in June 2014. Very well kept grounds, ample electricity and water points, welcoming staff. We found the kitchen, which is actually the hostel kitchen, really well stocked with multiple hobs and crockery (a few extra drying cloths wouldn't go astray). The toilets and showers were very clean. The site is in a great location because of its proximity to the quay -where you can enjoy a one hour cruise 365 days a year (at 11:15) or a longer boat trip (at 3pm)- and to the lovely village of Cong. We enjoyed the local cafes, pottered about the abbey, and would have loved more time to explore the nature trails in the woods. The campsite playground was a big hit with the children -it needs a little TLC to keep it looking good -standards of public playgrounds have soared in Ireland recently. (Lovely one in Cornamona which we discovered while out and about -complete with picnic tables). We'll be back! (By the way, the local Spar delivers to the hostel/campsite -how handy is that?!)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MNB21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014

First of all, the photos in the following web page are incorrect and misleading (actually annoying) and this is the official page.
http://anoige.ie/Hostels/Our-Hostel-Guide/Cong-Hostel.htm
The photo showing the building of Cong Hostel is actually the B&B opposite to it, run by the same people.
The photo of the bedroom is most probably also from the B&B. The room we stayed in is nothing like it.
The breakfast room photo is also probably that of the B&B. The area in the hostel was nowhere as cozy as it is shown here.

E-mail response from this hostel was slow.

The dishwashing sponges were quite dirty (one was also very greasy), like they should have been thrown out a few months earlier.
One kitchen towel was dirty - it was at least dirty looking. It was perhaps washed and the stain didn't go away, but the problem is, we as users don't know which of the 2 is actually the case.
Another was torn and I wasn't sure, if these 2 towels were actually meant to be used for drying dishes or wiping the counter top, etc.

Rooms were smelling musty.

One of the people at the reception was unfriendly. Others were okay/friendly.

The atmosphere wasn't cozy at all. There were very few people staying there and so it wasn't possible to have a chat at the end of the day, which is one reason why people tend to go to hostels. This'll perhaps change as the season picks up, but at least somebody in management could have come around to have a chat.

Wi-Fi was available, but only in the laundry room and it was extremely slow. I'm wondering, if they'll change it when more people stay there. By the way, the laundry room was locked already at 9:40 pm, although it should have been open until 10 pm.

The hostel is about 2 km from the city center and that is where you'll find a grocery store, pubs, restaurants. This is an important aspect to consider, if you have no bicycle, or car, and are staying there for several days.

The room itself was comfortable, bed was good and I was able to sleep well. Showers in the room were good. It was possible to control the temperature of the water.

Nevertheless, all in all, I didn't enjoy the stay there. If you are only looking for a place to stay, and that too only for a night or two, and are traveling in a large group, it'll perhaps be fine, but if you are looking for more, like a good atmosphere, reasonably clean kitchen, etc., I wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunitha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

After a recent stay in Cong hostel I thought the hostel was in a great condition. It is great for big groups (ours was 50). It has a big well equipped kitchen perfect for self catering. It is clean and very well kept and situated in a nice peaceful area.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Shannon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We arrived here as no where else was open, th owners were away and the chap over the road had stepped in.

All we needed was a bed for the night and this offered it, although I would not be rushing back.

It was a basic hostel and appeared aimed at Scout groups etc.

The main issues were, you had to pay for showers and by the time you had put your money outside the toilets, run in then waited to heat up to luke warm your money was running out. To start it again you would have to run out of toiltes wet and start again.

The toilets were also on a light timer, if it was at night and the lights went out while in a cubicle you were unable to turn them on again.

The kitchen was well done and clean and there was a small common room but these closed around 10ish.

Compared with other places I have stayed in Ireland for around the same price I found this hostel very lacking and would not recommend it to famlies or couples.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JamesKaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We arrived and were welcomed to the hostel they had just finished some painting and the owner was very welcoming (at least she was). the room neat but upon looking around the walls there were spiders and large dead mosquitos every where around the ceiling. As it got dark we noticed there was a light right outside our window that was on all night if we wanted to open the window (for some air the room was a bit stuffy) the mosquitos flew in.... they were those giant creepy mosquitos. My husband went down to ask the owners if they would turn the light off, he first knocked on the front door which no one would answer finally the husband opened the window and my husband explained the issue with the light and he stated this was never a problem before he couldn't help us........ he shut the window on my husband then I would not recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

This place is fine for low budget backpackers who can make their own fun. It has all the basics of a youth hostel - cheap, clean rooms, a big kitchen, a common room, showers. But it offers nothing extra: you need to pay for the shower (1€ for 6 minutes), the common room and the kitchen close at night at 10.30 pm, breakfast is not included, the common areas are not very homy, and it is located 1,5 km from Cong village, which isn't so nice at night. Other than that it's okay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

I have been travelling to Cong village with my family since I was a child over 30years ago, now I bring my children and they love it. I have stayed in Cong Hostel, Michealeens Manor and Cong Caravan Park all run by Margaret and Gerry Collins. Margaret and Gerry are the most friendly, hardworking and generous people you could meet, they always take time to get to know their guest, they have time and patience with children and despite their enormous work load are always pleasant and friendly. The accommodation is clean, comfortable and good value for money. Cong village is very quaint and picturesque, it offers lots of attractions and Gerry is always willing to give advice on where to go and what to do. I would highly recommend a stay with Margaret and Gerry in Cong Village. Annamarie, Co.Antrim

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annamarie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cong hotels
0.3 mi away
The Lodge at Ashford Castle
0.7 mi away
Ashford Castle
Ashford Castle
#1 of 3 in Cong
1,715 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ryan's Hotel
Ryan's Hotel
#3 of 3 in Cong
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Lydons Lodge Hotel
Lydons Lodge Hotel
#5 of 13 in Cong
77 reviews
0.1 mi away
Michaeleen's Manor
Michaeleen's Manor
#6 of 13 in Cong
111 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Lakeland House
#3 of 4 in Cong
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cong Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cong Hostel

Address: Quay Road | Lisloughrey, Cong, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Cong
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Cong
Price Range: £21 - £23 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Cong Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing