We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't rate this place Awful Awful Awful!”
Review of Ashford Haven

Ashford Haven
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ashford Haven
Ranked #13 of 13 Cong B&B and Inns
Kildare
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Can't rate this place Awful Awful Awful!”
Reviewed 7 November 2011

from the moment of walking into the house it was errie, it was cold all the lights were off and when we said the tv wasn't working the woman was extremely rude the man changed the t.v and o wow we were lucky to have 2 stations.....next morning was miserable & the breakfast was just average again the man served it & although he did seem to try to be nice it just looked formal & awkward. This place really felt like we were unwanted guests and when we were paying €70 you'd expect them to be at least friendly & accommodating

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Anne-Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    7
    7
    5
    17
See reviews for
10
18
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Cretinous customer service. This B&B gave our room away to someone else after we had confirmed it - found this out the day we were supposed to stay there. We flew over from the UK and were left in a nightmare situation by their incompentence. DO NOT STAY HERE.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Eimear K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cong hotels

Blarney, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

The bed and breakfast was very enjoyable the family was warm and enjoyable including their son, dog and miniature horse. the breakfasts were delicious and coffee was the best we ever had! they were very accommodating and met our every need. i would definitely go back when i return to the great land of ireland!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2010

Traveling thru the country of Ireland with friends we had reservations at this B & B, the only glitch ( a small one ) was no one was there at 4 pm when we arrived. Phone call was made and by 5:30 we were able to check in. We spent the time difference at the local pub about a mile away.. had some dinner and things worked out great. Owner was very nice.. great breakfast in the morning. Would stay again for sure.

Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank KVarone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta GA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2009

We drove by the B&B (which we had pre paid) at 2:00 pm no one was at the home, 3:00 pm we drove back by, at 5:00 pm we parked at the house and waited until 5:30 pm at which time we called the number on the door for Ann. We spoke to Ann and she explained she was shopping and we should just go on in the house. There was no heat on in the house and this being Ireland we were having a cool and overcast day, and needed the heat on. We called our Travel agent at 8:00 pm to express our disappointment. She called Ann and within 10 minutes she arrived. She apologized but did not understand why we were upset that the heat was not on. The only B&B we stayed at during our 2 week visit where she wanted to know if we wanted the entire Irish Breakfast or just a Continental breakfast. Next morning at breakfast her husband (very friendly and accomodating) served us our meal not Ann. Who never materialized again.

I would recommend that you not stay at this B&B.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kimberly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cong hotels
1.1 mi away
Ashford Castle
Ashford Castle
#1 of 3 in Cong
1,631 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Lodge at Ashford Castle
1.2 mi away
Ryan's Hotel
Ryan's Hotel
#3 of 3 in Cong
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Lydons Lodge Hotel
Lydons Lodge Hotel
#11 of 13 in Cong
71 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa Pio Bed & Breakfast and Luxury Apartment
0.5 mi away
Michaeleen's Manor
Michaeleen's Manor
#5 of 13 in Cong
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashford Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashford Haven

Property: Ashford Haven
Address: Lackafinna, Cong, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Cong
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Cong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ashford Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing