We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful home but not good hosts”
Review of Ashford Haven

Ashford Haven
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ashford Haven
Ranked #13 of 13 Cong B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 June 2012 via mobile

The home is beautiful, very close to cong and a castle, but I did not see the hosts once except for breakfast. The kid had to let us in and show us our room. The have a dog that barks all night and a horse.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Breezy1297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2012

Room was comfortable but no hot water in morning. No hairdryer after having a cold shower. Arrived down to Full Irish Breakfast.....2 sausages, 2 bacon and an egg which was cold. They had been cooked in oil and were therefore very greasy. Waited a long while for the tea and coffee to arrive. Will not be recommending these b&b to others :(

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lrafter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We stayed at Ashford Haven with 4 others . On arrival the owners were extremely friendly and we were greeted on arrivall with coffee and home made chocolate fudge. We were given lots of advice on where to vist. The rooms were luxurious and spacious with King Beds and large ensuites. Breakfast the next morning was really nice with lots of choices. We had a wonderful stay and we plan to return in the summer. We would highly recommend this B.& B and we plan to stay again in the summer as it is such a scenic area with beautiful lakes.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

from the moment of walking into the house it was errie, it was cold all the lights were off and when we said the tv wasn't working the woman was extremely rude the man changed the t.v and o wow we were lucky to have 2 stations.....next morning was miserable & the breakfast was just average again the man served it & although he did seem to try to be nice it just looked formal & awkward. This place really felt like we were unwanted guests and when we were paying €70 you'd expect them to be at least friendly & accommodating

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Anne-Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Cretinous customer service. This B&B gave our room away to someone else after we had confirmed it - found this out the day we were supposed to stay there. We flew over from the UK and were left in a nightmare situation by their incompentence. DO NOT STAY HERE.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
4  Thank Eimear K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

The bed and breakfast was very enjoyable the family was warm and enjoyable including their son, dog and miniature horse. the breakfasts were delicious and coffee was the best we ever had! they were very accommodating and met our every need. i would definitely go back when i return to the great land of ireland!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2010

Traveling thru the country of Ireland with friends we had reservations at this B & B, the only glitch ( a small one ) was no one was there at 4 pm when we arrived. Phone call was made and by 5:30 we were able to check in. We spent the time difference at the local pub about a mile away.. had some dinner and things worked out great. Owner was very nice.. great breakfast in the morning. Would stay again for sure.

Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
2  Thank KVarone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cong hotels
1.1 mi away
Ashford Castle
Ashford Castle
#1 of 3 in Cong
1,791 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ryan's Hotel
Ryan's Hotel
#3 of 3 in Cong
82 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ryan's River Lodge
Ryan's River Lodge
#3 of 13 in Cong
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Nymphsfield House
Nymphsfield House
#1 of 13 in Cong
116 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa Pio Bed & Breakfast and Luxury Apartment
0.6 mi away
The Lodge at Ashford Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashford Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashford Haven

Address: Lackafinna, Cong, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Cong
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Cong
Price Range: £50 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Ashford Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing