We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“stay away from this place”
Review of Danaghers Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cong
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Danaghers Hotel
Ranked #10 of 13 Cong B&B and Inns
Londonderry N Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“stay away from this place”
Reviewed 28 August 2011

my family went here on saturday August 26 just for a drink. As soon as we saw the interior we were about to leave There were dozens of dirty glasses on the bar counter tables had not been cleared of dirty dinner plates and glasses our 7year old son had seen the dinner menu advertised outside and wanted a plain burger priced at 5 euro so we decided to stay as we couldn't see anywhere else selling food. My husband got a table with our 2 children while i went to the bar. After 5 to 10 mins waiting I was finally served by the owner He tried to charge me 10 euro for the burger but when I pointed out it was advertised at 5 euro he just grunted and took my money. As he was serving my drinks I tried to tell him where we were sitting as the bar was pretty packed,he very ignorantly shouted that i would have to wait for the food and I wasn't in Mc Donalds.The man obviously tried to embarass me in front of his regular customers who were sitting at the bar but only managed to embarrass HIMSELF as his crude comments were over heard by other customers who were visiting his establishment, like me, that day. They, like me, thought his comments were indefensible and again like myself, reiterated that manners don't cost a penny. This proprietor was certainly lacking manners, friendliness and all the other hallmarks that normally make Cong such a pleasant place to visit. I will continue to visit Cong, for its scenery and normal hospitality, but will never frequent Danaghers Hotel again. As a last insight into the quality or should I say lack of a quality experience, when my son's burger eventually arrived, it was dressed, when we had ordered it plain. We again had to wait another 10 mins after this. What was also shocking was the fact the proprietor didn't seem to care that he had lost our family as paying customers in the future and not only that,but any customer he may have received if we had recommended his hotel to our friends. This is something we would never do of course, and it is strange his attitude was like this given Ireland is in the middle of a recession. Maybe he is one of the few business men who can afford to lose customers during a recession.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Paul_2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    17
    1
    1
    5
See reviews for
14
23
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dundalk, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2010

This is the worst place myself and my friends have ever stayed, Its not a hotel its a run down B&B with filthy beds, old worn out rooms, a wasps nest outside the window of room number 7 and a bathroom that looks like a blind man tiled it. Along with that the staff (apart from the 2 ladies) were rude and nearly started a fight with my party because we wouldnt buy them a drink after hours. The owner was serving behind the bar on thursday night cursing everyone who walked past him. It says here i have to rate it as terrible, believe me if i could i wouldnt rate it at all, You have been warned

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fargoboyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2010

genuine crack and friendly staff , food quality and good value, terry and bernie, dun laoghaire

Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank terrycarp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2009

We stopped in Cong, looked around, and thought Danagher's looked like a good spot. How right we were! Although we were there over Good Friday when most of the town shut down, but they made us feel right at home. The room was older and not fancy, but clean with a larger bathroom. The pub downstairs was everything you'd look for in a small town Irish spot - locals playing music, cozy fire in the fireplace, good food, and plenty of cold beer. Nice to be in a small hotel where the 11 year old can go to sleep and we can listen to music downstairs. Location was great, and the room looked out over the Abbey. Breakfast in their restaurant was full on cooked to order Irish breakfast. When we are in Cong again, we'll be back.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ScottD223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Neuk of Fife
Level Contributor
62 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2009

Cong was made famouus by the movie 'The Quiet Man' but there is far more to it than that. The town and the area are quite exceptional and well worth longer than the one day we were there. Equally Danaghers Hotel, where every aspect of our stay was a good experience.
The spacious clean room was very adequately furnished and full of character. The king size bed was very comfortable, and the en-suite facilities were fine.
We ate in the bar, with its log fire, in the evening. A superb T-bone steak for myself and a wonderful traditional Irish dish of bacon and cabbage for my wife.
Later, a very talented trio of local musicians played and sang traditional music, and other locals would contribute their own speciality whilst we drank possibly the best pint of Guinness we had ever tasted. A most enjoyable evening!
Breakfast in the dining room reached the high standard we had come to expect during our time in Ireland. Both delicious and enough to keep you going all day.
We hope to stay here again, but for longer next time.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Deejaypea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Girardeau, Missouri
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2008

We arrvived without a reservation, and were greeted with friendliness and hospitality. The room was quite comfortable and clean, and they provided a portable electric heater, to be used if further heat was needed(it can be quite cold in Ireland in October). Danagher's also has their own pub, which is very popular, and quite friendly. Food can also be provided(pub food is the best anyway)and is quite tasty. One of the owners tends the bar in the evenings, and his wife takes care of the breakfasts in the mowning. These are some of the friendliest people we've met in Ireland(after many trips there). The location is perfect(the back road to Ashford Castle is nearby and worth going to see). The "Quiet Man Museum" is just up the street and around the corner(also remember, nothing is very far away, because it is a small town/village with a population of approximately 150). If you want to meet the real Irish people, this would be a place to go.

  • Liked — location, friendliness of staff, value
  • Disliked — nothing, we would stay there again in a heartbeat
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MYSTERH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cong hotels
0.7 mi away
The Lodge at Ashford Castle
0.5 mi away
Ashford Castle
Ashford Castle
#1 of 3 in Cong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,525 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ryan's Hotel
Ryan's Hotel
#3 of 3 in Cong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lydons Lodge Hotel
Lydons Lodge Hotel
#6 of 13 in Cong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ryan's River Lodge
Ryan's River Lodge
#3 of 13 in Cong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.7 mi away
Michaeleen's Manor
Michaeleen's Manor
#5 of 13 in Cong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Danaghers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danaghers Hotel

Property: Danaghers Hotel
Address: Ryan's Hotel Main Street, Cong, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Cong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Cong
Number of rooms: 11

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing