We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a warm Irish welcome” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ashfield House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ashfield House
Ranked #4 of 13 Cong B&B and Inns
lancashire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“a warm Irish welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

Just returned after a holiday touring Ireland with 87year old Mum and friends. We stayed in some lovely places but Ashfield House was a favourite. Christina and family are so welcoming, not intrusive but lovely and chatty and nothing was too much trouble.Lovely children, so polite and helpful. Beautiful area with lots to see and do. Nice rooms, lovely breakfast and good lounge to use, we enjoyed watching dvd "The Quiet Man" for which Cong is famous for. Skyler, who has received a mention in other reviews is the loveliest well behaved dog I have ever come across and posed for photos like he's used to it! Christina, you are delightful and so is your house. We would love to return one day.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jojoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    6
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
27
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

We stayed at Ashfield House on July 9th and had a lovely time..there was 6 of us in our party and Christina made us all feel comfortable and quite at home with her lovely personality...The house is beautiful and the bedrooms are clean and comfy..If you are a dog lover you will fall in love with their white fluffy doggy Skylar...breakfast was great and Orla was a real sweetie..wonderful stay

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank kaidenator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayo Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

Greeted on arrival by our warm & friendly hostess. Lovely room, very comfy bed, tea making facilities. Taxis available into Cong village as we wanted a drink with dinner. Great breakfast and dog lovers will love "Skyler" the family dog! Peaceful countryside location, would definitely recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank DSF_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

Ashfiled House was by far the best guest house I have stayed in
in its price range over the past five years in terms of value for
money, cleanliness, quality of rooms, ensuit bathrooms and bed linen,
friendliness and helpfulness of staff , and quality of breakfast, Really
top class all around.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 872Michael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perpignan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

Evrything was very nice. The room was big enough, good bed, very clean shower room (with hot and powerfull shower), the breakfast delicious and people very welcoming.
Many lovely places to see from there. I'm always a little bit anxious to discover the place where I'll stay, this time it was without surprise. As good as the comments let me supposed.
Go there !!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank schearka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

This is the third B&B in Ireland I've stayed in this year and certainly the best. The room was comfortable, very clean and well kept. The family and their dog were also very nice and friendly! The breakfast was also above average and served in a nice setting.

All in all, a nice family run B&B with a warm welcome and great value.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stranger10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2012

Ashfield House is a good location if you're interested in visiting Cong, and the surrounding areas. The rooms were small but adequate and very clean. I would recommend a sweater for the breakfast room if it is not a sunny day.
The breakfast offerings were generous, hot and multiple.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ORB7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cong hotels
2.9 mi away
Ashford Castle
Ashford Castle
#1 of 3 in Cong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,459 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Lodge at Ashford Castle
2.5 mi away
Ryan's Hotel
Ryan's Hotel
#3 of 3 in Cong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hazel Grove B&B
Hazel Grove B&B
#2 of 13 in Cong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
1.9 mi away
Villa Pio Bed & Breakfast and Luxury Apartment
2.3 mi away
Nymphsfield House
Nymphsfield House
#1 of 13 in Cong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashfield House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashfield House

Property: Ashfield House
Address: Neale Road (R345), Cong, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Cong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Cong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Ashfield House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing