We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weather got very cold and so did I!”
Review of Lydons Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lydons Lodge Hotel
Ranked #6 of 13 Cong B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Stayed in Lodge 10th and 11th of October. Unfortunately, a really cold snap hit and the place was bloody freezing - so much so that I had to get a hoodie out of my stuff and stick it on during the night.
Breakfast does not start until 08:30 and as I had to be gone both mornings before 08:00, they kindly left a continental breakfast on a tray that I could collect before I went to bed. No fridge but no worries as it was sooooo cold. In an attempt to defeat the cold, they gave me an extra blanket and an electric radiator but it was still cold so out came the hoodie again.
I ate in the bar and the food was OK, hardly a gastronomic delight but OK.. if you like chips with everything. Room was big, clean and spacious and I suppose reasonable value at €50.00 a night B&B. Staff were polite and helpful. Would I stay there again? I'm not sure, think I might check out the alternatives.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank OllieODublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LydonsLodge, Owner at Lydons Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

Dear Oliver,

I was most disheartened to read your recent review.

You did call The Lodge on Friday afternoon 11th October to request more heat and to have your bed linen changed as you do not like the smell of Lavender. I did ask if you would like us to find alternative accommodation for you as we want all our guests to be completely satisfied with the service we offer, but you said you were happy @ The Lodge and its location as you were attending a conference @ Ashford Castle. We serviced your room, extra blanket, heater & central heating.

Sharon looked after you in the Bar, we offer the highest standards of local ingredients incorporated into our menu.

We do not offer breakfast before 8:30am but have no hesitation in preparing a breakfast tray for guests. Guests are very welcome to come back for breakfast especially if they are working in the locality.

Please contact me directly lydonslodge@gmail.com on your next visit to Cong. Where I will personally look after you.

Kind Regard's,
Deirdre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2013

Great little B&B for an overnight stay, large rooms, in a fantastic location with very friendly staff and a good restaturant.

Cong is a lovely sleepy village and we used Lydon Lodge as an overnight stay before moving on. I would recommend eating there also, as the choice and quality of food was very good.

Would be good for families due to the size of the rooms.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonsi_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LydonsLodge, Owner at Lydons Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

Dear Jonsi_82,

Thank you for taking the time to write. We are delighted to read you enjoyed your time with us and your dinning experience in The Lodge Bar.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regard's,
Deirdre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Spent a lovely few days last weekend in Cong. Lydons lodge was the perfect spot. Charming rooms. Good food in restaurant. Entertainment in bar.
The staff and owners were exceptional. Located oin the village proved so easy just to simply park up. and walk to Lough Corrib, Asford Castle, Cullens restaurant in the grounds of Ashford

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LydonsLodge, Owner at Lydons Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

Dear JackO,

Thank you for taking the time to review Lydon's Lodge Hotel. We were delighted to read such positive comments. It was our pleasure to look after you and hope you enjoyed everything Cong has to offer, fishing, walking, mountain biking, horse riding, boat trips on Lough Corrib or maybe just relaxing in the Sunshine @ The Lodge with a Pint of Guinness!

We look forward to welcoming you back at some future date.

Kind Regard's,
Deirdre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Myself and the family stayed there last week and were very happy with the set up. The rooms were very spacious and there was plenty of room to store our stuff, the only criticism I would have is that the curtains were very light and so the kids had some difficulty getting off to sleep as the rooms were very bright!

We eat dinner and breakfast there and the food was excellent, everyone cleaned their plates and were licking their lips for more! The service was excellent and the staff just could not do enough to help you.

We'll definitely be back again next year.

Room Tip: The stairs is a bit steep and lugging heavy cases up there, might be a challenge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimD2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LydonsLodge, Owner at Lydons Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

Dear JimD2007,

WOW,

Thank you very much indeed for your very kind comments. It was our pleasure to look after you all and look forward to welcoming you back to the Lodge in 2014.

Kind Regard's,
Deirdre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Cottage like dining lounge, located in front of a larger dining room serving the Lodge, Lydon's offers simple paninis and sandwiches, hearty burgers, battered haddock, fresh salmon, pasta and salads, and those wonderful thick cut chips. Delicious and fresh, with very friendly staff, it's a pleasant respite from touring in a very pretty little Irish village. And the outdoor seating in this latest heat wave was welcome. €36 for four, not including drinks.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Khufu8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LydonsLodge, Owner at Lydons Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

Dear Khufu8,

Thank you very much indeed for your very kind comments.

We are delighted to read you enjoyed your time with us & look forward to welcoming you back at some future date.

Kind Regard's,
Deirdre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Had a wonderful stay and will certainly get back one day! Great staff and accommodations. Restaurant and bar are fun and friendly. Would recommend to anyone looking for a fun and relaxing time in the Irish countryside. Wonderful find in a lovely little Irish town.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelmeback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LydonsLodge, Owner at Lydons Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

Dear Travelmeback,

Thank you for taking the time to write and delighted to read your very kind comments.

Kind Regard's,
Deirdre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Stayed here last weekend. Really well run family business. Nice clean spacious rooms. Great buzz in the bar. Lovely food. You can see how passionate the staff are about this place. Perfect location in the town. Cong..what a gem of a place. I will be back..

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dublinbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LydonsLodge, Owner at Lydons Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

Dear Dublinbaby,

Thank you for taking the time to review Lydon's Lodge, Hotel. We are delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with us.

I will be sure to pass on your very kind comments to The Team here @ The Lodge.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Cong.

Kind Regard's,
Deirdre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cong
0.4 mi away
Ashford Castle
Ashford Castle
#1 of 3 in Cong
1,738 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ryan's Hotel
Ryan's Hotel
#3 of 3 in Cong
82 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Lodge at Ashford Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Fairhill House Hotel
Fairhill House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clonbur
103 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nymphsfield House
Nymphsfield House
#1 of 13 in Cong
115 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ryan's River Lodge
Ryan's River Lodge
#3 of 13 in Cong
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lydons Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lydons Lodge Hotel

Address: Cong, Cong, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Cong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Cong
Price Range: £86 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lydons Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing