We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homely, comfortable and peaceful!”
Review of Ryan's River Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ryan's River Lodge
Ranked #3 of 13 Cong B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Homely, comfortable and peaceful!”
Reviewed 7 April 2013

I stayed at Ryan's River Lodge for two nights in April 2013. It's fabulously located on the river in the heart of Cong and within comfortable walking distance of the stunning Ashford Castle. It is also a short drive from Lisloughrey Lodge where I was attending a wedding. All in all, Ryan's provided the perfect place for me to feel settled during my trip. Martha and her family have kept the original character and decor which adds to the homely feel. I had everything I needed during my stay including a fabulous breakfast! My room had everything I expected and it was absolutely spotlessly clean but the bed was probably the piece de resistance for me. The mattress was so comfortable and had TWO duvets AND an electric blanket! Coupled with a well heated room, I had two very cosy nights of uninterrputed sleep! Thank you Martha for your hospitality and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this great value B&B to anyone looking to spend time in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabriella D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    19
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
19
48
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lake Havasu City, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2012

Ryan's River Lodge was just what I wanted while visiting Cong, the place where "The Quiet Man" was filmed. The thatched-roof cottage look is warm and inviting, and the interior is likewise. The cottage style rooms were cozy, yet spacious, with sumptuous bedding and window coverings. I especially enjoyed our large window with small panes overlooking the river. Although the bathroom portion of the the room is somewhat small, it met our needs, and everything worked well with no problems.

I like how this two-story B&B is arranged with the front part of the building devoted to the B&B and the private quarters to the rear. The ground floor houses the office, the breakfast room, and a very welcoming and comfortable sitting room where Marta served us tea and sweets upon our arrival. Breakfast was another treat with everything prepared to our liking.

Marta, her husband, David, and two young sons, and David's mother were most welcoming and helpful. Although we had not arranged a fishing trip beforehand, David, who is one of the local fishing guides, arranged a half-day of fishing for our husbands (we were 3 couples traveling together). And the ladies were quick to answer our questions and provide directions and shortcuts for outings.

Although it's easy to walk throughout the town of Cong, Ryan's is most convenient and but a minute (or less) from Danagher's Pub, the Cong Abbey, the Monk's Fishing House, and the bridge that crosses the river to a forest path leading to Ashford Castle.

We went to Cong for "The Quiet Man" but found so much more. Ryan's River Lodge was one of the delightful surprises.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marmar6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

What a great b&b, friendly accommodating staff and a great place to stay. The bed was comfortable, the room was clean and well presented. Breakfast was lovely and overall it was great value for money.
We made use of the complimentary wifi.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Martha and David provide a great breakfast with REAL Coffee; fresh chocolate chip scones, (plus cook-to-order Irish Breakfast). With a view of the Salmon Hatchery/ and River rushing by, you wake to a great morning in Cong. They are excellent at telling you about undiscovered trails, hikes to Ashford Castle and other sights in the area. Comfy bed, plenty of light and flexible to provide check-in and breakfast for what's good for your travel schedule. Offered to use their personal computer and do whatever they could to make you feel right at home!

Room Tip: We liked the back room with King Bed, it was quiet and off the street. Could still hear the river wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CLTierney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pensacola, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

We arrived in Cong about two hours earlier than anticipated but after official check-in time. We were welcomed and put our bags in our rooms.

As there were four of us (two children ages 7 and 11) we had separate rooms but across the hall from each other. One looked onto the river and the small road. The other looked onto the back building and small side street. Both bathroom windows looked out at "the dying man's cottage". If you are a fan of The Quiet Man, you know what I mean.

We explored Cong in about two hours. The next day, we drove to Lenaun (Le Nain), Kyelmoore Abbey, Clifden and back again. I bet that would be beautiful in the sun!

We found dinner at the Crow's Nest Pub in Cong to be wonderful. They had pizza for the kids and my husband and I enjoyed the grown up food. One dish, the bacon shank with cabbage and potatoes, was terrific.

Breakfast was served about 8:30 by the owners daughter-in-law. She made us welcome and cooked whatever we asked for. Also available were cereals and scones and such.

The rooms were nicely decorated and the bathrooms were ok. The type of shower systems didn't provide a strong spray but the water was always hot.

Keeping the kids quiet was a challenge for us but we didn't want to disturb the other guests. In the mornings, we were able to make use of the tv room downstairs until breakfast was served.

If you love The Quiet Man and want a quaint place to stay, this is it. There is a surprising amount of large truck traffic on the little road. If you sleep with the windows open, it might disturb you. However, with the windows open, you can hear the river.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dansmom4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2012

We came across Ryan's River Lodge by chance while looking to find somewhere to stay in Cong and we were glad that we did. Our room was large and comfortable and breakfast was excellent. We would stay here again if in the area.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GLM23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walsall
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

I read a review on this bed and breakfast that amazed me - How can people be so vicious.
This is simply a wonderful Irish experience. The staff are friendly, cheerful and friendly. Its not a fives tar hotel and if you want that experience go somewhere else.
Ryans Lodge is the real Irish cottage experience. The breakfast is fresh and plentiful and coffee / tea a a tonic to help even the late night singer wake up to a bright new day with vigour.
In the ten years I have been to Ryan's River Lodge the welcome has always been warm and typically Irish.
The sound of the river gushing past the window literally on the other side of the road would sooth the mind and lull you to sleep with its melody.
How these guests could complain of noise from pipes in the night beats me. I could only hear the river nursing me to sleep.
Personally I would have no problem recommending this country bed and breakfast to anyone. I would suggest the lady had had a bad day - perhaps she had a bad year . Maybe some people just like to rant without a moments thought for others who might miss out on a great village, full of song and character and history.
Cong is a magical place-
Go there and enjoy
Dr Paul Moore
The rooms are pure Irish, Sure the showers are

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dennis0558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cong
0.5 mi away
Ashford Castle
Ashford Castle
#1 of 3 in Cong
1,631 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Lodge at Ashford Castle
0.0 mi away
Ryan's Hotel
Ryan's Hotel
#3 of 3 in Cong
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Fairhill House Hotel
Fairhill House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clonbur
101 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lydons Lodge Hotel
Lydons Lodge Hotel
#11 of 13 in Cong
71 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hazel Grove B&B
Hazel Grove B&B
#2 of 13 in Cong
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ryan's River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryan's River Lodge

Property: Ryan's River Lodge
Address: Riverside Lodge Riverview | Cong Village, Cong, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Cong
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Cong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ryan's River Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ryans Riverlodge B&B Cong Village, situated overlooking Cong River, we are a family run Bed and Breakfast. We offer comfortable, affordable B&B accommodation and a warm welcome awaits you from the Ryan Family. Situated next door to The Quiet Man museum, Cong Abbey and Ashford Castle is a short stroll through our beautiful woods. Ryans Riverlodge built as a hunting and fishing lodge to offer a holiday you will never forget. We also organise Fishing Holidays and Shooting / Hunting Holidays something to suit everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Ryan's River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing