We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Lunch Spot in Cong”
Review of Ryan's River Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ryan's River Lodge
Ranked #3 of 13 Cong B&B and Inns
New York
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Lunch Spot in Cong”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Most reviews for Ryans are for the B&B, we did not stay here, but we did eat here twice during our time in the Cong area.
Very good food and friendly service.
The tomato soup was off the hook and served with delicious homemade brown bread.
Try the toasted special sandwitch, just yummy!
They have assorted hot & cold sandwiches, salads, desserts etc.
Y0u have the option to dine inside or out (weather dependant!)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DMC71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    19
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
19
49
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pleasant Hill, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

This B&B was just charming! The view from our room was wonderful. Cong itself is such a charming town, the Abbey is beautiful and we had a wonderful experience at the Quiet Man museum. Breakfast was perfect!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013 via mobile

Couldn't have asked for more from Martha. Very friendly and helpful, she worked non stop to keep the place spotless and accommodate our every need. We stayed with a few other people the night before attending a wedding in Cong and Martha looked after us all very well. Breakfast was very good with as much of anything as we wanted all cooked to order. I recommend the gorgeous fresh smoked salmon. Ideally situated in the centre of Cong with a nice outlook over the river and easy access just over the road to the castle park for some lovely walks. Didn't want to leave. Thanks for a lovely stay Martha.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lillybeth1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
central pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
312 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013 via mobile

Right on the river, an easy walk to everything, including the grounds of the ostentatious Ashford Castle.
A clean B&B, inn keeper Martha is friendly and helpful. When we caught up with David, he gave us some good day trip suggestions; we were told that he's also a good fishing guide.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pennstatetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Have just spent a few days here in the heart of Quiet Man country.
Martha looked after us really well. She is totally delightful, warm and welcoming and she cooks a mean breakfast. The whole place is really spotless. The rooms are small but so homely and the bed was a dream.
We would not hesitate to recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgefamous5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Stayed at the River Lodge one night with my mother and we had perfectly resting night. The room was pretty small and the decor is not necessarily my taste, but all in all it was perfectly decent and clean. Breakfast was nice, though my soft boiled eggs were actually hard boiled... It is perfectly located to walk anywhere in Cong and though it would have not been my first choice I am glad we stayed there and would recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samspit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

I stayed at Ryan's River Lodge for two nights in April 2013. It's fabulously located on the river in the heart of Cong and within comfortable walking distance of the stunning Ashford Castle. It is also a short drive from Lisloughrey Lodge where I was attending a wedding. All in all, Ryan's provided the perfect place for me to feel settled during my trip. Martha and her family have kept the original character and decor which adds to the homely feel. I had everything I needed during my stay including a fabulous breakfast! My room had everything I expected and it was absolutely spotlessly clean but the bed was probably the piece de resistance for me. The mattress was so comfortable and had TWO duvets AND an electric blanket! Coupled with a well heated room, I had two very cosy nights of uninterrputed sleep! Thank you Martha for your hospitality and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this great value B&B to anyone looking to spend time in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabriella D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cong
0.5 mi away
Ashford Castle
Ashford Castle
#1 of 3 in Cong
1,636 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Lodge at Ashford Castle
0.0 mi away
Ryan's Hotel
Ryan's Hotel
#3 of 3 in Cong
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
1,171 reviews
20.3 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#4 of 14 in Westport
875 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lydons Lodge Hotel
Lydons Lodge Hotel
#7 of 13 in Cong
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ryan's River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryan's River Lodge

Property: Ryan's River Lodge
Address: Riverside Lodge Riverview | Cong Village, Cong, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Cong
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Cong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ryan's River Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ryans Riverlodge B&B Cong Village, situated overlooking Cong River, we are a family run Bed and Breakfast. We offer comfortable, affordable B&B accommodation and a warm welcome awaits you from the Ryan Family. Situated next door to The Quiet Man museum, Cong Abbey and Ashford Castle is a short stroll through our beautiful woods. Ryans Riverlodge built as a hunting and fishing lodge to offer a holiday you will never forget. We also organise Fishing Holidays and Shooting / Hunting Holidays something to suit everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Ryan's River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing